Bachelor Nation

Author: Amy Kaufman

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1101985925

Category: Social Science

Page: 320

View: 6169


*A New York Times Bestseller* The first definitive, unauthorized, behind-the-scenes cultural history of the Bachelor franchise, America’s favorite guilty pleasure. For sixteen years and thirty-six seasons, the Bachelor franchise has been a mainstay in American TV viewers’ lives. Since it premiered in 2002, the show’s popularity and relevance have only grown—more than eight million viewers tuned in to see the conclusion of the most recent season of The Bachelor. Los Angeles Times journalist Amy Kaufman is a proud member of Bachelor Nation and has a long history with the franchise—ABC even banned her from attending show events after her coverage of the program got a little too real for its liking. She has interviewed dozens of producers, contestants, and celebrity fans to give readers never-before-told details of the show’s inner workings: what it’s like to be trapped in the mansion “bubble”; dark, juicy tales of producer manipulation; and revelations about the alcohol-fueled debauchery that occurs long before the Fantasy Suite. Kaufman also explores what our fascination means, culturally: what the show says about the way we view so-called ideal suitors; our subconscious yearning for fairy-tale romance; and how this enduring television show has shaped society’s feelings about love, marriage, and feminism by appealing to a marriage plot that’s as old as the best of Jane Austen.

PEOPLE The Bachelor!

Author: Editors of PEOPLE

Publisher: Time Inc. Books

ISBN: 1618934619

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 96

View: 1725


From the first rose to the last woman standing, this special edition of People looks back at all the seasons of TV's top matchmaking show, and previews the 20th season, which begins airing in January. Highlights include: Every bachelor from every season revisited and updated: Who's still married, who's still single, who is still living down the most scandalous moments. Updates on memorable contestants and those who became Bachelorette stars Inside the mansion: Hookups, breakups, and all the drama you didn't see. Interviews with men behind the Bachelor: Host Chris Harrison, producer Mike Fleiss and celebrity jeweler Neil Lane.

How to Win The Bachelor

Author: Chad Kultgen,Lizzy Pace

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1982172967

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 336

View: 6345


Perfect for fans of Bachelor Nation and Seinfeldia, an illuminating deep dive into the most successful reality TV franchise of all time—The Bachelor. Since its premiere in 2002, ABC’s The Bachelor has become a staple of American television. Now, discover the fascinating history of the show, uncover the ins and outs of the phenomenon that has become Bachelor Nation, and take a deeper look at what separates the winners from the losers. From how best to exit the limo on Night One, to strategies for making a run for the all-important First Impression Rose, to how to avoid being labeled a villain, this clear-eyed guide illustrates the rules and strategies any would-be contestant should know. The ultimate must-read for every fan, How to Win the Bachelor gives you an inside look at the franchise where The Rose holds all the power.

Most Dramatic Ever

Author: Suzannah Showler

Publisher: ECW Press

ISBN: 1773051679

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 140

View: 7946


The right reasons to fall in love with The Bachelor When it debuted in 2002, The Bachelor raised the stakes of first-wave reality television, offering the ultimate prize: true love. Since then, thrice yearly, dozens of camera-ready young-and-eligibles have vied for affection (and roses) in front of a devoted audience of millions. In this funny, insightful examination of the world’s favorite romance-factory, Suzannah Showler explores the contradictions that are key to the franchise’s genius, longevity, and power and parses what this means for both modern love and modern America. She argues the show is both gameshow and marriage plot — an improbable combination of competitive effort and kismet — and that it’s both relic and prophet, a time-traveler from first-gen reality TV that proved to be a harbinger of Tinder. In the modern media-savvy climate, the show cleverly highlights and resists its own artifice, allowing Bachelor Nation to see through the fakery to feel the romance. Taking on issues of sex, race, contestants-as-villains, the controversial spin-offs, and more, Most Dramatic Ever is both love letter to and deconstruction of the show that brought us real love in the reality TV era.

