Rolling Stones FAQ

Author: Gary J. Jucha

Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield

ISBN: 1493050745

Category: Music

Page: 400

View: 3096


Cleverly marketed by their original manager as the bad boys of rock, the Rolling Stones have survived dalliances with the devil, drug busts, and the death of founding member Brian Jones to become the world’s longest-running rock and roll band. Led by partners-in-crime Mick Jagger and Keith Richards, the Rolling Stones have had No. 1 hits, released classic albums, broken box office records, and literally changed the world. All too often, however, books on the Rolling Stones glimmer with gossip instead of shimmering with facts about the band’s music. The Rolling Stones FAQ presents these musical facts in a fast-moving, fan-friendly read. The five incarnations of the Rolling Stones are highlighted with in-depth explorations of the band's hit records, albums, films, and tours. The band's story is told not only through the biographies of the eight men to each be called a Rolling Stone, but also through the stories of session men, producers, managers, artists, girlfriends, and wives who have contributed to the enduring, yet controversial, success of the Rolling Stones.

A Band with Built-In Hate

Author: Peter Stanfield

Publisher: Reaktion Books

ISBN: 1789142784

Category: Music

Page: 320

View: 9087


“The best book on The Who. Stanfield understands that they were built entirely around opposition—they didn't want to be The Beatles or The Stones; they didn't even want to be The Who most of the time. He smartly states the case for peak Who as transgressive . . . the closest thing to Pop art British music has ever produced.”—Bob Stanley, author of Yeah Yeah Yeah: The Story of Modern Pop “With impressive eloquence, A Band with Built-In Hate situates '60s Britain's most volatile and incendiary group at the heart of pop's wild vortex. . . . Stanfield digs brilliantly into The Who's transgressions, their up-ending of pop music into art-rock and proto-punk. He can see for miles.”—Barney Hoskyns, author of Major Dudes: A Steely Dan Companion and creator of Rock's Backpages “Ours is music with built-in hatred.”—Pete Townshend, cofounder of the Who This book is a biography of the Who unlike any other. From their inception as the Detours in the mid-sixties, to the late seventies, post-Quadrophenia, the Who are pictured through the prism of pop art and the radical leveling of high and low culture that it brought about—a drama that was consciously and aggressively performed by the band. Peter Stanfield lays down a path through the British pop revolution, its attitude and style, as it was uniquely embodied by the band: first, under the mentorship of arch-mod Peter Meaden, as they learned their trade in the pubs and halls of suburban London; and then with Kit Lambert and Chris Stamp, two aspiring filmmakers, at the very center of things in Soho. Guided by the concerns of contemporary commentators—among them George Melly, Lawrence Alloway, and, most conspicuously, Nik Cohn—Stanfield tells the story of a band driven by fury, and of what happened when Pete Townshend, Roger Daltrey, Keith Moon, and John Entwistle moved from backroom stages to international arenas, from explosive 45s to expansive concept albums. Above all, he tells of how the Who confronted their lost youth as it was echoed in punk.

How Can It Be?

Author: Ronnie Wood

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781905662364

Category: Music

Page: 464

View: 6723


'My own private world is in this diary.' - Ronnie Wood Before he was a Rolling Stone, a Face, or a member of the Jeff Beck Group, Ronnie Wood flew the nest aged just 17 with his first band, the Birds. Featuring cameos by legends such as Eric Clapton, Jimmy Page, Rod Stewart and Pete Townshend, Ronnie’s adventures on the road to superstardom were handwritten in his private diary of 1965. Now, celebrating 50 years in rock ’n’ roll, Ronnie Wood guides us through the pages of his rediscovered journal. With his entertaining new commentary, hand-drawn illustrations, and rare photos and memorabilia, Ronnie’s trip through the Sixties is introduced by his Stones bandmate Charlie Watts. A download code for Ronnie’s accompanying 'How Can It Be?’ single is included. 'A chance to witness music history.' - The Sunday Times

Blues & Chaos

Author: Robert Palmer,Anthony DeCurtis

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1416599754

Category: Music

Page: 480

View: 2645


Collects the works of the late music critic and contributor to Rolling Stone and arranges them by theme and genre, including gripping stories about John Lennon, Led Zeppelin, Miles Davis, Jerry Lee Lewis, Muddy Waters and more.

