A Life Too Short

Author: Ronald Reng

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1446499022

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 400

View: 2663


WINNER OF THE WILLIAM HILL SPORTS BOOK OF THE YEAR WINNER OF THE BRITISH SPORTS BOOK AWARDS FOOTBALL BOOK OF THE YEAR Why does an international footballer with the world at his feet decide to take his own life? On 10 November 2009 the German national goalkeeper, Robert Enke, stepped in front of a passing train. He was thirty-two years old and a devoted husband and father. Enke had played for a string of Europe's top clubs, including Barcelona and Jose Mourinho's Benfica and was destined to become his country's first choice in goal for years to come. But beneath the veneer of success, Enke battled with crippling depression. Award-winning writer Ronald Reng pieces together the puzzle of his friend's life, shedding valuable light on the crushing pressures endured by professional sportsmen and on life at the top clubs. At its heart, Enke's tragedy is a universal story of a man struggling against his demons. ‘It should be on every British football fan's reading list’ Metro

Life’s Too Short

Author: Hart Floe Poet

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 172838947X

Category: Poetry

Page: 64

View: 7395


This small collection of short poems is designed to enlighten, empower, and elevate. It marries together inspiring words and original imagery collected from Hart’s travels over the world. Each of these short poems holds powerful messages of hope, joy, inspiration, and positivity within them. This book is a reminder that life is too short to play small, to live under your greatness, and to not make your wildest dreams into your reality. You deserve nothing less than the life of your ultimate desire. Let this book inspire you to go and create that life today.

Life's Too Short

Author: Grace Saunders

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0755361849

Category: Self-Help

Page: 280

View: 3365


Bills, boyfriends, Bikram yoga... nobody said life was easy. But you can make it a whole lot less stressful with this ingenious guide to modern life. In LIFE'S TOO SHORT, Grace Saunders shares her shortcuts to success at work, at home and at play, along with terrific tips from those in the know. Whether you're a single lady, a committed career woman or a mega-busy mum, this book should be your bible. Need a quick fix for... How to plan a wedding without becoming Bridezilla. How to find jeans that don't give you a massive muffin-top. How to move house without having a nervous breakdown. How to ease that agonising shoe spending guilt? Sit back and relax. LIFE'S TOO SHORT is just what you've been looking for.

Life's Too Short

Author: Abby Jimenez

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0349423458

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 5053


'Sweet and achingly romantic - a truly wonderful love story' Beth O'Leary, author of The Flatshare 'Full of fierce humour and fiercer heart' Casey McQuiston, New York Times bestselling author of Red, White & Royal Blue __________________ A brilliant and touching romantic comedy from the USA Today bestselling author of The Friend Zone and The Happy Ever After Playlist. When Vanessa Price quit her job to pursue her dream of traveling the globe, she wasn't expecting to gain millions of YouTube followers who shared her joy of seizing every moment. For her, living each day to its fullest isn't just a motto. Her mother and sister never saw the age of 30, and Vanessa doesn't want to take anything for granted. But after her half-sister suddenly leaves Vanessa in custody of her baby daughter, life goes from 'daily adventure' to 'hourly nappy change'. The last person Vanessa expects to show up offering help is the hot lawyer next door, Adrian Copeland. After all, she barely knows him. No one warned her that he was the Secret Baby Tamer or that she'd be spending a whole lot of time with him and his geriatric Chihuahua. Now she's feeling things she's vowed not to feel. Because the only thing worse than falling for Adrian is finding a little hope for a future she may never see. _______________________ FIND OUT WHY READERS ARE FALLING IN LOVE WITH ABBY JIMENEZ . . . 'A deliciously hot, sweet debut. This book is an absolute treat.' L. G. Shen, USA Today Bestselling Author 'Harnessing sass, heartfelt struggle, and unapologetic sexuality, Jimenez's debut is as hysterical as it is tear-jerking' Publishers Weekly 'Let's get one thing straight, Abby Jimenez is hilarious' Goodreads reviewer 'I laughed, I teared up, and most importantly, I didn't want to put it down' Goodreads reviewer 'Not only is this book hilarious and heartfelt, it felt real' Goodreads reviewer '5 stars isn't enough for this laugh out loud, beautifully honest, and sometimes heart-breaking novel' Goodreads reviewer

Life's Too Short to Fold Fitted Sheets

Author: Lisa Quinn

Publisher: Chronicle Books

ISBN: 0811879887

Category: Humor

Page: 168

View: 567


In the tradition of Erma Bombeck and Peg Bracken, author Lisa Quinn—Emmy Award-winning television host and recovering Marthaholic—gets real on the follies of housekeeping. Life's Too Short to Fold Fitted Sheets is a crash course in Slacker Chic 101 that will have over-extended women everywhere laughing out loud and throwing in the towel—the dish towel, that is. Full of shortcuts and tricks for cleaning, decor, and entertaining,such as: the top 10 things you have to clean if you have company coming in 30 minutes; interior finishes that hide the most dirt; 17 meals made from a deli chicken; and much more, this wickedly funny guide helps women create the life they want without all the hard labor—and without compromising style.

