Saving the State

Author: Stephen Collins,Ciara Meehan

Publisher: Gill & Macmillan Ltd

ISBN: 0717189740

Category: Political Science

Page: 480

View: 7386


When Fine Gael entered a coalition government with Fianna Fáil in 2020 the party did what would have been unthinkable for its forefathers, who had fought and won a bitter civil war to establish the institutions of an independent Irish state almost a century earlier. Saving the State is the remarkable story of Fine Gael from its origins in the fraught days of civil war to the political convulsions of 2020. Written by political journalist Stephen Collins and historian Ciara Meehan, Saving the State draws on a wealth of original historical research and a range of interviews with key political figures to chart the evolution of the party through the lens of its successive leaders. From the special place occupied by Michael Collins in the party’s pantheon of heroes to the dark era of the Blueshirts, and from its role as the founder of the state to its claim to be the defender of the state, the ways that members perceive their own history is also explored. Saving the State is essential reading for anyone interested in understanding how Fine Gael came to be the party it is today, the ways in which it interprets and presents its own history, and the role that it played in shaping modern Ireland.

Frenzy and Betrayal

Author: Alan Shatter

Publisher: Merrion Press

ISBN: 1785372394

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 450

View: 8024


On 6 May 2014, two reports condemning the conduct of Alan Shatter, Minister for Justice, Equality and Defence, were delivered to government buildings in Dublin. Shatter resigned from cabinet the next day under pressure from Taoiseach Enda Kenny, his reputation destroyed and his political career in tatters. The GSOC bugging scandal had precipitated an avalanche of Garda corruption allegations and Shatter was in the eye of the storm. He was savaged by the media, and accusations of his covering up espionage and of ignoring the concerns of whistle blowers such as Maurice McCabe were widely accepted. Damaged by false narratives and political maneuvering by Enda Kenny, he then lost his Dáil seat in 2016, another casualty of the ongoing wave of scandals. Pilloried and demonized by opposition politicians, commentators, and even cabinet colleagues, Shatter was also accused of undermining the administration of justice and of misusing his position to spy on political opponents. From the first phone-tapping allegations to the explosive Charleton Report, this is the phenomenal story of a cataclysmic period in Irish politics from Alan Shatter's unique perspective. Compelling, sardonic and searingly honest, Frenzy and Betrayal is the sensational, unprecedented and forensic inside-story of a political assassination, the Irish 'Post-Truth' media, and one of the most turbulent political controversies to rock the Irish political system in decades.

Betrayed by His Kiss

Author: Amanda McCabe

Publisher: Harlequin

ISBN: 146034085X

Category: Fiction

Page: 288

View: 1324


In a city of shadows… Orlando Landucci knows all too well what darkness lies beneath Florence's dazzling splendor. And when his beloved sister is torn from him, he will stop at nothing to avenge her death. …only a kiss can light up the darkness But from the moment he lays eyes on innocent Isabella Spinola, something inside him shifts. She is the kin of his sworn enemy, yet he feels compelled to protect her. With every forbidden kiss Orlando's sense of betrayal deepens, so when the time for vengeance comes, will their bond be enough to banish the shadows forever? "McCabe's story charms readers." —RT Book Reviews on Running from Scandal

Bunraku

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Bunraku

Page: N.A

View: 7464


A Man Betrayed

Author: J. V. Jones

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1405529768

Category: Fiction

Page: 704

View: 1709


At Castle Harvell, demented Prince Kylock grabs the reins of power by murdering his father. Harvell's two young refugess are torn apart by the storms of war: headstrong young Melliandra is captured by brutal slavers and Jack, whose wild power works miracles, falls prey to a smuggler's lying charms and a woman's seductive schemes. Meanwhile, a knight's shattered destiny is about to lead from death-sport pits to the blood-strewn creation of an empire. For more information on this or any other Orbit title, visit the Orbit website at www.orbitbooks.co.uk

Seduction and Betrayal

Author: Elizabeth Hardwick

Publisher: New York Review of Books

ISBN: 1590174372

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 224

View: 5520


The novelist and essayist Elizabeth Hardwick is one of contemporary America’s most brilliant writers, and Seduction and Betrayal, in which she considers the careers of women writers as well as the larger question of the presence of women in literature, is her most passionate and concentrated work of criticism. A gallery of unforgettable portraits—of Virginia Woolf and Zelda Fitzgerald, Dorothy Wordsworth and Jane Carlyle—as well as a provocative reading of such works as Wuthering Heights, Hedda Gabler, and the poems of Sylvia Plath, Seduction and Betrayal is a virtuoso performance, a major writer’s reckoning with the relations between men and women, women and writing, writing and life.

