Bad Medicine

Author: Christopher Wanjek

Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

ISBN: 9780471463153

Category: Science

Page: 288

View: 6427


"Christopher Wanjek uses a take-no-prisoners approach in debunkingthe outrageous nonsense being heaped on a gullible public in thename of science and medicine. Wanjek writes with clarity, humor,and humanity, and simultaneously informs and entertains." -Dr. Michael Shermer, Publisher, Skeptic magazine; monthlycolumnist, Scientific American; author of Why People Believe WeirdThings Prehistoric humans believed cedar ashes and incantations could curea head injury. Ancient Egyptians believed the heart was the centerof thought, the liver produced blood, and the brain cooled thebody. The ancient Greek physician Hippocrates was a big fan ofbloodletting. Today, we are still plagued by countless medicalmyths and misconceptions. Bad Medicine sets the record straight bydebunking widely held yet incorrect notions of how the body works,from cold cures to vaccination fears. Clear, accessible, and highly entertaining, Bad Medicine dispelssuch medical convictions as: * You only use 10% of your brain: CAT, PET, and MRI scans all provethat there are no inactive regions of the brain . . . not evenduring sleep. * Sitting too close to the TV causes nearsightedness: Your motherwas wrong. Most likely, an already nearsighted child sits close tosee better. * Eating junk food will make your face break out: Acne is caused bydead skin cells, hormones, and bacteria, not from a pizza witheverything on it. * If you don't dress warmly, you'll catch a cold: Cold viruses arethe true and only cause of colds. Protect yourself and the ones you love from bad medicine-the brainyou save may be your own.

Bad Medicine

Author: John Reilly

Publisher: Rocky Mountain Books Ltd

ISBN: 1926855116

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 256

View: 7827


Early in his career, Judge John Reilly did everything by the book. His jurisdiction included a First Nations community plagued by suicide, addiction, poverty, violence and corruption. He steadily handed out prison sentences with little regard for long-term consequences and even less knowledge as to why crime was so rampant on the reserve in the first place. In an unprecedented move that pitted him against his superiors, the legal system he was part of, and one of Canada’s best-known Indian chiefs, the Reverend Dr. Chief John Snow, Judge Reilly ordered an investigation into the tragic and corrupt conditions on the reserve. A flurry of media attention ensued. Some labelled him a racist; others thought he should be removed from his post, claiming he had lost his objectivity. But many on the Stoney Reserve hailed him a hero as he attempted to uncover the dark challenges and difficult history many First Nations communities face. At a time when government is proposing new “tough on crime” legislation, Judge Reilly provides an enlightening and timely perspective. He shows us why harsher punishments for offenders don’t necessarily make our societies safer, why the white justice system is failing First Nations communities, why jail time is not the cure-all answer some think it to be, and how corruption continues to plague tribal leadership.

Bad Medicine

Author: Charlotte Bismuth

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1982116447

Category: True Crime

Page: 368

View: 9474


“Charlotte Bismuth gives us a bold and cinematic true crime story about her work at the intersection of medicine and greed. Bad Medicine is a gripping memoir that toggles deftly between the personal and prosecutorial.” —Beth Macy, New York Times bestselling author of Dopesick “Bismuth has written a brilliant account of prosecuting a doctor who became a drug dealer in a white coat. She is haunted by the voices of the dead and listening closely to the voices of the living.” —Nan Goldin, artist, activist, and founder of P.A.I.N. “Bad Medicine is a taut exploration of America’s deadly battle with opioid addiction—an unnerving and inspirational firecracker of a book.” —Karen Abbott, New York Times bestselling author of The Ghosts of Eden Park For fans of Dopesick and Bad Blood, the shocking story of New York’s most infamous pill-pushing doctor, written by the prosecutor who brought him down. In 2010, a brave whistleblower alerted the police to Dr. Stan Li’s corrupt pain management clinic in Queens, New York. Li spent years supplying more than seventy patients a day with oxycodone and Xanax, trading prescriptions for cash. Emergency room doctors, psychiatrists, and desperate family members warned him that his patients were at risk of death but he would not stop. In Bad Medicine, former prosecutor Charlotte Bismuth meticulously recounts the jaw dropping details of this criminal case that would span four years, culminating in a landmark trial. As a new assistant district attorney and single mother, Bismuth worked tirelessly with her team to bring Dr. Li to justice. Bad Medicine is a chilling story of corruption and greed and an important look at the role individual doctors play in America’s opioid epidemic.

Bad Medicine

Author: David Wootton

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: 0199212791

Category: History

Page: 314

View: 2600


In this controversial new account of the history of medicine, David Wootton argues that, from the fifth century BC until the 1930s, doctors actually did more harm than good, and asks just how much harm they still do today.