Shock and Awe

Author: Simon Reynolds

Publisher: Faber & Faber

ISBN: 0571301738

Category: Music

Page: 400

View: 594


As the sixties dream faded, a new flamboyant movement electrified the world: GLAM! In Shock and Awe, Simon Reynolds explores this most decadent of genres on both sides of the Atlantic. Bolan, Bowie, Suzi Quatro, Alice Cooper, New York Dolls, Slade, Roxy Music, Iggy, Lou Reed, Be Bop Deluxe, David Essex -- all are represented here. Reynolds charts the retro future sounds, outrageous styles and gender-fluid sexual politics that came to define the first half of the seventies and brings it right up to date with a final chapter on glam in hip hop, Lady Gaga, and the aftershocks of David Bowie's death. Shock and Awe is a defining work and another classic in the Faber Social rock n roll canon to stand alongside Rip it Up, Electric Eden and Yeah Yeah Yeah.

The Syndrome Diaries

Author: Rachel Hallett

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 1291159959

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 2011


The Sleeper

Author: Emily Barr

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0755388011

Category: Fiction

Page: 301

View: 5397


'One brilliantly compelling page-turner' Closer . Two strangers meet on a train. Only one gets off... Critically acclaimed author Emily Barr presents The Sleeper, a shocking psychological thriller where infidelity puts Lara in great danger. Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl and Sophie Hannah. 'We can't praise Emily Barr's novels enough; they're fresh, original and hugely readable' Glamour Lara Finch is living a lie... Everyone thinks she has a happy life in Cornwall, married to the devoted Sam, but in fact she is desperately bored. When she is offered a new job that involves commuting to London by sleeper train, she meets Guy and starts an illicit affair. When Lara vanishes from the night train without leaving a trace, only her friend Iris disbelieves the official version of events, and sets out to find her. For Iris, it is the start of a voyage that will take her further than she's ever travelled and on to a trail of old crimes and dark secrets. For Lara, it is the end of a journey that started a long time ago. A journey she must finish, before it destroys her... 'A great read from start to finish ... believable characters that are variously biting, insightful and sympathetic.' The Times Readers love The Sleeper: ' I was hooked from the first page' ***** Amazon reviewer 'Well written, fascinating characters and slowly draws you in until it is totally unputdownable' ***** Amazon reviewer 'This was spell-binding and I had great difficulty putting it down' ***** Amazon reviewer 'Beautifully written and intriguing' ***** Amazon reviewer

The Wedding Diary (Choc Lit)

Author: Margaret James

Publisher: Choc Lit

ISBN: 1781890188

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 529


If you won a fairy-tale wedding in a luxury hotel, you’d be delighted – right? But what if you didn’t have anyone to marry? Cat Aston did have a fiancé, but now it looks like her Prince Charming has done a runner. Adam Lawley was left devastated when his girlfriend turned down his heartfelt proposal. He’s made a vow never to fall in love again. So – when Cat and Adam meet, they shouldn’t even consider falling in love. After all, they’re both broken hearted. But for some reason they can't stop thinking about each other. Is this their second chance for happiness, or are some things just too good to be true?

Bill Haley

Author: N.A

Publisher: Wagner Verlag sucht Autoren

ISBN: 3862795373

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 9303


The Hardcore Diaries

Author: Mick Foley

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1416556788

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 384

View: 8545


A three-time WWE champion shares first-person testimony about competing in the ring, in a personal account that describes one of his most important and challenging matches, his training methods, and some of his more dangerous wrestling stunts. Reprint. 50,000 first printing.