Every Living Thing

Author: Cynthia Rylant

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781439136164

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 96

View: 6798


Here are twelve deeply moving short stories from the perceptive pen of Cynthia Rylant. Each captures the moment when someone's life changes -- when an animal causes a human being to see things in a different way, and, perhaps, changes his life.

Every Living Thing

Author: James Herriot

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN: 1447224299

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 384

View: 507


The fifth volume of memoirs from the author who inspired the BBC and Channel 5 series All Creatures Great and Small. During his decades spent as a country vet in Yorkshire, James Herriot has seen huge advances in medical science, technological leaps, and a world irrevocably changed by war. Yet some things have always stayed the same – gruff farmers, hypochondriac pet owners, and animals that never do quite what you expect them to. From a green young man in his first job in the 1930s, to an experienced veterinary surgeon, married with two children, James has spent his entire career among the people and animals of Darrowby. And there’s nowhere else he’d rather be. Since they were first published, James Herriot’s memoirs have sold millions of copies and entranced generations of animal lovers. Charming, funny and touching, Every Living Thing is a heart-warming story of determination, love and companionship from one of Britain’s best-loved authors. I grew up reading James Herriot's books and I'm delighted that thirty years on, they are still every bit as charming, heartwarming and laugh-out-loud funny as they were then' – Kate Humble

The Electricity of Every Living Thing

Author: Katherine May

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 140917252X

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 288

View: 2119


Perfect for fans of The Salt Path and The Outrun, this book is a life-affirming exploration of wild landscapes, what it means to be different and, above all, how we can all learn to make peace within our own unquiet minds. 'A windswept tale, beautifully told' Raynor Winn - The Salt Path 'A manifesto for the value of difficult people. I loved it' Amy Liptrot - The Outrun In August 2015, Katherine May set out to walk the 630-mile South West Coast Path. She wanted to understand why she had stopped coping with everyday life; why motherhood had been so overwhelming and isolating, and why the world felt full of inundation and expectations she can't meet. Setting her feet down on the rugged and difficult path by the sea, the answer begins to unfold. It's a chance encounter with a voice on the radio that sparks a realisation that she has Asperger's Syndrome. The Electricity of Every Living Thing tells the story of the year in which Katherine comes to terms with her diagnosis. It leads to a re-evaluation of her life so far - a kinder one, which finally allows her to be different rather than simply awkward, arrogant or unfeeling. The physical and psychological journeys become inextricably entwined, and as Katherine finds her way across the untameable coast, she also finds the way to herself. What readers are saying about The Electricity of Every Living Thing: 'This book showed a realistic view of how autism feels to some people, and it's explained so well' 'The astonishing sensitivity and awareness in her writing, both about the beautiful landscapes and nature around on her walks, and in relation to her family, friends and self put paid to many outdated myths about what it is like to be autistic' 'Compelling and transformative'

The Epic Story of Every Living Thing

Author: Deb Caletti

Publisher: Labyrinth Road

ISBN: 059348553X

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 417

View: 2944


From the award-winning author of A Heart in a Body in The World comes a gorgeous and fiercely feminist young adult novel. When a teen travels to Hawaii to track down her sperm donor father, she discovers the truth about him, about the sunken shipwreck that’s become his obsession, and most of all about herself. Harper Proulx has lived her whole life with unanswered questions about her anonymous sperm donor father. She's convinced that without knowing him, she can't know herself. When a chance Instagram post connects Harper to a half sibling, that connection yields many more and ultimately leads Harper to uncover her father's identity. So, fresh from a painful breakup and still reeling with anxiety that reached a lifetime high during the pandemic, Harper joins her newfound half siblings on a voyage to Hawaii to face their father. The events of that summer, and the man they discover—a charismatic deep-sea diver obsessed with solving the mystery of a fragile sunken shipwreck—will force Harper to face some even bigger questions: Who is she? Is she her DNA, her experiences, her successes, her failures? Is she the things she loves—or the things she hates? Who she is in dark times? Who she might become after them?

The Desire of Every Living Thing

Author: Don Gillmor

Publisher: Vintage Canada

ISBN: 0307363651

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 288

View: 1619


At the age of eighty, Don Gillmor's grandmother let slip the defining secret of her life: her twin sister Jean was not her twin, but her aunt, and her family had emigrated from Scotland to Winnipeg to escape the stigma of her illegitimacy. That revelation set Gillmor off on what seemed at first like the most personal of quests: to track down his ancestors. The Desire of Every Living Thing is also the story of the New World, the story of Winnipeg, the story of this country. Both an evocative family memoir and a brilliant feat of historical imagination, the book's most moving theme is how the discarded past haunts and shapes our lives without us even noticing.

Every Living Creature

Author: Ralph Waldo Trine

Publisher: Cosimo, Inc.

ISBN: 1596059842

Category: Nature

Page: 92

View: 3420


Before "New Age" there was "New Thought," a philosophy that sought God through metaphysics and was wildly popular in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. American mystic and bestselling author RALPH WALDO TRINE (1866-1958) was one of the most influential writers on New Thought principles, and here, in this 1899 book, he explains that how humanity behaves toward its fellow creatures is a measure of our own civility, or lack thereof: . how children learn kindness through the gentle treatment of animals . why fashion-in clothing, in food-cannot dictate our usage of animals . how a society's viewpoint on animals is reflected in its culture . and more. Vegetarians, animal lovers, and those seeking a closer communion with the natural world will find this a stirring work.

All Things Herriot

Author: Sanford Sternlicht

Publisher: Syracuse University Press

ISBN: 9780815603221

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 208

View: 9734


All Things Herriot is the first full-length book about this best-selling author, whose work, adapted for television, has swept through the world in one of the most popular and enduring series of all times: All Creatures Great and Small. Sternlicht offers a comprehensive, up-to-the-moment evaluation of the Herriot achievements, and it offers the most detailed biography of the real Herriot, James Alfred Wight, in print to date. He explores how this good-natured veterinarian came into existence and how he developed over the course of the series of books. How and why Herriot made the transition to television is examined as well as the effect the shows had on audiences. This is the story of the "creating" of James Herriot, how he captured the imagination of popular culture. This simple man, with his profound love for all creatures in his peaceable kingdom, has earned for himself a secure and enduring place in the hearts and minds of readers and viewers alike.

The Jewish Study Bible

Author: Adele Berlin,Marc Zvi Brettler,Michael A. Fishbane,Nathan Cummings Professor of Jewish Studies and Chair of the Committee on Jewish Studies Michael Fishbane, PhD

Publisher: Oxford University Press, USA

ISBN: 0195297512

Category: Religion

Page: 2226

View: 8009


This study Bible offers readers of the Hebrew Bible a resource that is specifically tailored to meet their needs. It presents the centre of gravity of the Scriptures where Jews experience it.

The Bible Reader

Author: William Bentley Fowle

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Readers

Page: 308

View: 3063