Innovations and Challenges: Women, Language and Sexism

Author: Carmen Rosa Caldas-Coulthard

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 0429649347

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 164

View: 4933


Innovations and Challenges: Women, Language and Sexism brings together an outstanding collection of essays from internationally recognised researchers to recontextualise some of the questions raised by feminist thinkers 40 years ago. By taking linguistically mediated violence as a central topic, this collection’s main objective is to explore the different and subtle ways sexism and violence are materialised in discursive practices. In doing so, this book: Takes a multi-stranded investigation into the linguistic and semiotic representations of sexism in societies from an applied linguistic and semiotic perspective; Combines critical discourse analysis, multimodality, interactional sociolinguistics and corpus methodologies to look at language, visuals and semiotic resources in the context of consumerist culture; Examines the conflicted position of women and the discourses of discrimination that still exist in every strand of modern societies; Contextualises pervasive gender issues and reviews key gender and language topics that changed the ways we interpret interaction from the early 1970s until the present; Focuses on institutional discourses and the questions of how women are excluded or discriminated against in the workplace, the law and educational contexts. Innovations and Challenges: Women, Language and Sexism revisits the initial questions posed by the first feminist linguists – where, when and how are women discriminated against and why, in postmodern societies, is there so much sexism in all realms of social life? This book is essential reading for those studying and researching gender across a wide range of disciplines.

Typical Girls

Author: Morgan Lloyd Malcolm

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 1350292168

Category: Drama

Page: 88

View: 6036


In a mental health unit inside a prison, a group of women discover the music of punk rock band The Slits and form their own group. An outlet for their frustration, they find remedy in revolution. But in a system that suffocates, can rebellion ever be allowed? Written by Morgan Lloyd Malcolm (Emilia), Typical Girls is a funny, fierce and furious part-gig, part-play, co-commissioned by Clean Break theatre company.

Bestsellers: Popular Fiction Since 1900

Author: Clive Bloom

Publisher: Springer Nature

ISBN: 3030791548

Category: Fiction

Page: 459

View: 1315


This book charts the publishing industry and bestselling fiction from 1900, featuring a comprehensive list of all bestselling fiction titles in the UK. This third edition includes a new introduction which features additional information on current trends in reading including the rise of Black, Asian and LGBTQIA+ publishing; the continuing importance of certain genres and up to date trends in publishing, bookselling, library borrowing and literacy. There are sections on writing for children, on the importance of audiobooks and book clubs, self- published bestsellers as well as many new entries to the present day including bestselling authors such as David Walliams, Peter James, George R R Martin and far less well known authors whose books s sell in their thousands. This is the essential guide to best-selling books, authors, genres, publishing and bookselling since 1900, providing a unique insight into more than a century of entertainment, and opening a window into the reading habits and social life of the British from the death of Queen Victoria to the Coronavirus Pandemic.

100 Children's Books

Author: Colin Salter

Publisher: Pavilion

ISBN: 1911663313

Category: Social Science

Page: 224

View: 6800


Colin Salter is the co-author of Everything You Need to Know About Everything You Need to Know About Inventions. He is a history and science writer with a fascination for how things work, and how they used to work. He has written about everything, including

Dead and Gone

Author: D.L. Michaels

Publisher: Head of Zeus Ltd

ISBN: 1788543580

Category: Fiction

Page: 288

View: 2012


In a world built on lies, who can you ever trust? A nail-biting thriller introducing DI Annie Parker. For fans of Angela Marsons and Tess Gerritson, Dead and Gone delivers twists at every deliciously unpredictable turn. Paula Smith could have had it all... if it weren't for her husband Danny who is resentful of her success and increasingly prone to alcoholic rages. She should leave him, but he knows something that could bring her whole world crashing down. Sarah has found the kind of happiness with Martin she never thought possible. Yet, he has a secret that could threaten everything they share. But he is not the only one with a secret... DI Annie Parker, mother, grandmother and widow, has plenty of baggage of her own, but she's still determined to be the best police officer she can be. When she and her sergeant Nisha Patel hear about a 20-year-old murder that nobody knew about, nothing will stop them from tracking down the killer, even if it brings them up against one of the most dangerous crime families in the country.

Children’s Literature and Intergenerational Relationships

Author: Justyna Deszcz-Tryhubczak,Irena Barbara Kalla

Publisher: Springer Nature

ISBN: 3030677001

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 252

View: 9913


Children’s Literature and Intergenerational Relationships: Encounters of the Playful Kind explores ways in which children’s literature becomes the object and catalyst of play that brings younger and older generations closer to one another. Providing examples from diverse cultural and historical contexts, this collection argues that children’s texts promote intergenerational play through the use of literary devices and graphic formats and that they may prompt joint play practices in the real world. The book offers a distinctive contribution to children’s literature scholarship by shifting critical attention away from the difference and conflict between children and adults to the exploration of inter-age interdependencies as equally crucial aspects of human life, presenting a new perspective for all who research and work with children’s culture in times of global aging.

The Hidden 1970s

Author: Dan Berger

Publisher: Rutgers University Press

ISBN: 081354873X

Category: History

Page: 303

View: 3087


The 1970s were a complex, multilayered, and critical part of an era of profound societal change and an essential component of the decade before-several of the most iconic events of "the sixties" occurred in the ten years that followed. The Hidden 1970s explores the distinctiveness of those years, when radicals tried to change the world as the world changed around them. Essays trace the struggles from the 1960s through the 1970s, providing insight into the ways that radical social movements shaped American political culture in the 1970s and the many ways they continue to do so today.

Wild Boy

Author: Peter Edwin Ransley

Publisher: Grosvenor House Publishing

ISBN: 1839751592

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 212

View: 8652


WHO IS MY DAD? Des is 9 years old - wild, when he’s not charming. He lives with his mum and Almost, (who is almost - but not entirely his dad) in Fourways, a rundown flat in a London Tower block, needing crucial repairs, unlikely to be carried out anytime soon by Mr Next-Week, the Warden. Where is his dad? His mum doesn’t know and doesn’t want to know; which makes Des all the more determined to find him.As his wild nature unintentionally turns Des into a TV actor, will it help him to find his dad - or will it make or break his mum’s relationship with Almost?