Do You Mind If I Cancel?

Author: Gary Janetti

Publisher: Flatiron Books

ISBN: 1250225841

Category: Humor

Page: 288

View: 3859


The Instant New York Times Bestseller "From “Family Guy” to his own Instagram account, Janetti has been behind some of his generation’s greatest comedy. This book of essays is no exception." — The New York Times Fans of David Sedaris, Jenny Lawson, and Tina Fey... meet your new friend Gary Janetti. Gary Janetti, the writer and producer for some of the most popular television comedies of all time, and creator of one of the most wickedly funny Instagram accounts there is, now turns his skills to the page in a hilarious, and poignant book chronicling the pains and indignities of everyday life. Gary spends his twenties in New York, dreaming of starring on soap operas while in reality working at a hotel where he lusts after an unattainable colleague and battles a bellman who despises it when people actually use a bell to call him. He chronicles the torture of finding a job before the internet when you had to talk on the phone all the time, and fantasizes, as we all do, about who to tell off when he finally wins an Oscar. As Gary himself says, “These are essays from my childhood and young adulthood about things that still annoy me.” Original, brazen, and laugh out loud funny, Do You Mind If I Cancel? is something not to be missed.

Start Without Me

Author: Gary Janetti

Publisher: Henry Holt and Company

ISBN: 1250757096

Category: Humor

Page: 208

View: 7739


From New York Times bestselling author, and Family Guy writer Gary Janetti comes Start Without Me, a collection of hilarious, laugh out loud, true life stories about the small moments that add up to a big life. Gary Janetti is bothered. By a lot of things. And thank God he’s here to tell us. In Start Without Me, Gary returns with his acid tongue firmly in cheek to the moments and times that defined him. He takes us by the hand as we follow him through the summers he spends in his twenties, pursuing both the perfect tan and the perfect man to no avail and much regret. At his Catholic high school, he strikes up an unlikely friendship with a nun who shares Gary's love of soap operas, which becomes a salvation to them both. And don't get him started on how a bad hotel room can ruin even the best vacation. This laugh-out-loud collection of true-life stories from the man “behind his generation’s greatest comedy” (The New York Times) is for anyone who has felt the joy in holding a decade-long grudge. Whether you are a new convert to Janetti or one of the million who follow him on social media for a daily laugh, Start Without Me will have you howling at Gary's frustrations and nodding along in agreement at the outrages of life's small slights. It's the literary equivalent of a night out with your funniest friend that you wish would never end.

Hearts in Motion

Author: Edie Ramer

Publisher: Blue Walrus Books

ISBN: 1939328071

Category: Fiction

Page: 230

View: 1410


Take two cats, a dog, and a determined woman... Animal lover Abby Pimm isn’t looking for love. With two rescue cats, one rescue dog, a struggling business, and her fourteen-year-old sister to raise, she’s got her hands full. What she needs is an angel – though she’ll settle for the devil if he’ll invest in her fledgling company and keep it afloat. Add a six-year-old girl... Wealthy businessman Holden Ramsay is no devil. He’s doing all the right things, and when he’s forced to care for his ex’s six-year-old daughter, he ends up hiring Abby as a temporary sitter – a woman who lights up his damaged heart, and perks up other organs as well. A woman who might be his redemption...or his downfall. Who’s rescuing who? The animals that Abby rescued think maybe it’s time they do a little rescue work of their own—because sometimes humans in love can be so dense...

The Good Sister

Author: Sally Hepworth

Publisher: St. Martin's Press

ISBN: 1250120977

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 1464


THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER "A stunningly clever thriller made doubly suspenseful by not one, but two unreliable narrators." — People Sally Hepworth, the author of The Mother-In-Law delivers a knock-out of a novel about the lies that bind two sisters in The Good Sister. There's only been one time that Rose couldn't stop me from doing the wrong thing and that was a mistake that will haunt me for the rest of my life. Fern Castle works in her local library. She has dinner with her twin sister Rose three nights a week. And she avoids crowds, bright lights and loud noises as much as possible. Fern has a carefully structured life and disrupting her routine can be...dangerous. When Rose discovers that she cannot get pregnant, Fern sees her chance to pay her sister back for everything Rose has done for her. Fern can have a baby for Rose. She just needs to find a father. Simple. Fern's mission will shake the foundations of the life she has carefully built for herself and stir up dark secrets from the past, in this quirky, rich and shocking story of what families keep hidden.

Chicken Soup for the Soul: Miraculous Messages from Heaven

Author: Jack Canfield,Mark Victor Hansen,Amy Newmark

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1611592283

Category: Self-Help

Page: 400

View: 4650


When our loved ones leave this world, our connection with them does not end and we often receive signs from the other side These true and touching stories - religious and secular - will amaze and support you. The 101 true and miraculous stories in this book of signs and messages from beyond show that death may take away the physical presence of our loved ones, but not their spirits. This book is for everyone, religious or secular, as people from all walks of life share their amazing experiences with the other side.

