Innovations and Challenges: Women, Language and Sexism

Author: Carmen Rosa Caldas-Coulthard

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 0429649347

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 164

View: 2687


Innovations and Challenges: Women, Language and Sexism brings together an outstanding collection of essays from internationally recognised researchers to recontextualise some of the questions raised by feminist thinkers 40 years ago. By taking linguistically mediated violence as a central topic, this collection’s main objective is to explore the different and subtle ways sexism and violence are materialised in discursive practices. In doing so, this book: Takes a multi-stranded investigation into the linguistic and semiotic representations of sexism in societies from an applied linguistic and semiotic perspective; Combines critical discourse analysis, multimodality, interactional sociolinguistics and corpus methodologies to look at language, visuals and semiotic resources in the context of consumerist culture; Examines the conflicted position of women and the discourses of discrimination that still exist in every strand of modern societies; Contextualises pervasive gender issues and reviews key gender and language topics that changed the ways we interpret interaction from the early 1970s until the present; Focuses on institutional discourses and the questions of how women are excluded or discriminated against in the workplace, the law and educational contexts. Innovations and Challenges: Women, Language and Sexism revisits the initial questions posed by the first feminist linguists – where, when and how are women discriminated against and why, in postmodern societies, is there so much sexism in all realms of social life? This book is essential reading for those studying and researching gender across a wide range of disciplines.

Gangsta Granny Strikes Again!

Author: David Walliams

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN: 0008530238

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 280

View: 7459


‘Walliams balances high comedy with an emotional message’ Daily Mail ‘Walliams does comedy with profound, genuine heart’ Guardian

Typical Girls

Author: Morgan Lloyd Malcolm

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 1350292168

Category: Drama

Page: 88

View: 4986


In a mental health unit inside a prison, a group of women discover the music of punk rock band The Slits and form their own group. An outlet for their frustration, they find remedy in revolution. But in a system that suffocates, can rebellion ever be allowed? Written by Morgan Lloyd Malcolm (Emilia), Typical Girls is a funny, fierce and furious part-gig, part-play, co-commissioned by Clean Break theatre company.

Compatriots Or Competitors?

Author: Hywel Dix

Publisher: University of Wales Press

ISBN: 1786839350

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 338

View: 4925


This is the first comparative study of the distinctive literatures and cultures that have developed in Wales, Scotland, England and Northern Ireland since political devolution in the late 1990s, especially surrounding Brexit. The book argues that in conceptualising their cultures as 'national', each nation is caught up in a creative tension between emulating forms of cultural production found in the others to assert common aspirations, and downplaying those connections in order to forge a sense of cultural distinctiveness. The author explores the resulting dilemmas, with chapters analysing the growth of the creative industries; the relationship between UK City of Culture and its forerunner, the European Capital of Culture; national book prizes in Britain and Europe; British variations on Nordic Noir TV; and the Brexit novel. With regard to separate cultural precursors and responses in each nation, Brexit itself is debated as a factor that has widened their differences, placing the future of the UK in question.

Revolutionary Women

Author: Ann Shen

Publisher: Chronicle Books

ISBN: 179722123X

Category: History

Page: 227

View: 3877


Revolutionary Women celebrates the amazing stories of 50 women of color who pushed boundaries, rewrote the rules, and inspired women everywhere to follow in their footsteps. Discover the remarkable true stories of a diverse group of women who were trailblazers and leaders in their field, becoming visible icons of excellence in their communities and beyond. From making their mark on the big screen and in the halls of NASA to ruling on the courts of the US Open and the Supreme Court, their incredible stories will inspire you to embrace your authentic self and live your life in full color. For fans of Ann Shen's beloved Bad Girls Throughout History, this spiritual successor celebrates the accomplishments of these incredible women alongside Ann Shen's signature artwork. From dancers, actors, and singers to scientists, astronauts, politicians, and activists, these women used their voices and their passions to change the world. They include: Gloria Estefan, one of the best-selling female music artists of all time. Anna Sui, an iconic fashion designer for over four decades. Bessie Stringfield, the motorcycle queen of Miami. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, the youngest woman ever sworn into Congress. Misty Copeland, the first Black woman principal dancer at American Ballet Theater. Joyce Chen, the first Chinese celebrity chef. Revolutionary Women captures their extraordinary stories in a beautiful and inspiring format that elevates their achievements. Readers will love the new take on Ann Shen's beloved first book, as well as the uplifting stories, beautiful and rich art, and the inspiration for readers to forge their own paths. BEAUTIFUL gift: This book combines fun and colorful illustrations with important history through the lens of intersectional feminism, celebrating women of color for the amazing things they accomplished, appealing to people of all ages and genders. Perfect for: Customers who also bought BAD GIRLS THROUGHOUT HISTORY or LEGENDARY LADIES Fans of Fashion, Art, and History Self-Proclaimed Feminists

