A Very English Scandal

Author: John Preston

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN: 0241973759

Category: Political Science

Page: 352

View: 8881


The shocking true story of the first British politician to stand trial for murder Behind oak-panelled doors in the House of Commons, men with cut-glass accents and gold signet rings are conspiring to murder. It's the late 1960s and homosexuality has only just been legalised, and Jeremy Thorpe, the leader of the Liberal party, has a secret he's desperate to hide. As long as Norman Scott, his beautiful, unstable lover is around, Thorpe's brilliant career is at risk. With the help of his fellow politicians, Thorpe schemes, deceives, embezzles - until he can see only one way to silence Scott for good.

An Accidental Icon

Author: Norman Scott

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1529370302

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 336

View: 3152


'Compelling' The Daily Mail 'So many gripping moments... a real cracker' The Evening Standard The jaw-dropping and inspiring story of accidental queer icon Norman Scott (the hero of TV drama A Very English Scandal) and the part he played in one of the greatest political scandals of the 20th century. In October 1975 an assassin tried to murder Norman Scott on Exmoor but the trigger failed and he only succeeded in shooting Scott's beloved dog, Rinka. Scott subsequently found himself at the centre of a major political scandal and became an unlikely queer icon. But this was never his intention... He was born in 1940 into a poor, dysfunctional and abusive family. Aged sixteen he began an equestrian career, animals having been the one source of comfort in his childhood. By the age of twenty he had run into debts and had suffered a nervous breakdown. In 1960 Scott began a sexual affair with Jeremy Thorpe. By the time of the attempted assassination of Scott, Thorpe was married, leader of the Liberal Party and a figure at the heart of the establishment. He was embarrassed by their former relationship and wanted to cover it up. But he failed. The assassination attempt culminated in a sensational trial in 1979, where Thorpe was tried for conspiracy to murder. The press labelled Scott a madman and the establishment protected Thorpe, who was acquitted. Only recently has Scott's version of events been vindicated. An Accidental Icon tells a story that is inspiring and jaw droppingly unbelievable: it is the tale of the courage and survival of one man who took on the establishment

Actors' and Performers' Yearbook 2020

Author: Lloyd Trott

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 1350107581

Category: Drama

Page: 512

View: 1737


This well-established and respected directory supports actors in their training and search for work on stage, screen and radio. It is the only directory to provide detailed information for each listing and specific advice on how to approach companies and individuals, saving hours of further research. From agents and casting directors to producing theatres, showreel companies, photographers and much more, this essential reference book editorially selects only the most relevant and reputable contacts for the actor. With several new articles including The multi-hyphenate comedy actor-performer-writer; Ignition, inspiration and the imposter; Be prepared for publicity; and Equity pension scheme, Actors' and Performers' Yearbook 2020 features aspects of the profession not previously covered, as well as continuing to provide valuable insight into auditions, interviews and securing work alongside a casting calendar and financial issues. This is a valuable professional tool in an industry where contacts and networking are key to career survival. All listings have been updated alongside fresh advice from industry experts.

Fall

Author: John Preston

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN: 0241985978

Category: Political Science

Page: 352

View: 1253


THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER SHORTLISTED FOR THE BAILLIE GIFFORD PRIZE 2021 SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA BIOGRAPHY AWARD A SUNDAY TIMES AND TELEGRAPH BOOK OF THE YEAR The dramatic, gripping story of notorious business tycoon Robert Maxwell is this year's must have Christmas gift for fans of true crime and corruption! From the acclaimed author of A Very English Scandal. 'The best biography yet of the media magnate Robert Maxwell - by turns engrossing, amusing and appalling' Robert Harris, Sunday Times 'Electrifying... the supreme chronicler of modern British scandals' Mail on Sunday Robert Maxwell was a very British success. Born an Orthodox Jew, he escaped the Nazi occupation of Czechoslovakia, fought in the Second World War, and was decorated for his heroism with the Military Cross. He went on to become a Labour MP and an astonishingly successful businessman, owning a number of newspapers and publishing companies. But after his dead body was discovered floating in waters around his superyacht, his empire fell apart as long-hidden debts and unscrupulous dealings came to light. Within a few days, Maxwell was being reviled as the embodiment of greed and corruption. What went so wrong? How did a man who had once laid such store on the importance of ethics and good behaviour become reduced to a bloated, amoral wreck? In this gripping book, John Preston delivers the definitive account of Maxwell's extraordinary rise and scandalous fall. 'I have a shelf full of books about frauds, but this one is by far the most enjoyable' Craig Brown, author of Ma'am Darling

