A Life Too Short

Author: Ronald Reng

Publisher: Random House Uk Limited

ISBN: 9780224091664

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 390

View: 4010


WINNER OF THE 2011 WILLIAM HILL SPORTS BOOK OF THE YEAR WINNER OF THE BRITISH SPORTS BOOK AWARDS 2012 FOOTBALL BOOK OF THE YEAR Why does an international footballer with the world at his feet decide to take his own life? On 10 November 2009 the German national goalkeeper, Robert Enke, stepped in front of a passing train. He was thirty-two years old and a devoted husband and father. Enke had played for a string of Europe's top clubs, including Barcelona and Jose Mourinho's Benfica and was destined to become his country's first choice in goal for years to come. But beneath the veneer of success, Enke battled with crippling depression. Award-winning writer Ronald Reng pieces together the puzzle of his friend's life, shedding valuable light on the crushing pressures endured by professional sportsmen and on life at the top clubs. At its heart, Enke's tragedy is a universal story of a man struggling against his demons.

A Life Too Short

Author: Ronald Reng

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1446499022

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 400

View: 5895


WINNER OF THE WILLIAM HILL SPORTS BOOK OF THE YEAR WINNER OF THE BRITISH SPORTS BOOK AWARDS FOOTBALL BOOK OF THE YEAR Why does an international footballer with the world at his feet decide to take his own life? On 10 November 2009 the German national goalkeeper, Robert Enke, stepped in front of a passing train. He was thirty-two years old and a devoted husband and father. Enke had played for a string of Europe's top clubs, including Barcelona and Jose Mourinho's Benfica and was destined to become his country's first choice in goal for years to come. But beneath the veneer of success, Enke battled with crippling depression. Award-winning writer Ronald Reng pieces together the puzzle of his friend's life, shedding valuable light on the crushing pressures endured by professional sportsmen and on life at the top clubs. At its heart, Enke's tragedy is a universal story of a man struggling against his demons. ‘It should be on every British football fan's reading list’ Metro

Life’s Too Short

Author: Hart Floe Poet

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 172838947X

Category: Poetry

Page: 64

View: 2056


This small collection of short poems is designed to enlighten, empower, and elevate. It marries together inspiring words and original imagery collected from Hart’s travels over the world. Each of these short poems holds powerful messages of hope, joy, inspiration, and positivity within them. This book is a reminder that life is too short to play small, to live under your greatness, and to not make your wildest dreams into your reality. You deserve nothing less than the life of your ultimate desire. Let this book inspire you to go and create that life today.

Life's Too Short

Author: Grace Saunders

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0755361849

Category: Self-Help

Page: 280

View: 3684


Bills, boyfriends, Bikram yoga... nobody said life was easy. But you can make it a whole lot less stressful with this ingenious guide to modern life. In LIFE'S TOO SHORT, Grace Saunders shares her shortcuts to success at work, at home and at play, along with terrific tips from those in the know. Whether you're a single lady, a committed career woman or a mega-busy mum, this book should be your bible. Need a quick fix for... How to plan a wedding without becoming Bridezilla. How to find jeans that don't give you a massive muffin-top. How to move house without having a nervous breakdown. How to ease that agonising shoe spending guilt? Sit back and relax. LIFE'S TOO SHORT is just what you've been looking for.

Life's Too Short to Fold Fitted Sheets

Author: Lisa Quinn

Publisher: Chronicle Books

ISBN: 0811879887

Category: Humor

Page: 168

View: 7479


In the tradition of Erma Bombeck and Peg Bracken, author Lisa Quinn—Emmy Award-winning television host and recovering Marthaholic—gets real on the follies of housekeeping. Life's Too Short to Fold Fitted Sheets is a crash course in Slacker Chic 101 that will have over-extended women everywhere laughing out loud and throwing in the towel—the dish towel, that is. Full of shortcuts and tricks for cleaning, decor, and entertaining,such as: the top 10 things you have to clean if you have company coming in 30 minutes; interior finishes that hide the most dirt; 17 meals made from a deli chicken; and much more, this wickedly funny guide helps women create the life they want without all the hard labor—and without compromising style.

