A Gift from Darkness

Author: Patience Ibrahim,Andrea C Hoffmann

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1408708965

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 288

View: 2753


When Patience Ibrahim's husband died, she feared that her life was over. She had prayed every night for a baby to complete her family, and suddenly she found herself a nineteen-year-old widow, alone in the world. But when she fell in love again, a happy future seemed possible. Patience married once more , and was overjoyed to discover that she was pregnant. A few days later, everything fell apart. Men from Boko Haram arrived at her door, killing Patience's new husband and kidnapping her. This is the incredible true story of her and her baby daughter's survival, against all the odds.

The Gift of Darkness

Author: Valentina Giambanco

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1780878729

Category: Fiction

Page: 506

View: 2057


A heart-stopping thriller perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Sharon Bolton and Alex Marwood. Twenty-five years ago in the woods by the Hoh River near Seattle, three boys were kidnapped. One never came home. Last night, a family of four was found brutally murdered, the words 'thirteen days' carved near their lifeless bodies. Homicide Detective Alice Madison - a one-time child runaway with a murky past - now spends her life hunting down the very worst humanity has to offer. Madison has a hunch that the two murders are linked . . . and she has thirteen days to prove it. To stop a psychopath, Madison returns to the woods to confront the unsolved mystery of the Hoh River Boys. She must forget her training and follow her instincts to the terrifying end as enemies become allies and, in the silent forest, time is running out to save another life. Discover more Detective Alice Madison with the next instalments of the gripping series - The Dark and Blood and Bone.

From Darkness to Dawn

Author: Marcia Orcutt

Publisher: WestBow Press

ISBN: 1512766690

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 302

View: 6749


In this heart-wrenching memoir of postpartum depression, Marcia Orcutt describes from her heart what her life was like during her struggle with despair and darkness. She shares her unspeakable thoughts, fears, and actions during these years. She breaks the silence and isolation of this disease. As many as one million women a year suffer from this horrific illness in the United States alone yet only 15 percent get treatment according to the Centers for Disease Control. Read and discover how she finds the strength to overcome this debilitating and often misunderstood illness. Where does she find the strength to embrace the darkness? How does she come out the other side? Marcia is not alone in suffering from this most common complication of childbirth. Hope for recovery is possible. She knows. She lived it. Take the journey with her.

Gift of the Darkness

Author: E. E. Holmes

Publisher: Gateway Trackers

ISBN: 9781733935234

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 346

View: 6444


A warning from the past, an uncertain future, an impossible choice... For hundreds of years, the Durupinen have carried the power of the Gateway in their bloodlines. Now, a dire warning from the past might mean that power must come to an end. Jess Ballard has often considered her gift a curse - but now it may truly become one, unless she can convince the leaders of the Durupinen world to restore the power of the Gateways where it rightly belongs. The Durupinen have always considered themselves a force for what is good in the world, but has the intoxication of power left them unable to distinguish between what is right and wrong? Jess, Hannah, Milo, and their allies are in a race against time as they gather together the most influential Durupinen from around the world to join the fight. As the Necromancer threat looms, and the Durupinen leaders battle over which course to take, Jess must travel her own path, look within herself and ask: How far will she go to right an ancient wrong, and will her connection to the spirit world survive it? Gift of the Darkness is the highly-anticipated final installment in The Gateway Trackers series by E.E. Holmes.

From Darkness into Light

Author: Jennifer Lodico

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN: 1477173455

Category: Poetry

Page: 182

View: 1200


Truth is never a popular concept in any society where mankind lives. Truth is ridiculed and rejected and the bearers of it are often persecuted, even martyred for it. But truth forever stands in the face of all its adversaries. And truth can never and will never be vanquished. For truth has always existed and truth will never end. For, Jesus Christ is the Truth, the Way, and the Life. No man cometh to the Father, but by Him. The poems in this book were inspired by God and are intended to bring glory to His Son, Jesus Christ, while exposing the stark reality of sin and the ravaging effects it is having on mankind. Some of the poems are based on the authors life experiences, while others were created by trying to envision life through the eyes of others. He Set My Spirit Free is the testimony of the authors life changing encounter with Jesus Christ. Mother, I Will Meet You, was written in memory of the authors mother, Winifred Nostrand, who recently passed away in November 2008 at the age of 71. Also, Daddy, My Heart is Broken, was made in sad memory of her father, who passed away in June 1996. The Noble Husband, is dedicated to the authors dear husband, James Lodico. It is the authors heartfelt prayer, that the poems in this book will not only move the hearts of Christian men and women into a closer relationship with Jesus Christ, but that it would convict the unsaved man of his sins so that he would turn to Jesus Christ, the only One who can save him and provide an entrance into heaven. Any direct quotes from the Bible were taken from the King James Version.

