Always the Children

Author: Anne Watts

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 0857208268

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 400

View: 2129


Anne Watts grew up in a small village in north Wales in the 1940s. Inspired by school geography lessons that told of far-off lands, she broke out of the conventional options open to women in post-war Britain, defying her Merchant Navy father's dated views. She trained as a nurse and midwife, joined the Save the Children Fund, and was posted to Vietnam in 1967. One of only three British nurses in the region, Anne was faced with a vision of hell that her training at Manchester's Royal Infirmary had barely prepared her for. Thrown in at the deep end, she witnessed the random cruelty of warfare, nursing injured and orphaned children and caring for wounded and dying servicemen. She went on to take her skills to the victims of Pol Pot's Khmer Rouge in Cambodia, to Lebanon during the Israeli occupation, and Saudi Arabia during Desert Storm. Over some forty-five years Anne has brought her courage and compassion to those most in need of help. Woven into this vivid, compelling memoir is perhaps the most moving story of all - how Anne's idyllic childhood was shattered by a shocking family tragedy when she was 10 years old. A tragedy that was to shape her destiny.

Always the Young Strangers

Author: Carl Sandburg

Publisher: HMH

ISBN: 0544784014

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 456

View: 5806


The Pulitzer Prize–winning poet and historian recalls his midwestern boyhood in this classic memoir. Born in a tiny cottage in Galesburg, Illinois, in 1878, Carl Sandburg grew with America. As a boy he left school at the age of thirteen to embark on a life of work—driving a milk wagon and serving as a hotel porter, a bricklayer, and a farm laborer before eventually finding his place in the world of literature. In Always the Young Strangers, Sandburg delivers a nostalgic view of small-town life around the turn of the twentieth century and an invaluable perspective on American history.

The Hundred Languages of Children: The Reggio Emilia Experience in Transformation, 3rd Edition

Author: Carolyn Edwards,Lella Gandini,George Forman

Publisher: ABC-CLIO

ISBN: 0313359628

Category: Education

Page: 411

View: 6477


Why does the city of Reggio Emilia in northern Italy feature one of the best public systems of early education in the world? This book documents the comprehensive and innovative approach that utilizes the "hundred languages of children" to support their well-being and foster their intellectual development. • Contributions from leaders from Reggio Emilia and international scholars from Europe and North America, including Loris Malaguzzi, Carlina Rinaldi, Vea Vecchi, Howard Gardner, Gunilla Dahlberg, and others • Illustrated with photographs of the teachers and children in the Reggio Emilia schools as well as drawings from the children of the Reggio Emilia preschools • A bibliography with references and sources follows each chapter • An index provides access to names, concepts, and themes discussed across many of the different chapters

It's Always the Husband

Author: Michele Campbell

Publisher: St. Martin's Press

ISBN: 1250081823

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 9613


"If you loved Liane Moriarty’s Big Little Lies, put this thriller on the top of your list...you won’t be sure “whodunit” until the very (shocking) end.” —Today *Named one of "50 Best Books for the Beach" by Coastal Living *Named one of "7 Books You Won't Be Able to Put Down This Month" by InStyle *Named one of "6 Books to Cure Your Little Big Lies Withdrawal" by Elle.com *Named one of "20 Must-Read Books for Spring 2017" by Redbook *Named one of "8 Thrillers You Will Devour This Summer" by BuzzFeed Kate, Aubrey, and Jenny first met as college roommates and soon became inseparable, despite being as different as three women can be. Kate was beautiful, wild, wealthy, and damaged. Aubrey, on financial aid, came from a broken home, and wanted more than anything to distance herself from her past. And Jenny was a striver—brilliant, ambitious, and determined to succeed. As an unlikely friendship formed, the three of them swore they would always be there for each other. But twenty years later, one of them is standing at the edge of a bridge, and someone is urging her to jump. How did it come to this? Kate married the gorgeous party boy, Aubrey married up, and Jenny married the boy next door. But how can these three women love and hate each other? Can feelings this strong lead to murder? When one of them dies under mysterious circumstances, will everyone assume, as is often the case, that it’s always the husband? A suspenseful, absorbing novel that examines the complexities of friendship, It’s Always the Husband will keep readers guessing right up to its shocking conclusion. Praise for It's Always the Husband: “A page-turning whodunnit that will speak to anyone who’s ever had a frenemy.” –Ruth Ware, bestselling author of The Woman in Cabin Ten "This book is perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty's Big Little Lies." –Redbook Magazine "Fans of Ruth Ware and Gillian Flynn meet your next obsession." —BuzzFeed "In the tradition of Big Little Lies comes the excellently titled It's Always the Husband, a thriller about three friends–frenemies, really–who met as college roommates." –New York Post

