Hattie

Author: Carlton Jackson

Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield

ISBN: 1568330049

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 232

View: 9530


A biography of the life of Hattie, the first black ever to win an Oscar and the first black woman to sing on radio.

Hattie

Author: Sam Abshier

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 1312194820

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 184

View: 2673


Hattie Carroll grew up protected from the outside world in the North Carolina mountains. The Civil War dramatically changed her life, and when it ended, someone sent Little Scat to kill her.

Hattie

Author: Kirsten Osbourne

Publisher: Unlimited Dreams Publishing

ISBN: N.A

Category: Fiction

Page: 95

View: 5961


Hattie Sanders has spent her life pleasing others. She has never felt the need to disobey in any way. When her father takes her to the rodeo, she meets a one-armed rodeo rider and feels an instant connection. She knows how her parents feel about her seeing a traveling man, so they meet in secret, her feelings growing more and more. Will Hart is happy with his life. Despite a life-altering injury, he is doing what he’s always dreamed he would do. As the star act for the wild-west show, he has plenty of women who are interested in spending time with him. When he sees Hattie, his life changes. He immediately starts to think of marriage and babies. Will he be able to convince her parents that they belong together? Or will he move on to the next town without her?

Hattie

Author: Andy Merriman

Publisher: Aurum

ISBN: 1845138171

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 240

View: 3799


The hardback of this first and authorised biography received very good reviews and immediately reprinted. It tells the story of one of the heroines of post-war British comedy, on radio, film and TV. Hattie Jacques is known as the billowing, imposing Matron in the Carry On films, as the star of such BBC radio classics as ITMA, Educating Archie and Hancock’s Half Hour, and as the fictional sister of Eric Sykes in his long-running TV sitcom. But the formidable, frumpy galleon-in-full-sail screen persona could not have been more at odds with the real-life woman, as this biography reveals for the first time. She had a tempestuous wartime affair with an American officer, and then a strange marriage to the actor John le Mesurier (Corporal Wilson in Dad’s Army) whose dissatisfactions she circumnavigated by moving her lover, a flashy Cockney car dealer, into the matrimonial home. But as well as being warm and sexy and generous she was also, owing to her lifelong struggle with her weight, needy and melancholic, and rueful that her size persistently typecast her and excluded her from many roles. This biography has been written with full co-operation from Hattie’s son, and show business friends like Barbara Windsor, Clive Dunn, Galton and Simpson and Ian Carmichael.

Hattie's Mill

Author: Marcia Willett

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0755386922

Category: Fiction

Page: 290

View: 6125


The renovation of a mill shows how lives too can be rebuilt... Marcia Willett's charming novel Hattie's Mill is the tale of Hattie Weatherall, breaking free of convention and starting again, forming lasting friendships along the way. The perfect read for fans of Hilary Boyd and Erica James. 'Willett creates such fully dimensional characters that readers feel as if they should phone or email them to keep in touch' - Rocky Mountain News Hattie Weatherall's heart leapt when she first saw Abbot's Mill, and with her dog and an assortment of wild fowl for company she sets about renovating the mill. Sarah Farley feels a pang of envy for Hattie's freedom. For over twenty years, Sarah has tolerated her husband's infidelities - and her love for him is about to be tested again... As Hattie settles into life at the mill, she befriends two young boatmen. Toby is recovering from a broken marriage and, when he has another chance at happiness, Hattie is glad welcome his new family into the fold. Joss's problems are not so easily solved, but when he turns to Hattie for help, the motherly love that blossoms in her heart enables them both to heal old wounds... What readers are saying about Hattie's Mill: 'She [Marcia Willett] has a gift for writing and her books are a delight to read' 'Beautifully written' 'The characters come to life and the plots are very carefully worked out and totally believable'

Hattie's Preacher

Author: Sherry Derr Wille

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 1612356672

Category: Fiction

Page: 224

View: 9628


David Long gave up a promising law career when God called him to preach the word. Little did he know the red headed pianist at his church in Mortonville would capture his heart. Hattie Fairchild knew the only proper place for a proper maiden lady to play the piano was in church. Even though she didn't believe, she found she could ignore the minister's words by staying hidden away in the balcony and reading her novels during the sermons. When David Long came to town. Not only did he move the piano from the balcony to the main floor of the sanctuary, he also decided to restore her faith in God. In the process she found herself falling for the man who looked more like a black smith than a preacher.

Mama Hattie's Girl

Author: Lois Lenski

Publisher: Open Road Media

ISBN: 1504022017

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 187

View: 2198


A young African American girl moves from the South to the North and finds that family is the same wherever you go Nobody can climb a tree as fast as Lula Bell. Although her mother tells her to be ladylike, Lula Bell prefers fishing and climbing and scrapping in the dirt with the boys. When her day is done, she sits on the porch with her grandmother Hattie, and listens to her tell stories of the North. Up there, Mama Hattie says, everybody’s rich. No one ever has to scrimp to buy nice dresses or spend all day fishing just to put dinner on the table. Life is good. And soon, Lula Bell is going to find out for herself. When her mother moves the family north to find better work, Lula Bell expects the good times have finally arrived. But life is hard wherever they go, and the only thing Lula Bell can truly count on is her mother and beloved Mama Hattie.

Hattie's Story

Author: Susan Kirby

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 0689809700

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 192

View: 8922


Great-grandmother Tandy shows Lacey a quilt that tells the story of Lacey's ancester Hattie.

Hattie's Advocate

Author: Matthew W. Hoffman,Krista Hoffman

Publisher: Demarche Publishing LLC

ISBN: 0982307748

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 312

View: 5423


This book is a witty and intriguing look into the world of foster care through the eyes of a foster parent. It breaks down the expectations and regulations that parents in foster care are faced with, and it touches on the problems in government policy that affect foster children. It does all this while thoroughly entertaining the reader. It is an indispensable resource for anyone considering adoption or foster care and a great read for just about anyone else.

Hattie's Hats

Author: Gordon Crane

Publisher: Tate Publishing

ISBN: 1617776394

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 24

View: 3752


Hattie Long had no idea when she started collecting hats that she would open up a world of adventure. Join Hattie on this magical journey, as she takes you along for the ride of a lifetime.