Going Home

Author: Harriet Evans

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1416531319

Category: Fiction

Page: 448

View: 2026


A heartwarming and moving novel of family and love from the international bestselling author of the “effortless and deeply satisfying” (Glamour, UK) Love Always. They say love feels like going home…but what if your home is no longer there? Leaving her tiny flat in London—and a whole host of headaches behind—Lizzy Walter is making the familiar journey back home to spend Christmas with her chaotic but big-hearted family. In an ever-changing world, her parents’ country home, Keeper House, is the one constant. But behind the mistletoe and mince pies, family secrets and rivalries lurk. And when David, the Love of Her Life—or so she thought—makes an unexpected reappearance, this one ranks as a Christmas she would definitely rather forget. As winter slowly turns to spring, all the things that Lizzy has taken for granted begin to shift. Keeper House is in jeopardy and might have to be sold for reasons Lizzy doesn’t understand. Her family seems fractured like never before. And, with a new man in her life, she may finally have to kiss her dream of a reunion with David goodbye. By the time the Walters gather at Keeper House for a summer wedding, the stakes have never been higher—for Lizzy, for her family, and for love.

Going Home

Author: A. American

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 0698151844

Category: Fiction

Page: 480

View: 2446


Book 1 of The Survivalist Series If society collapsed, could you survive? When Morgan Carter’s car breaks down 250 miles from his home, he figures his weekend plans are ruined. But things are about to get much, much worse: the country’s power grid has collapsed. There is no electricity, no running water, no Internet, and no way to know when normalcy will be restored—if it ever will be. An avid survivalist, Morgan takes to the road with his prepper pack on his back. During the grueling trek from Tallahassee to his home in Lake County, chaos threatens his every step but Morgan is hell-bent on getting home to his wife and daughters—and he’ll do whatever it takes to make that happen. Fans of James Wesley Rawles, William R. Forstchen's One Second After, and The End by G. Michael Hopf will revel in A. American's apocalyptic tale.

Going Home

Author: Cliff McNish

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1444006304

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 157

View: 1138


At the Happy Paws Rescue Centre, every pet dreams of one thing: going home. But Ralph, Mitch, Bessie and Fred are the no-hopers: dogs so difficult or troublesome they aren't expected to ever go home. Ralph's face is scarred. Bessie can't stand to be touched. Mitch can't stop chasing cats and Fred . . . has just given up. Who'd want to adopt any of them instead of a cute little puppy? But when Happy Paws reviews its policy of never putting an unwanted pet down, time starts running out for the dogs. Can they prove that they're worth a second chance? Will there be hope for the no-hopers after all?

Going Home

Author: Paula Appleby

Publisher: Covenant Books, Inc.

ISBN: 1645594491

Category: Fiction

Page: 260

View: 8067


Common Ground has been open one full year and is proving to be a successful and popular coffee shop. A group of misfits have become the cornerstone to Josie's success, which in turn, affords them opportunities to regain lost confidences. Josie keeps a journal in an effort to recall memories, but her journal reveals memories can often be very elusive. She discovers in her entries that looking toward the future is often tied to events of the past. Going home brings memories; and those memories, in turn, bring us right back home again. Home is the source of everything: hope, faith, struggles, security, sadness, and blessings. Home is family and where memories and futures are built. It is a place of love. It can be life's ultimate destination. Everyone searches for a home. But sometimes, home chooses you.

Going Home

Author: J.D. Ashcroft

Publisher: Ambassador International

ISBN: 1620206862

Category: Religion

Page: 72

View: 6728


Death is the one experience we all have in common. It is the one reality which we try to avoid but are forced to face. We should prepare for death as faithfully as we would prepare for the birth of a child. These meditations are written to encourage and strengthen the faith of believers as they face death, the gateway to eternal life. God’s Word is a great source of comfort during all the trials of life. In these simple Scriptural meditations, the author has sought to help the believer prepare to meet their Lord. It is a book for terminally ill patients, pastors, care-givers, and all who would follow the advice of Luther, who counseled that we should prepare for death while we are living, that when we are dying, we may embrace eternal life.