When the Valley's White with Snow

Author: Anna Dee

Publisher: Grosvenor House Publishing

ISBN: 190844780X

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 300

View: 1055


The title is from the song 'Danny Boy' which runs throughout the book. It is an autobiographical novel depicting life in an Orphanage as a child, leaving at eight years, and growing up in the 50s to 60s eras. It involves explicit sex, violence, abuse, attempted murder, and adultery resulting in falling in love. My violent husband caused us to hide our feelings for each other, until Ken unable to hold back his emotions any longer courageously stood up and sang 'Danny Boy' in public, using the words, to declare his love openly for me. (My husband Kevin was a few feet away).

Play Therapy with Abused Children

Author: Ann Cattanach

Publisher: Jessica Kingsley Publishers

ISBN: 184310587X

Category: Medical

Page: 199

View: 3601


This second edition explores the use of play therapy with abused children as a way of helping them heal their distress and make sense of their experiences through expanding their own creativity in play. The book provides practical ways of starting play therapy with abused children and explains how the child can use this process for healing.

Children in Mind

Author: Jenny Perkel

Publisher: NYU Press

ISBN: 1776147472

Category: MEDICAL

Page: 208

View: 7274


"Children in Mind presents a broad range of up-to-date findings from psychological, neurobiological, genetic, psychiatric, sociological and epidemiological research related to the diagnosis and treatment of children's mental health problems. Theoretically informed but not theoretically dense, the book cites both local and international studies to increase awareness and understanding of children's mental health. Perkel discusses a broad spectrum of issues faced by today's children and adolescents: the Covid-19 pandemic, the influence of electronic media, diverse family structures, stress and trauma, and difficult socio-economic circumstances. While offering no easy answers or formulaic solutions to the problems of troubled children, she shows how to think about children's mental well-being in today's South Africa and other developing countries."--

The Life Space of the Urban Child

Author: Gunter Mey

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 135148009X

Category: Psychology

Page: 326

View: 9010


The heart of this book is the translation of The Life Space of the Urban Child, written in 1935 by Martha and Hans Heinrich Muchow. Life Space provides a fresh look at children as actors and how they absorb their city environments. It uses an empirical base connected with theories about the worlds in which children live. The first section provides historical background on Muchow's study and the author. The second section presents the translation of the Life Space study, as well as comments from an environmental psychologist's perspective. The third section reviews the study's theoretical foundations, including the concept of "critical personalism," the perspectives of phenomenology, and the notion of Umwelt (environment). The last section addresses various lines of research developed from the Life Space study, including Muchow's work in describing children in urban environments, methodological approaches, and the significance of space in social science and educational contexts. The manner in which Martha Muchow conducted her studies is itself of note. She obtained access to the children in their environments and combined observation with cartographies and essays produced by the children. This approach was new at the time and continues to inspire researchers today. This volume is the latest work in Transaction's History and Theory of Psychology series.

A Practical Guide to Caring for Children and Teenagers with Attachment Difficulties

Author: Chris Taylor

Publisher: Jessica Kingsley Publishers

ISBN: 9780857003676

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 224

View: 9915


This book guides childcare professionals through attachment theory and provides techniques for caring for children with attachment difficulties. It explains what attachment is, what different patterns of attachment look like in children and young people, how early attachment experiences affect their lives, and how this understanding can help childcare workers to develop therapeutic ways of caring. By understanding these issues, childcare workers are better equipped to help and support the troubled children they care for. This book shows how to promote recovery through secure base experiences in a therapeutic environment and provides solutions and methods to tackle challenging and problem behaviour, anger and the effects of trauma in children with attachment problems. This essential book will be invaluable to professionals such as residential carers, social workers and foster carers who work in a therapeutic environment with vulnerable and troubled children and young people.