Why God Why?

Author: Justin W. Tull

Publisher: Abingdon Press

ISBN: 1426749732

Category: Religion

Page: N.A

View: 501


This collection of sermons explores the age-old question of why a loving God allows suffering to visit His children. Tull encourages readers to ask why in good times as well as in difficult ones, to examine God's eternal presence in times of blessed joy as well as during sorrow and care. He emphasizes scriptures and anecdotes that illustrate God's comfort and grace during all situations in our lives.

Don't You Have Time to Think?

Author: Richard Phillips Feynman,Michelle Feynman

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780141021133

Category: Physicists

Page: 486

View: 2339


Don't You Have Time to Think? collects the witty, eccentric and moving letters letters of Nobel Prize-winning physicist Richard P. Feynman. Richard Feynman was no ordinary genius. Brilliant, free-spirited and irreverent, he upset those in authority, gave captivating lectures, wrote equations on napkins in strip joints and touched countless lives everywhere. He also wrote hundreds of letters to friends, family, critics, colleagues and devoted fans around the world. Now these letters have been brought together for the first time. From down-to-earth advice to eager students to discussions of time travel and the atom bomb, and from blunt rebuttals to journalists to poignant exchanges with his first wife as she lay dying, they will introduce you to a unique person whose wisdom and lust for life inspired all those who came into his orbit. 'Nobel-winning physicist, expert bongo-player, safe-cracker and all-round genius, Feynman was, as this wonderful and inspiring collection records, also a champion letter-writer ... Witty, deadpan, warm ... some are unbearably poignant' Guardian 'Plain-speaking ... touching' Daily Telegraph 'He sparked excitement not just about science but also about the power of creativity, passion, curiosity' The New York Times Richard P. Feynman (1918-1988) was one of this century's most brilliant theoretical physicists and original thinkers. Feynman's other books, also available in Penguin, include QED, Six Easy Pieces, Six Not-so-Easy Pieces, Don't You Have Time to Think, The Pleasure of Finding Things Out, What Do You Care What Other People Think? and The Meaning of it All.

The Global Warming Survival Kit

Author: Brian Clegg

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1409080153

Category: Humor

Page: 272

View: 9973


Climate change is upon us. Make no mistake: disasters such as Hurricane Katrina are the tip of a rapidly melting iceberg. While we must still press our governments to take action to mitigate the most extreme effects of global warming, it is now beyond doubt that prevention will not be enough. We clearly need to plan for the worst. But good advice is hard to come by - until now. The Global Warming Survival Kit includes: - Where to live to minimize the impact of climate change. - How to get drinkable water when the taps run dry. - What to eat to stay alive in town and country. - Essential survival equipment to keep ready. We can all hope that the worst scenario won't happen - but it's easier to be secure in that hope if you are well prepared.

The Three Principles of the Path

Author: Gelek Rimpoche

Publisher: Jewel Heart

ISBN: 1934994170

Category: Religion

Page: 443

View: 4665


The Three Principles of the Path was written by Je Tsongkhapa (1357-1419), one of the greatest lamas in the history of Tibet. In fourteen stanzas, the entire path to enlightenment is explained, summarized in three main features, i.e the need for a determination to be free, the need to develop altruism and insight in the true nature of reality. Gelek Rimpoche’s commentary is both practical and modern, revealing the deeper layers of this poetic text together with tips on how to meditate on its meaning.

Against the Fire

Author: Kat Martin,Delores Fossen

Publisher: Harlequin

ISBN: 1460398351

Category: Fiction

Page: 512

View: 2473


WHERE THERE'S SMOKE… Gabriel Raines still has a pair of cowboy boots in his closet, even though he's now a successful real-estate developer in Texas. And he continues to live by the same Wyoming values that he and his brothers were raised by—hard work, determination and fairness. But when two of his projects are set on fire, Gabe realizes he's crossed dangerous lines. The police suspect the arsonist is a troubled teen. But Mattie Baker, who's been working with the teen, doesn't believe he's responsible. She has to convince Gabe that someone else is targeting him… She just didn't expect Gabe to be quite so rugged. As things between Gabe and Mattie heat up, they race to find the true arsonist…before he finds them. FREE BONUS STORY INCLUDED IN THIS VOLUME! Outlaw Lawman by USA TODAY bestselling author Delores Fossen Caitlyn Barnes unexpectedly shows up at Texas marshal Harlan McKinney's ranch—with a killer on her trail. To survive, they must trust each other, but can Harlan trust himself around his ex?

Harlequin Intrigue July 2013 - Bundle 1 of 2

Author: Delores Fossen,Elle James,Rebecca York

Publisher: Harlequin

ISBN: 1459254325

Category: Fiction

Page: 404

View: 2537


Harlequin Intrigue brings you three new edge-of-your-seat romances for one great price, available now for a limited time only from July 1 to July 31! This Harlequin Intrigue bundle includes Outlaw Lawman by USA TODAY bestselling author Delores Fossen, Triggered by Elle James, and Carrie's Protector by Rebecca York. Catch a thrill with six new edge-of-your-seat romances every month from Harlequin Intrigue!

