Furiously Happy

Author: Jenny Lawson

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN: 1447238338

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 256

View: 7521


For fans of David Sedaris, Tina Fey and Caitlin Moran comes Furiously Happy from Jenny Lawson, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller Let's Pretend This Never Happened. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Jenny Lawson regaled readers with uproarious stories of her bizarre childhood. In Furiously Happy she explores her lifelong battle with mental illness. A hysterical, ridiculous book about crippling depression and anxiety? That sounds like a terrible idea. And terrible ideas are what Jenny does best. As Jenny says: 'You can't experience pain without also experiencing the baffling and ridiculous moments of being fiercely, unapologetically, intensely and (above all) furiously happy.' It's a philosophy that has – quite literally – saved her life. Jenny's first book, Let's Pretend This Never Happened, was ostensibly about family, but deep down it was about celebrating your own weirdness. Furiously Happy is a book about mental illness, but under the surface it's about embracing joy in fantastic and outrageous ways. And who doesn't need a bit more of that?

Furiously Happy

Author: Instaread

Publisher: Instaread

ISBN: 1944195173

Category: Psychology

Page: 35

View: 1365


Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson | Key Takeaways, Analysis & Review Preview: Furiously Happy: A Funny Book About Horrible Things is a series of essays that are hysterically funny and poignant at the same time. The author, Jenny Lawson, suffers from clinical depression, an anxiety disorder, an impulse control disorder, avoidant personality disorder, insomnia, and rheumatoid arthritis among other illnesses. As a result of her illnesses, she is chronically depressed. She experiences serious lows, such as days she cannot get out of bed, and she has thoughts of suicide. After one particularly bad period, she decided to be ‘furiously happy’ to counter the sadness. Within a few hours of using #FuriouslyHappy, Larson’s many Twitter followers got behind her idea and the hashtag began trending… PLEASE NOTE: This is key takeaways and analysis of the book and NOT the original book. Inside this Instaread of Furiously Happy:Overview of the bookImportant PeopleKey TakeawaysAnalysis of Key Takeaways

Furiously Happy: by Jenny Lawson | Conversation Starters

Author: dailyBooks

Publisher:

ISBN: N.A

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 2791


Furiously Happy: by Jenny Lawson | Conversation Starters A Brief Look Inside: EVERY GOOD BOOK CONTAINS A WORLD FAR DEEPER than the surface of its pages. The characters and their world come alive, and the characters and its world still live on. Conversation Starters is peppered with questions designed to bring us beneath the surface of the page and invite us into the world that lives on. These questions can be used to.. Create Hours of Conversation: • Foster a deeper understanding of the book • Promote an atmosphere of discussion for groups • Assist in the study of the book, either individually or corporately • Explore unseen realms of the book as never seen before Disclaimer: This book you are about to enjoy is an independent resource to supplement the original book, enhancing your experience of Furiously Happy. If you have not yet purchased a copy of the original book, please do before purchasing this unofficial Conversation Starters.

Rethinking Trauma Treatment: Attachment, Memory Reconsolidation, and Resilience

Author: Courtney Armstrong

Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company

ISBN: 0393712567

Category: Psychology

Page: 288

View: 9230


Creating safety, hope, and secure attachment to transform traumatic memories. What makes trauma therapy effective? The answers might surprise you. While therapists have been bombarded with brain science, hundreds of new models, and pressure to use evidence-based techniques, research has demonstrated that the therapeutic relationship ultimately predicts therapy outcomes. This is especially true for traumatized clients. But, what kind of therapeutic relationship? Forming a secure therapeutic alliance with traumatized clients is tricky. How do you help clients trust you after they’ve been abused, betrayed, or exploited? How do you instill hope and convince clients who’ve been devastated by loss to believe that a better life is possible? In this accessible guide, Courtney Armstrong distills discoveries from attachment theory, brain science, and post-traumatic growth into practical strategies you can use to: 1) build trust and a secure therapeutic relationship; 2) transform traumatic memories into stories of triumph and courage; and 3) help clients cultivate resilience and a positive post-trauma identity. Packed with dozens of scripts, step-by-step worksheets, and inspiring client stories, this book gives you tools for each phase of the trauma therapy process and shows you how to: Engage and motivate clients based on their attachment style Manage trauma-related dissociation, anxiety, and anger Transform traumatic memories so they no longer haunt your client Work with different types of trauma, from sexual abuse to traumatic grief Evoke inner resources for healing and positive emotional states Counter compassion fatigue and burnout so youcan thrive as a therapist Merely talking about a traumatic event is not enough because the parts of the brain where traumatic, implicit memories are stored don’t understand words. Heartfelt, relational experiences catalyze brain change and buffer the impact of trauma. In this book, Armstrong demonstrates that neuroscience is validating what therapists have suspected all along: the brain changes through the heart.