Now Accepting Roses

Author: Amanda Stanton

Publisher: BenBella Books

ISBN: 1948836645

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 224

View: 8433


When Amanda found out her mother had sent in an application to ABC's The Bachelor on her behalf, she wasn't upset . . . but she was hesitant. As a divorced single mom on a long dating hiatus, she didn't think there was any way she could measure up against the competitors. In the back of her mind, her ex's hurtful message reared its ugly head: "You can't divorce me. You'll be 25 and divorced with two kids. No one will want you." The thought of starting over and putting herself out there was frightening. But despite the self-doubt, Amanda made it onto Season 20. What nobody knew at the time was that her on-camera date with Ben was her first in almost three years. Talk about pressure! Ever since she made it to the final four on The Bachelor and ended up engaged on Bachelor in Paradise, media outlets and millions of fans, eager to learn Amanda's story, have tried to track her down. What's he really like? What's the scoop on her? Was she telling the truth about him? Part-memoir, part girl's guide, Now Accepting Roses is full of never-before-told stories from behind the scenes of one of America's most popular television shows—but this book isn't just for fans of The Bachelor. This book is for anyone navigating the crazy and exciting world of finding real love. Amanda also reveals the valuable lessons for life and relationships that she learned after the world watched her look for love on television—three times. Everything she now knows about dating, she learned from being on The Bachelor. Amanda's unique experiences have left her with some hard-earned wisdom to share, including her own "rules" for dating and how to truly find yourself, as she has. Thanks to juggling dating, parenting, and life, she better understands the way dating works and shares how you can find love while prioritizing your own needs. Amanda's friendly, heartfelt guidance will feel like a good friend offering her most personal advice on life, love, and self-care—and her wild stories will rival the juiciest gossip you've ever heard. If you're looking for a love like you've seen on the silver-screen, that doesn't exist. The good news is that the real thing is so much better. Amanda is more confident than ever in her search for love, and she hopes that sharing her stories and insights will help you find it, too.

Reading Contemporary Serial Television Universes

Author: Paola Brembilla,Ilaria A. De Pascalis

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1351628356

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 240

View: 1784


Reading Contemporary Serial Television Universes provides a new framework—the metaphor of the narrative ecosystem—for the analysis of serial television narratives. Contributors use this metaphor to address the ever-expanding and evolving structure of narratives far beyond their usual spatial and temporal borders, in general and in reference to specific series. Other scholarly approaches consider each narrative as composed of modular elements, which combine to create a bigger picture. The narrative ecosystem approach, on the other hand, argues that each portion of the narrative world contains all of the main elements that characterize the world as a whole, such as narrative tensions, production structures, creative dynamics and functions. The volume details the implications of the narrative ecosystem for narrative theory and the study of seriality, audiences and fandoms, production, and the analysis of the products themselves.

The Collective

Author: Alison Gaylin

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1409179095

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 7506


'An astonishing feat.' Megan Abbott 'I can't stop thinking about this book.' Alafair Burke 'Layered, engrossing and nerve shattering.' Lisa Unger 'A dark and sinister ride' Peter Swanson How far would a mother go to right a wrong? Camille Gardner is a grieving and angry mother who, fives years after her daughter's death, is obsessed with the man she believes to be responsible. Because Camille wants revenge. Enter: the Collective. A group of women who enact revenge on those who have taken their children. But as Camille gets more involved in the group she must decide whether these women are the heroes or the villains. And if she chooses wrong, will she ever get out alive?

Theories of Crime Through Popular Culture

Author: Sarah E. Daly

Publisher: Springer Nature

ISBN: 3030544346

Category: Social Science

Page: 240

View: 8052


This textbook brings criminology theories to life through a wide range of popular works in film, television and video games including 13 Reasons Why, Game of Thrones, The Office, and Super Mario Bros, from a variety of contributors. It serves as an engaging and creative introduction to both traditional and modern theories by applying them to more accessible, non-criminal justice settings. It helps students to think more broadly like critical criminologists and to identify these theories in everyday life and modern culture. It encourages them to continue their learning outside of the classroom and includes discussion questions following each chapter. The chapters use extracts from the original works and support the assertions with research and commentary. This textbook will help engage students in the basics of criminology theory from the outset.