A Moveable Feast: The Restored Edition

Author: Ernest Hemingway

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1416591311

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 240

View: 7504


A restored edition of the posthumously published book eliminates changes that were made to the manuscript before its original 1964 release, in a volume that draws on Hemingway's personal papers, features sketches of his experiences in Paris with his son and first wife, and includes irreverent portraits of such contemporaries as F. Scott Fitzgerald and Ford Maddox Ford.

Moveable Feast: The Restored Edition

Author: Ernest Hemingway

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1476770425

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 256

View: 1819


Published posthumously in 1964, A Moveable Feast remains one of Ernest Hemingway's most beloved works. Since Hemingway's personal papers were released in 1979, scholars have examined and debated the changes made to the text before publication. Now this new special restored edition presents the original manuscript as the author prepared it to be published. Featuring a personal foreword by Patrick Hemingway, Ernest's sole surviving son, and an introduction by the editor and grandson of the author, Seán Hemingway, this new edition also includes a number of unfinished, never-before-published Paris sketches revealing experiences that Hemingway had with his son Jack and his first wife, Hadley. Also included are irreverent portraits of other luminaries, such as F. Scott Fitzgerald and Ford Madox Ford, and insightful recollections of his own early experiments with his craft. Sure to excite critics and readers alike, the restored edition of A Moveable Feast brilliantly evokes the exuberant mood of Paris after World War I and the unbridled creativity and unquenchable enthusiasm that Hemingway himself epitomized.

100 Provocative Statements about a Moveable Feast

Author: Daniel Hook

Publisher: Lennex

ISBN: 9785458806800

Category:

Page: 44

View: 9010


In this book, we have hand-picked the most sophisticated, unanticipated, absorbing (if not at times crackpot!), original and musing book reviews of "A Moveable Feast: The Restored Edition." Don't say we didn't warn you: these reviews are known to shock with their unconventionality or intimacy. Some may be startled by their biting sincerity; others may be spellbound by their unbridled flights of fantasy. Don't buy this book if: 1. You don't have nerves of steel. 2. You expect to get pregnant in the next five minutes. 3. You've heard it all.

The Hemingway Review

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 7840


The World's Fastest Man

Author: Michael Kranish

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1501192612

Category: History

Page: 384

View: 1528


In the tradition of The Boys in the Boat and Seabiscuit, a fascinating portrait of a groundbreaking but forgotten figure—the remarkable Major Taylor, the black man who broke racial barriers by becoming the world’s fastest and most famous bicyclist at the height of the Jim Crow era. In the 1890s, the nation’s promise of equality had failed spectacularly. While slavery had ended with the Civil War, the Jim Crow laws still separated blacks from whites, and the excesses of the Gilded Age created an elite upper class. Amidst this world arrived Major Taylor, a young black man who wanted to compete in the nation’s most popular and mostly white man’s sport, cycling. Birdie Munger, a white cyclist who once was the world’s fastest man, declared that he could help turn the young black athlete into a champion. Twelve years before boxer Jack Johnson and fifty years before baseball player Jackie Robinson, Taylor faced racism at nearly every turn—especially by whites who feared he would disprove their stereotypes of blacks. In The World’s Fastest Man, years in the writing, investigative journalist Michael Kranish reveals new information about Major Taylor based on a rare interview with his daughter and other never-before-uncovered details from Taylor’s life. Kranish shows how Taylor indeed became a world champion, traveled the world, was the toast of Paris, and was one of the most chronicled black men of his day. From a moment in time just before the arrival of the automobile when bicycles were king, the populace was booming with immigrants, and enormous societal changes were about to take place, The World’s Fastest Man shines a light on a dramatic moment in American history—the gateway to the twentieth century.

Paris Without End

Author: Gioia Diliberto

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN: 9780062108838

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 400

View: 5154


“A bittersweetmodern love story [that] reads as easily as a novel.” —Vogue Hemingway’screative influences for novels like The Sun Also Rises, A Farewell toArms, and The Old Man and the Sea came not only from his famoushunting trips, his liaisons in Cuba, or his relationships with Gertrude Stein,F. Scott Fitzgerald, James Joyce and other Lost Generation writers. DuringHemingway’s period of greatest literary foment, his most seminal relationshipwas with Hadley Richardson, his first wife. In Paris Without End,acclaimed author Gioia Diliberto,biographer of Jane Addams and Brenda Frazier, delivers a gripping, novelisticexploration of Hadley’s personality and her role in Hemingway’s life, finally unclouding our view of Hemingway’s relationship with theone woman he never stopped loving.

Quicklet on Ernest Hemingway's A Moveable Feast (CliffNotes-like Summary)

Author: Vivian Wagner

Publisher: Hyperink Inc

ISBN: 1614649618

Category: Study Aids

Page: 18

View: 4059


ABOUT THE BOOK I first read Hemingway’s posthumously-published memoir, A Moveable Feast (1964), when I was spending my junior year abroad studying at the University of Exeter in England, and I fell in love with the book. I think it appealed to me especially since I imagined myself to be -- like Hemingway and his friends -- an expatriate, at least for those nine months. It’s an exquisitely readable book, peppered with all sorts of literary figures I knew through English classes: Gertrude Stein, Ezra Pound, F. Scott Fitzgerald, and Ford Madox Ford. There is nothing better for a young reader than to learn the secrets and hear the voices of writers known only through their novels, stories, and poems. A Moveable Feast brings them and the 1920s Parisian literary culture that surrounded them alive. MEET THE AUTHOR professional writer Vivian Wagner has wide-ranging interests, from technology and business to music and motorcycles. She writes features regularly for ECT News Network, and her work has also appeared in American Profile, Entrepreneur, Bluegrass Unlimited, and many other publications. She is also the author of Fiddle: One Woman, Four Strings, and 8,000 Miles of Music (Citadel 2010). For more about her, visit her website at www.vivianwagner.net. EXCERPT FROM THE BOOK A Moveable Feast is an episodic book, with short chapters devoted to various people, themes, and locations important to Hemingway during the period he and Hadley lived in Paris from 1921 to 1926. The book is roughly chronological, beginning when Hemingway and Hadley first arrive in Paris and ending when Hemingway has an affair and their marriage begins to fall apart. The book’s first chapter is called “A Good Café on the Place St.-Michel,” and it gives readers a first glimpse into the world that Hemingway inhabits. He describes how he’s writing about Michigan and his boyhood while being in the café, and the perspective he has in this opening scene encapsulates the expatriate perspective he has throughout the book: “I was writing about up in Michigan and since it was a wild, cold blowing day it was that sort of day in the story. Buy a copy to keep reading!

New Statesman

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Great Britain

Page: N.A

View: 4629