Craft For A Dry Lake

Author: Kim Mahood

Publisher: Random House Australia

ISBN: 1742749178

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 272

View: 1009


Winner of the NSW Premier's Literary Awards Douglas Stewart Prize for Non-fiction,The Age Book of the Year Award for Non-fiction, The Dobbie Prize for Best First Book. A lyrical memoir from a first-time author that has won critical acclaim Australia-wide. In the tradition of Drusilla Modjeska's Poppy, Mahood offers an intense and sensitive exploration of identity, familial ties and black/white relations in Australia. Craft For A Dry Lake is a memoir that will touch the hearts and souls of every Australian. In Craft For A Dry Lake Kim Mahood takes us on a lyrical journey to her heartland - travelling with her beloved cattle dog back into the Outback of her youth, seeking to lay to rest her father's ghost but finding herself faced with many of her own.

Myths of Wilderness in Contemporary Narratives

Author: Kylie Crane

Publisher: Palgrave Macmillan

ISBN: 1137000783

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 228

View: 1126


The concept of "wilderness" as a foundational idea for environmentalist thought and writing has become the subject of vigorous debates over the last two decades. This book offers a carefully articulated taxonomy of the forms that wilderness writing has taken in recent Australian and Canadian literature, expanding on this work in unusual ways by re-emphasizing both country's origins as colonies. In its combination of ecocriticism, postcolonialism, and cultural geography, Crane makes an important and original contribution to current ecocritical research.

Travel Writing, Form, and Empire

Author: Julia Kuehn,Paul Smethurst

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1135894558

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 10

View: 3032


This collection of essays is an important contribution to travel writing studies -- looking beyond the explicitly political questions of postcolonial and gender discourses, it considers the form, poetics, institutions and reception of travel writing in the history of empire and its aftermath. Starting from the premise that travel writing studies has received much of its impetus and theoretical input from the sometimes overgeneralized precepts of postcolonial studies and gender studies, this collection aims to explore more widely and more locally the expression of imperialist discourse in travel writing, and also to locate within contemporary travel writing attempts to evade or re-engage with the power politics of such discourse. There is a double focus then to explore further postcolonial theory in European travel writing (Anglophone, Francophone and Hispanic), and to trace the emergence of postcolonial forms of travel writing. The thread that draws the two halves of the collection together is an interest in form and relations between form and travel.

Imaginative Possession

Author: Belinda Probert

Publisher: Black Inc.

ISBN: 1743822014

Category: Nature

Page: 224

View: 8848


How do we understand a country? At a time when many easy assumptions about how we live and how our society functions are being questioned there is room for contemplation of a country that is ancient, occupied for at least sixty thousand years, and young, a national federation for only twelve decades. Belinda Probert, a migrant from England sets out to question in words and action how well she understands the landscapes she has seen and the people that have shaped them. She takes with her a set of writers who have asked the same questions, or provided interpretations of our sense of belonging, to test their words against her own emerging views. Wondering how a nation of immigrants can fully settle here she decided she needed to buy a property in the ‘country’ so she could observe it more closely, and learn to garden differently. Trees fell on her, ants bit her, bowerbirds stole her crops, but from the exercise she discovers much more about soil, trees, water, animals and protecting herself from fire emergencies. Driving back and forth she learns to see the ancient heritage all around us, and rural industries that have destroyed and created so much. ‘A wonderfully friendly and likeable book. It put me in a good mood for days, and taught me a thousand important things.’ —Helen Garner

The Littoral Zone

Author: N.A

Publisher: BRILL

ISBN: 9401204519

Category: Social Science

Page: 320

View: 1284


In this, the first collection of ecocritical essays devoted to Australian contexts and their writers, Australian and US scholars explore the transliteration of land and sea through the works of Australian authors and through their own experiences. The littoral zone is the starting point in this fresh approach to reading literature organised around the natural environment—rainforest, desert, mountains, coast, islands, Antarctica. There’s the beach, where sexual and spiritual crises occur; the Western Australian wheatbelt; deserts, camel trekking, and the transformation of a salt flat into an inland island; New Age literature that ‘appropriates’ Aboriginal culture as the healing poultice for an ailing West; a re-examination of pastoralism; an inquiry into whether Judith Wright's work can “persuade us to rejoice” in the world; the Limestone Plains, home of the bush capital and the bogong moth; tropical North Queensland; national parks where “the mountains meet the sea”; temperate islands, with their history of sealing, Soldier Settlement, and sea country pastoral; and Antarctica, where a utopian vision gives way to an emphasis on its ‘timeless’ icescape as minimalist backdrop for human dramas. The author-terrain includes poets, playwrights, novelists, and non-fiction writers across the range of contexts constituting the littoral zone of ‘Australia’.

Encountering Difference: New Perspectives on Genre, Travel and Gender

Author: Gigi Adair,Lenka Filipova

Publisher: Vernon Press

ISBN: 1622738705

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 156

View: 6114


This edited collection poses crucial questions about the relationship between gender and genre in travel writing, asking how gender shapes formal and thematic approaches to the various generic forms employed to represent and recreate travel. While the question of the genre of travel writing has often been debated (is it a genre, a hybrid genre, a sub-genre of autobiography?), and recent years have been much attention to travel writing and gender, these have rarely been combined. This book sheds light on how the gendered nature of writing and reading about travel affect the genre choices and strategies of writers, as well as the way in which travel writing is received. It reconsiders traditional and frequently studied forms of travel writing, both European and non-European. In addition, it pursues questions about the connections between travel writing and other genres, such as the novel and films, minor forms including journalism and blogging, and new sub-genres such as the ‘new nature writing’; focusing in particular on the political ramifications of genre in travel writing. The collection is international in focus with discussions of works by authors from Europe, Asia, Australia, and both North and South America; consequently, it will be of great interest to scholars and historians in those regions.

Blush: Faces of Shame

Author: Elspeth Probyn

Publisher: U of Minnesota Press

ISBN: 1452904197

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 7893


Anxieties of Belonging in Settler Colonialism

Author: Lisa Slater

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 042978287X

Category: History

Page: 142

View: 5747


This book analyses the anxiety "well-intentioned" settler Australian women experience when engaging with Indigenous politics. Drawing upon cultural theory and studies of affect and emotion, Slater argues that settler anxiety is an historical subjectivity which shapes perception and senses of belonging. Why does Indigenous political will continue to provoke and disturb? How does settler anxiety inform public opinion and "solutions" to Indigenous inequality? In its rigorous interrogation of the dynamics of settler colonialism, emotions and ethical belonging, Anxieties of Belonging has far-reaching implications for understanding Indigenous-settler relations.

Something Rich and Strange

Author: N.A

Publisher: Wakefield Press

ISBN: 1862548706

Category: Australia

Page: 320

View: 1949


Beaches are places of contact, play, confrontation and friction: first comers always arrive on a beach. After Europeans moved into the Antipodes, the coast was the first frontier to be defined. Flinders' circumnavigation in 1802 had mapped 'Australia', revealing the land as 'girt by sea', as the national anthem continues to remind us. All kinds of ideas about the coast, beaches, sea changes, holiday places and islands swirl and eddy in this unique collection of writing.