Absolutely Normal Chaos

Author: Sharon Creech

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN: 1529059674

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 9777


So. Here it is. My summer journal. As you can see, I got a little carried away. The problem is this, though. I don’t want you to read it. I really mean it. I just wanted you to know I did it. I didn’t want you to think I was one of those kids who says, ‘Oh yeah, I did it, but I lost it/my dog ate it/my little brother dropped it in the toilet.’ But please, PLEEASE DON’T READ IT! How was I to know all this stuff was going to happen to me this summer? Mary Lou has what she calls a normally-strange family. That is, until her cousin Carl comes to stay. She had plans to enjoy the summer hanging out with her first ever crush, but there’s something so quiet and sad about Carl, and Mary Lou knows that no one else in her chaotic home will bother to find out why. So it looks like it’s up to her – and what she discovers is far from normal and rocks the family to its heart.

Education and the Ontological Question

Author: Kaustuv Roy

Publisher: Springer

ISBN: 3030111784

Category: Education

Page: 232

View: 7503


This book identifies and expands upon the link between ontology and education, exposing a lack of ontological inquiry as the vital missing element in the study and practice of modern education today. In this book, Roy aims to reintroduce ontological thinking and reasoning that grounds historical and modern educational understandings and practice. Beginning with a historical perspective, he then turns to examine the results of his scholarship into practical concerns of education such as language, dialogue, and curriculum: ultimately proposing a new way forward emphasizing a balance in the education effort between epistemic content and ontological disclosure.

Take Me Home

Author: Daniela Sacerdoti

Publisher: Black & White Publishing

ISBN: 184502768X

Category: Fiction

Page: 294

View: 3890


From the No. 1 bestselling author of Watch Over Me, the million copy selling author Daniela Sacerdoti returns to the magical and atmospheric Glen Avich in the Scottish Highlands. Inary Monteith's life is at a crossroads. After a stolen night with her close friend Alex, she's just broken his heart by telling him it was all a terrible mistake. Then she has to rush home from London to the Scottish Highlands when her little sister's illness suddenly worsens - in returning she must confront the painful memories she has been trying so hard to escape. Back home, things become more complicated than she could ever have imagined. There's her sister's illness, her hostile brother, a smug ex she never wants to see again and her conflicted feelings about Alex in London - and a handsome American she meets in Glen Avich. On top of that, she mysteriously loses her voice but regains a strange gift from her childhood - a sixth sense that runs in her family. And when a voice from the past keeps repeating "Take me home," she discovers a mystery that she knows she must unlock to set herself free. Perfect for fans of Amanda Prowse, Dorothy Koomson and Susan Lewis, Take Me Home is a beautiful story of love, loss, discovering one's true abilities and, above all, never forgetting who you really are. What readers have to say about Take Me Home: "The contemporary romance is beautifully balanced with elements of mystery and endearing characters that both break and capture the heart. A stunning talent, Sacerdoti writes beautiful fiction that feeds the soul." - Shari Low, Daily Record "Daniela Sacerdoti is fast becoming one of my favourites - and here she has written another extraordinary and beautiful story." - The Sun "This is one of the most emotional stories I think I've read... Just completely beautiful!" - Kim the Bookworm "A beautifully written, emotionally engaging narrative following Inary on a journey of loss, trauma and love ... I can't recommend this book enough." - Compelling Reads (5/5) "It has been a very long time, if ever, that I have read a book so beautifully written and been so absolutely spellbound." - Room for Reading (5/5) "A truly beautiful story; it's gripping and it's moving. And it will leave you wanting more from Daniela Sacerdoti." - Book Love Bug Praise for Daniela Sacerdoti: "Heartwarming and mysterious with great atmosphere." - Kate Forde on Keep Me Safe "Heartwarming and intriguing." - Dani Atkins on Keep Me Safe "The author, in her first novel, Watch Over Me, achieves what more experienced novelists always hope to. In Glen Avich she creates a world you wish you didn't have to leave." - The Scots Magazine "An absolute joy to read, the story is engaging, the characters are believable and the writing is lovely... is definitely a book to add to the summer reading list, and one that you won't be able to put down." - The Press and Journal on Set Me Free

