A Voyage For Madmen

Author: Peter Nichols

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN: 006186840X

Category: Travel

Page: 336

View: 6412


In the tradition of Into Thin Air and The Perfect Storm, comes a breathtaking oceanic adventure about an obsessive desire to test the limits of human endurance. In 1968 nine sailors set off on the most daring race ever held and never before completed: to single-handedly circumnavigate the globe nonstop. Ten months later, only one of the nine men would cross the finish line and earn fame, wealth, and glory. For the others, the reward was madness, failure, and death. Gorgeously written and meticulously researched by author Peter Nichols, this extraordinary book chronicles the contest of the individual against the sea, waged at a time before cell phones, satellite dishes, and electronic positioning systems. A Voyage for Madmen is a tale of sailors driven by their own dreams and demons, of horrific storms, and of those riveting moments when a decision means the difference between life and death.

Voyage for Madmen

Author: Peter Nichols

Publisher: Profile Books(GB)

ISBN: 9781846684432

Category: Single-handed sailing

Page: 352

View: 5793


Published to coincide with the Golden Globe Race's 50th AnniversaryIt lay like a gauntlet thrown down; to sail around the world alone and non-stop. No one had ever done it, no one knew if it could be done. In 1968, nine men - six Englishmen, two Frenchmen and an Italian - set out to try, a race born of coincidence of their timing. One didn't even know how to sail. They had more in common with Captain Cook or Ferdinand Magellan than with the high-tech, extreme sailors of today, a mere forty years later. It was not the sea or the weather that determined the nature of their voyages but the men they were, and they were as different from one another as Scott from Amundsen. Only one of the nine crossed the finishing line after ten months at sea. The rest encountered despair, sublimity, madness and even death.

Friedrich Nietzsche

Author: Christian Benne,Jutta Georg

Publisher: Walter de Gruyter

ISBN: 9783050064987

Category: Philosophy

Page: 196

View: 895


Die Fröhliche Wissenschaft gilt als das erste durchkomponierte Werk von Nietzsches reifer Philosophie. Sie formulierte erstmalig jene Motive, die man später zu seinen "Lehren" verkürzte, darunter den Tod Gottes, das amor fati, die Lebensbejahung, den Willen zur Macht, den Perspektivismus. Schon Giorgio Colli sprach von "Nietzsches gelungenstem Versuch philosophischer Mitteilung." Mit ihrer Aufwertung begann auch die moderne Nietzscheforschung.

The Kindred Path

Author: Steve Hazell

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 130482831X

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 192

View: 6475


Brought together by a shared love of music, reunited through political action, Bob Weitzel and Steve Hazell were in and out of each others lives until Weitzel's final challenge, his solo kayak journey on Lake Superior. The kindred path is--the story of a remarkable 22-year friendship; the Green Apple Folk Music Society; reflections on 17 years of performing folk music; a participant's view of the 2011 rallies at the Wisconsin State Capitol; Weitzel's ill-fated quest on Lake Superior, based on the journal he kept during the voyage; the author's odyssey of discovery to find closure with the death of a friend. Above all else, The kindred path is a tribute to Bob Weitzel, an accomplished man who had a habit of changing lives.

Solitude and Loneliness

Author: Sarvananda

Publisher: Windhorse Publications

ISBN: 1907314458

Category: Religion

Page: 152

View: 6949


Referencing cultural touchstones such as Into The Wild, the art of Edward Hopper, and the work of Charlie Chaplin, Sarvananda considers what we think about being alone. Buddhism suggests that solitude can bring about positive emotion and change. Exploring this idea through personal experience, psychology and myth the author shows how facing our essential aloneness can lead us to better understand our essential relatedness.

Strange and Dangerous Dreams

Author: Geoff Powter

Publisher: The Mountaineers Books

ISBN: 9780898869873

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 245

View: 8446


Every culture, in every era, has its adventure myths - the golden hero willing to walk through fire elevates us all beyond our fears and limits. But more often than commonly recognized, there are darker reasons for dangerous pursuits. When do mountains, poles, and oceans become merely an incidental stage for a troubled psychodrama? Where, truly, falls the line between adventure and madness? Psychologist Geoff Powter looks into the lives of eleven adventurers he calls The Burdened, The Bent, and The Lost, presenting previously unpublished information provided by witnesses, friends, and family.

The Best American Sports Writing 2019

Author: Jackie MacMullan

Publisher: Mariner Books

ISBN: 1328507858

Category:

Page: 352

View: 6941


The latest addition to the acclaimed series showcasing the best sports writing from the past year For over twenty-five years, The Best American Sports Writing has built a solid reputation by showcasing the greatest sports journalism of the previous year, culled from hundreds of national, regional, and specialty print and digital publications. Each year, the series editor and guest editor curates a truly exceptional collection. The only shared traits among all these diverse styles, voices, and stories are the extraordinarily high caliber of writing, and the pure passion they tap into that can only come from sports.

Jungian Reflections On Grandiosity

Author: Francesco Belviso

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 0429603010

Category: Psychology

Page: 140

View: 9912


In Jungian Reflections on Grandiosity: From Destructive Fantasies to Passions and Purpose, Francesco Belviso presents a dual view of grandiosity as a destructive obsession that, when approached with curiosity and awareness, has the potential of fueling our lives with a sense of purpose, while being a positive force in the world. Explaining Jungian psychological concepts in an engaging style, the book begins by examining the origins of grandiose fantasies in children, and how grandiosity persists well into adulthood, in our dreams, fantasies, and strivings. Exploring its relation to narcissism and delusions, the book describes how grandiosity can hijack many areas of our lives—as we chase fame, beauty, knowledge, youth, and even morality—often with disastrous consequences. The book’s second half explores how grandiosity can help us identify our passions and callings, ending with a discussion on how to pursue them with integrity and courage. Weaving stories from Greek mythology to Dante’s poetry, from the heroic lives of Rosa Parks to Captain Sully, from fairy tales to our everyday decisions about careers, finances, selfies, and dating, and from the lives and nighttime dreams of his patients and his own, Belviso invites us to explore the larger-than-life aspirations that stir us all. This book offers ideas and tools to better understand our ambitions, challenging us to come to terms with our limitations and find personally meaningful paths forward. Jungian Reflections on Grandiosity will be essential reading for academics and students of Jungian studies, as well as analytical psychologists and analysts in practice and in training. It will also be of interest to those wishing to explore Jungian ideas and the role of grandiosity in public and private life.

The Readers' Advisory Guide to Nonfiction

Author: Neal Wyatt

Publisher: American Library Association

ISBN: 9780838909362

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 318

View: 8652


With a focus on eight catagories including memoir, sports, and true crime, a readers' advisory guide includes coverage of the major authors and works, popularity, and style.