BAD MEDICINE

Author: Keith G. Laufenberg

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 099142025X

Category:

Page: 218

View: 381


Bad Medicine is another collection of short stories by writer Keith G. Laufenberg that brings the reality of life in America-that of a nation where virtually everything, including health care, is available for profit only and must be bought & paid for-before delivery. Every working and non-working American-disabled, either by sickness or poverty-has lived through this and, to this very day, in 2014, continue to live through it. These stories graphically illustrate why it is the Capitalist System itself that harbors institutions that lie, rob, cheat and steal and all in the name of the very God that they all worship-profit! It shows why they-the the doctors, lawyers, politicians and insurance companies-have a strangle hold on America which can only end in the country experiencing a depression a bankruptcy-or both-or a revolution. These stories will keep you reading long into the day or night as you root for the underdog, even though you know he may not ""win,"" this time around.

BAD MEDICINE

Author: Matthew D. Hirschberg,Jay W. Foreman

Publisher: Hawkeye Publishers

ISBN: 1946005932

Category: Self-Help

Page: 124

View: 5655


Bad Medicine

Author: Stephen Soloway

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1510762450

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 264

View: 7334


What you don’t know about the American healthcare system might kill you. From fatal malpractice to Medicare fraud, Dr. Stephen Soloway has seen it all over his thirty years practicing medicine. Now, the man known as “Dr. Trump” is ripping off the Band-Aid and exposing the truth about the American healthcare system—the good, the bad, and the rotten. Page after shocking page, you’ll discover the truth about where the coronavirus came from, and if we’ll ever be able to cure it. Learn the sad reality of what Medicare for All would mean for our nation. Find out why you should stay away from hospitals as if your life depended on it. (It does.) Dr. Soloway explains the medical tips and tricks that could save you from amputations, years of pain, or even death. Appointed by President Donald Trump to the President's Council on Sports, Fitness, and Nutrition, Dr. Soloway is a leader in his field, who sat on numerous boards and panels in the pharmacological industry, along with national advisory panels for major companies involved in arthritis or osteoporosis research. His uncanny ability to diagnose even the most complex cases has earned him the reputation of being a real-life Dr. House—minus the pill problem. Beyond his savvy insights into the secrets of our medical system, Dr. Soloway also shares his own rags to riches story, and how dedicated medical professionals can still succeed in this difficult environment. Ultimately, Dr. Soloway has a diagnosis for all Americans: Our healthcare system—and our country as a whole—is headed for disaster. The prescription? Read this book to find out.

Bad Medicine

Author: Jim Grieshaber-Otto,Scott Sinclair,Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives

Publisher: Canadian Centre Policy Alternatives

ISBN: 0886274028

Category: Canada

Page: 192

View: 4015


Bad Medicine

Author: Milton Silverman,Mia Lydecker,Philip Lee

Publisher: Stanford University Press

ISBN: 0804766673

Category: Social Science

Page: 380

View: 8354


The pharmaceutical industry has long and vehemently insisted that it has the willingness, the dedication, and the ability to police itself to insure that the public will not be unnecessarily harmed or defrauded. As the record shows with painful clarity, however, virtually no industry or professional group has ever adequately policed itself, and the pharmaceutical industry is no exception. Where the most flagrant abuses have been exposed and corrected, major credit must probably be divided among the media that publicized the situation, consumer groups that applied pressure, government officials who took actions that were often unpopular, and individual members of the pharmaceutical industry who had the courage to face up to their social responsibilities. In this book, the authors turn their attention to what happened in Third World countries when, because of worldwide pressures, the multinational drug companies largely corrected their notorious abuses. On the basis of painstaking research, much of it conducted in a great many Third World countries, the authors conclude that a plethora of small local firms have filled the dishonest sales channels vacated by the multinationals. The authors show in great detail how local drug firms in the Third World have taken advantage of loose regulatory practices and unscrupulous behavior on the part of regional and national health care professionals to promote the sale of dangerous or worthless drugs as remedies for diseases for which they were never intended. Warnings of bad side effects are omitted from promotional literature, drugs are sold that have not had proper trials, and drug firms have often bribed government officials, doctors, and hospital administrators in order to gain favorable treatment in the importation and sale of their products. Among the many topics treated in this book are the controversy over inexpensive generic drugs (including disclosures of fraud and bribery in the U.S. Food and Drug Administration), the actions of consumer groups, and the key role of government in preventing abuses by drug firms. The authors describe a remarkable attempt in Bangladesh, one of the poorest of all the developing countries, to develop a high-quality local drug industry. They also present as case histories reports on three extremely important drug products or groups—the dipyrones (for control of pain and fever), high-dosage estrogen-progesterone hormone products (for use in pregnancy tests), and clioquinol or Enterovioform (for treatment of diarrhea)—all of which were or still are centers of worldwide, heated controversy.

Bad Medicine

Author: Carolyn Keene

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 148142484X

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 160

View: 4990


Ned’s friend Trevor is a promising young doctor, but his patients keep disappearing. As Nancy unravels the mystery, the bodysnatcher stalks her. Could this be Nancy’s final operation?