Cheer Up Love

Author: Susan Calman

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 147363203X

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 272

View: 3758


'DEEPLY HONEST, SURPRISINGLY HILARIOUS AND UPLIFTING' The Pool 'HEART-WARMING: UNMISSABLE' Damian Barr, Metro Susan Calman is a much-loved comedian and writer who has appeared on countless radio and television programmes from The News Quiz and Just a Minute to Armchair Detectives and Secret Scotland. She's hosted the podcast Mrs Brightside and stole the nation's hearts in Strictly Come Dancing. Her breakout solo stand up show, Susan Calman is Convicted, dealt with subjects like the death penalty, appearance and depression. It was the overwhelming and positive reaction to the show she wrote about mental health that made Susan want to write a more detailed account of surviving depression when you're the world's most negative and anxious person. The Crab of Hate is the personification of Calman's depression and her version of the notorious Black Dog. A constant companion all her life, the Crab has provided her with the best, and very worst of times. This is a very personal and affecting memoir of how, after many years and with a lot of help and talking, Susan has embraced her dark side and realised that she can be the most joyous sad person you'll ever meet. CHEER UP LOVE IS FUNNY, POIGNANT AND (HOPEFULLY) INFORMATIVE. IT'S ALWAYS GOOD TO TALK AND TO REALISE YOU ARE NOT ALONE. *If you loved Cheer Up Love, try Sunny Side Up, Susan's Calmanifesto of Happiness*

Cheer Up

Author: Crystal Frasier

Publisher: Oni Press

ISBN: 9781620109557

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 128

View: 8308


A sweet, queer teen romance perfect for fans of Fence and Check, Please! Annie is a smart, antisocial lesbian starting her senior year of high school who’s under pressure to join the cheerleader squad to make friends and round out her college applications. Her former friend BeeBee is a people-pleaser—a trans girl who must keep her parents happy with her grades and social life to keep their support of her transition. Through the rigors of squad training and amped up social pressures (not to mention micro aggressions and other queer youth problems), the two girls rekindle a friendship they thought they’d lost and discover there may be other, sweeter feelings springing up between them.

The Last Act of Love

Author: Cathy Rentzenbrink

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN: 1447286405

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 256

View: 9217


A Richard and Judy Book club selection. In the summer of 1990, Cathy's brother Matty was knocked down by a car on the way home from a night out. It was two weeks before his GCSE results, which turned out to be the best in his school. Sitting by his unconscious body in hospital, holding his hand and watching his heartbeat on the monitors, Cathy and her parents willed him to survive. They did not know then that there are many and various fates worse than death. This is the story of what happened to Cathy and her brother, and the unimaginable decision that she and her parents had to make eight years after the night that changed everything. It's a story for anyone who has ever watched someone suffer or lost someone they loved or lived through a painful time that left them forever changed. Told with boundless warmth and affection, The Last Act of Love by Cathy Rentzenbrink is a heartbreaking yet uplifting testament to a family's survival and the price we pay for love.

Sunny Side Up

Author: Susan Calman

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 147366389X

Category: Self-Help

Page: 304

View: 4010


The Calmanifesto of Happiness 'One of the kindest people I have ever met - a beautiful dancer and a beautiful person' Kevin Clifton 'Be good, be kind, be more like Susan Calman' Kirstie Allsopp 'Be kind to yourself - read this book, keep it on your bedside table or on your Kindle - even Kindle has the word kind in it' Sandi Toksvig 'Full of wisdom and humour, with the soft underbelly of the profound' Fi Glover 'It's a warm, funny and delightful book that is sure to cheer even the grumpiest curmudgeon in your life' Woman and Home Susan Calman's enthusiasm at being on Strictly Come Dancing was an inspiration to all of us. Cheer Up Love, Susan's first book, had a clear aim: to help people understand depression. Sunny Side Up has a similarly clear path: to persuade people to be kinder to each other and spread more joy. These are extremely difficult and confusing times - people are cross and shouty. It's exhausting! But more than anything, people like Susan, people who don't hate other people, are apologising for the way that they think. Susan wants to make sure that they don't. She wants them to know that it's ok to love people and that kindness is something wonderful and brilliant. Above all, she wants them to bring on the joy. So the mission is simple. To get the nation to join her in not being negative. To bring back joy, kindness and community, to find that joy in the little things in life and defeat the hate and fear. Susan is a one-woman army of hope and joy, and she's ready to lead the nation in a different direction.

The Traditional Tunes of the Child Ballads, Volume 4

Author: Bertrand Harris Bronson

Publisher: Princeton University Press

ISBN: 1400867525

Category: Music

Page: 594

View: 5557


With this volume, incorporating Ballads 244-305, Bertrand Harris Bronson completes his epic task of providing the musical counterpart to Francis James Child's collection of English and Scottish ballads. As in the previous volumes, the texts are linked with their proper traditional tunes, systematically ordered and grouped to show melodic kinship and characteristic variations developed during the course of oral transmission. Originally published in 1972. The Princeton Legacy Library uses the latest print-on-demand technology to again make available previously out-of-print books from the distinguished backlist of Princeton University Press. These editions preserve the original texts of these important books while presenting them in durable paperback and hardcover editions. The goal of the Princeton Legacy Library is to vastly increase access to the rich scholarly heritage found in the thousands of books published by Princeton University Press since its founding in 1905.

One of Thirteen

Author: P. D. Ingledew

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 1470990326

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 1774


December First

Author: Lizy Dastin

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 059514974X

Category: Fiction

Page: 108

View: 1248


December First is the story of the twentieth century told, decade by decade, through the eyes of ten different young girls. Reading this book, we encounter the America experience in an original and poignant new way. The characters we meet are unforgettable and real; a young Welsh immigrant at the turn of the century, trying her fortune in the New World, a would-be flapper in the 1920’s unknowingly about to be engulfed in the Great Depression, a free spirit in the 1960’s whose life is destroyed by drugs. The stories, told through letters and diary entries, each one dated on December First, provide a rich texture; and as the layer of years builds, and the larger issues of love, injustice and death repeat themselves, one wonders; have times, and young girls, really changed so fundamentally since the century began?

The Wife's Evidence

Author: William Gorman Wills

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: 155

View: 6632


BERLIEN HILDAR CIVIL WAR

Author: Roy Spurns

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN: 1514441438

Category: Fiction

Page: 280

View: 3280


Following on from the Invasion the book Hildar Civil War takes you to the plans of a King to unite his kingdom. He plans to unite independent hills tribes under his reign. Like all plans of kings somebody else is to blame when it descends into civil war and mayhem. Unknown to the warring sides of Hildar a Yowie Moggio is coming to deal with a far bigger problem they are totally ignorant of, or are until a dragon breathes fire at them. Dragons tend to get your attention especially those created by bunyips. Also coming is a gunya army from Braille to attack an army the Hildar don’t know exists. All of this a struggle where the main game is far more sinister, if anyone can work out that it is.