A Long Way Home

Author: Saroo Brierley

Publisher: Berkley Trade

ISBN: 9780425276198

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 288

View: 2355


As a little boy in India, Saroo Brierley got lost on a train. Twenty-five years later, from Australia, he found his way back. This is what happened in between. Born in a poor village in India, Saroo lived hand-to-mouth in a one room hut with his mother and three siblings…until at age five, he mistakenly boarded a train by himself, and ended up in Calcutta, all the way across the country. Uneducated, illiterate, and unable to recall the name of his hometown, he managed to survive for weeks on that city’s rough streets. Soon after, he was adopted by a couple in Tasmania. But despite growing up in a loving upper-middle class Aussie family, Saroo still clung to the last memories of his hometown and family in India, and always wondered if he’d ever find them again. Amazingly, twenty-five years later, with some dogged determination and a heap of luck—and the advent of Google Earth—he did. A Long Way Home is a poignant and inspirational true story of survival and triumph against incredible odds, celebrating the importance of never letting go of what drives the human spirit: hope.

A Long Way Home

Author: Terence Dillon

Publisher: Author House

ISBN: 149188178X

Category: Fiction

Page: 276

View: 6631


A Long Way Home is a dramatic and tension-filled fictional story that explores the relationship between the English and the Irish in the late nineteenth century. It provides a fascinating insight into the issues created when those looking for conciliation come into conflict with those relying on confrontation in the struggle for Irish independence. The book traces the experiences of Paul Doherty, an Irishman immigrant. In a story that raises important issues of race, class, religion, sex, violence, and secret societies, Doherty struggles to look for conciliation rather than confrontation, bringing him into conflict with his great friend and fellow Irishman, Will, who is a member of the Irish Republican Brotherhood. The theme of confrontation and conciliation continues through the relationships Doherty has with the English arch racist Maurice Whitehouse and the English philanthropist William Harding. The book also draws upon comparisons between life in rural Ireland and the dark streets of an English industrial town of the late nineteenth century as it builds to a powerful conclusion of romance and violence.

A long way home

Author: Nigel Hansen. A.K.A. Smurf

Publisher: Booktango

ISBN: 1468903942

Category: Travel

Page: N.A

View: 6811


A quick look at my life on the open roads of Europe and the middle east, overland from the UK, and the trucking firms that i worked for over 35 years. All the good and bad times.

A Long Way Home

Author: Victor Pemberton

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0755392574

Category: Fiction

Page: 312

View: 9659


One world war. Two evacuees. A shocking secret. Victor Pemberton writes a heartrending story of evacuation in his evocative saga, A Long Way Home. Perfect for fans of Harry Bowling and Sheila Newberry. It's 1939 when Hannah and Louie Adams wave goodbye to their mother and home in Holloway, leaving for the safety of the Hertfordshire countryside. The girls try to settle in with their new foster-parents, but the Bullocks are stern people, and when they send the homesick Louie to another family, the Beedles, Hannah is devastated. She decides there's only one way out - she must walk back to Blitz-torn Islington. Thirty-six hours later, a cold, weary and frightened girl arrives home to a shocking sight... What readers are saying about A Long Way Home: 'A good story to curl up with' 'Just could not put it down' 'Victor Pemberton's books are excellent - five stars'

The Long Way Home

Author: Louise Penny

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1405529482

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 5583


The acclaimed thriller and number one New York Times bestseller from worldwide phenomenon Louise Penny. The tenth novel in the Chief Inspector Gamache series. 'Compelling . . . An original voice' Peter James Clara Morrow's husband is missing. When he fails to come home on the first anniversary of their separation, as promised, Clara asks the only person she trusts to try and find him: former Chief Inspector of Homicide, Armand Gamache. As Gamache journeys further into the case, he is drawn deeper into the tortured mind of Peter Morrow, a man so desperate to recapture his fame as an artist that he would sell his soul. As Gamache gets closer to the truth, he uncovers a deadly trail of jealousy and deceit. Can Gamache bring Peter, and himself, home safely? Or in searching for answers, has he placed himself, and those closest to him, in terrible danger?