The Turn

Author: Kim Harrison

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1501108719

Category: Fiction

Page: 448

View: 2066


"Trisk and her hated rival Kal have the same goal: save their species from extinction. But death comes in the guise of hope when a genetically modified tomato created to feed the world combines with the government's new tactical virus, giving it an unexpected host and a mode of transport. Plague rises, giving the paranormal species the choice to stay hidden and allow humanity to die, or to show themselves in a bid to save them. Under accusations of scientific misconduct, Trisk and Kal flee across a plague-torn United States to convince leaders of the major paranormal species to save their supposedly weaker kin, but not everyone thinks humanity should be saved"--

Tales of Life and Daph

Author: Phillipa Nefri Clark

Publisher: Phillipa Nefri Clark

ISBN: N.A

Category: Fiction

Page: 226

View: 6810


A retreat in the mountains sounds perfect with spa treatments for Daphne and fishing for John. Until a killer strikes... Daphne Jones is invited to an exclusive conference in the high country in Victoria. The annual meeting of wedding officiants is her first and she's excited to attend sessions with her peers. In between a bit of spoiling, of course. Within hours of John leaving for an overnight camping trip to the best fishing river in the region, Daphne is knee-deep in a fountain full of puzzles in the middle of the night. Literally. Was there really a body in the water feature or is this an elaborate hoax? A note arrives with a terrible warning. Murder is on the menu at the banquet. But who is the target? People are quick to point fingers at Daphne whose sleuthing reputation preceded her. She suspects there a whole lot more going on in this Bridgerton-style hotel and between power outages, planted evidence, and missing diamonds, closes in on the killer. Until the only way down the mountain is blocked. Book three in the Daphne Jones Mysteries puts Daphne in the middle of someone's dangerous game and it might take more than her homemade cookies to get her out of this alive.

Keeping the Peace

Author: Hannah Hooton

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 1620504243

Category:

Page: 380

View: 8136


London waitress Pippa Taylor has no interest in horses or country-living. But when she inherits Peace Offering, a hopeless racehorse, she embarks on a career change in order to see her late uncle’s wish to run him in the Grand National come true. * But having talked her way into a job as racing secretary to a champion National Hunt trainer and moved to the West Country, Pippa finds herself faced with more daunting obstacles than even the Grand National can throw at her. * Most take the form of Jack Carmichael, her moody boss. Although easy on the eye, he’s certainly not easy on the ear. And after a Christmas they would both rather forget, danger and deception threaten Pippa’s life in the country. As her time at Aspen Valley Racing Stables draws to its conclusion, she discovers Peace Offering is not the only thing she must fight to keep. ***** ‘My favourite of this author’s books – the romance stayed with me for ages.’ – Amazon reviewer ***** ‘Really fell in love with the characters... look forward to reading more.’ – Amazon reviewer ***** ‘Would definitely recommend for a good holiday read.’ – Amazon reviewer

Terms of Surrender

Author: Stephanie Morris

Publisher: Carnal Imprint Publishing

ISBN: N.A

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: N.A

View: 5263


Capricia Rossi has a huge problem, one that she has decided that her best male friend and notorious playboy, Tiziano Fertelli, can help with. She’s sexually frustrated and needs a man to help satisfy her desires quickly. However, she doesn’t want all of the drama and heartache that can come with getting seriously involved with someone. Been there, done that—twice—and has the scars to prove it. So what’s her solution to the problem? Convince Tiziano that he’s the perfect man to give her what she needs—on a casual basis. Tiziano has never been more shocked than when Capricia Rossi takes off all of her clothes in front of him. They are good friends and share a lot, but this is a side of Capricia he never thought that he’d see. The problem is, now that he has, he wants to see a lot more. However, Tiziano has a significant challenge on his hands. He knows that he and Capricia can be more than just casual lovers. He just has to get her to surrender to his terms.

Time Waits for No One

Author: Linda Ellen Fletcher

Publisher: Strategic Book Publishing

ISBN: 1625168314

Category: Fiction

Page: 250

View: 4049


is a romantic suspense novel set in present day Connecticut about a man and woman who meet and are drawn to each other by a strange sense of familiarity.Jeremiah Ainsworth, heir to the Ainsworth Foundation, commissions Devon Richards, an accomplished author and research analyst, to write a historical narrative of his ancestral home, Ainsworth Manor. The property has a rich history that dates back to the 1800s, and he wants its story preserved for his descendants and future generations. When Jeremiah and Devon meet, they sense a strong connection. Is it coincidence, or something more? The intrigue begins when they become romantically involved and are consequently pursued by a man bent on revenge. He has been fixated on Devon for some time and becomes incensed when she falls in love with Jeremiah. She has disappointed him like every other woman he has known, and he is determined to make her pay for her betrayal. The man is predatory by nature and enjoys toying with his victims. As the threats intensify, Devon is caught in a seemingly endless nightmare with no way out. the gripping conclusion, Jeremiah initiates a daring rescue to save Devon, but her survival depends on her ability to outwit her captor. Time is running out. Will Devon escape the stalker who has been terrorizing her?