Gotham Girl Interrupted

Author: Alisa Kennedy Jones

Publisher: Charlesbridge Publishing

ISBN: 1632892170

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 224

View: 6466


Nora Ephron and Allie Brosh fans take note: Alisa Jones' memoir Gotham Girl Interrupted is a smart stand-up comedy about the power of falling down. "Get to your safe spaces, people. Here comes the shimmer..." From irreverent NYC blogger Alisa Kennedy Jones comes an account of her "misadventures in motherhood, love, and epilepsy" that James Patterson calls "smart, harrowing, heart-warming, and very funny." What do Da Vinci, Agatha Christie, and blogger Alisa Kennedy Jones have in common? If you said "timeless artistic genius", stop sucking up--the answer is ecstatic epilepsy. In this hilarious and moving dispatch from the frontlines of neurodiversity, Jones chronicles life with these terrifying-yet-beautiful grand mal seizures. Characteristic of Jones's condition are attacks which leave her with what Zen Buddhists sometimes refer to as a "beginner's mind": a vast, open expanse of headspace, coupled with a creative euphoria. With bracing candor and humility, Jones describes living with chronic illness, single motherhood, and her day-to-day life as a hapless writer in NYC. Above all, Jones reminds us to fight the battle for becoming who we are supposed to be--no matter how much flopping around on the ground and wetting ourselves we have to do to get there.

The Collected Schizophrenias

Author: Esmé Weijun Wang

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN: 0141991542

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 224

View: 3417


'Dazzling ... in her kaleidoscopic essays, memoir has been shattered into sliding and overlapping pieces ... mind-expanding' The New York Times Book Review Esmé Weijun Wang was officially diagnosed with schizoaffective disorder in 2013, although the hallucinations and psychotic episodes had started years before that. In the midst of a high functioning life at Yale, Stanford and the literary world, she would find herself floored by an overwhelming terror that 'spread like blood', or convinced that she was dead, or that her friends were robots, or spiders were eating holes in her brain. What happens when your whole conception of yourself is turned upside down? When you're aware of what is occurring to you, but unable to do anything about it? Written with immediacy and unflinching honesty, this visceral and moving book is Wang's story, as she steps both inside and outside of her condition to bring it to light. Following her own diagnosis and the many manifestations of schizophrenia in her life, she ranges over everything from how we label mental illness to her own use of fashion and make-up to present herself as high-functioning, from the failures of the higher education system to how factors such as PTSD and Lyme disease compounded her experiences. Wang's analytical, intelligent eye, honed as a former lab researcher at Stanford, allows her to balance research with haunting personal narrative. The Collected Schizophrenias cuts right to the core and provides unique insight into a condition long misdiagnosed and much misunderstood.

To Dare A Future

Author: Dave Franklin

Publisher: Baby Ice Dog Press

ISBN: N.A

Category: Fiction

Page: 197

View: 4913


We all have black thoughts. It's just some of us act on them. A van driver with abduction and murder on his mind. An eleven-year-old girl snatched on her way home from ballet. A tortured reporter, happy to use her death and the terrifying reign of a child killer to help make his name... "Don't let the rather bland title put you off - this second novel by Dave Franklin is an impressive pacey read, spiced with ethical dilemmas as well as his earthy dialogue and humour." - Sunday Times "Franklin's first novel, Looking for Sarah Jane Smith, introduced his unique brand of bitter humour as he journeyed out of Wales into Aussie territory. In this new book, Franklin chooses to return to familiar territory, setting the novel in Portsmouth, on England's south coast. His raw-edged honesty and earthy humour combine to make a compelling portrayal of one man's undoing against a backdrop of murder, brutality and desperate love. It is a gritty and vicious novel with an unredeemable hero." - Post Newspapers This novel includes a FREE 3,500-word crime story, Camaraderie.

Five On Kirrin Island Again

Author: Enid Blyton

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1844569640

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 224

View: 5513


Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timmy the dog find excitement and adventure wherever they go in Enid Blyton's most popular series. In book six, Uncle Quentin has locked himself away on Kirrin Island. What's he up to and why won't he let anyone visit? Then the Famous Five discover that a suspicious stranger is watching Uncle Quentin's every move. Can the Famous Five warn Uncle Quentin in time? The text in this edition has been sensitively edited for today's reader and is unillustrated.

The Lord of Opium

Author: Nancy Farmer

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1442482540

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 432

View: 2799


In 2137, 14-year-old Matt is stunned to learn that, as the clone of old El Patron, he is expected to take over as leader of the corrupt drug empire of Opium, where there is also a hidden cure for the ecological devastation facing the rest of the world.