Snow White

Author: Beate Sigriddaughter

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 0557086329

Category:

Page: 87

View: 7660


A novella retelling the original Grimm's version of Snow White from the different points of view of its various characters.

Granta 158: In the Family

Author: Sigrid Rausing

Publisher: Granta

ISBN: 1909889466

Category: Literary Collections

Page: N.A

View: 8620


Granta 158: In the Family features Fatima Bhutto on grief and loss; Chris Dennis on his teenage relationship with an older man; Charif Majdalani (trans. Ruth Diver) on the fragmenting situation in Beirut and Will Rees on a journey through the NHS in search of a diagnosis. This winter issue includes fiction by Nathan Harris, Julie Hecht, Sheila Heti, Moses McKenzie, Debbie Urbanski and Kate Zambreno, as well as poetry by Akwaeke Emezi, Claire Schwartz and Dawn Watson. A poem by Rachel Long introduces a photoessay by Lewis Khan, and Damian Le Bas introduces a photoessay made by the Herak family.

I Don't Want to Die Poor

Author: Michael Arceneaux

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 198212931X

Category: Humor

Page: 256

View: 4304


One of NPR’s Best Books of 2020 One of Time’s 100 Must-Read Books of 2020 From the New York Times bestselling author of I Can’t Date Jesus, which Vogue called “a piece of personal and cultural storytelling that is as fun as it is illuminating,” comes a wry and insightful essay collection that explores the financial and emotional cost of chasing your dreams. Ever since Oprah Winfrey told the 2007 graduating class of Howard University, “Don’t be afraid,” Michael Arceneaux has been scared to death. You should never do the opposite of what Oprah instructs you to do, but when you don’t have her pocket change, how can you not be terrified of the consequences of pursuing your dreams? Michael has never shied away from discussing his struggles with debt, but in I Don’t Want to Die Poor, he reveals the extent to which it has an impact on every facet of his life—how he dates; how he seeks medical care (or in some cases, is unable to); how he wrestles with the question of whether or not he should have chosen a more financially secure path; and finally, how he has dealt with his “dream” turning into an ongoing nightmare as he realizes one bad decision could unravel all that he’s earned. You know, actual “economic anxiety.” I Don’t Want to Die Poor is an unforgettable and relatable examination about what it’s like leading a life that often feels out of your control. But in Michael’s voice that’s “as joyful as he is shrewd” (BuzzFeed), these razor-sharp essays will still manage to make you laugh and remind you that you’re not alone in this often intimidating journey.

Raised from the Dead

Author: Frank Turner

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 1467053643

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 304

View: 9079


Raised from the Dead is the personal account of award winning TV news anchor Frank Turner’s triumphant journey through abandonment, sexual abuse, drug addiction and three fatal cocaine overdoses. It also includes fascinating insight into his involvement with the Nation of Islam as Louis Farrakhan’s former son-in-law. Your image of what a “stonecold, cocaine-junkie-crackhead” looks like probably doesn’t include an impeccably dressed, very professional and extremely articulate television anchor delivering your evening news. But it should. For twenty-five years, the life of two-time Emmy award winning broadcaster, investigative reporter and news anchor, Frank Turner, was a roller coaster ride that took him from the heights of achievement to the depths of addiction. With no choice but to build upon his damaged foundation of abandonment, abuse and sexual molestation as a child, Turner simultaneously constructed a brilliant career and a tormented life. Even as he interviewed kings and presidents, mayors and moguls, reported on disasters and major developments of all kinds, gathered and delivered the most exciting news stories from around the world—Frank’s most shocking and powerful story was always his own. But it has never been told—until now. Come inside and follow this man’s fascinating journey from abused little boy to “America’s First Evangelical Anchorman.”

