A Last Kiss for Mummy

Author: Casey Watson

Publisher: HarperElement

ISBN: 9780007510702

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 274

View: 5623


Bestselling author and foster carer Casey Watson tells the heartbreaking true story of a teenage mother and baby in need of a safe and loving home. At fourteen, Emma is just a child herself and one who s never been properly mothered. She has been in foster care several times already and when she discovered she was pregnant, and refused to have an abortion, her mother threw her out of the house. Casey and her family instantly form a strong bond with Emma s baby Roman, but dealing with Emma s behaviour and constant lack of responsibility is a far tougher challenge. And before long Casey finds she s doing something she never thought she would covering up for Emma s shortcomings as she allows her personal involvement to colour her judgement. But the more Casey gets to know Emma the more she s convinced that with the right help and guidance this lonely and unsupported girl can become a good mother to her gorgeous little boy. That s what makes it even harder when Casey and her family have to make a stark choice: to hold on to Emma or look after Roman; to help a teenage girl desperate to turn her life around, or offer an innocent baby a safe home and much-needed good start in life."

The Last Kiss Goodbye

Author: Tasmina Perry

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1472208439

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 939


Everyone remembers their first kiss. But what about the last? The Last Kiss Goodbye is a spellbinding tale of love, loss and long-buried secrets from the author of the bestselling The Pool House, Tasmina Perry. Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes' The Last Letter from Your Lover. 'Romance, adventure, mystery... (a) beautifully written and engaging tale' - Heat 1961. Journalist Rosamund Bailey is ready to change the world. When she meets explorer and man-about-town Dominic Blake, she realises she has found the love of her life. Just as happiness is in their grasp, the worst happens, and their future is snatched away. 2014. Deep in the vaults of a museum, archivist Abby Gordon stumbles upon a breathtaking find. A faded photograph of a man saying goodbye to the woman he loves. Looking for a way to escape her own heartache, Abby becomes obsessed with the story, little realising that behind the image frozen in time lies a secret altogether more extraordinary. What readers are saying about The Last Kiss Goodbye: 'I loved this story, so much. It was engaging and beautiful, and I couldn't put it down' 'A novel full of mystery, intrigue and suspense on one hand, and romance, passion, despair and hope on the other' 'Sometimes a book will come along and completely sweep you away; it will suck you up into its world and there is no turning back. Tasmina Perry's The Last Kiss Goodbye was such a book'

The Mummy MEGAPACK®

Author: Nina Kiriki Hoffman,Arthur Conan Doyle,John Gregory Betancourt,Louisa May Alcott,Lafcadio Hearn

Publisher: Wildside Press LLC

ISBN: 1434437892

Category: Fiction

Page: 650

View: 7218


Hours of great reading await, with tales from some of the 19th and 20th century's most renowned horror and dark fantasy authors! Explore the uncanny world of mummies, ancient egypt, and dark sorcery, with these 20 stories: SYMPATHY FOR MUMMIES, by John Gregory Betancourt SOME WORDS WITH A MUMMY, by Edgar Allan Poe THE POWER OF WAKING, by Nina Kiriki Hoffman THE MUMMY’S FOOT, by Jessie Adelaide Middleton LOST IN A PYRAMID, OR THE MUMMY’S CURSE, by Louisa May Alcott THE RING OF THOTH, by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle THE ROMANCE OF A MUMMY, by Théophile Gautier THE GREEN GOD, by William Call Spencer THE BOOK OF THOTH, by Lafcadio Hearn AN AZTEC MUMMY, by C. B. Cory LOT NO. 249, by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle THE MUMMY’S FOOT, by Théophile Gautier THE STORY OF BAELBROW, by E. and H. Heron A PROFESSOR OF EGYPTOLOGY, by Guy Boothby MY NEW YEAR’S EVE AMONG THE MUMMIES, by Grant Allen WHATEVER WAS FORGOTTEN, by Nina Kiriki Hoffman THE FORSAKEN TEMPLE, by C. W. Leadbeater THE DOOM OF AL ZAMERI, by Henry Iliowizi OBSESSION, POSSESSION, by Elliott O’Donnell THE PERFUME OF EGYPT, by C. W. Leadbeater And don't forget to check out all the 300+ other volumes in the MEGAPACK® series! Search on MEGAPACK® in the ebook store to see the complete list...covering adventure stories, military, fantasy, ghost stories, and more!

