Frank Skinner Autobiography

Author: Frank Skinner

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1409065243

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 416

View: 5212


A hilarious autobiography from one of Britain's funniest and most successful comedians. Born Chris Collins in 1957, Frank Skinner he grew up in the West Midlands where he inherited his father's passion for football - and alcohol. Expelled from school at 16, Frank had been nurturing a serious drink problem from the age of 14, but managed to go teetotal in 1987. Along with personal revelations, it helped turn his life around. His first television appearance in 1988 was met with raucous laughter from the audience - and 131 complaints, including one from cabinet minister Edwina Currie. He met fellow comedian David Baddiel in 1990, and the two went on to share a flat throughout the early 90s and to create the hit TV series Fantasy Football League. Winner of the prestigious Perrier Award at the Edinburgh Festival, Skinner's comedy is a groundbreaking mix of laddish and philosophical humour, one which has helped shape the British comedy scene ever since. From The Frank Skinner Show to co-writing the football's-coming-home classic Three Lions, his career has never been boring. Here, for the first time, Frank candidly tells us of the highs and lows of his fascinating life.

Frank Skinner on the Road

Author: Frank Skinner

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1409036669

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 368

View: 2664


In this new volume of memoirs, Frank Skinner describes his experience of going back on the road doing stand-up again, after many years spent working mainly on television. His adventures on tour are by turns funny and moving as he meditates on growing older, the terrors and joys of trying to make a live audience laugh night after night and on the nature of comedy itself. For the first time we read a comedian's account, in his own words, of how his act is put together; his return to a world of dark little clubs and the strange encounters he has there. But what is perhaps most startling and original about Frank Skinner's writing is his honesty nbout not only the highs and lows of his career, but more intimate and personal issues - male sexuality and matters of the heart.

A Comedian's Prayer Book

Author: Frank Skinner

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1529368979

Category: Humor

Page: 144

View: 6554


A Comedian's Prayer Book. The title is a worry, isn't it?... God is a tough audience as far as audible response is concerned, but at least you don't have to explain the references. In this collection of prayers, much-loved comedian, broadcaster and radio host Frank Skinner has tried to retain the bare candour of the rehearsal-room improvisation - to show what faith feels like, from the inside - but infused it with all the production values required to make it a passable public entertainment. In it are his convictions, his questions, his fears, his doubts, his elations - all presented in an eavesdropper-friendly form. Hell, Judgement, atheism, money, faith and the X-Men all feature: it's a bit like reading the Bible, except you only get one side of the conversation, and all the jokes are left in.

Dispatches From the Sofa

Author: Frank Skinner

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1446493865

Category: Humor

Page: 336

View: 6798


A collection of Frank Skinner's most brilliant, biting, gut-bustingly funny columns for The Times. For several years, legendary comedian Frank Skinner wrote a weekly column for The Times. Without fail, he sat down and wracked his brain to think of something to write 900 words about, frequently giving up and writing about football instead. Dispatches from the Sofa is the brilliant result. Pondering such random topics as the potential demise of Margaret Thatcher, the love-hate relationship with your football club, the banking crisis and the evil phenomenon of Jedward, this is wit and wisdom, and a fine sense of the absurd, all rolled into one.

Gaffer Tapes

Author: Tom Holmes

Publisher: eBook Partnership

ISBN: 1785315862

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 224

View: 6646


If you've secretly logged in at work to set your line-up, or if you can't wait to gloat in the group chat, then this unique and hilarious book about the national obsession of fantasy football is for you. The A-Z of Fantasy Football is a unique and hilarious journey through the hobby that has people across the world scrambling for their phone every matchday morning. Fantasy footy has come a long way since it entailed scouring through the newspapers in the 90s - and, as the game has grown, so have the lengths players will go to in order to win! You'll read about the eye-watering forfeits, the labour-ward transfers, interviews with footballers who refuse to bet against themselves, and tales of woe from those who take things that little bit too far. Littered with insightful dos and don'ts from the nation's leading fantasy football podcast, this guide will have you in stitches half the time and in disbelief the other. There's no promises that the book will help you win the whole thing, but it has all you need to help you beat your mates.

From Anxiety to Zoolander

Author: Anouchka Grose

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 0429914091

Category: Psychology

Page: 228

View: 5979


From Anxiety to Zoolander is a collection of writings on psychoanalytic themes. Each text was originally delivered as a talk, and the book aims to retain the informality and directness of the spoken word. While many of the chapters focus on clinical questions, they also speak about art, comedy, fashion, fame and fiction. Freudian and Lacanian theories are central, but the book as a whole is far from doctrinaire, with all areas of psychoanalytic thinking being up for discussion. Clinical topics include acting out, narcissism, gender, transference, diagnosis, and the Oedipus complex, tracing ideas through Freud and the post-Freudians, and examining their relevance to the contemporary psychoanalytic clinic. Non-clinical topics include Louise Bourgeois's notes on her analysis, stand-up comedy, Paris Hilton's televised friendship auditions, and Ben Stiller's penetrating stupidity in Zoolander 2. While each essay is self-contained, the book argues overall for the continued relevance of Freudian ideas in the treatment of psychic suffering, as well as in the interpretation of cultural phenomena.