Diary of the Beloved

Author: Alesa Acorn

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 9781463402754

Category: Fiction

Page: 512

View: 7670


At 13 years old, Catherine Hepburn is described by her friends as the prettiest girl in the county. However, the description favoured by her family is that of a good girl with big ears. In fact, her mother and housekeeper often take the time to help Catherine style her hair in a manner to help hide her big ears. Gifted by her Uncle Nicholas with a diary one Christmas, Catherine begins to record in it the events and circumstances involving the lives of her family and friends. Unknowingly, she records the events of the Hidden, children of noble birth who are hidden in common households until they are of an age to inherit their nobility. At 25 years old, trying to realize her dream as the CEO and Founder of the National Paralegal Foundation is a daunting task for Simone Devereaux. Her days are spent caring for her mother who suffers from a hereditary mental disorder. Her nights are spent in the arms of her fiancé, District Attorney Jacque Parker and her lover, trust attorney Wolf Carlyle. On the death of her grandfather, Simone inherits his private library which contains an extensive collection of books known as the Diary of the Beloved written by Catherine Hepburn, her mother's college roommate. As she reads the diaries to her mother, soon it becomes clear to Simone that Catherine's diaries hold the secrets of the Hidden, children of noble birth who are hidden amongst commoners until they are of an age to inherit their nobility. With the help of her fiancé and her lover, Simone must learn the identities of the hidden in order to save the life of her mother.

Never Mind The Botox: Alex

Author: Penny Avis,Joanna Berry

Publisher: Troubador Publishing Ltd

ISBN: 1848768273

Category: Fiction

Page: 317

View: 9780


Alex Fisher is a high-flying lawyer close to making partner and busy planning her perfect wedding to Elliott. But life suddenly becomes complicated when she's faced with a hot junior lawyer on her team and an actress threatening to jeopardise the deal by exposing her dodgy cosmetic surgery...

Alex And The Animals

Author: Bryan Brohee

Publisher: Bryan Brohee

ISBN: N.A

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 44

View: 7784


These are the stories of Alex and the animals that share his world. Alex is five years old and has a very curious nature. Some of these stories are almost true, some of them may possibly be true and some of them are... well let's move on shall we? Read on and join Alex in his adventures!

The Little Dog Laughed

Author: Douglas Carter Beane

Publisher: Dramatists Play Service Inc

ISBN: 9780822222262

Category: Drama

Page: 54

View: 2012


THE STORY: Yes, we love the cinema for its great auteurs, its glorious faces and its daring images. But in this tabloid age where big stars go on Oprah and jump around like heartsick schoolboys, what we really love is all that dish! The play

Bringing German to Life

Author: Catherine Watts,Hilary Phillips

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1317631692

Category: Education

Page: 120

View: 9355


Bringing German to Life provides an innovative and refreshing cross-curricular approach to teaching languages in primary schools, combining art, design and foreign languages with various aspects of the National Primary Curriculum such as Literacy, Numeracy and PE. This unique practical resource comprises an engaging storyline about a day in the life of two German children and gives an opportunity for learners to re-enact their day, using finger puppets, handmade crafts and exciting games to practise new language. Each of the 14 sections begins with a short accessible dialogue in German and is followed by suggestions for using the new vocabulary in pairs, small groups or as a whole class. The main story is accompanied by fun craft activities linked to the story (one for each section, ie 14 in total) for children to create in class using the templates and instructions provided. A wide range of further activities follows, consisting of lively games, songs and opportunities to communicate simple ideas. Language extensions are suggested, focussing on imaginative writing and reading ideas linked to the theme of each section. Written to support the new foreign languages programme of study, the book also includes: * Cross-curricular links to numerous subjects including Literacy, Numeracy, PE and ICT * Classroom games and activities * Photocopiable resources and templates for fun classroom activities and projects * Language extension activities. Bringing German to Life can be read on three levels to suit a variety of classroom situations. First, the story can be told ‘straight’ with the whole class participating in the dialogues. Second, the story can be combined with the craft activities after each main section. 14 doing and making activities match the storyline and provide a colourful, eye-catching display and learning focus in the classroom or for Open Days or Assemblies. Teachers can use as many or as few as they wish. The resultant crafts can be used for very effective classroom displays/open days/assemblies etc. Finally, the language extension activities can be used alongside the art/craft/design activities as desired. The aim of these activities is to extend the target language in a relevant context through a variety of methods such as songs, playlets, simple communicative exchanges, games with numbers etc.

The Myopia and Other Plays by David Greenspan

Author: David Greenspan,Marc Robinson

Publisher: University of Michigan Press

ISBN: 0472051733

Category: Drama

Page: 279

View: 6325


A leading playwright explores issues of memory, family, doubt, and sexuality

Treating Problem Behaviors

Author: Ricky Greenwald

Publisher: Taylor & Francis

ISBN: 1135840024

Category: Psychology

Page: 376

View: 9376


The book is designed as a user-friendly textbook/manual for mental health professionals. It teaches a trauma-informed treatment approach as an organizing framework for a series of empirically supported interventions including motivational interviewing, cognitive-behavioral skills training, trauma resolution, and relapse prevention. Although it notes the importance of a systemic treatment approach, the focus is on the individual component of treatment.