A Midwife's Tale

Author: Laurel Thatcher Ulrich

Publisher: Vintage

ISBN: 0307772985

Category: Social Science

Page: 464

View: 5692


WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE Drawing on the diaries of one woman in eighteenth-century Maine, this intimate history illuminates the medical practices, household economies, religious rivalries, and sexual mores of the New England frontier. Between 1785 and 1812 a midwife and healer named Martha Ballard kept a diary that recorded her arduous work (in 27 years she attended 816 births) as well as her domestic life in Hallowell, Maine. On the basis of that diary, Laurel Thatcher Ulrich gives us an intimate and densely imagined portrait, not only of the industrious and reticent Martha Ballard but of her society. At once lively and impeccably scholarly, A Midwife's Tale is a triumph of history on a human scale.

The Midwife's Tale

Author: Gretchen Moran Laskas

Publisher: Delta

ISBN: 0307488233

Category: Fiction

Page: 256

View: 7518


“I come from a long line of midwives,” narrates Elizabeth Whitely. “I was expected to follow Mama, follow Granny, follow Great-granny. In the end, I didn’t disappoint them. Or perhaps I did. After all, there were no more midwives after me.”For generations, the women in Elizabeth’s family have brought life to Kettle Valley, West Virginia, heeding a destiny to tend its women with herbals, experience, and wisdom. But Elizabeth, who has comforted so many, has lost her heart to the one man who cannot reciprocate, even when she moves into his home to share his bed and raise his child. Then Lauren Denniker, Elizabeth’s adopted daughter, begins to display a miraculous gift--just as Elizabeth learns that she herself is unable to have a child. How Elizabeth comes to free herself from a loveless relationship, grapple with Lauren’s astonishing abilities, and come to terms with her own emptiness is the compelling heart of this remarkable tale. Incorporating the spirited mountain mythology of prewar Appalachia, Gretchen Laskas has crafted a story as true to our time as its own, and a cast of characters as poignant as they are entirely original.

The Midwife's Tale

Author: Sam Thomas

Publisher: Minotaur Books

ISBN: 1250010772

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 8481


In the tradition of Arianna Franklin and C. J. Sansom comes Samuel Thomas's remarkable debut, The Midwife's Tale It is 1644, and Parliament's armies have risen against the King and laid siege to the city of York. Even as the city suffers at the rebels' hands, midwife Bridget Hodgson becomes embroiled in a different sort of rebellion. One of Bridget's friends, Esther Cooper, has been convicted of murdering her husband and sentenced to be burnt alive. Convinced that her friend is innocent, Bridget sets out to find the real killer. Bridget joins forces with Martha Hawkins, a servant who's far more skilled with a knife than any respectable woman ought to be. To save Esther from the stake, they must dodge rebel artillery, confront a murderous figure from Martha's past, and capture a brutal killer who will stop at nothing to cover his tracks. The investigation takes Bridget and Martha from the homes of the city's most powerful families to the alleyways of its poorest neighborhoods. As they delve into the life of Esther's murdered husband, they discover that his ostentatious Puritanism hid a deeply sinister secret life, and that far too often tyranny and treason go hand in hand.

The Midwife's Tale

Author: Nicky Leap,Billie Hunter

Publisher: Pen and Sword

ISBN: 1473829984

Category: Health & Fitness

Page: 256

View: 771


Mothers and midwives reveal the wonders and difficulties of early twentieth century childbirth in this informative and insightful healthcare history. Before the foundation of the United Kingdom’s National Health Service (NHS) in 1948, expectant mothers relied on midwives to help them through childbirth. Based on interviews conducted with dozens and mothers and retired midwives over several years, Billie Hunter and Nicky Leap’s The Midwife’s Tale shares the stories of these women in their own words, shedding light on their experiences and on the realities of childbirth in the first half of the twentieth century. Intriguing, poignant, and sometimes humorous, this oral history covers the experiences of women from the 1910s through the 1950s including accounts of the difficulties of rearing large families in poverty-stricken environments and the lack of information about contraception and abortion—even as midwifery changed from an unqualified “handywoman” skill to an actual profession.