Life's too Short to Leave Kite Flying to Kids

Author: Judy Gordon

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781451605389

Category: Religion

Page: 112

View: 2829


This book is the perfect gift for busy grown-up friends-or even for your busy self. In our busy, grown-up world, we move so fast that we often miss the fun of life. But with the help of this little book, you'll rediscover the big joys that are wrapped in the slow moments.

Life’s Too Short to Date Men Like Me

Author: Willie Booker

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 1462042740

Category: Humor

Page: 160

View: 1993


Every woman has either dated a jerk, or knows a friend that has dated one. But avoiding the jerks and attracting a decent man is actually a lot easier than you think. Forget watching reruns of Sex and the City or chatting with your girlfriends late at night. In this guidebook, a self-professed jerk comes straight out, speaks the truth, and systematically explains how to • spot, avoid, and say goodbye to jerks; • tell if a guy is wasting your time; • deal with players • hunt for good men (and where to hunt for them). You’ll also learn how to avoid common mistakes, such as overrating initial chemistry, inadvertently hurting a man’s ego, losing a good guy’s interest and much more. Full of witty satire and sarcasm. Get ready to laugh out loud with this hilarious anti-game. What people had to say about this book: “Hey Willie, this is so entertaining! Ha ha you have a great sense of humor, and your statements are so true!” - Denise “We all know no one likes a tattletale. Hate the game, not the player. Every girl Tiger slept with knew he was married. Who is worse?” - Steve the player “That was such an enjoyable and enlightening read. I mean it’s well written, witty, and one would think some of it is common sense, but sometimes people (i.e. me!) need common sense to slap them in the face!” - Cheryl “Willie whistle blower has a nice ring to it. You know someone’s going to kick your butt one day? Good work!” – A guy Willie no longer parties with “I don’t understand you. You go through university, build a promising career. Now you quit your job and write this book? Why would you tell the whole world you’re an asshole?” – Willie’s mom

Life's Too Short to Be an Underdog...

Author: Dave Smith

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 0595374239

Category: Humor

Page: 115

View: 9680


Life's too Short to Be an Underdog. is the story of a boy and his dog.and another dog.and yet another one.well, several more after that. Author Dave Smith boldly reveals the sometimes confusing, occasionally tragic, but always amusing history of the 'Smith Family Dog Curse". For so many years the family was denied in their attempts to cultivate a lasting bond with any dogs because of a series of mysterious events. In the midst of the family's pain and heartache, one dog managed to beat the curse and became the inspiration of many spiritual insights for his beloved master. Dave opens up the family history book and invites you to laugh along, secretly hoping it doesn't cost him the vast family inheritance. Life's too Short to Be an Underdog. is a book to share with friends, family, pet lovers, the criminally insane, and anyone else who knows how to read. It will bring smiles to faces of those who remember their own favorite doggie memories and challenge them to look for God's leading in the little things of life.even in the sometimes bizarre antics of a little dog named Ballpark.

Life's Too Short to Pretend You're Not Religious

Author: David Dark

Publisher: Broadleaf Books

ISBN: 1506481671

Category: Social Science

Page: 215

View: 691


We can't just be done with religion, argues David Dark. The fact of religion is the fact of us. Religion is the witness of everything we're up to--for better or worse. David Dark is one of today's most respected thinkers, public intellectuals, and cultural critics at the intersection of faith and culture. Since its original release, Dark's Life's Too Short to Pretend You're Not Religious has become essential reading for those engaged in the conversation on religion in contemporary American society. Now, Dark returns to his classic text and offers us a revised, expanded, and reframed edition that reflects a more expansive understanding, employs inclusive language, and tackles the most pressing issues of the day. With the same keen powers of cultural observation, candor, and wit his readers have come to know and love, Dark weaves in current themes around the pandemic and vaccine responses, Black Lives Matter, the #MeToo and #ChurchToo movements, Critical Race Theory, and more. By looking intentionally at our weird religious background (we all have one), he helps us acknowledge the content of our everyday existence--the good, the bad, and the glaringly inconsistent. When we make peace with the idea of being religious, we can more practically envision an undivided life.