A Wolf Called Romeo

Author: Nick Jans

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN: 0547858191

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 267

View: 6320


An award-winning writer and photographer tells the extraordinary story of a lone black wolf who, showing up on his doorstep, returned again and again to interact with the people and dogs of Juneau, giving humans a rare chance to understand it a little more. 40,000 first printing.

The Wolf Connection

Author: Teo Alfero

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 150119318X

Category: Nature

Page: 320

View: 6277


Discover the transformative lessons from one of humanity’s oldest teachers—the wolf—with this enthralling and accessible guidebook to help us restore our connection with nature, our communities, and our deepest selves. The wolf has enthralled humankind for millennia, as a creature to be both feared and admired. It is the focus of countless myths around the world, in cultures as varied as the Ainu people of Japan to the Apache First Nation elders who worshipped the wolf. Now in The Wolf Connection, Teo Alfero, shaman and wolf conservancy founder, shares the profound knowledge that can be gleaned from these majestic creatures to restore our bond with nature and our connection to humanity. Legends, behavioral science, and biological research all suggest that human beings picked up many of their key evolutionary traits—such as cooperative hunting and raising of their young, and their high degree of emotional intelligence and deep bonding—from wolves. Teo and his team at Wolf Heart Ranch conservatory have seen first-hand how wolves and wolfdogs can shift people’s outlooks, empowering at-risk youth and benefitting people from all walks of life through their wolf therapy program, the Wolf Connection. As we restore our ancestral bond with these inspiring, resourceful beings, we begin to reclaim the best of what it means to be human. Grounded in Teo’s years of working with wolves, as well as the findings of wolf biologists and the wisdom of First Nation elders, The Wolf Connection offers a set of twelve Wolf Principles to awaken our intuition, live more authentically, and heal from past trauma. By integrating a myriad of sources—including inspiring stories from the Wolf Heart Ranch—Teo provides a complete understanding of wolves and the lessons they have to teach us, so you can harness their powerful and transformative insights in your own life.

Sensitive Soul

Author: Michael A. Jawer

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1644110830

Category: Body, Mind & Spirit

Page: 256

View: 1458


Explores how emotion underlies personality, triggers the development of non-ordinary states and perceptions, and connects all life • Shows how the flow of our emotions shapes individual minds and personalities • Reveals the significant role of emotion in PTSD, alexithymia (not knowing what one is feeling), autism, savantism, synesthesia (overlapping senses), déjà vu, phantom pain, migraines, and extreme empathy • Looks at the emotional lives of animals, demonstrating how life-threatening emergencies can trigger amazing sensitivities and abilities in them Emotion, as it exists within and between people, underpins personality, spirituality, and a range of extraordinary perceptions, conditions, and experiences. These include déjà vu, phantom pain, post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), and extreme empathy, where people instantaneously feel the physical or emotional pain of another. Many gifted children, those with synesthesia, and people with autism--not to mention highly sensitive people in general--report forms of innate “knowing” and even paranormal experiences. In this exploration of the role of emotion in non-ordinary states and abilities, Michael Jawer shows how the flow of our emotions and those of the people around us greatly influences the development of exceptional capacities and sensitivities. Drawing on a range of scientific studies, Jawer explores how 5 remarkable kinds of people--individuals with autism, synesthesia, savantism, child prodigies, and children who remember past lives--are linked through the biology of emotion and how a hidden emotional intensity underlies both autism and anomalous perception. He examines the psychological concept of thin and thick boundaries and how those with thin boundaries--those who are more environmentally sensitive--have a greater predisposition toward empathy, synesthesia, psi abilities, and extraordinary states of perception. Sharing extraordinary examples, the author explores how strong emotion may endure through time and space, possibly even after death. He also looks at the emotional lives of animals, our soulful connections with them, and how life-­threatening emergencies can trigger amazing sensitivities and abilities in our fellow creatures. Revealing the unseen role of emotion in mind and personality, Jawer shows that emotion is the binding force that connects us with one another, with all of life, and with nature itself.