Going Home

Author: Pete Conrad

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 1304763765

Category: Fiction

Page: 330

View: 6106


As a teen, Jennifer LeBlanc flees her rural hometown of Modock, Maine after the deaths of her parents and vows never to return. While attending Harvard Business School on a full scholarship, Jennifer meets and falls in love with Bradley Maderon, a financial genius who runs BostonÕs largest hedge fund. Jennifer becomes the CFO of BradleyÕs empire, but when he is arrested and the government seizes all of their assets, Jennifer is forced to return to Maine and confront the trauma that she has repressed all of these years. With the help of her sister's Great Danes, Angel and Mercy, Jennifer searches for a way to overcome her grief, learn to appreciate the gifts that life gives, and, perhaps, to find love.

Going Home

Author: Sista V

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 0557329329

Category:

Page: 71

View: 6725


GOING HOME charts a journey of travel and return as experienced by Sista V (a.k.a. Vaughnette Goode-Walker) creator of the popular Footprints of Savannah Walking Tour and a long-time hostess of poetry open mics in Savannah, Georgia, and elsewhere.

Going Home

Author: Richard F. Fenno

Publisher: University of Chicago Press

ISBN: 9780226241302

Category: Political Science

Page: 328

View: 4223


Thirty years ago there were nine African Americans in the U.S. House of Representatives. Today there are four times that number. In Going Home, the dean of congressional studies, Richard F. Fenno, explores what representation has meant—and means today—to black voters and to the politicians they have elected to office. Fenno follows the careers of four black representatives—Louis Stokes, Barbara Jordan, Chaka Fattah, and Stephanie Tubbs Jones—from their home districts to the halls of the Capitol. He finds that while these politicians had different visions of how they should represent their districts (in part based on their individual preferences, and in part based on the history of black politics in America), they shared crucial organizational and symbolic connections to their constituents. These connections, which draw on a sense of "linked fates," are ones that only black representatives can provide to black constituents. His detailed portraits and incisive analyses will be important for anyone interested in the workings of Congress or in black politics.

Going Home

Author: Jeff Lund

Publisher: Publication Consultants

ISBN: 159433563X

Category: Travel

Page: 208

View: 5162


It doesn't matter if you're in the woods every other weekend or every other day. Outdoorsman or angler are broad terms and applies to a large population. However, the title does not encapsulate someone who frequently engages in either. Ultimately, anglers, hunters, hikers, etc., are ordinary people whose lives move from anecdote to anecdote, until life gets serious. An outdoorsman is not immune to failure, complex life decisions, nor are things simpler. Being on the water with a fly rod or in the alpine with a rifle does not provide answers because neither a mountain or a fish can talk. However, when life brings trauma, a fly rod can be the best weapon with which to keep fighting. Going Home is a memoir about fishing, without being just about fishing. It's about a man contemplating direction and his sense of home after he is jerked from his linear journey of a life spent chasing fish.

Going Home

Author: Arianna Hart

Publisher: Entangled: Select Contemporary

ISBN: 1640630287

Category: Fiction

Page: 253

View: 5635


Nadya Sarov and her mother left their small town in the dead of night twelve years ago. She’s back in Dale, Georgia to tie up loose ends and isn’t above flaunting her hard-won success in front of the people who looked down on her for years. Running into the preacher’s son who was too honorable to take everything she offered him is a jolt she didn’t expect. After serving in the military, J.T. McBride came back to Dale to join the small police force. He wasn’t much more than a boy when he missed his first chance with Nadya, and he never expected to see again. He’s determined he’s not going to lose her again. Of course, he has to convince her Dale isn’t as bad as she remembers and make sure someone with an old grudge doesn’t drive her out of town. Each book in the Dale series is a standalone story that can be enjoyed out of order. Series Order: Book #1 Giving It All Book #2 Going Home Book #3 Storming the Castle