The Last Rain

Author: Edeet Ravel

Publisher: Penguin Canada

ISBN: 0143180584

Category: Fiction

Page: 256

View: 9212


To six-year-old Dori, everything seems possible. To her family and their Peers—secular, left-leaning North American Jews—the young state of Israel seems to offer the same promise, as the starry-eyed kibbutz movement prepares the ground for their ideals of justice and cooperation to take root and flourish. They settle on Eldar in northern Galilee, determined to create a new utopia, but life on this remote hill, three kilometres from the Lebanese border, is far more complex than any of its inhabitants could have imagined. The Last Rain tells the story of Eldar's emergence as a kibbutz through the eyes of Dori, as well as through documentary fragments that take the reader on a labyrinthine journey through the characters' collective past. With humour, sensitivity, and a deep love for the land, The Last Rain follows the coming of age not only of a young girl, but also of a country in the first fraught years of its existence.

The Boy No One Loved: Free Sampler

Author: Casey Watson

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN: 0008147868

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 50

View: 4783


Discover the incredible memoirs of internationally bestselling author Casey Watson with this free extended eBook sampler of Casey’s first book, and Sunday Times bestseller, The Boy No One Loved.

The Mummy Diaries

Author: Rachel Johnson

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN: 0141909617

Category: Fiction

Page: 272

View: 5827


Rachel Johnson's hilarious take on life as a yummy mummy in West London and on Exmoor has been making her newspaper readers chortle for the last couple of years: now they are seamlessly turned into a diary of her year, from the dog's birthday party in January (games of Paws-the-Parcel) to the June sports days (where the mummies turn up at the school sports day in sports bras and running shorts with little back packs containing high energy drinks - and that's just for them) to summer on Exmoor hosting demanding visiting ponies.

The True Self Society

Author: James Jeffrey Paul

Publisher: Xulon Press

ISBN: 1594673144

Category: Fiction

Page: 168

View: 7266


The Last Year of Being Married

Author: Sarah Tucker

Publisher: Harlequin

ISBN: 1459246500

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 2696


A tipsy confession of infidelity during their engagement hadn't been the best start to Sarah's marriage. Blurting it out on their honeymoon wasn't the best timing, either. Still, how could he complain? It had taken Paul O'Brian five years to propose, and even then he'd made only occasional appearances in Sarah's bed! Briefly aroused by a holiday, he'd managed to father their son, now three years old; otherwise the ring on Sarah's finger signified little more than a shrewd purchase. But now Paul had decided it was time to cut their losses. With a divorce. What had happened to them? Weren't they once the perfect couple? Surely her savvy husband hadn't fallen prey to that humiliating cliché, the seven-year itch.... Thrown into a state of denial, then self-doubt, followed by determination not to go under without a fight, Sarah is catapulted into an unforgettable last year of being married.

Blessings of the Father

Author: Mitch Reed

Publisher: MITCH [email protected]

ISBN: 0595360564

Category: Fiction

Page: 392

View: 5612


In 1979, fifteen-year-old Marcus Morgan leaves Los Angeles on a European performance tour with his school choir.There he meets the girl of his dreams, Miranda Richards representing England... naturally the fall hopelessly in love. Somehow, they keep their long-distance relationship alive throughout a separation spanning 7000 miles, eight years and two diametrically opposed worlds. As soul mates; they marry, yet soon become star-crossed and doomed. By 1999, we find that Mac is America's leading Restaurateur. Long since separated from his wife Miranda who remains behind in England, his world is about to be turned upside down. It all begins with the receipt of a cryptic telegram from his father-in-law, calling him back to Britain. He must come face-to-face with his past, his 'present', and his future... what awaits Marcus in England? Ties That Bind is the first book in the series of six, of Blessings of the Father, Marcus' incredible transformation from one day to the next. If you fear death, this book will change your life! I found Blessings of the Father to be great read Craig Reade, cxPulp.com Come Meet a Family You Won't Regret Falling in Love With ... BookTalk.org on Facebook 10.16.10 A brilliant first effort thanks to Reed's vibrant characters, a true page-turner. Brant Russell, Writesavers.com