How We Disappeared

Author: Jing-Jing Lee

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1786074133

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 9780


Shortlisted for the 2020 Singapore Literature Prize Longlisted for the HWA Debut Crown Singapore, 1942. As Japanese troops sweep down Malaysia and into Singapore, a village is ransacked. Only three survivors remain, one of them a tiny child. In a neighbouring village, seventeen-year-old Wang Di is bundled into the back of a troop carrier and shipped off to a Japanese military rape camp. In the year 2000, her mind is still haunted by her experiences there, but she has long been silent about her memories of that time. It takes twelve-year-old Kevin, and the mumbled confession he overhears from his ailing grandmother, to set in motion a journey into the unknown to discover the truth. Weaving together two timelines and two life-changing secrets, How We Disappeared is an evocative, profoundly moving and utterly dazzling novel heralding the arrival of a new literary star.

How We Disappeared

Author: Jing-Jing Lee

Publisher: Hanover Square Press

ISBN: 9781335953759

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 8840


*A Library Journal "Emerging Stars" Pick* A beautiful, stunningly ambitious novel set in World War II Singapore about a woman who survived the Japanese occupation and a man who thought he had lost everything--for fans of Pachinko and We Were the Lucky Ones Singapore, 1942. As Japanese troops sweep down Malaysia and into Singapore, a village is ransacked, leaving only two survivors and one tiny child. In a neighboring village, seventeen-year-old Wang Di is strapped into the back of a troop carrier and shipped off to a Japanese military brothel where she is forced into sexual slavery as a "comfort woman." After sixty years of silence, what she saw and experienced still haunts her. In the year 2000, twelve-year-old Kevin is sitting beside his ailing grandmother when he overhears a mumbled confession. He sets out to discover the truth, wherever it might lead, setting in motion a chain of events he never could have foreseen. Weaving together two time lines and two very big secrets, this stunning debut opens a window on a little-known period of history, revealing the strength and bravery shown by numerous women in the face of terrible cruelty. Drawing in part on her family's experiences, Jing-Jing Lee has crafted a profoundly moving, unforgettable novel about human resilience, the bonds of family and the courage it takes to confront the past.

The Year We Disappeared

Author: Cylin Busby,John Busby

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 1408852527

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 352

View: 6694


When Cylin Busby was nine years old, she was obsessed with the Muppets and her pet turtle. Then everything changed. Her police officer father, John, was driving to work when someone levelled a shotgun at his window. The blasts that followed left him clinging to life, yet he managed to write down the name of the only person he thought could have pulled the trigger. John Busby was scheduled to testify in an upcoming trial against the family of a local criminal with rumoured mob connections. It became clear that there was a definite suspect. Overnight, the Busbys went from being an average family to one under 24-hour armed protection, with police escorts to school and no contact with friends. Worse, the gunman was still on the loose, and it seemed only a matter of time before he would come after John again - or someone else in the family! With few choices left, the Busby family went into hiding, severing all ties to the only life they had ever known. This hard-hitting, graphic and compelling account of Cylin's family's escape from the mob is ultimately a story of survival and triumph.

The Family Fang

Author: Kevin Wilson

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN: 1447204115

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 4397


Soon to be a major film starring Nicole Kidman and Jason Bateman 'Funny, smart, ingenious, moving, altogether great' Nick Hornby World famous Caleb and Camille Fang have dedicated their lives to great performance art. But for their children, Annie and Buster, their 'art' is an embarrassment. As soon as the children grow up they flee home, desperate to escape the chaos of their parents' world. But when the lives they've built come crashing down, brother and sister have no choice but to go back. And whether the kids agree to participate or not, Caleb and Camille are planning one last performance that will finally determine what's more important: their family or their art.

Isn't It Rich?

Author: Sherryl Woods

Publisher: MIRA

ISBN: 1459292391

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 4046


In this beloved novel, #1 New York Times bestselling author Sherryl Woods proves once again that sometimes family does know best. Straitlaced tycoon Richard Carlton suspects that his Aunt Destiny has more than business matters on her mind when she insists he meet klutzy PR executive Melanie Hart. Melanie might be brilliant—and beautiful—but Richard won't open his wounded heart to any woman, no matter how much she might make his pulse race. Yet when the press mistakenly reports that they're a couple, Richard convinces Melanie to pretend that they're engaged—to bolster his reputation and to teach his matchmaking aunt a lesson, once and for all. But is this relationship just a charade, or do opposites really attract—for keeps?

The First Crossing of Greenland

Author: Fridtjof Nansen

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Arctic regions

Page: 564

View: 7758


Story of the expedition that made the first crossing of the Greenland interior in 1888.

The Year We Disappeared

Author: Cylin Busby,John Busby

Publisher: A&C Black

ISBN: 1408802015

Category: Fathers and daughters

Page: 329

View: 970


A riveting true story of how one incident can turn a family's life upside down. When Cylin Busby was 9 years old, an attack on her father meant her normal life was transformed to one of 24 hour armed guards, fences around the house, and no contact with friends.