The Broken Ones

Author: Danielle L. Jensen

Publisher: Watkins Media Limited

ISBN: 0857666983

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 352

View: 7694


Prequel to the USA Today Bestselling Malediction Trilogy Below Forsaken Mountain, a plot is being hatched to overthrow the tyrant king of Trollus, and Marc is the right-hand man of its leader. His involvement is information more than one troll would kill to possess, which is why he must keep it a secret from everyone, even the girl he loves. After accidentally ruining her sister's chance to become queen, Pénélope is given one last opportunity by her father, the Duke d’Angoulême, to make herself useful: she must find proof that the boy she’s in love with is conspiring against the crown. If she fails, her life will be forfeit. Marc and Pénélope must navigate the complex politics of Trollus, where powers on all sides are intent on using them as pawns, forcing them to risk everything for a chance at a life together. Except being together may turn out to be the greatest risk of all. File Under: Fantasy

Off The Village Mat

Author: Love P. Maya

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN: 1450077242

Category: Fiction

Page: 187

View: 3858


In the romantic tradition of Barbara Cartland and Danielle Steel, OFF THE VILLAGE MAT is a sweeping narrative, set in colorful, contemporary Nigeria. It is the coming-of-age story of bright, beautiful Grace Nwokeji, whose fierce ambition thrusts her into direct conflict between the tribal Africa of her childhood and the turbulent lifestyle of today’s global scene. With the support of sophisticated friends and the love of an expatriate, a white French man living and working in Nigeria, Grace goes through progressive steps toward maturity, respectability, and ultimately, personal freedom.

My American Harp

Author: Surazeus Astarius

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 1365807142

Category: Poetry

Page: 670

View: 2034


"My American Harp" presents 1,169 poems written 2010-2014 by Surazeus that explore what it means to be an American in the modern world of an interconnected global civilization.

Peaceful Death, Joyful Rebirth

Author: Tulku Thondup

Publisher: Shambhala Publications

ISBN: 9780834824980

Category: Religion

Page: 352

View: 2237


Buddhism teaches that death can be a springboard to enlightenment—yet for all but the most advanced meditators, it will be the gateway to countless future lives of suffering in samsara. Tulku Thondup wrote this guide to help us heal our fear and confusion about death and strengthen our practice in anticipation of this transition, and to help us realize the enlightened goal of ultimate peace and joy—not only for death and rebirth, but for this very lifetime. In simple language, he distills a vast range of sources, including scriptures, classic commentaries, oral teachings, and firsthand accounts. The book includes: • An overview of the dying process, the after-death bardo states, and teachings on why, where, and how we take rebirth • Accounts by Tibetan "near-death experiencers" (delogs), who returned from death with amazing reports of their visions • Ways to train our minds during life, so that at death, all the phenomena before us will arise as a world of peace, joy, and enlightenment • Simple meditations, prayers, and rituals to benefit the dead and dying • Advice for caregivers, helpers, and survivors of the dying This edition includes an audio program providing guided instructions by the author on how to visualize Amitabha Buddha in the Pure Realm; how to receive his blessings; how to visualize transforming your body into light and sound at the time of death; how to share the blessings with compassion for all sentient beings; and how to rest in oneness. By becoming intimate with this practice while we're alive, we can alleviate our fear of death, improve our appreciation of this life, and prepare for death in a very practical way, while planting the seeds for rebirth in the Pure Land.

Dark Embrace

Author: Angie Sandro

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1455562750

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 7043


Reader favorite Angie Sandro returns to the South with a bewitching paranormal New Adult romance perfect for fans of Jennifer Armentrout's Wicked and Cora Carmack's Inspire . . . Rescued from the brink of death by her cousin Mala, Dena Acker returns to the land of the living with a terrifying gift. Still connected to the darkness that almost claimed her, she can tell when someone's about to die--but there's nothing she can do to save them. Desperate to rid herself of this cursed ability, Dena has only one chance at peace . . . and two very different men willing to rescue her. For centuries, Ashmael has seen more souls than he can count but he's never been drawn to anyone the way he is to fragile, beautiful Dena. She fills the dark void of his days with light, and he would sacrifice anything - even his immortality - to cross over to her world and ease her suffering. But he can't afford to be discovered by police detective Michael Anders, who is investigating the deaths that surround Dena. While Michael fights his growing attraction to her, the evidence still points to Dena as the killer. Both men have the ability to save Dena from her horrible fate, but which one can she trust with her darkest secrets?