Finding the Worm (Twerp Sequel)

Author: Mark Goldblatt

Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers

ISBN: 0385391102

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 304

View: 3989


The New York Post praised Twerp as “reminiscent of The Perks of Being a Wallflower.” Finding the Worm is a sequel that stands on its own--an unforgettable coming-of-age story about life, loss, and friendship. Perfect for fans of The Sandlot and readers who love books by Jennifer L. Holm, Andrew Clements, and Rebecca Stead. It’s not a test unless you can fail. . . . Trouble always seems to find thirteen-year-old Julian Twerski. First it was a bullying incident, and now he’s been accused of vandalizing a painting. The principal doesn’t want to suspend him again, so instead, he asks Julian to write a 200-word essay on good citizenship. Julian writes 200 no’s instead, and so begins an epic struggle between Julian and his principal. Being falsely accused is bad enough, but outside of school, Julian’s dealing with even bigger issues. His friend Quentin has been really sick. How can life be fair when the nicest guy in your group has cancer? Julian’s faith and friendships are put to the test . . . and the stakes have never been higher. Praise for Twerp: A Bank Street Best Book of the Year A Junior Library Guild Selection A Summer Top Ten Kids’ Indie Next List Pick “Reminiscent of The Perks of Being a Wallflower. . . . You don’t have to be a twerp to read this book.” —New York Post “A vivid, absorbing story about one boy’s misadventure, heartache, and hope for himself.” —Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal–winning author of When You Reach Me “[Fans of] Jeff Kinney’s Diary of a Wimpy Kid who have matured beyond the scope and gravity of that series will find a kindred spirit in Julian.” —School Library Journal “Reminiscent of movies like The Sandlot. . . . Well-written and funny.” —The Advocate “Alternately poignant and comical. . . . A thought-provoking exploration of bullying, personal integrity and self-acceptance.” —Kirkus Reviews “Funny, poignant, and an effective commentary on bullying and its consequences.” —The Horn Book Magazine

Blue Heron

Author: Philip Ross

Publisher: Crossroad Press

ISBN: N.A

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 7909


She had been missing for fourteen years... Sarah Kleinhagen. Her involvement with student anti-war activists in the 1970s and their bombing of an Air Force SAC base had forced her underground. Not even the FBI could locate her. Now James Marley needed to find her and bring her back to the child she'd had fourteen years ago... a child who desperately needed her. All he had to go on was a picture taken fourteen years ago. A picture of a strikingly beautiful girl with searching, intelligent eyes that pierced into your soul. Her child needed her. But someone else was looking for Sarah Kleinhagen, someone vicious with a killing instinct. Marley had to find her — if they didn't kill him first.

Autumn, All the Cats Return

Author: Philippe Georget

Publisher: Europa Editions

ISBN: 1609452402

Category: Fiction

Page: 360

View: 2291


The second Inspector Sebag mystery following Summertime, All the Cats Are Bored: “A man like this—a cop like this—is definitely worth knowing” (Los Angeles Review of Books). Inspector Sebag is a policeman in southern France with an unparalleled sixth sense, who excels at slipping into the skin of killers and hunting them down. However, when a retired French Algerian cop is discovered in his apartment with the symbol OAS left near his body and few indications as to who killed him or why, Sebag’s skills are put to the test. Days later, when a controversial monument is destroyed and another French Algerian is shot down, Sebag begins to put the pieces together. Bringing to light the horrors, hopes, and treasons committed during the war in Algeria fifteen years ago, in this sequel to Georget’s Summertime,All the Cats Are Bored, Lt. Gilles Sebag discovers more than just a killer, but an entire secret history that not everyone wants revealed. “French crime writers are on a roll . . . Just savour the Gallic charm of this sizeable case for Inspector Sebag, a tenacious copper in the south of France with a sixth sense for tracking down killers.” —Financial Times “The subtlety, the imaginative style, the brilliant dialogues, and the extremely strong subject make Autumn, All the Cats Return a crime novel not to miss.” —Black Novel “Well structured, solidly documented, written with verve, Autumn, All the Cats Return has everything needed to satisfy even the most demanding of readers.” —UnPolar.com

Seasonal Storms

Author: Steve Weatherspoon

Publisher: Page Publishing Inc

ISBN: 1662470592

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 5951


Life is a beautifully, scary journey through seasons and the storms that accompany them. Just as nature has seasons, so do we. There are seeds inside us all. What do we need in order to make those seeds bloom? Is it possible that the perfect ingredients necessary for this process are in someone else? We all know that spring comes to bring new life. Fully equipped with the ingredients necessary for nature's seeds, could we have what is necessary for one another's seeds? There's a storm on the horizon, a seasonal storm to remove what's no longer needed and lay the foundation necessary for growth. Now, what if the potential damage of the coming storm causes more fear than comfort? It's said, that flowers need water to grow, that it has to rain. Most can't see the beauty in the storm, and see them as simply loud, chaotic, and unpredictable. Perhaps storms are good and necessary, as opposed to simply being bad and destructive. In that small cafe, Jaron and MaKayla were about to find out the answer to these questions.