A Journey from Darkness to Light

Author: Mahmoud Mansi

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 1452017638

Category: Fiction

Page: 242

View: 1349


Why does knowledge make us see things we don't want to see? Why does it make us suffer more than it makes us happy? Why do we exist in a world with dominating curses more than blessings? Why can't we define the true meaning of happiness, and barely smell its odor? When are we going to finally start asking the right questions? Why are we down here on this planet, asked to seek perfection in an imperfect world? What was the true reason behind making Prophet Adam eat from the forbidden tree? When do artists finally reach their point of perfection? If human beings, animals and insects have their own psychology, what about other creatures among which are invisible ones? Not all explanations are mentioned in books But till when will we have questions without any answers? Searching for a way, some souls ask: Why does darkness exist, while light seems endless? We search for the key chain, while we don't even know which door is the right one! But, who's she; who astonished his life, captured the sundered pieces of his heart, and brought him the keys to tons of buried secrets the one who didn't fear touching his wounds, and the one who anticipated all his moves? Some masts are old enough to be one of the antiques the sea carries or swallows, yet it still supports the deck, controls the ship, and above its towering apex, it guides the captain It's still a lively organ in the giant space of the sea. He stood there, his body straight and solid as a mast, while erecting from such bemusements with the strength of a sailor, the knowledge of a captain and the vision of an artist, he sailed for his journey, toward the endless seas of the Universe

From Darkness Into the Light

Author: Dorothy M. Small

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN: 1425745717

Category: Poetry

Page: 112

View: 2263


From Darkness Into The Light is an inspirational book of poetry written in free style. The poems emerged from a journal that I wrote in order to deal with unresolved issues of personal losses. Initially written for self-expression, the poems interwoven throughout the journal profoundly touched me. I read some of them to close friends, and based on their response I began to read the poems to the public. Again, the response was overwhelming. What I find interesting about the poems is that most are written in about 15 minutes, some a little longer, and others in shorter time. I began to realize that the poems are gifts that flow through me and that they touch others in their own deeply personal way.

From Darkness to Light

Author: Ruben S.

Publisher: Trafford Publishing

ISBN: 1426946163

Category: Self-Help

Page: 124

View: 6221


From Darkness to Light presents a true account of the life of Ruben S. The son of a frightened mother and an alcoholic father, Ruben grew up shuttling between Puerto Rico and Florida. His intention is not to portray himself as a fearless, brave, intelligent, or grandiose person; to him, these characteristics are irrelevant when considering the personal destruction of a human being. Instead, he intends to tell a story that seeks to guide others to identify their own pain and failures. Learn to seek and identify those areas that are creating problems in your life and, without comparing them, address, correct, and remove them once and for all. For families or friends affected by the use and abuse of alcohol, controlled substances, or other devastating problems, Rubens story should serve as a call for change. It can provide a foundation for anyone trying to resume life, find freedom from the destructive force that is addiction, and once again become a productive member of society. From Darkness to Light is the story of a life saved and brought back from the precipice of alcohol and drug abuse. It is a story of hope that aims to make a difference in the life of anyone who reads it.

From Darkness to Light

Author: Daniel Bourguet

Publisher: Wipf and Stock Publishers

ISBN: 1498281869

Category: Religion

Page: 118

View: 4675


In these meditations Daniel Bourguet enables us to draw alongside the thief on the cross and enter his dialogue with Christ; he guides us downward into the darkness of hell through a reading of Psalm 88; and finally we discover on Easter morning both the confusion and then faith of Mary Magdalene as she meets the Risen Lord (John 20). Bourguet's confidence in the biblical text means that he engages with it and follows wherever it leads, however risky . . . and he emerges--with us--miraculously enriched.