A Nurse at the Front

Author: Ruth Cowen

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 0857202243

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 320

View: 7627


This, the first in a series of four unique War Diaries produced in conjunction with the Imperial War Museum, will tell a story that is rarely heard: the experiences of a nurse working close to the Western Front in the First World War. Incredibly, Edith Appleton served in France for the whole of the conflict. Her bravery and dedication won her the Military OBE, the Royal Red Cross and the Belgian Queen Elizabeth medal among others. Her diary details with compassion all the horrors of the 'war to end wars', including the first use of poison gas and the terrible cost of battles such as Ypres, but she also records what life was like for nurses and how she spent her time off-duty. There are moments of humour amongst the tragedy, and even lyrical accounts of the natural beauty that still existed amidst all the destruction.

Nurse at the Trenches

Author: Agnes Warner

Publisher: Diggory Press Limited

ISBN: 0951565567

Category: Medical

Page: 92

View: 4955


Written from the French front by a brave Red Cross nurse, these home letters were hurriedly penned amid the incessant roar of the mighty guns and surrounded by the wounded and the dying. This collection provides a fascinating glimpse into the life of a nurse at war.

Nurse Writers of the Great War

Author: Christine Hallett

Publisher: Manchester University Press

ISBN: 1784996327

Category: Medical

Page: 296

View: 6933


This electronic version has been made available under a Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) open access license. The First World War was the first ‘total war’. Its industrial weaponry damaged millions of men and drove whole armies underground into dangerously unhealthy trenches. Many were killed. Many more suffered terrible, life-threatening injuries: wound infections such as gas gangrene and tetanus, exposure to extremes of temperature, emotional trauma and systemic disease. In an effort to alleviate this suffering, tens of thousands of women volunteered to serve as nurses. Of these, some were experienced professionals, while others had undergone only minimal training. But regardless of their preparation, they would all gain a unique understanding of the conditions of industrial warfare. Until recently their contributions, both to the saving of lives and to our understanding of warfare, have remained largely hidden from view. By combining biographical research with textual analysis, Nurse writers of the great war opens a window onto their insights into the nature of nursing and the impact of warfare.

The Army Nurse

Author: United States. Army Nurse Corps

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Nurses

Page: 32

View: 8149


Becoming a Nurse in the 21st Century

Author: Ian Peate

Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

ISBN: 0470030135

Category: Medical

Page: 522

View: 7519


This is an accessible guide aimed at student nurses, introducing them, and guiding them through the Nursing and Midwifery Council's approved programmes of education for Registered Nurse status. Every programme of study that prepares a student to become a proficient registered nurse must be approved by the NMC and adhere to its standards and guidelines. The book is broken in to four sections based on the four proficiencies stated by the NMC: Professional and Ethical Practice; Care Delivery; Care Management and Personal and Professional Development. It presents these proficiencies in an easy to understand and implement way, making it easily accessible for both students, and registered nurses who will find it a useful reference for their work and development.

The Student's Guide to Becoming a Nurse

Author: Ian Peate

Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

ISBN: 0470672706

Category: Medical

Page: 472

View: 4470


The Student’s Guide to BECOMING A NURSE The Student’s Guide to Becoming a Nurse is an essential guide for all student nurses who want to become competent practitioners. It explores the knowledge, skills and attitudes that all pre-registration nursing students must acquire by the end of their programme of study, enabling them to become confident, successful nurses. Thoroughly re-written and updated to include the latest 2010 NMC standards for pre-registration nursing education, this invaluable textbook is divided into four key sections: Professional values Communication and interpersonal skills Nursing practice and decision making Leadership, management and team working With case studies, top tips, activities and questions throughout, The Student’s Guide to Becoming a Nurse is ideal for all pre-registration nurses and those about to qualify. Student Reviews “It’s been designed for students and that’s why I like it… it is student friendly, useful, easy to read.” Tamara Thomas, 2nd year nursing student, Swansea University “I cannot fault the content – it is straight to the point, it provides some interesting resources for a student nurse that is essential for them to know… a joy to read.” Faye Elliott, 2nd year nursing student, Keele University “I think the content and material is excellent… I will definitely be making recommendations to my friends.” Leanne Curran, 2nd year nursing student, University of Ulster “This book is truly amazing and provided all of the information needed for my final exam to become a qualified nurse. I passed with flying colours, thanks.” Amazon review

The Army Nurse

Author: United States. Adjutant-General's Office War Department

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: 32

View: 4631


A Nurse at War

Author: Maggie Holt

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1448107431

Category: Fiction

Page: 528

View: 2601


This wonderfully engaging and unputdownable wartime saga from much-loved author Maggie Hope is perfect for fans of Call the Midwife, Dilly Court and Donna Douglas. You'll be hooked from page one! WHAT READERS ARE SAYING ABOUT A NURSE AT WAR! 'Plenty of twists and turns to keep you engrossed' -- ***** Reader review 'What a fab story - I loved it - I couldn't put it down' -- ***** Reader review 'Amazing book. Couldn't put down. Very happy!' -- ***** Reader review 'Captivating' -- ***** Reader review 'This book had me hooked from the beginning' -- ***** Reader review 'Brilliant' -- ***** Reader review ***************************************************************** SHE LONGED TO SERVE HER COUNTRY IN ITS HOUR OF NEED... Attractive, clever and wilful, Lily Knowles is desperate to leave home. So at twenty-one she escapes to London to train as a nurse, where she gathers many admirers - none more dashing than RAF officer Sandy Redfern, with whom she falls in love. But the coming of war, with the chaos of the Blitz, brings upheavals and unforeseen entanglements. Nursing a broken heart, Lily throws herself into her work, which sends her to a busy RAF hospital in Hampshire, where a faithful childhood sweetheart persuades her to become engaged to him. And then fate brings Sandy Redfern back into her life. What of their once passionate love and her present commitment? Can the past ever be recaptured and can past wrongs be righted? Have you read A Nurse's Courage, Maggie Holt's previous title?

So You Want to Be a Nurse?

Author: Marianne Pilgrim Calabrese

Publisher: Frederick Fell Publishers

ISBN: 9780883911198

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 176

View: 8883


A book that will educate nurses and aspiring nurses alike on how to excel in the health care system reveals everything no one wants to tell you about the nursing profession, saving the reader the agony of on-the-job trial-and-error training and giving one a head start in using experienced strategies in order to succeed. Original.

A Volunteer Nurse on the Western Front

Author: Olive Dent

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 075355075X

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 304

View: 4191


Starring Oona Chaplin as a V.A.D. (Voluntary Aid Detachment), and Suranne Jones and Hermione Norris as trained nurses, The Crimson Field is a gripping drama set in a tented hospital on the coast of France, where plucky real-life V.A.D. Olive Dent served two years of the Great War, and kept this extraordinarily vivid diary of day-to-day life – ever cheerful through the bitter cold, the chilblains, hunger and exhaustion. Resilient, courageous and resourceful, nurses, doctors and patients alike do their best to support each other. A Christmas fancy-dress ball, a concert performed by a stoic orchestra covered in bandages, church services held in a marquee and letters from Blighty all keep spirits up in camp, as wounded soldiers suffer terribly with quiet dignity on the makeshift wards, and nurses rush round tirelessly to make them as comfortable as possible. With original illustrations throughout by fellow V.A.D.s, Olive’s memoir is a fascinating period piece, a rare first-hand account of this little-known story, which will resonate very strongly with viewers of The Crimson Field.