Beautiful Boy

Author: David Sheff

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1471173968

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 368

View: 1736


THE NUMBER ONE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER NOW A MAJOR FILM, STARRING STEVE CARELL AND BAFTA AND GOLDEN GLOBE NOMINATED TIMOTHEE CHALAMET ‘What had happened to my beautiful boy? To our family? What did I do wrong?’ Those are the wrenching questions that haunted every moment of David Sheff’s journey through his son Nic’s addiction to drugs and tentative steps toward recovery. Before Nic Sheff became addicted to crystal meth, he was a charming boy, joyous and funny, a varsity athlete and honor student adored by his two younger siblings. After meth, he was a trembling wraith who lied, stole, and lived on the streets. With haunting candour, David Sheff traces the first subtle warning signs: the denial, the 3am phone calls (is it Nic? the police? the hospital?), the attempts at rehab. His preoccupation with Nic became an addiction in itself, and the obsessive worry and stress took a tremendous toll. But as a journalist, he instinctively researched every avenue of treatment that might save his son and refused to give up on Nic. This story is a first: a teenager's addiction from the parent's point of view – a real-time chronicle of the shocking descent into substance abuse and the gradual emergence into hope. Beautiful Boy is a fiercely candid memoir that brings immediacy to the emotional rollercoaster of loving a child who seems beyond help. Read the other side of Nic Sheff's bestselling memoir, Tweak. Praise for Beautiful Boy:- 'A brilliant, harrowing, heartbreaking, fascinating story, full of beautiful moments and hard-won wisdom. This book will save a lot of lives and heal a lot of hearts'. Anne Lamott 'An important book... moving, timely and startlingly beautiful.' Richard Branson

The Memoirs of a Beautiful Boy

Author: Robert Leleux

Publisher: St. Martin's Press

ISBN: 1429929154

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 288

View: 4851


In the Dear John letter Daddy left for Mother and me, on a Saturday afternoon in early June 1996, on the inlaid Florentine table in the front entry of our house, which we found that night upon returning from a day spent in the crème-colored light of Neiman's, Daddy wrote that he was leaving us because Mother was crazy, and because she'd driven me crazy in a way that perfectly suited her own insanity. In a memoir studded with delicious lines and unforgettable set pieces, Robert Leleux describes his East Texas boyhood and coming of age under the tutelage of his eccentric, bewigged, flamboyant, and knowing mother. Left high and dry by Daddy and living on their in-laws' horse ranch in a white-pillared house they can't afford, Robert and Mother find themselves chronically low on cash. Soon they are forced into more modest quarters, and as a teenaged Robert watches with hilarity and horror, Mother begins a desperate regimen of makeovers, extreme plastic surgeries, and finally hairpiece epoxies---all calculated to secure a new, wealthy husband. Mother's strategy takes her, with Robert in tow, from the glamorous environs of the Neiman Marcus beauty salon to questionable surgery offices and finally to a storefront clinic on the wrong side of Houston. Meanwhile, Robert begins his own journey away from Mother and through the local theater's world of miscast hopefuls and thwarted ambitions---and into a romance that surprises absolutely no one but himself. Written with a warmth and a wicked sense of fun that lighten even the most awful circumstances, The Memoirs of a Beautiful Boy is a sparkling debut.

Who's a Pretty Boy Then?

Author: James Gardiner

Publisher: Serpents Tail

ISBN: N.A

Category: History

Page: 223

View: 3007


More than 600 pictures ? portraits and pornography, postcards and cuttings and snapshots from private albums ? go to make up one man's personal and highly idiosyncratic view of gay history since the invention of the camera. Gay people, their friends, lovers, idols and enemies in all their glory, divas, bodybuilders and drag queens, heroes and villains, from Marie Lloyd to Madonna, Sandow to Schwarzenegger, Boulton to Savage, Labouchere to Mary Whitehouse. And alongside the famous and infamous, are the images of ?ordinary? gay men taken at moments that only friends and lovers would bother to record.

The Life & Death of Pretty Boy Floyd

Author: Jeffery S. King

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: True Crime

Page: 242

View: 3755


Charles Arthur Floyd, better known as Pretty Boy Floyd (1904-1934), was one of the last of the so-called Robin Hood outlaws in the tradition of Jesse James, Billy the Kid, and John Dillinger. He engaged in numerous bank-robbing exploits across the Mid-west until federal agents and local police shot him down near East Liverpool, Ohio, on October 22, 1934 - a feat that helped build the image of the modern FBI. This detailed account of his life, crimes, and death makes extensive use of FBI reports, government records, local newspapers, and contemporary journalistic accounts. Neither highly intelligent nor polished, Floyd relied on his cool demeanor, shrewd cunning, and expert gun-handling ability, but he was also considered by those who knew him to be generous and honest. During the depression, many people saw banks as enemies and Floyd as a hero and helped screen him from the police. In this biography, Jeffery S. King addresses many of the questions still surrounding Floyd, such as whether he had contact with other notorious outlaws of the period, including Dillinger, Alvin Karpis, and Bonnie and Clyde, and whether he was executed by the FBI. He also links Floyd to the infamous Kansas City Massacre. Particularly notable are King's assessments of the effectiveness of the FBI and of J. Edgar Hoover's talent for self-promotion.

ALBUM BOOK

Author: JEAN EXUMA

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 130458433X

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 9780


Words We Call Home

Author: Linda Svendsen

Publisher: UBC Press

ISBN: 0774844698

Category: Literary Collections

Page: 402

View: 1329


Words We Call Home is a commemorative anthology celebrating more than twenty-five years of achievement for the UBC Creative Writing department -- the oldest writing program in Canada. The more than sixty poets, dramatists, and fiction writers included provide just a sample of the energy and vision the department has fostered over the years. From Earle Birney's pioneering efforts in 1946, to the birth of the department in 1965, to the present day, the programme has created a place for aspiring, talented writers.

The Lost Lennon Tapes Project

Author: N.A

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 0969936303

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 258

View: 4732


An Unauthorized Guide To The Complete Radio Series 1988 - 1992 All 218 episodes catalogued and researched plus: * complete unreleased tracks index * comparison of Bag Records bootleg tracks and Lost Lennon Tapes broadcast versions * comparison of commercially released tracks and Lost Lennon Tapes broadcast versions

The Jetsam

Author: Lara Biuts

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 1445204061

Category:

Page: 38

View: 3507


Essays on history and literature, which Author published in 2005-2009 on the Net (DeviantArt page, blog etc). Two of the essays are Author's view of the story of Hadrian and Antinous, and parts of the novel La Lune Blanche.

Long Lunch

Author: Simon Cann

Publisher: Coombe Hill Publishing

ISBN: 191039811X

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 8893


Montbretia searches for her friend, trying to find out where he is, why he left his office and his home, and how he sent a message 24 hours after he disappeared. "Let's have lunch tomorrow," said the email, but when Montbretia arrived at her friend's office he wasn't there. "When did he leave?" Montbretia asked the receptionist. "Monday," came the reply. "No. I mean, when did he leave for lunch?" "Monday," repeated the receptionist. "He left at lunchtime on Monday." "But today's Wednesday," said Montbretia. The receptionist's face softened with a look of amusement as she tried to sympathize with Montbretia's embarrassment. "A long lunch." Montbretia searches for her friend, trying to find out where he is, why he left the office and his home, and how he sent a message 24 hours after he disappeared.