Heart Berries

Author: Terese Marie Mailhot

Publisher: Catapult

ISBN: 1619024233

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 160

View: 8938


A powerful, poetic memoir of an Indigenous woman's coming of age on the Seabird Island Band in the Pacific Northwest—this New York Times bestseller and Emma Watson Book Club pick is “an illuminating account of grief, abuse and the complex nature of the Native experience . . . at once raw and achingly beautiful (NPR). Having survived a profoundly dysfunctional upbringing only to find herself hospitalized and facing a dual diagnosis of post traumatic stress disorder and bipolar II disorder, Terese Marie Mailhot is given a notebook and begins to write her way out of trauma. The triumphant result is Heart Berries, a memorial for Mailhot's mother, a social worker and activist who had a thing for prisoners; a story of reconciliation with her father―an abusive drunk and a brilliant artist―who was murdered under mysterious circumstances; and an elegy on how difficult it is to love someone while dragging the long shadows of shame. Mailhot trusts the reader to understand that memory isn't exact, but melded to imagination, pain, and what we can bring ourselves to accept. Her unique and at times unsettling voice graphically illustrates her mental state. As she writes, she discovers her own true voice, seizes control of her story, and, in so doing, reestablishes her connection to her family, to her people, and to her place in the world.

The Demon in the Wizard

Author: R. Thomas Rodgers

Publisher: Trafford Publishing

ISBN: 1426901771

Category: Fiction

Page: 316

View: 6180


After having been trapped deep within the planet Nox for thousands of years, the invisible entity that calls itself Neraka, finally escapes to the surface world where it is quickly overwhelmed by the sights and sounds of this strange new environment. To better explore its new surroundings, Neraka hides inside the body of the first creature it sees a young and innocent girl named Rhiannon. Neraka slowly begins to take over Rhiannon's body and mind until she is no longer able to fight it. Neraka uses Rhiannon for its own purposes, and in its greed and arrogance, alienates the people that have grown to love and care for her. Now Rhiannon's friends must try to rescue her from certain destruction.

Look Good, Feel Good, and Be Healthy: Top 10 Superfoods You Should Be Eating Right Now!

Author: Rachel Reyes

Publisher: SIS Information, LLC

ISBN: N.A

Category: Cooking

Page: 42

View: 9533


I’m pretty sure you’re familiar with the adage, “A minute on the lips, forever on the hips.” That quote always kept running in my mind every time I savored and enjoyed a delicious meal. To rub out the feelings of guilt I always made it a point to burn most of the calories I consumed by going to the gym and follow a detoxing program. Don’t get me wrong, there’s nothing wrong with eating per se. However, it’s quite scary to think that most foods that are served to us every day are foods that are laden with fat, salt, sugar, preservatives and are oftentimes lacking in vitamins and nutrients that are essential to the body’s needs; not to mention the pesticides that are sprayed on vegetables and fruits. The sad truth is that the food and agricultural industry were able to manipulate the taste and look of food by incorporating additives and flavor enhancers to make it more appealing to the public. However, consuming these “enhanced” foods everyday might pose dangers to our health. Not having the conscious effort of eating healthy food and having poor eating habits (a diet that contains too much cholesterol, trans fat, saturated fats, and sugar) could cause deadly diseases. In fact, according to statistics, the top leading causes of death worldwide are non-communicable diseases which are one way or the other, related to unhealthy eating. Table of Contents Introduction Chapter 1: Berries Chapter 2: Chia Seeds Chapter 3: Beans Chapter 4: Quinoa Chapter 5: Broccoli Chapter 6: Spinach Chapter 7: Avocado Chapter 8: Nuts Chapter 9: Orange and Lime Chapter 10: Fish Chapter 11: 21 Superfood Recipes Conclusion

Archaeologies of the Heart

Author: Kisha Supernant,Jane Eva Baxter,Natasha Lyons,Sonya Atalay

Publisher: Springer Nature

ISBN: 3030363503

Category: Social Science

Page: 280

View: 4911


Archaeological practice is currently shifting in response to feminist, indigenous, activist, community-based, and anarchic critiques of how archaeology is practiced and how science is used to interpret the past lives of people. Inspired by the calls for a different way of doing archaeology, this volume presents a case here for a heart-centered archaeological practice. Heart-centered practice emerged in care-based disciplines, such as nursing and various forms of therapy, as a way to recognize the importance of caring for those on whom we work, and as an avenue to explore how our interactions with others impacts our own emotions and heart. Archaeologists are disciplined to separate mind and heart, a division which harkens back to the origins of western thought. The dualism between the mental and the physical is fundamental to the concept that humans can objectively study the world without being immersed in it. Scientific approaches to understanding the world assume there is an objective world to be studied and that humans must remove themselves from that world in order to find the truth. An archaeology of the heart rejects this dualism; rather, we see mind, body, heart, and spirit as inextricable. An archaeology of the heart provides a new space for thinking through an integrated, responsible, and grounded archaeology, where there is care for the living and the dead, acknowledges the need to build responsible relationships with communities, and with the archaeological record, and emphasize the role of rigor in how work and research is conducted. The contributions bring together archaeological practitioners from across the globe in different contexts to explore how heart-centered practice can impact archaeological theory, methodology, and research throughout the discipline.

