Born Survivors

Author: Wendy Holden

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0751557404

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 400

View: 450


The Sunday Times bestseller now updated with a new foreword Among millions of Holocaust victims sent to Auschwitz II-Birkenau in 1944, Priska, Rachel, and Anka each passed through its infamous gates with a secret. Strangers to each other, they were newly pregnant, and facing an uncertain fate without their husbands. Alone, scared, and with so many loved ones already lost to the Nazis, these young women were privately determined to hold on to all they had left: their lives, and those of their unborn babies. That the gas chambers ran out of Zyklon-B just after the babies were born, before they and their mothers could be exterminated, is just one of several miracles that allowed them all to survive and rebuild their lives after World War II. Born Survivors follows the mothers' incredible journey - first to Auschwitz, where they each came under the murderous scrutiny of Dr. Josef Mengele; then to a German slave labour camp where, half-starved and almost worked to death, they struggled to conceal their condition; and finally, as the Allies closed in, their hellish 17-day train journey with thousands of other prisoners to the Mauthausen death camp in Austria. Hundreds died along the way but the courage and kindness of strangers, including guards and civilians, helped save these women and their children. Sixty-five years later, the three 'miracle babies' met for the first time at Mauthausen for the anniversary of the liberation that ultimately saved them. United by their remarkable experiences of survival against all odds, they now consider each other "siblings of the heart." In Born Survivors, Wendy Holden brings all three stories together for the first time to mark their seventieth birthdays and the seventieth anniversary of the ending of the war. A heart-stopping account of how three mothers and their newborns fought to survive the Holocaust, Born Survivors is also a life-affirming celebration of our capacity to care and to love amid inconceivable cruelty.

Born Survivors

Author: Louise and Richard Spilsbury

Publisher: Bellwether Media

ISBN: 1681033186

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 32

View: 5067


Sea turtle hatchlings have a triathlon of sorts to complete immediately after hatching. First, they dig themselves out of the sand. Next, they race down the beach. Lastly, they swim as fast as possible to deep water. Independent readers will celebrate this book's baby-focused survival stories.

Summary of Wendy Holden's Born Survivors

Author: Everest Media,

Publisher: Everest Media LLC

ISBN: N.A

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 37

View: 7763


Please note: This is a companion version & not the original book. Sample Book Insights: #1 Priska’s parents, Emanuel and Paula Rona, ran a kosher cafés in Zlaté Moravce, a town in the Slovak Republic. Her mother was a goodwife and cook, and her father was a strict disciplinarian who spoke German or Yiddish with her mother whenever he didn’t want his children to understand. #2 Priska, the daughter, was the fourth in line. She was named Piroska at birth, but was called Priska by her family and friends. She was the first Rona child to attend the local high school, the Gymnázium Janka Král’a. #3 Priska’s family was very successful, and she enjoyed a comfortable life. She was a teacher, and she and her family were rarely affected by anti-Semitism. However, the economic depression that began in Germany after the First World War began to change the mood across the border in 1933, when Hitler became Chancellor. #4 Hitler’s speeches denounced capitalism and those who’d allied themselves with Bolsheviks, Communists, and Marxists. He promised to eliminate Jews and other undesirables from Germany in a thorough solution.

Born Survivor: Bear Grylls

Author: Bear Grylls

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1473587921

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 256

View: 1155


Bear Grylls is no stranger to extremes. During a three-year stint in the SAS he was involved in a horrific parachuting accident in Africa and broke his back in three places. Months of rehabilitation followed but, never losing sight of his childhood dream of climbing Everest, Bear went on to become the youngest Briton ever to reach the summit and survive. It was a close-run thing, however, as during the descent he was almost killed in a crevasse, his life saved only by his team-mate and a rope. In 2003 Bear completed another world-record-breaking expedition, leading his team through freezing spray and icebergs across the North Atlantic Ocean in a small inflatable boat. More drama followed as Bear, a karate black belt, set out to show the viewers of Channel 4 what it is really like to complete the gruelling basic training of the Foreign Legion. Now, in Born Survivor which accompanies a brand new eight-part series for Channel 4, the world's ultimate survivor shows us how to stay alive in the most unforgiving conditions on Earth. From crossing piranha-infested rivers and finding fresh food to building bush fires and fighting off grizzly bears - all manner of survival techniques from our most dangerous environments are covered. So, whether you find yourself stranded on a desert island in the Pacific, lost in the Lake District, or stuck in the snow on Greenland, once you've read this book, you too will be able to beat the elements and survive the wild.

The Survivors Club

Author: Ben Sherwood

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0446543918

Category: Self-Help

Page: 400

View: 5854


Discover how to become the kind of person who survives and thrives with this "must-read" New York Times bestseller that's filled with fascinating true stories and helpful advice (New York Times). Each second of the day, someone in America faces a crisis, whether it's Covid-19, a car accident, violent crime, or financial trouble. Given the inevitability of adversity, we all wonder: Who beats the odds and who surrenders? How can I become the kind of person who bounces back? The fascinating, hopeful answers to these questions are found in The Survivors Club. In the tradition of The Tipping Point and Freakonomics, this book reveals the hidden side of survival through: astonishing true stories gripping scientific research the 5 Survivor Profiles top 12 Survivor Tools There is no escaping life's inevitable struggles. But The Survivors Club can give you an edge when adversity strikes.

Neurodevelopmental Outcomes of Preterm Birth

Author: Chiara Nosarti,Robin M. Murray,Maureen Hack

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN: 1139487140

Category: Medical

Page: N.A

View: 7654


The improved survival of very preterm and very low birth weight infants in recent decades has been associated with an increase in the prevalence of physical and neurodevelopmental problems. Attention is increasingly being focused on the quality of life of survivors, who are at greater risk of brain damage and consequent neurological disorders, and neuropsychological and behavioural impairments. In this volume, leading experts present a comprehensive and up-to-date perspective on research in various aspects of the long-term consequences of very preterm birth. As well as extending existing knowledge of the neurodevelopmental sequelae following very preterm birth, a shared aim of this burgeoning body of research is to identify the mechanisms underlying variations in outcome, and thus recognise subgroups of children who are at increased risk of neurodevelopmental problems, for whom appropriate intervention strategies can be devised. Pediatricians, neurologists, psychiatrists and psychologists will all find this to be essential reading.

(Dis)Orienting Media and Narrative Mazes

Author: Julia Eckel,Bernd Leiendecker,Daniela Olek,Christine Piepiorka

Publisher: transcript Verlag

ISBN: 3839423384

Category: Social Science

Page: 320

View: 7166


(Dis)Orientation appears to be a phenomenon that is connected to media in numerous respects: today, finding your way in the world often means finding your way with the help of as well as within media, which in turn creates new virtual realms of (dis)orientation. This book deals with recent media technologies and structures (navigation devices, databases, transmediality) and unconventional narrative patterns (narrative complexity, plot twists, non-linearity), using the ambivalent concept of (dis)orientation as a shared focus to analyse various phenomena of contemporary media, thereby raising overarching questions about current mediascapes.

Trauma and Uprooting

Author: Diana Miserez

Publisher: Troubador Publishing Ltd

ISBN: 1800467699

Category: Psychology

Page: 200

View: 3984


We live in a world that most regrettably, despite its potential in terms of beauty and variety, has been and is still dominated by multiple outbreaks of violence. For the last hundred years and more, people have been forced into situations in which they have lost everything that they had held dear, often including their mental health.