The Midwife's Tale (At Home in Trinity Book #1)

Author: Delia Parr

Publisher: Baker Books

ISBN: 1441228519

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 5325


Martha Cade comes from a long line of midwives who have served the families of Trinity, Pennsylvania, for generations. A widow with two grown children, she's hopeful that her daughter will follow in her footsteps, but when Victoria runs off, Martha's world is shattered. Worse, a new doctor has arrived in town, threatening her job, and she can't remember a time when her faith has been tested more. Still determined to do the work she knows God intended for her, Martha is unprepared for all that waits ahead. Whether it's trying to stop a town scandal, mending broken relationships, or feeling the first whispers of an unexpected romance, she faces every trial and every opportunity with hope and faith. Praise for The Midwife's Tale "Fans of Jan Karon's Mitford series should love Parr's work."--Philadelphia Inquirer "This story has every good thing--believably flawed characters, romance, humor, and even a bit of mystery."--Julie Klassen, bestselling author of The Secret of Pembrooke Park "I was reluctant to say farewell to my new friends from Trinity."--Bestselling author Robin Lee Hatcher "This book has plot twists that are rarely predictable and yet always plausible. Compelling."--Ft. Lauderdale Sun-Sentinel

A Midwife's Tale

Author: Laurel Ulrich

Publisher: Vintage

ISBN: 9780679733768

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 444

View: 1940


Presents the life of Martha Ballard, a midwife in Maine during the eighteenth century, by drawing on the detailed diary she kept for twenty-seven years of her life

The Midwife's Sister

Author: Christine Lee

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN: 1447282639

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 320

View: 3726


‘Our childhood came to an end when our parents parted and from then on Jennifer was placed in the impossible position of having to be a parent to me, her sister. I shall always be grateful for her protection . . .’ Millions have fallen in love with Jennifer Worth and her experiences in the East End as chronicled in Call the Midwife, but little is known about her life outside this period. Now, in this moving and evocative memoir, Jennifer’s sister Christine takes us from their early idyllic years to the cruelty and neglect they suffered after their parents divorced, from Jennifer being forced to leave home at fourteen to their training as nurses. After leaving nursing Jennifer took up a career in music, her first love, and Christine became a sculptor, but through marriages and children, joy and heartbreak, their lives remained intertwined. Absorbing and emotional, The Midwife’s Sister by Christine Lee is testimony to an enduring bond between two extraordinary women.

100 Most Popular Contemporary Mystery Authors: Biographical Sketches and Bibliographies

Author: Bernard A. Drew

Publisher: ABC-CLIO

ISBN: 1598844466

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 439

View: 9028


Provide your mystery fans with background information on their favorite writers and series characters, and use this as a guide for adding contemporary titles to your collections. • Provides interesting and informative profiles of 100 popular, contemporary mystery and crime writers as well as overviews of their series characters • Contains over 60 author photographs • A bibliography lists information on each author's works as well as supporting source materials for the profiles

Midwifery and Medicine in Boston

Author: Amalie M. Kass

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 386

View: 3344


Known for his medical expertise as well as his compassion and concern, Channing was highly regarded by colleagues and patients alike.".

The Midwife's Dream

Author: Kelly Irvin

Publisher: Zondervan

ISBN: 0310352002

Category: Fiction

Page: 100

View: 720


Iris Beachy serves as a midwife in her district where she longs for a family of her own. When her friend’s brother Mahon Kurtz seeks her help in delivering the baby of two young teenagers who have sought refuge in their town, they begin to see each other in a different light. Unprepared for parenthood, the young couple leave their baby girl behind in an antique crib quilt resembling the one destined for Iris when she becomes a mother. Mahon and Iris come together to take care of the baby as they try to find her parents, and they begin to see new possibilities for their future.