Hell Is Round the Corner

Author: Tricky

Publisher: Kings Road Publishing

ISBN: 178870231X

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 352

View: 9317


Tricky is one of the most original music artists to emerge from the UK in the past 30 years. His signature sound, coupled with deep, questioning lyrics, took the UK by storm in the early 1990s and was part of the soundtrack that defined the post-rave generation. This unique, no-holds barred autobiography is not only a portrait of an incredible artist - it is also a gripping slice of social history packed with extraordinary anecdotes and voices from the margins of society. Tricky examines how his creativity has helped him find a different path to that of his relatives, some of whom were bare-knuckle fighters and gangsters, and how his mother's suicide has had a lifelong effect on him, both creatively and psychologically. With his unique heritage and experience, his story will be one of the most talked-about music autobiographies of the decade.

Glossalalia

Author: Julian Wolfreys

Publisher: Taylor & Francis

ISBN: 9780415969147

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 400

View: 5242


First published in 2004. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.

1001 Songs

Author: Robert Dimery

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1844037177

Category: Music

Page: 960

View: 4559


An inspiring selection of the most iconic songs ever released, covering all the genres for nearly a century of memorable music.

1000 Songs that Rock Your World

Author: Dave Thompson

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 144021879X

Category: Music

Page: 256

View: 1010


1000 Songs That Rock Your World is the ultimate visual guide to the best rock music ever produced. From Abba to ZZ Top, it's not simply the ideal playlist, it's a one-stop catalog of a half-century of Rock 'n' Roll. Showcasing songs by nearly 500 artists in all rock genres, 1000 Songs That Rock Your World goes behind the scenes to uncover the fascinating story of the creation, significance, and popularity of these dynamic hits. More than 500 eye-popping color photos of concert action shots, album covers, posters, tickets, guitars, and more. Indexed by ranking, artist, and year for easy reference. Featuring: • Buddy Holly • The Beatles • Elvis • Jimi Hendrix • The Beach Boys • The Rolling Stones • Lou Reed • The Grateful Dead • The Who • The Allman Brothers • Simon & Garfunkel • Bob Dylan • Queen • Pink Floyd • Led Zeppelin • Neil Young • Bruce Springsteen • Green Day • and Hundreds More!

British Hit Singles & Albums

Author: David Roberts

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781904994107

Category: Popular music

Page: 717

View: 6631


This reference guide to both singles and albums in the UK pop charts lists titles, artists, labels, catalogue numbers, highest positions attained, number of weeks on chart and US no.1 information, as well as selected biographies and pop news.

The Truth about Jesus : Is He a Myth?

Author: M. M. Mangasarian

Publisher: DigiCat

ISBN: N.A

Category: Fiction

Page: 142

View: 1599


The following book offers a series of studies on the question of the historicity of Jesus, presented before the Independent Religious Society in Orchestra Hall. Contents: A Parable In Confidence Is Jesus a Myth? The Problem Stated The Christian Documents Virgin Births The Origin of the Cross The Silence of Profane Writers The Jesus Story a Religious Drama The Jesus of Paul Is Christianity Real? Is the World Indebted to Christianity? Christianity and Paganism Some Modern Opinions About Jesus. Another Rhetorical Jesus "We Owe Everything to Jesus" A Liberal Jew on Jesus From the Sunday Programs

Who the Hell's in It

Author: Peter Bogdanovich

Publisher: Ballantine Books

ISBN: 0307757838

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 544

View: 3590


Peter Bogdanovich, known primarily as a director, film historian and critic, has been working with professional actors all his life. He started out as an actor (he debuted on the stage in his sixth-grade production of Finian’s Rainbow); he watched actors work (he went to the theater every week from the age of thirteen and saw every important show on, or off, Broadway for the next decade); he studied acting, starting at sixteen, with Stella Adler (his work with her became the foundation for all he would ever do as an actor and a director). Now, in his new book, Who the Hell’s in It, Bogdanovich draws upon a lifetime of experience, observation and understanding of the art to write about the actors he came to know along the way; actors he admired from afar; actors he worked with, directed, befriended. Among them: Lauren Bacall, Humphrey Bogart, James Cagney, John Cassavetes, Charlie Chaplin, Montgomery Clift, Marlene Dietrich, Henry Fonda, Ben Gazzara, Audrey Hepburn, Boris Karloff, Dean Martin, Marilyn Monroe, River Phoenix, Sidney Poitier, Frank Sinatra, and James Stewart. Bogdanovich captures—in their words and his—their work, their individual styles, what made them who they were, what gave them their appeal and why they’ve continued to be America’s iconic actors. On Lillian Gish: “the first virgin hearth goddess of the screen . . . a valiant and courageous symbol of fortitude and love through all distress.” On Marlon Brando: “He challenged himself never to be the same from picture to picture, refusing to become the kind of film star the studio system had invented and thrived upon—the recognizable human commodity each new film was built around . . . The funny thing is that Brando’s charismatic screen persona was vividly apparent despite the multiplicity of his guises . . . Brando always remains recognizable, a star-actor in spite of himself. ” Jerry Lewis to Bogdanovich on the first laugh Lewis ever got onstage: “I was five years old. My mom and dad had a tux made—I worked in the borscht circuit with them—and I came out and I sang, ‘Brother, Can You Spare a Dime?’ the big hit at the time . . . It was 1931, and I stopped the show—naturally—a five-year-old in a tuxedo is not going to stop the show? And I took a bow and my foot slipped and hit one of the floodlights and it exploded and the smoke and the sound scared me so I started to cry. The audience laughed—they were hysterical . . . So I knew I had to get the rest of my laughs the rest of my life, breaking, sitting, falling, spinning.” John Wayne to Bogdanovich, on the early years of Wayne’s career when he was working as a prop man: “Well, I’ve naturally studied John Ford professionally as well as loving the man. Ever since the first time I walked down his set as a goose-herder in 1927. They needed somebody from the prop department to keep the geese from getting under a fake hill they had for Mother Machree at Fox. I’d been hired because Tom Mix wanted a box seat for the USC football games, and so they promised jobs to Don Williams and myself and a couple of the players. They buried us over in the properties department, and Mr. Ford’s need for a goose-herder just seemed to fit my pistol.” These twenty-six portraits and conversations are unsurpassed in their evocation of a certain kind of great movie star that has vanished. Bogdanovich’s book is a celebration and a farewell.

The Man From Coolibah

Author: James Knight,Milton Jones

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0733629725

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 384

View: 6904


In the tradition of Mailman of the Birdsville Track, The Man from Coolibah details the life of outback cattle property owner, helicopter muster operator and knockabout bloke Milton Jones. The youngest in a family of five, Milton Jones grew up on large properties in the outback. His father was a farm manager and so his early life was a world away from that of city kids. Milton left school in Queensland in his mid teens and moved back to the Northern Territory. Mustering was in his blood and so his first job was as a bullcatcher. Milton Jones is a man of his environment; tough and hardworking with a firm opinion on most things that he isn’t afraid to share. The story of how he bought Coolibah Station in 1988 in cash and the way he has built up his country empire is just one element of this book. For him, wrangling crocs, mustering cattle, fighting bush fires and riding rodeo are the norm. Over 500 km away from nearest city, Darwin, his life is lived on horseback, his days ruled by the sunlight. With the help of a seasonal workforce, plus his 42 choppers and a dozen or so horses, his business musters cattle from across the territory. The Man from Coolibah shows us what it is like to live in the never never and brings the Outback to life. For the men and women who live in Milton’s world, things are changing but the harshness and beauty of the outback stays the same.