A Mother's Promise

Author: K.D. Alden

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1538718189

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 9861


Based on the true story behind a landmark U.S. Supreme Court Decision, K.D. Alden's debut is a rich and moving story of one woman's courage and determination to get her child back when all odds are stacked against her. Virginia, 1927: All Ruth Ann Riley wants is a chance to have a family. But because she was poor and unwed when she became pregnant, she was sent to an institution and her child was given to another woman. Ruth Ann can't stand the thought of never seeing little Annabel's face again, never snuggling up to her warmth or watching her blue eyes crinkle with laughter. And now they want to take away her right to have any other babies? She is not going to let that happen. All the rich and fancy folks may call her feebleminded, but Ruth Ann is smarter than any of them have bargained for. Because no matter how high the odds are stacked against her, she is going to overcome the scandals in her past and get her child back. She just never expects her battle will go to the U.S. Supreme Court, or that she'd find unexpected friendships . . . and even the possibility of love along the way.

A Mother's Promise

Author: Ruth Scofield

Publisher: Steeple Hill

ISBN: 9781459201224

Category: Fiction

Page: 224

View: 2270


Who knew a fresh start could be so hard? Not single mom Lisa Marley. She'd made her share of mistakes, but now she just wanted a chance to rebuild trustand to raise her daughter, Cecily. All she needed was her new faith, not all-too-sure-of-himself Ethan Vance from New Beginnings at church. Widower Ethan could tell secrets hid behind Lisa's quiet facade. Between the challenges of raising three children, his church duties and pursuing a long-cherished dream, he took every opportunity to know her better. As their relationship grew, he wondered if Lisa held the key to his own new beginning, too.

A Mother's Promise

Author: Dilly Court

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1409035603

Category: Fiction

Page: 592

View: 3577


When Hetty Huggins made a promise to her dying mother that she would look after her younger sister and brothers, little did she know how difficult this would be. But despite the threat of being turned out onto the streets by the unscrupulous tallyman and the never-ending struggle just to exist, Hetty is determined her family will never starve or want for a roof over their heads. Longing for something better out of life than the daily grind of making matchboxes for a pittance, she dreams of setting up her own business. With the help of friends she sells hot potatoes on the streets and things begin to look up for them all. But when the tallyman comes calling, they are faced once more with a future full of hardship and despair ...

The Mother's Promise

Author: Sally Hepworth

Publisher: St. Martin's Press

ISBN: 1466889926

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 500


A poignant and breathtaking novel from the author of The Things We Keep and The Secrets of Midwives. All their lives, Alice Stanhope and her daughter, Zoe, have been a family of two, living quietly in Northern California. Zoe has always struggled with crippling social anxiety and her mother has been her constant and fierce protector. With no family to speak of, and the identity of Zoe’s father shrouded in mystery, their team of two works—until it doesn’t. Until Alice gets sick and needs to fight for her life. Desperate to find stability for Zoe, Alice reaches out to two women who are practically strangers but who are her only hope: Kate, a nurse, and Sonja, a social worker. As the four of them come together, a chain of events is set into motion and all four of them must confront their sharpest fears and secrets—secrets about abandonment, abuse, estrangement, and the deepest longing for family. Imbued with heart and humor in even the most dismal moments, The Mother’s Promise is an unforgettable novel about the unbreakable bonds between mothers and daughters and the new ways in which families are forged. Sally Hepworth novels are "sure to appeal to fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult, and Lisa Genova; book clubs will be lining up." —Library Journal (starred review)

A Foster Mother's Promise

Author: Ruth Logan Herne

Publisher: Harlequin

ISBN: 0369715608

Category: Fiction

Page: 224

View: 9887


She’ll do anything to keep them together…in this novel by USA TODAY bestselling author Ruth Logan Herne. To make them a family… She’ll need his help. Raising three children alone is tough, but single mom Carly Bradley makes it work—until she takes in one more. As she struggles to handle the new arrival, grumpy new neighbor Mike Morris seems to bond with little Hannah. But a past tragedy keeps Mike at arm’s length from Carly. Will they both learn to trust again before discovering happiness next door? From Love Inspired: Uplifting stories of faith, forgiveness and hope. Kendrick Creek Book 1: Rebuilding Her Life Book 2: The Path Not Taken Book 3: A Foster Mother's Promise

Mother's Promise

Author: Oakley Dean Baldwin,Doris Barber Baldwin

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 1365713296

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 1873


A Mother's Promise

Author: K. D. Alden

Publisher: Forever

ISBN: 9781538718179

Category:

Page: 368

View: 3849


Based on the true story behind a landmark U.S. Supreme Court Decision, K.D. Alden's debut is a rich and moving story of one woman's courage and determination to get her child back when all odds are stacked against her.

My Mother's House

Author: Francesca Momplaisir

Publisher: Vintage

ISBN: 0525657169

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 2999


One of the Best Books of the Year: Elle, Harper’s Bazaar, Vulture • This uncompromising look at the immigrant experience, and the depravity of one man, is an electrifying page-turner rooted in a magical reality • “Impossible to stop reading” —Vulture When Lucien flees Haiti with his wife, Marie-Ange, and their three children to New York City’s South Ozone Park, he does so hoping for reinvention, wealth, and comfort. He buys a run-down house in a quickly changing community, and begins life anew. Lucien and Marie-Ange call their home La Kay—“my mother’s house”—and it becomes a place where their fellow immigrants can find peace, a good meal, and necessary legal help. But as a severely emotionally damaged man emigrating from a country whose evils he knows to one whose evils he doesn’t, Lucien soon falls into his worst habits and impulses, with La Kay as the backdrop for his lasciviousness. What he can’t begin to fathom is that the house is watching, passing judgment, and deciding to put an end to all the sins it has been made to hold. But only after it has set itself aflame will frightened whispers reveal Lucien’s ultimate evil.

Her mother's darling

Author: Charlotte Eliza L. Riddell

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 1259