The Forgotten Girl

Author: India Hill Brown

Publisher: Scholastic Inc.

ISBN: 1338317261

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 256

View: 6315


"This ghost story gave me chill after chill. It will haunt you." -- R.L. Stine, author of Goosebumps

I Woke Up in the Future

Author: Naomi Jacobs

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN: 1447282728

Category: Amnesia

Page: 320

View: 1376


One woman's shocking true story of overnight amnesia Naomi Jacobs went to sleep one night in 2008 as a 32-year-old mother, and woke up the next morning believing she was a fifteen-year-old school girl. She did not recognise the house she woke up in, though it was hers, nor her ten-year-old son, Leo. As far as she was concerned, she was in 1992 when John Major was Prime Minister, before the world had been blessed with mobile phones, DVDs or reality TV. She didn't know it, but she had dissociative amnesia. With the help of her personal diaries and those close to her, Naomi set about piecing together as much as she could of her missing years. What she discovered shocked her. As she dug deeper, she began to experience disturbing flashbacks of traumatic events. Would Naomi ever find her way back to the person she once was? Did she even want to? Funny and moving, Forgotten Girl is ultimately an inspiring story of loss and redemption, and the power of second chances.

Forgotten Girl

Author: Naomi Jacobs

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN: 1447282574

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: N.A

View: 9350


Naomi Jacobs went to sleep one night in 2008 as a 32-year-old mother, and woke up the next morning believing she was a fifteen-year-old school girl. She did not recognise the house she woke up in, though it was hers, nor her ten-year-old son, Leo. As far as she was concerned, she was in 1992 when John Major was Prime Minister, before the world had been blessed with mobile phones, DVDs or reality TV. She didn't know it, but she had dissociative amnesia. With the help of her personal diaries and those close to her, Naomi set about piecing together as much as she could of her missing years. What she discovered shocked her. As she dug deeper, she began to experience disturbing flashbacks of traumatic events. Would Naomi ever find her way back to the person she once was? Did she even want to? Funny and moving, Forgotten Girl is ultimately an inspiring story of loss and redemption, and the power of second chances.

The Forgotten Girl

Author: Rio Youers

Publisher: Titan Books

ISBN: 1785659855

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 9088


A dark mystery unfolds in Rio Youers's riveting tale, for fans of Paul Tremblay and Joe Hill. Harvey Anderson is a twenty-six-year-old busker who enjoys his peaceful life, but everything is turned upside down when he is abducted and beaten by a group of nondescript thugs. Working for a sinister man known as “the spider”, these goons have spent nine years searching for Harvey's girlfriend, Sally Starling. Now they think they know where she lives. There's only one problem: Sally is gone and Harvey has no memory of her. Which makes no sense to him, until he discovers that Sally has the unique ability to selectively erase a person's memories. An ability she has used to delete herself from Harvey's mind. But emotion runs deeper than memory, and so he goes looking for a girl he loves but can't remember... and encounters a danger beyond anything he could ever imagine. Political corruption and manipulation. A serial killer's dark secrets. An appetite for absolute, terrible power... For Harvey Anderson, finding the forgotten girl comes at quite a cost.

The Forgotten Girl

Author: David Bell

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1101604859

Category: Fiction

Page: 448

View: 3062


The USA Today bestselling author of Somebody's Daughter and Layover presents a twist-filled thriller about a troubled family with long-buried secrets... The past has arrived uninvited at Jason Danvers’s door in the form of his younger sister, Hayden, a former addict who severed all contact with her family as her life spiraled out of control. Now she’s clean and sober but in need of a desperate favor—she asks Jason and his wife to take care of her teenage daughter for forty-eight hours while she handles some business in town. But Hayden never returns. Her disappearance brings up more unresolved problems from Jason’s past, including the abrupt departure of his best friend on the night of their high school graduation twenty-seven years earlier. When a body is discovered in the woods, the mysteries of his sister’s life—and possible death—deepen. One by one these events will shatter every expectation Jason has ever had about families, about the awful truths that bind them, and the secrets that should be taken to the grave.

The Lost Marble Notebook of Forgotten Girl & Random Boy

Author: Marie Jaskulka

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1634500040

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 272

View: 5020


If I let you read mine, will you let me read yours? Forgotten Girl, a fifteen-year-old poet, is going through the most difficult time of her life—the breakup of her parents, and her mom’s resulting depression—when she meets Random Boy, a hot guy who, like her, feels like an outcast and secretly writes poetry to deal with everything going on in his life. In The Lost Marble Notebook of Forgotten Girl & Random Boy, the couple’s poems come together to tell their unique love story. The two nameless teenagers come from opposite sides of the tracks, yet they find understanding in each other when they lay bare their life stories through the poetry they write and share with each other. Through verse, they document the power of first kisses, the joy of finally having someone on their side, the devastation of jealousy, and the heartbreaking sadness of what each of them is simultaneously dealing with at home and hiding from the world. Finally they have someone to tell and somewhere to tell it in their marble notebook. This is the powerful story of two imperfect teens in first love who find solace in poetry. Sky Pony Press, with our Good Books, Racehorse and Arcade imprints, is proud to publish a broad range of books for young readers—picture books for small children, chapter books, books for middle grade readers, and novels for young adults. Our list includes bestsellers for children who love to play Minecraft; stories told with LEGO bricks; books that teach lessons about tolerance, patience, and the environment, and much more. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are committed to books on subjects that are sometimes overlooked and to authors whose work might not otherwise find a home.

The Forgotten Girls

Author: Owen Laukkanen

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 0698194101

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 5377


They are the victims no one has ever cared about, until now. Agents Stevens and Windermere return in the blistering new crime novel from the fast-rising, multi-award-nominated suspense star. She was a forgotten girl, a runaway found murdered on the High Line train through the northern Rocky Mountains and, with little local interest, put into a dead file. But she was not alone. When Kirk Stevens and Carla Windermere of the joint FBI-BCA violent crime force stumble upon the case, they discover a horror far greater than anyone expected—a string of murders on the High Line, all of them young women drifters whom no one would notice. But someone has noticed now. Through the bleak midwinter and a frontier land of forbidding geography, Stevens and Windermere follow a frustratingly light trail of clues—and where it ends, even they will be shocked.

The Forgotten Girl

Author: Rio Youers

Publisher: St. Martin's Press

ISBN: 1466884053

Category: Fiction

Page: 372

View: 9709


Nominated for the 2018 Arthur Ellis Award for Best Crime Novel. A dark mystery unfolds in Rio Youers's riveting thriller, The Forgotten Girl. Harvey Anderson is a twenty-six-year-old street performer from New Jersey. He enjoys his peaceful life, but everything turns upside down when he is abducted and beaten by a group of nondescript thugs. Working for a sinister man known as “the spider,” these goons have spent nine years searching for Harvey’s girlfriend, Sally Starling. Now they think they know where she lives. And whom she loves. There’s only one problem: Sally is gone and Harvey has no memory of her. Which makes no sense to him, until the spider explains that Sally has the unique ability to selectively erase a person’s memories—an ability she has used to delete herself from Harvey’s mind. But emotion runs deeper than memory, and Harvey realizes he still feels something for Sally. And so—with the spider threatening—he goes looking for a girl he loves but can’t remember . . . and encounters a danger that reaches beyond anything he could ever imagine. Political corruption and manipulation. A serial killer’s dark secrets. An appetite for absolute, terrible power. For Harvey Anderson, finding the forgotten girl comes at quite a cost.

The Forgotten Girl

Author: Emily Wilson

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: 28

View: 7536