Honour Earth Mother

Author: Basil Johnston

Publisher: U of Nebraska Press

ISBN: 9780803276222

Category: Social Science

Page: 171

View: 2894


Honour Earth Mother is an inspiring reminder of the affection and reverence that the Native peoples of North America have had for the land. For Native peoples the earth was special, the dwelling place of manitous and spirits and the repository of the bones of generations of ancestors. And the earth remains today a deep wellspring of revelations and unveiled mysteries for those who take time to watch, listen, and reflect. Celebrated Ojibwa writer Basil Johnston invites us to go into the woods and meadows, mountains, valleys, and seashores to watch miracles still unfolding, to listen to nature's symphonies, to feel the pulse of the earth, to take in the fragrances, and to sense the awesome. His stories of the creatures, seasons, and landscape of the earth reveal a land that has never stopped brimming with beauty, song, and dance.

Table Lands

Author: Kara K. Keeling,Scott T. Pollard

Publisher: Univ. Press of Mississippi

ISBN: 1496828364

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 230

View: 9864


Food is a signifier of power for both adults and children, a sign of both inclusion and exclusion and of conformity and resistance. Many academic disciplines—from sociology to literary studies—have studied food and its function as a complex social discourse, and the wide variety of approaches to the topic provides multidisciplinary frames for understanding the construction and uses of food in all types of media, including children’s literature. Table Lands: Food in Children’s Literature is a survey of food’s function in children’s texts, showing how the sociocultural contexts of food reveal children’s agency. Authors Kara K. Keeling and Scott T. Pollard examine texts that vary from historical to contemporary, noncanonical to classics, and Anglo-American to multicultural traditions, including a variety of genres, formats, and audiences: realism, fantasy, cookbooks, picture books, chapter books, YA novels, and film. Table Lands offers a unified approach to studying food in a wide variety of texts for children. Spanning nearly 150 years of children’s literature, Keeling and Pollard’s analysis covers a selection of texts that show the omnipresence of food in children’s literature and culture and how they vary in representations of race, region, and class, due to the impact of these issues on food. Furthermore, they include not only classic children’s books, such as Winnie-the-Pooh, but recent award-winning multicultural novels as well as cookbooks and even one film, Pixar’s Ratatouille.

A Deep River Year

Author: Timothy E. Haut

Publisher: WestBow Press

ISBN: 1973679787

Category: Religion

Page: 248

View: 5026


What happens in a plain, ordinary year? Miracles of grace, the rhythms of nature, and surprises always appearing just at the edge of our sight. And the simple tears and joy that transform a small corner of New England into a place of delight, wonder, and understanding. This is the story of one calendar year, told in reflections and poems, which illuminate the human experience as a journey of the heart.

The Secrets of Ironbridge

Author: Mollie Walton

Publisher: Bonnier Zaffre Ltd.

ISBN: 1838770690

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 8232


A dramatic and heartwarming Victorian saga, perfect for fans of Maggie Hope and Anne Bennett. 1850s Shropshire. Returning to her mother's birthplace at the age of eighteen, Beatrice Ashford encounters a complex family she barely knows. Her great-grandmother Queenie adores her, but the privileged social position of Beatrice's family as masters of the local brickworks begins to make her uncomfortable. And then she meets Owen Malone: handsome, different, refreshing - and from a class beneath her own. They fall for each other fast, but an old family feud and growing industrial unrest threatens to drive them apart. Can they overcome their different backgrounds? And can Beatrice make amends for her family's past? Praise for The Daughters of Ironbridge: 'A Journey. Compelling. Addictive.' Val Wood 'Evocative, dramatic and hugely compelling . . . The Daughters of Ironbridge has all the hallmarks of a classic saga. I loved it' Miranda Dickinson 'Feisty female characters, an atmospheric setting and a spell-binding storyline make this a phenomenal read' Cathy Bramley 'The Daughters of Ironbridge has that compulsive, page-turning quality, irresistible characters the reader gets hugely invested in, and Walton has created a brilliantly alive, vivid and breathing world in Ironbridge' Louisa Treger 'Such great characters who will stay with me for a long time' Beth Miller 'The attention to period detail and beautiful writing drew me right in and kept me reading' Lynne Francis 'Vivid, page-turning drama' Pippa Beecheno 'A powerful sense of place and period, compelling characters and a pacy plot had me racing to the end' Gill Paul 'A story that is vivid, twisting and pacy, with characters that absolutely leap off the page' Iona Grey 'Beautiful and poignant. I'll definitely be reading The Secrets of Ironbridge' Tania Crosse