A Very English Deceit

Author: Malcolm Balen

Publisher: 4th Estate, Limited

ISBN: N.A

Category: Finance

Page: 260

View: 8177


The early years of the 18th-century produced two great monuments: one, Christopher Wren's new cathedral of St Paul's, an enduring testament to principled craft and masterful construction, the other an empty fraud of such magnitude that its collapse threatened to overturn monarchies and governments. Its failure delayed the introduction of modern market economies by two generations. Yet the full scale of this monumental deceit was quietly covered up and hidden, its enduring legacy a poorly understood colloquialism: the South Sea Bubble.

Wyld Dreamers

Author: Pamela Holmes

Publisher: Open Road Media

ISBN: 1504070593

Category: Fiction

Page: 262

View: 6171


“Holmes creates a quiet air of tension as she deftly describes the carelessness of youth and its consequences in her endearingly flawed characters.” —Hilary Boyd, bestselling author of Thursdays in the Park In the summer of 1972, a group of friends is invited to Somerset to help photographer Seymour Stratton renovate a dilapidated cottage on Wyld Farm. Over the next year, they come to regard the farm as a place to be for the rest of their lives, to enjoy the good life. But despite the commitment and camaraderie, the rural idyll collapses. Twenty-five years later, the group is brought together again in unexpected circumstances—and the secrets of the past that are revealed may devastate once unbreakable friendships—in this extraordinary novel from the bestselling author of The Huntingfield Paintress. “Wry, vivid and deftly plotted, this account of how youthful follies can come back to haunt you in middle age is a real delight.” —John Preston, author of A Very English Scandal

A Little London Scandal

Author: Miranda Emmerson

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN: 0008244340

Category: Fiction

Page: 288

View: 4273


A story of class and corruption, sex and the Sixties, for fans of A Very English Scandal and The Trial of Christine Keeler

Fall

Author: John Preston

Publisher: Harper

ISBN: 9780062997494

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 384

View: 6467


From the acclaimed author of A Very English Scandal, a thrilling and dramatic true-life account of the rise and fall of one of the most notorious media moguls of all time: Robert Maxwell. In February 1991, Robert Maxwell triumphantly sailed into Manhattan harbor on his yacht, the Lady Ghislaine, to buy the ailing New York Daily News. Taxi drivers stopped their cabs to shake his hand, children asked for his autograph, and patrons of the hottest restaurant in Manhattan gave him a standing ovation while he dined. Ten months later, Maxwell disappeared off that same yacht in the middle of the night and was later found dead in the water. As John Preston reveals in this entertaining and revealing biography, Maxwell's death was as mysterious as his remarkable life. A tightly paced, addictive saga of ambition, hubris, narcissism, greed, power, and intrigue, Fall recounts Maxwell's rise and fall and rise and fall again. Preston weaves backwards and forwards in time to examine the forces that shaped Maxwell, including his childhood as a Jew in occupied Eastern Europe through his failed political ambitions in the 1960s which ended in accusations of financial double-dealing, and his resurrection as a media mogul--and on to the family legacy he left behind, including his daughter Ghislaine Maxwell. Preston chronicles Maxwell's all-encompassing rivalry with Rupert Murdoch--a battle that ruined Maxwell financially, threatened his sanity and lead, indirectly, to his death. Did Maxwell have a heart attack and fall overboard? Was his death suicide? Or was he murdered--possibly by Mossad or the KGB? Few in the twentieth century journeyed as far from his roots as Robert Maxwell. Yet, as Fall reveals, no one, however rich and powerful, can entirely escape their past.

Doctor Who: Rose (Target Collection)

Author: Russell T Davies

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1473531233

Category: Fiction

Page: 208

View: 1586


Discover the new Doctor Who classics. “Nice to meet you, Rose. Run for your life!” In a lair somewhere beneath central London, a malevolent alien intelligence is plotting the end of humanity. Shop window dummies that can move – and kill – are taking up key positions, ready to strike. Rose Tyler, an ordinary Londoner, is working her shift in a department store, unaware that this is the most important day of her life. She’s about to meet the only man who understands the true nature of the threat facing Earth, a stranger who will open her eyes to all the wonder and terror of the universe – a traveller in time and space known as the Doctor.