Southern in the City

Author: Rachel Cook

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: 200

View: 1054


A small-town girl, Kate, has plans to get herself a one-way ticket to the big apple and purse her dreams of learning all things fashion. Her sheltered life has not prepared her for the whirlwind that is New York City. She has to learn to navigate the hustle and bustle, learn her way around streets, figure out the subway system, manage her fashion classes, oh and try to find an internship. All is going well until she lands herself a man who is a bit bigger of a deal than she bargained for. Her dreams of staying in this fabulous city are slowly crumbling and she is desperate to put the cookie crumbs back together. Kate:Don't look like a tourist. Don't look like a tourist. A few I heart New York t-shirts later, I totally look like a tourist. I can't help it I think as I pull out my massive map of the city. This place is absolutely amazing but holy crap am I lost. My hands are overflowing with bags full of dorm essentials so I make my first attempt at hailing a cab. I throw my hand out and watch a yellow car pull over...I totally got this.A few weeks in and I quickly realize I am in way over my head. This city is practically eating me alive. I keep landing myself into some type of scandal, my internship is at risk, my heart is broken, and my summer in the city is winding down. How will I manage to crawl out of this mess? How will I manage to put all the pieces back together and fix this chaos? It is a total damage control situation and I am starting to think the damage is beyond repair. Will I be packing my bags and heading back to Tennessee or can I manage to extend my life in the city? Please be the latter.

Chasing the Dream

Author: Paige Lee Elliston

Publisher: Baker Books

ISBN: 0800759419

Category: Fiction

Page: 237

View: 9009


Amy Hawkins, a 35-year-old editor from New York City who makes a fresh start in the small Montana town of Coldwater, is hard at work on her first novel, but trouble starts brewing when her money starts running out, her writing deteriorates, and she is forced to decide between two men who are out to win her heart. Original.

Chasing a Dream

Author: Carla Coulson

Publisher: Penguin Global

ISBN: 9781921382307

Category: Photography

Page: 192

View: 2910


Eleven years ago, Sydney girl-about-town Carla Coulson swapped a corporate job and a cushy life for an old camera, an uncertain future and a way of living that would ignite her soul. She recorded the first part of her journey - her new life in Florence and, later, Paris - in the best-selling books Italian Joy and Paris Tango Early in her new career as a photographer, Carla was advised to 'shoot from the heart'. In this wonderfully diverse collection of photographs, taken in Italy, France, Greece, India and her native Australia, Carla does just that, lovingly recording the people and places she has encountered along the way. Her joie de vivre radiates from every photograph, be it of a weather-beaten Greek fisherman or a Moulin Rouge dancer wearing nothing but a well-placed tie, the sumptuous interior of a Venetian salon or children frolicking on a Sydney beach. Carla moves effortlessly from highly stylised fashion shoots in the grand hotels and palazzo of Europe to real-life shots of factory workers in India. In this highly evocative collection of photographs, Carla records her personal quest to enrich her life. Chasing a Dream will inspire you to seize the day and follow your heart.

Chasing the Dream

Author: Shaun Wallace

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781916440005

Category:

Page: 595

View: 2587


Shaun is a Londoner born and bred, and has been a devoted Chelsea fan since 1967. Despite setbacks along the way, Shaun fulfilled his childhood ambition when he was called to the bar in November 1984. Since 2009, he has become a household name, regularly appearing as The Dark Destroyer on the smash ITV hit teatime quiz show, The Chase.

Zayd Saleem, Chasing the Dream

Author: Hena Khan

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

ISBN: 153446946X

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 416

View: 2744


Discover the struggles and triumphs of fourth-grader Zayd Saleem as he pursues his dream of being a basketball star in this bind-up of the complete middle grade series from the acclaimed author of Amina’s Voice and More to the Story. Zayd Saleem has serious hoop dreams. He’s going to be a basketball star. A legend. There are only a few small things in his way. For starters, Zayd’s on the scrawny side and gets stomach aches when he’s nervous. He has to convince his coach that he has what it takes to join his best friend Adam on the elite Gold Team. His mom and dad want him to practice his violin way more than his jump shot. Plus, it doesn’t help that his older sister Zara is amazing at every sport she tries. But Zayd has a lot going for him, too. His grandmother is willing to supply him with all the mango milkshakes he wants. His grandfather has a few tricks up the sleeve of his velour track suit. And his favorite uncle keeps Zayd laughing, even if it’s sometimes so hard he needs to pee. Zayd’s family, combined with his friends, teammates, and his own determination, means he’s got everything he needs to chase his dream. Will he reach it?

The Year of Chasing Dreams

Author: Lurlene McDaniel

Publisher: Delacorte Press

ISBN: 0375986766

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 336

View: 4124


"Readers will swoon over this story of love despite impossible odds."--Romantic Times From the author of Don't Die, My Love comes this young adult novel that intertwines a family saga with a grand love story. This novel stands alone or can be read as the companion to The Year of Luminous Love and Wishes and Dreams. For fans of Sarah Dessen's The Moon and More and Ann Brashares's Forever in Blue. Ciana Beauchamp hasn't seen or heard from Jon Mercer in months. Until now. He's back in Windemere to see her. Deep down Ciana is filled with joy and relief. She has never stopped loving him. It's proof of Jon's love that he has returned, but what will their future be? When tragedy strikes, almost no one in town is left unscathed. Tragedy has a way of bringing people together, but it can also tear them apart. Ciana can hardly face her choices, but she knows she must, and there are now people who she can turn to if only she is willing.

Chasing a Dream

Author: Carl English

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781771177870

Category:

Page: 240

View: 1625


"Never doubt yourself, never stop chasing your dreams, and always believe the impossible." -- Carl EnglishWhen Carl English was five years old, he was faced with an unimaginable tragedy. The loss of his parents in a fire would change his life as he knew it. But he found an outlet, a comfort zone, a way out of the emotional turmoil he experienced: basketball. He played, hours upon hours, on the side of the highway, in rain, wind, and even snow. As time passed, basketball grew into a passion, and then a dream. Where would it take him? How big could he dream? And what would he need to make this dream a reality? Hard work, discipline, practice, determination, and most important, self-belief. Basketball has taken Carl all around the world and, in his own words, has blessed him with so much.Chasing a Dream is the memoir of Newfoundland basketball phenom Carl English. It's an inspirational true story of persevering through hard work and dedication to make a dream become reality. In Carl's case, he always dreamed of playing in the National Basketball Association (NBA). Although he went undrafted through all his years playing, he enjoyed the career of a lifetime playing the sport he loves. The basketball pro from small-town Newfoundland travelled overseas and crushed the European basketball circuit. He became a superstar in his own right, by playing in Europe and for the Canadian national team, and returned to his home province to a hero's welcome."Carl English has a story that won't disappoint. Watching his career, I was always drawn to the spark and confidence I could feel through the TV. A hot streak was always right around the corner, and his bravado was magnetic. Beloved by his national team teammates for his sense of humour and quick tongue, everyone's got a 'Carl story.'" -- From the Foreword by NBA All-Star Steve Nash