It's Not Me, It's Them

Author: Joel Dommett

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1472251288

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 288

View: 5317


'Effortless humour and bucketloads of charm. It's impossible not to be bowled over by the ending. Most definitely my favourite celebrity memoir in a long time. Brilliant.' - THE SUN **The hilarious debut from I'm A Celeb star Joel Dommett (Live at the Apollo, 8 Out of 10 Cats, Impractical Jokers), for fans of Joe Lycett, James Acaster and Sarah Millican** As a 17-year-old virgin working . . . for Virgin, Joel Dommett has grand ambitions. Firstly, he is going to swap suburbia for the bright lights of Showbiz. Secondly, he is going to find 'the one' in the first forty people he's going to sleep with. What follows is a series of disastrous romantic encounters, including carpets mistaken for toilets, futile grand gestures and the catfishing to end all catfishing. Featuring genuine teenage diary entries and told in Joel's trademark self-deprecating style, this is the brilliant first book from the UK's most exciting comedian.

We Need to Talk About . . . Kevin Bridges

Author: Kevin Bridges

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN: 1405913770

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 496

View: 9901


The comic autobiography of 2014 A comedian's autobiography? I wonder if he's ever used humour to deflect from his insecurities? To avoid being bullied? Is there heartache behind the humour? I wonder if he's a manic-depressive? Tears of a clown? Yes, all of that. Discover the hilarious life-story of one of Britain's best-loved comedians in Kevin Bridges' brilliant memoir. 'First of all, I have never written a book before, you probably haven't either, so there we have it; a connection is established between reader and writer . . .' Aged just 17, Kevin Bridges walked on stage for the first time in a Glasgow comedy club and brought the house down. He only had a five-minute set but in that short time he discovered that he really could earn a living from making people laugh. Kevin began life as a shy, nerve-ridden school-boy, whose weekly highlights included a cake-bombing attack by the local youths. Reaching his teens, he followed his true calling as the class clown, and was soon after arrested for kidnapping Hugh Grant from his local cinema on a quiet Saturday night. This was a guy going somewhere - off the rails seeming most likely. Kevin's trademark social commentary, sharp one-liners and laugh-out-loud humour blend with his reflections on his Glaswegian childhood and the journey he's taken to become one of the most-loved comedians of our time. '. . . Hopefully now you'll take this over to the till and I can accompany you for the next wee while. That's the benefit of book shops, reading the little bit and then deciding if the author deserves to be part of your carefully selected 3 for 2 deal, or part of your plane journey, train journey, your next bath, your next shite.' Praise for Kevin Bridges: 'The Best Scottish Stand up of his Generation.' The Scotsman 'A wonderfully dry and deadpan Glaswegian comic . . . one the most exciting talents to have emerged from Scotland since Billy Connolly' Guardian 'Kevin Bridges might just become the best stand-up in the land . . . he will go and deliver a one-liner that you want to jot down and frame' The Times 'Wonderfully sharp, assured stand-up from the preternaturally gifted young comic' Independent

Laughing Matters

Author: Steven Jacobi

Publisher: Jonathan Cape

ISBN: N.A

Category: Comedians

Page: 339

View: 6574


What really makes people laugh? In order to answer this question, Steve Jacobi decided to perform in six comedy clubs across the UK, charting his material and the audience reaction along they way. This book is the story of his masochistic and often hilarious journey.

My Old Man’s A Busman

Author: Peter Gilbert

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 1496978692

Category: Humor

Page: 244

View: 5469


Whilst there are enough celebrity connections and anecdotes not to be out of place in an ‘A list’ autobiography, the real hook of this book is that the author isn’t remotely famous. The endearing appeal is that it is the viewpoint of the everyman, but one who has had enough light brushes with celebrity that he has some great tales to tell. These stories, anecdotes and musings are seamlessly woven into what for many of us will be a memory jogging, laughter inducing remembrance of some of the major, as well as quainter, stranger and more trivial moments of pop culture over the last few decades. If you love pop music and pop culture, feared the Daleks, the Child Catcher from Chitty Chitty Bang Bang and mourn the demise of Pez, Cresta, conkers as a rite of passage, jokes on lolly sticks, Top of the Pops and pink vinyl limited edition LP’s, then you will surely enjoy this. Please beware! This book may waste days (if not weeks) of your life as almost every paragraph will have you frantically typing into your search engine and getting lost, on what may turn out to be an endless Internet Safari. This book contains some adult humour. ‘Best Wishes and Good Luck with your writing’ Ben Elton