Amber Fang: Betrayal

Author: Arthur Slade

Publisher: Orca Book Publishers

ISBN: 1459822749

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 224

View: 5786


For Amber Fang, life used to be simple: study library science by day, read by night and, when she got hungry, enjoy an ethical meal straight from the jugular. Her mother taught her well. It's just good manners for vampires to eat only murderers. But now her mom has vanished, and Amber is alone. Her contract work as an assassin has been terminated. But the secret organization ZARC is still trying to hunt her down, using algorithms, drones and a murderess with metal hands. Through the dark web Amber learns that her long-lost mother has been "disappeared" to a secret compound in Antarctica. When Amber arrives and pries open a door to investigate, what she discovers shocks her to the core. And it will change her life forever. If she survives.

Betrayal at Lisson Grove (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 26)

Author: Anne Perry

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0755376838

Category: Fiction

Page: 448

View: 3102


Surrounded by conspiracy, who can Pitt trust? Betrayal at Lisson Grove is another fantastic Pitt novel from the master storyteller of the Victorian mystery, Anne Perry. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Sarah Perry. 'The novel has a totally contemporary feel and is admirably well-written' - Guardian It's 1895 and an increasingly violent tide of political unrest is rising fast all over Europe. Special Branch's Inspector Thomas Pitt knows that they must find those responsible before England is overrun by reformists intent on overthrowing the government. When he finds himself in pursuit of a suspected terrorist, Pitt has no hesitation in following the chase all the way to France. But events take a sinister turn when Narraway, Pitt's superior, is accused of involvement in the death of an Irish informant and abruptly removed from office. Aware that her husband's own career is also in jeopardy if he is not reinstated, Pitt's wife Charlotte determines to help Narraway clear his name. As Charlotte and Narraway depart for Ireland and Pitt is drawn deeper into the investigation in France, it becomes clear that outside forces have conspired to separate them at a crucial time in the country's history. With no one else to trust can they make it back to England and stop the revolt before it's too late? What readers are saying about Betrayal at Lisson Grove: 'Excellently written and the suspense was kept right through the book' 'Couldn't put the book down. Anne is a gem of a writer' 'Keeps you enthralled right to the very end of the book'

Betrayed

Author: Tonya Young

Publisher: Lulu Press, Inc

ISBN: 1667171089

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 5183


Sophie has spent 2 years in fear and trying with every part of her being to hide it. Now the walls are beginning to close in on her ever so slowly. She knows that soon things will come to a head and she will be forced to fight. To make matters worse she still can't shake the pictures in her head that replay of Noel's murder. As if she doesn't have enough on her mind she still has love in her heart for Ronin. She's doing everything in her power to be the good girl that Jack thinks she can be. But reality forces Sophie to face the fact that Taryn will never give up on the idea of having her and their sons back in his life. When Taryn murders another of Sophie's loved ones just to prove a point, it brings out the bad girl that she tried to control. And now that she's unleashed, murder and revenge are what she's after, and no amount of coaxing from Jack can keep Sophie from acting impulsively.

Betrayed

Author: Wodke Hawkinson

Publisher: Wodke Hawkinson

ISBN: N.A

Category: Fiction

Page: 318

View: 6355


Brooklyn Parrish, a Denver socialite, appears to have a great life until she becomes the victim of a carjacking. In only minutes, her life is forever altered. She is taken, transported, and held captive for days by three violent men in a remote mountain location. She manages finally to escape only to end up barefoot, nearly naked, and hopelessly lost in the cold Colorado wilderness at the beginning of a brutal winter storm. Lance is a man who has shunned society. He lives like a recluse in a cabin high on a forested mountain. He prefers a solitary life. But his world is about to be turned upside down. Advisory: Contains violence and strong language. Contains bonus material: At the end of this book, the authors have included an alternate ending that begins at Chapter 49 of the original novel and takes the story in a different direction.