The Long Way Home

Author: Jessica Scott

Publisher: Jessica Scott

ISBN: 148264231X

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 310

View: 9853


My name is Jessica Scott. I am a soldier. I am a mother. I am a wife. In 2009, Army second lieutenant Jessica Scott deployed to Iraq as part of Operation Iraqi Freedom and Operation New Dawn. She thought deploying was the hardest thing she'd ever do. She was wrong. This is the story of a mother coming home from war and learning to be a mom again. This is the story of a lieutenant making the grade and becoming a company commander. This is the journey of a writer persevering through a hundred rejections. This is the story of a soldier learning to be a woman again. This is the story of a wife waiting for the end of a war. This is the journey as it happened, without commentary. This is her blog. There are many blogs from the Iraq war, but this one is hers.

The Long Way Home

Author: Mariah Stewart

Publisher: Ballantine Books

ISBN: 0345540271

Category: Fiction

Page: 432

View: 8898


NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Mariah Stewart presents a captivating contemporary romance novel in the tradition of Robyn Carr, Susan Mallery, and Barbara Freethy. As the only child of a wealthy investment manager, Ellie Chapman has never known anything besides a life of perfect privilege. But her years of good fortune come to an abrupt end when her father is exposed for swindling billions of dollars from innocent investors in a massive Ponzi scheme. And just like that, Ellie loses everything: money, job, home—even her fiancé, who’s jailed as her father’s partner in crime. With no job prospects on the horizon, no cash, and her family name in tatters, Ellie has only one place to go. Sleepy St. Dennis, Maryland, is hardly where Ellie intends to stay, however. Keeping her identity a secret, she plans to sell the house her late mother left her in the small town and use the proceeds to move on with her life. Unfortunately, her ticket to a new beginning is in dire need of a laundry list of pricey improvements, many of which she’ll have to do herself. And until the house on Bay View Road is fit to be sold, the sole place Ellie will be traveling is the hardware store. But as the many charms of St. Dennis—not to mention Cameron O’Connor, the handsome local contractor who has secrets of his own—begin to work their magic, what begins as a lesson in do-it-yourself renovations might just end up as Ellie’s very own rejuvenation. Includes a preview of the next book in the Chesapeake Diaries series, At the River’s Edge

The Long Way Home

Author: Justin Sand

Publisher: FriesenPress

ISBN: 1039101526

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 122

View: 1833


When James decides to go after his sister who had mysteriously disappeared from a good foster home, he enters a world that he could only grasp through the movies he had seen. The long way home is a book about one young man’s journey through the depths of Canadian Organized Crime. James moves from a small city on Vancouver Island to Hamilton, Ontario into the home of one of the most notorious gangsters in Canadian History. The story follows James as he comes to know and change into the surroundings he has discovered. A metamorphosis takes place and James is transformed into all things he has always hated to survive. The long way home is a story about loyalty and family. How far are you willing to go for the ones you love? How far would they be willing to go for you?

The Long Way "Home"

Author: Odell Richardson Jr.

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 144900413X

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 660

View: 3575


The Long Way "Home" The Testimony, is a first of its kind from the inner-city streets of Baltimore, Maryland. This narrative, non-fiction story is NOT a glorification of the dispair that plagues many urban districts throughout our country, but it is an informative, intense, detailed, urban centerpiece, that goes against conventional wisdom of what society may believe about the inner-city and many of its occupants. This story bridges a gap many believed could not be. It's a unique approach to the harsh realities of the streets, and to life as a whole. It's a story about change, decisions, and consequences. This is one man's story. It's an urban story about God. This is certainly not a street tale, lacking depth; one without significant meaning or positive goals. This story is about family, trials, perseverance, love, God, life, and its purpose. This read will erase any doubt, and convince all, that anything is possible for anyone. The author assures us all that this is a story told with two main goals in mind; to Glorify God, and to strive for a good future while loving every human being along the way.

The Long Way Home

Author: Patricia Harmon

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 0595280854

Category: Fiction

Page: 56

View: 2478


Eighty year-old Katherine Doyle is depressed and losing fervor for life when a twist of fate provides an opportunity for her granddaughter, Emily, to buy their family home back--but not without a struggle. In a selfless attempt to enliven her grandmother's spirit and preserve forty years of treasured traditions, Emily is resolute to bring security and celebration back to her large, cl