Life’s Too Short to Date Men Like Me

Author: Willie Booker

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 1462042740

Category: Humor

Page: 160

View: 1974


Every woman has either dated a jerk, or knows a friend that has dated one. But avoiding the jerks and attracting a decent man is actually a lot easier than you think. Forget watching reruns of Sex and the City or chatting with your girlfriends late at night. In this guidebook, a self-professed jerk comes straight out, speaks the truth, and systematically explains how to • spot, avoid, and say goodbye to jerks; • tell if a guy is wasting your time; • deal with players • hunt for good men (and where to hunt for them). You’ll also learn how to avoid common mistakes, such as overrating initial chemistry, inadvertently hurting a man’s ego, losing a good guy’s interest and much more. Full of witty satire and sarcasm. Get ready to laugh out loud with this hilarious anti-game. What people had to say about this book: “Hey Willie, this is so entertaining! Ha ha you have a great sense of humor, and your statements are so true!” - Denise “We all know no one likes a tattletale. Hate the game, not the player. Every girl Tiger slept with knew he was married. Who is worse?” - Steve the player “That was such an enjoyable and enlightening read. I mean it’s well written, witty, and one would think some of it is common sense, but sometimes people (i.e. me!) need common sense to slap them in the face!” - Cheryl “Willie whistle blower has a nice ring to it. You know someone’s going to kick your butt one day? Good work!” – A guy Willie no longer parties with “I don’t understand you. You go through university, build a promising career. Now you quit your job and write this book? Why would you tell the whole world you’re an asshole?” – Willie’s mom

Life's Too Short to Pretend You're Not Religious

Author: David Dark

Publisher: Broadleaf Books

ISBN: 1506481671

Category: Social Science

Page: 215

View: 1379


We can't just be done with religion, argues David Dark. The fact of religion is the fact of us. Religion is the witness of everything we're up to--for better or worse. David Dark is one of today's most respected thinkers, public intellectuals, and cultural critics at the intersection of faith and culture. Since its original release, Dark's Life's Too Short to Pretend You're Not Religious has become essential reading for those engaged in the conversation on religion in contemporary American society. Now, Dark returns to his classic text and offers us a revised, expanded, and reframed edition that reflects a more expansive understanding, employs inclusive language, and tackles the most pressing issues of the day. With the same keen powers of cultural observation, candor, and wit his readers have come to know and love, Dark weaves in current themes around the pandemic and vaccine responses, Black Lives Matter, the #MeToo and #ChurchToo movements, Critical Race Theory, and more. By looking intentionally at our weird religious background (we all have one), he helps us acknowledge the content of our everyday existence--the good, the bad, and the glaringly inconsistent. When we make peace with the idea of being religious, we can more practically envision an undivided life.

Life's Too Short to Cry

Author: Tim Vigors

Publisher: Grub Street Publishers

ISBN: 1908117834

Category: History

Page: 192

View: 2646


A newly discovered “exhilarating and moving memoir” of an RAF fighter pilot in World War II (Daily Mail). It is not often that a long-hidden gem of a manuscript is published, bringing a moment in WWII history to vivid life for today’s readers. Geoffrey Wellum’s First Light was one example. The memoir of Timothy Vigors is another. Born in Hatfield but raised in Ireland and educated at Eton and Cranwell, Vigors found himself in France in 1940 flying Fairey Battle bombers. After the Fall he joined the fighters of 222 Squadron, with whom he saw frantic and distinguished service over Dunkirk and persevered through the dangerous days of the Battle of Britain, when he became an ace. Vigors transferred to the Far East in January 1941 as a flight commander with 243, then to 453 Squadron RAAF, and on December 10 of that year he led a flight of Buffaloes to cover the sinking Prince of Wales and Repulse. Dramatically shot down, burnt and attacked on his parachute, he was evacuated to Java, and from there, to India. As he describes these experiences in his handwritten account, the author provides a fascinating and valuable record, a newly discovered personal narrative of air combat destined to be seen as a classic.

Life's Too Short to Be an Underdog...

Author: Dave Smith

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 0595374239

Category: Humor

Page: 124

View: 676


Life's too Short to Be an Underdog is the story of a boy and his dog and another dog and yet another one well, several more after that.Author Dave Smith boldly reveals the sometimes confusing, occasionally tragic, but always amusing history of the "Smith Family Dog Curse". For so many years the family was denied in their attempts to cultivate a lasting bond with any dogs because of a series of mysterious events.In the midst of the family's pain and heartache, one dog managed to beat the curse and became the inspiration of many spiritual insights for his beloved master. Dave opens up the family history book and invites you to laugh along, secretly hoping it doesn't cost him the vast family inheritance.Life's too Short to Be an Underdog is a book to share with friends, family, pet lovers, the criminally insane, and anyone else who knows how to read. It will bring smiles to faces of those who remember their own favorite doggie memories and challenge them to look for God's leading in the little things of life even in the sometimes bizarre antics of a little dog named Ballpark.