Farewell to the East End

Author: Jennifer Worth

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780753823064

Category: Childbirth

Page: 336

View: 7338


Midwifery & medicine.

Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End

Author: Jennifer Worth

Publisher: Ecco

ISBN: 9780062270061

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 336

View: 1866


The last book in the trilogy begun by Jennifer Worth's New York Times bestseller and the basis for the PBS series Call the Midwife When twenty-two-year-old Jennifer Worth, from a comfortable middle-class upbringing, went to work as a midwife in the poorest section of postwar London, she not only delivered hundreds of babies and touched many lives, she also became the neighborhood's most vivid chronicler. Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End is the last book in Worth's memoir trilogy, which the Times Literary Supplement described as "powerful stories with sweet charm and controlled outrage" in the face of dire circumstances. Here, at last, is the full story of Chummy's delightful courtship and wedding. We also meet Megan'mave, identical twins who share a browbeaten husband, and return to Sister Monica Joan, who is in top eccentric form. As in Worth's first two books, Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times and Call the Midwife: Shadows of the Workhouse, the vividly portrayed denizens of a postwar East End contend with the trials of extreme poverty—unsanitary conditions, hunger, and disease—and find surprising ways to thrive in their tightly knit community. A rich portrait of a bygone era of comradeship and midwifery populated by unforgettable characters, Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End will appeal to readers of Frank McCourt, Katherine Boo, and James Herriot, as well as to the fans of the acclaimed PBS show based on the trilogy.

Letters to the Midwife

Author: Jennifer Worth

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0297869094

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 320

View: 7661


Letters to the Midwife is a wonderful collection of correspondence received by Jennifer Worth, offering a fascinating glimpse into a long-lost world. Along with readers' responses and personal histories, it is filled with all sorts of heart-warming gems. There are stories from other midwives, lorry drivers, even a seamstress, all with tales to tell. Containing previously unpublished material describing her time spent in Paris and some journal entries, this is also a portrait of Jennifer herself, complete with a moving introduction by her family about the woman they knew and loved.

West Ham United

Author: Jack Fawbert

Publisher: eBook Partnership

ISBN: 180150234X

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 386

View: 6639


West Ham United: From East End Family to Globalised Fandom is the story of the evolution of West Ham. It charts how a works football team was transformed into a club that represented east London's working classes, only to be transformed again in the late 20th and early 21st centuries into a global brand with supporters in every habitable place on Earth. Starting as the Thames Ironworks Ltd works team, they changed their name to West Ham United in 1900, shortly before moving to the Boleyn Ground in Upton Park. For nearly a century they were supported by local working-class men from across the East End of London until a series of economic, social, cultural, geographical and technological changes brought the club a global fanbase. Through surveying West Ham United fan groups across the world, this book attempts to explain this phenomenon and to get a sense of what the club means to those who originally came from the East End, as well as to those who have no biographical connection to the area.

Toffee Apples and Quail Feathers

Author: Jennifer Worth,Suzannah Worth

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 139960189X

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 217

View: 8375


Following the death of her beloved mother Jennifer Worth in 2011, Suzannah Worth discovered amongst her manuscripts a folder simply labelled 'Fifth Book'. Imagine her excitement when she sat down to read and her mother's distinctive voice came flooding back. She found herself once again immersed in the world of the 1950s East End of London. The voices of much loved, familiar characters spoke loud and clear, particularly that of Fred the boiler man, who features extensively in this joyful collection. From Fred and Maisie's romance, to Fred's little earners including boat tours on the Thames, a fledgling singing career and raising pigs on the allotment, these new stories are as heart-warming and funny as the originals. Published here for the first time and accompanied by a selection of Suzannah's favourite chapters from the original memoirs, featuring Chummy and Sister Monica Joan, this is a very special addition to the Call the Midwife family.

Race, Ethnicity and Football

Author: Daniel Burdsey

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1136726896

Category: Social Science

Page: 291

View: 6139


Elucidating the linkages between race, ethnicity, gender and masculinity in football, this volume addresses topics such as the experience of Muslim players, recruitment of African players, devolution and national identities, minority ethnic clubs, "mixed-race" players, sectarianism, and foreign club ownership

Poverty in Contemporary Literature

Author: B. Korte,G. Zipp

Publisher: Springer

ISBN: 1137429291

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 149

View: 5590


Poverty and inequality have gained a new public presence in the United Kingdom. Literature, and particularly narrative literature, (re-)configures how people think, feel and behave in relation to poverty. This makes the analysis of poverty-themed fiction an important aspect in the new transdisciplinary field of poverty studies.

The Complete Call the Midwife Stories

Author: Jennifer Worth

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1780225105

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 800

View: 7914


The East-End stories that inspired the BBC TV series, CALL THE MIDWIFE, in a gorgeous gift box. London's East End in the 1950s was a tough place: the struggles of post-war life - bombsites, overcrowded tenements, crime, brothels - bred a culture of tight-knit family communities, larger-than-life characters and a lively social scene. It was into this world that Jennifer Worth entered as a trainee midwife. But docklands life was tough, and babies were often born in slum conditions. In funny, disturbing and heartbreaking stories, Jennifer Worth recounts her time among nuns, prostitutes, abortionists, bigamists, gangsters and expectant mothers, portraying East Enders' amazing resilience - and their warmth and humour in the face of hardship. Written with affection and nostalgia, her midwife stories chronicle the lives, traditions and tales of a bygone era.

Fractured Families

Author: Tanya Evans

Publisher: UNSW Press

ISBN: 1742241980

Category: History

Page: 336

View: 9973


Most convicts arriving in New South Wales didn’t expect to make their fortunes. Some went on to great success, but countless convicts and free migrants struggled with limited prospects, discrimination and misfortune. Many desperate people turned to The Benevolent Society, Australia’s first charity founded in 1813, for assistance and sustenance. In this rich and revealing book, Tanya Evans collaborates with family historians to present the everyday lives of these people. We see many families who have fallen on hard times because of drink, unwanted pregnancy, violence, unemployment or plain bad luck, seeking help and often shunted from asylums or institutions. In the careful tracing of families, we see the way in which disadvantage can be passed down from one generation to the next. The extensive archives of The Benevolent Society allow us to reclaim these unknown lives and understand our history better, not to mention the often random nature of betterment and progress.

You Can’t Win Anything With Kids

Author: Gavin Newsham

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 147294691X

Category: Reference

Page: 240

View: 8311


For this unique gift title, the history of the Premier League is told through the words and quotations of its players, managers, their contemporaries and the media. This is the English Premier League in the words of the people who helped shape it into the world's most exciting league competition. From Alan Hansen's infamous "You can't win anything with kids†? and Roy Keane's "prawn sandwich†? rant to Kevin Keegan's "I will love it if we beat them...†? meltdown and Sir Alex Ferguson's famous "[It's] squeaky bum time†?, this beautifully packaged book captures the highs and lows as well the fun and theatre of 24 seasons of the Premier League. Branded by the National Football Museum, the world's leading football museum, the oral history approach makes for a fun and accessible book, telling the story of all of the important Premier League moments – as well as the outcome of each of the seasons – in a unique and absorbing way.