A Dog in the Cave

Author: Kay Frydenborg

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN: 1328694909

Category: Young Adult Nonfiction

Page: 261

View: 2805


“A compelling look at the origins of and the ongoing unique relationship between humans and dogs . . . [a] lively blend of science and history.”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review) We know dogs are our best animal friends, but have you ever thought about what that might mean? Fossils show we’ve shared our work and homes with dogs for tens of thousands of years. Now there’s growing evidence that we influenced dogs’ evolution—and they, in turn, changed ours. Even more than our closest relatives, the apes, dogs are the species with whom we communicate best. Combining history, paleontology, biology, and cutting-edge medical science, Kay Frydenborg paints a picture of how two different species became deeply entwined—and how we coevolved into the species we are today. “Narrative nonfiction at its best—high interest and engaging, with meaty interdisciplinary science exploration. A top choice for tweens and teens.”—School Library Journal (starred review) “This narrative blend of history and science belongs on all shelves.”—Booklist (starred review) “A fascinating study of the ways in which a relationship with canines has been pivotal to humanity’s development . . . Sidebars and color photographs supplement and expand on the central narrative, which is all but certain to leave readers thinking about their dogs, and themselves, in entirely new ways.”—Publishers Weekly “Evident throughout [A Dog in the Cave] are the author’s passion and curiosity.”—The Horn Book

Calling Romeo

Author: Alexandra Potter

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 074347032X

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 8859


Bored by her comfortable romantic relationship with Will, Juliet, a successful businesswoman, dreams of passion and excitement and finds herself drawn to a handsome rival from a competing advertising firm, embarking on a search for love that takes her from London, to Yorkshire, to Verona, Italy, and brings her into offbeat encounters with a variety of colorful characters. Original. 35,000 first printing.

Wolf Nation

Author: Brenda Peterson

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0306824949

Category: Nature

Page: 304

View: 674


In the tradition of Peter Matthiessen's Wildlife in America or Aldo Leopold, Brenda Peterson tells the 300-year history of wild wolves in America. It is also our own history, seen through our relationship with wolves. The earliest Americans revered them. Settlers zealously exterminated them. Now, scientists, writers, and ordinary citizens are fighting to bring them back to the wild. Peterson, an eloquent voice in the battle for twenty years, makes the powerful case that without wolves, not only will our whole ecology unravel, but we'll lose much of our national soul.

The Book Inside You

Author: Apurva Kale

Publisher: Apurva Kale

ISBN: N.A

Category: Self-Help

Page: 130

View: 1050


We are an incredible living thing called as humans and surely, our existence hits us from every other way. The universe has issued a book for us. We never recognize what the following chapter holds. A few chapters are pitiful, some are energizing and some are other. This book will enable you to discover, "The Book Inside You ."

On the Trail of Wolves

Author: Philippa Forrester

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 1472972066

Category: Nature

Page: 272

View: 2465


Wolves fascinate us – they always have and always will – and with her new non-fiction narrative, author and TV presenter Philippa Forrester aims to help us understand the wolf better and learn its real place in modern America to try and gauge its future. When Philippa and her family relocated to the wilds of Wyoming, the sound of wolves close to their new home fed her lifelong fascination. But as she settled into life in the US, she discovered many residents weren't happy to share their land with wolves. Philippa listened to what locals have to say and travelled further from home to talk to rangers, conservationists, hunters and ranch owners to try and learn when and why opinions on wolves became so polarised. It's now more than a decade since wolves were reintroduced into Yellowstone National Park. To many, their reintroduction seemed like a victory. But what does the future hold for wolves in a land where many people resent they were ever there at all? How can ever-increasing human populations learn to live alongside large predators before we end up with a planet devoid of them? In this captivating non-fiction narrative, Philippa trails wild wolves living within the Greater Yellowstone ecosystem revealing what she learns about these beautiful wild animals from living among them, as she tries to make sense of the lies and rumours that are spread about wolves by those who seek to exterminate them again.

The First Domestication

Author: Raymond John Pierotti,Brandy R. Fogg

Publisher: Yale University Press

ISBN: 0300226160

Category: Nature

Page: 326

View: 7248


"Raymond Pierotti and Brandy Fogg change the narrative about how wolves became dogs and, in turn, humanity's best friend. Rather than recount how people mastered and tamed an aggressive, dangerous species, the authors describe coevolution and mutualism. Wolves, particularly ones shunned by their packs, most likely initiated the relationship with Paleolithic humans, forming bonds built on mutually recognized skills and emotional capacity. This interdisciplinary study draws on sources from evolutionary biology as well as tribal and indigenous histories to produce an intelligent, insightful, and often unexpected story of cooperative hunting, wolves protecting camps, and wolf-human companionship"--Dust jacket flap.

Deep Nature Play

Author: Joseph Bharat Cornell

Publisher: Crystal Clarity Publishers

ISBN: 1565895754

Category: Nature

Page: 148

View: 1554


When absorbed in deep play our sensory awareness is heightened, we become immersed in the present moment and feel intensely alert and alive. Because play is fun and rewarding, we operate at the peak of our mental and physical capacity. Let Joseph Cornell, one of the world's most popular nature educators, empower you with the tools to maximize play, and transform it from mere entertainment into a doorway to enhanced living, creativity, and concentration.