Bestsellers: Popular Fiction Since 1900

Author: Clive Bloom

Publisher: Springer Nature

ISBN: 3030791548

Category: Fiction

Page: 459

View: 5905


This book charts the publishing industry and bestselling fiction from 1900, featuring a comprehensive list of all bestselling fiction titles in the UK. This third edition includes a new introduction which features additional information on current trends in reading including the rise of Black, Asian and LGBTQIA+ publishing; the continuing importance of certain genres and up to date trends in publishing, bookselling, library borrowing and literacy. There are sections on writing for children, on the importance of audiobooks and book clubs, self- published bestsellers as well as many new entries to the present day including bestselling authors such as David Walliams, Peter James, George R R Martin and far less well known authors whose books s sell in their thousands. This is the essential guide to best-selling books, authors, genres, publishing and bookselling since 1900, providing a unique insight into more than a century of entertainment, and opening a window into the reading habits and social life of the British from the death of Queen Victoria to the Coronavirus Pandemic.

Dead and Gone

Author: D.L. Michaels

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 1788543580

Category: Fiction

Page: 516

View: 3237


In a world built on lies, who can you ever trust? A nail-biting thriller introducing DI Annie Parker. For fans of Angela Marsons and Tess Gerritson, Dead and Gone delivers twists at every deliciously unpredictable turn. Paula Smith could have had it all... if it weren't for her husband Danny who is resentful of her success and increasingly prone to alcoholic rages. She should leave him, but he knows something that could bring her whole world crashing down. Sarah has found the kind of happiness with Martin she never thought possible. Yet, he has a secret that could threaten everything they share. But he is not the only one with a secret... DI Annie Parker, mother, grandmother and widow, has plenty of baggage of her own, but she's still determined to be the best police officer she can be. When she and her sergeant Nisha Patel hear about a 20-year-old murder that nobody knew about, nothing will stop them from tracking down the killer, even if it brings them up against one of the most dangerous crime families in the country.

Children’s Literature and Intergenerational Relationships

Author: Justyna Deszcz-Tryhubczak,Irena Barbara Kalla

Publisher: Springer Nature

ISBN: 3030677001

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 252

View: 5922


Children’s Literature and Intergenerational Relationships: Encounters of the Playful Kind explores ways in which children’s literature becomes the object and catalyst of play that brings younger and older generations closer to one another. Providing examples from diverse cultural and historical contexts, this collection argues that children’s texts promote intergenerational play through the use of literary devices and graphic formats and that they may prompt joint play practices in the real world. The book offers a distinctive contribution to children’s literature scholarship by shifting critical attention away from the difference and conflict between children and adults to the exploration of inter-age interdependencies as equally crucial aspects of human life, presenting a new perspective for all who research and work with children’s culture in times of global aging.

An Unsuitable Match

Author: Joanna Trollope

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN: 1509823484

Category: Fiction

Page: 297

View: 1820


An Unsuitable Match, by number one bestselling author Joanna Trollope, is an uplifting story of love, family and second chances. 'Nobody writes about family tensions better than Joanna Trollope' – Good Housekeeping ‘Why on earth, after all you’ve been through, all you’ve survived, all you’ve achieved, why do you want to get married?’ Rose Woodrowe has just got engaged to Tyler Masson – a wonderful, sensitive man who is head-over-heels in love with her. The only problem? This isn’t the first time for either of them, and their five grown-up children have strong opinions on the matter . . . Who to listen to? Who to please? Rose and Tyler are determined to get it right this time, but in trying to make everyone happy, can they ever be happy themselves?