I was Told There'd be Cake

Author: Sloane Crosley

Publisher: Portobello Books

ISBN: 9781846271854

Category: American essays

Page: 230

View: 1315


Wry, hilarious, and profoundly genuine, this debut collection of literary essays is a celebration of fallibility and haplessness in all their glory. Crosby's strikingly original voice chronicles the struggles and unexpected beauty of modern urban life.

I Was Told There'd Be Cake

Author: Sloane Crosley

Publisher: Portobello Books

ISBN: 1846274656

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 240

View: 7034


From getting locked out of her flat twice on the same day and being fired for baking a giant cookie in the shape of her boss's head, to playing bridesmaid for a friend she'd long forgotten, Sloane Crosley can do no right, despite the best of intentions. With sharp, original and irresistible storytelling that confounds expectations at every turn, Crosley recounts her victories and catastrophes, finding uproarious comedy and genuine insights in the most unpredictable places.

Nexus (Sontem Trilogy #1)

Author: Nicolas Wilson

Publisher: Nicolas Wilson

ISBN: 1301673560

Category: Fiction

Page: 278

View: 7435


Captain Anderson Grant of the corporate starship Nexus boldly explores alien worlds (and occasionally the alien women, too). Grant and his crew struggle with the company’s version of manifest destiny, as well as its attempt to coerce them into military force. They begin to question whether the largest threat to their mission and their safety will come from outside the Nexus or from the company that respects them more for their genetic possibilities than their individuality. (Keywords: Science Fiction Series, Space Opera, Space Aliens, Space Merchants, Military Scifi, Science Fiction Trilogies, Space Fiction, Space Marine, Science Fiction Romance.)

Look Alive Out There

Author: Sloane Crosley

Publisher: MCD

ISBN: 0374711801

Category: Literary Collections

Page: 256

View: 1794


Sloane Crosley returns to the form that made her a household name in really quite a lot of households: Essays! From the New York Times–bestselling author Sloane Crosley comes Look Alive Out There—a brand-new collection of essays filled with her trademark hilarity, wit, and charm. The characteristic heart and punch-packing observations are back, but with a newfound coat of maturity. A thin coat. More of a blazer, really. Fans of I Was Told There’d Be Cake and How Did You Get This Number know Sloane Crosley’s life as a series of relatable but madcap misadventures. In Look Alive Out There, whether it’s playing herself on Gossip Girl,scaling active volcanoes, crashing shivas, befriending swingers, or staring down the barrel of the fertility gun, Crosley continues to rise to the occasion with unmatchable nerve and electric one-liners. And as her subjects become more serious, her essays deliver not just laughs but lasting emotional heft and insight. Crosley has taken up the gauntlets thrown by her predecessors—Dorothy Parker, Nora Ephron, David Sedaris—and crafted something rare, affecting, and true. Look Alive Out There arrives on the tenth anniversary of I Was Told There’d be Cake, and Crosley’s essays have managed to grow simultaneously more sophisticated and even funnier. And yet she’s still very much herself, and it’s great to have her back—and not a moment too soon (or late, for that matter).

Hamish and the Monster Patrol

Author: Danny Wallace

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1471167852

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 304

View: 1923


'HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA!' Frank Cottrell Boyce 'Hilarious' Tim Minchin 'Danny Wallace and Jamie Littler's books contain all the wit and warmth of Dahl and Blake at their best. Irresistible.' Phil Earle 'Like David Walliams, Danny Wallace is a comedian turned children's author. Of the two, Wallace's writing is funnier' The Sunday Times, Children's Book of the Week Get ready for another hilarious adventure from bestselling author Danny Wallace brought to life with illustrations from Jamie Littler, perfect for fans of David Walliams, Roald Dahl, David Baddiel and David Solomons! Things are afoot in Starkley... again! Out in the ocean something's on the move ... something BIG ... something that might change everything ... While most of Starkley's inhabitants have fled or gone into lockdown, Hamish and his pals in the PDF are coming up with a plan, because if they don't save the world then who will?! But this time they’re not alone. Luckily, the top-secret Monster Patrol is on hand to help … even if that ‘help’ is in the form of a strange new kid, a bizarre-looking fish monster and a bonkers old lady…

Writing Voice

Author: Writer's Digest Books

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1440349150

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 296

View: 2517


Develop a voice that captures readers' attention! All writers bring a unique set of skills to their work: One author might write outstanding characters, while another might dazzle with dialogue. You don't have to master every aspect of the craft in order to succeed, but the one quality required of every writer is a compelling, original voice. Your voice, which is often difficult to define and even more difficult to master, can transform your writing from pedestrian to powerful. In Writing Voice, you'll discover effective instruction and advice from best-selling authors and instructors like Donal Maass, Adair Lara, Paula Munier, Dinty W. Moore, James Scott Bell, and many others, plus exercises, techniques, and examples for making your prose stand out, be it fiction or memoir. You'll learn how to: • Explore the unique way you write • Study the distinctive styles of other writers to create your own voice • Understand the nuances of voice, including the importance of word choice • Develop the right voice for your genre • Craft excellent narration that will keep readers coming back • Choose the proper voice for your nonfiction Constructing the voice that fits your style and your audience is paramount to crafting memorable, original work. Writing Voice gives you the tools to not only create that voice but perfect it.

Lolita in the Afterlife

Author: Jenny Minton Quigley

Publisher: Vintage

ISBN: 1984898841

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 456

View: 7561


A vibrant collection of sharp and essential modern pieces on Vladimir Nabokov’s perennially provocative book—with original contributions from a stellar cast of prominent twenty-first century writers. In 1958, Vladimir Nabokov’s Lolita was published in the United States to immediate controversy and bestsellerdom. More than sixty years later, this phenomenal novel generates as much buzz as it did when originally published. Central to countless issues at the forefront of our national discourse—art and politics, race and whiteness, gender and power, sexual trauma—Lolita lives on, in an afterlife as blinding as a supernova. Lolita in the Afterlife is edited by the daughter of Lolita’s original publisher in America. WITH CONTRIBUTIONS BY Robin Givhan • Aleksandar Hemon • Jim Shepard • Emily Mortimer • Laura Lippman • Erika L. Sánchez • Sarah Weinman • Andre Dubus III • Mary Gaitskill • Zainab Salbi • Christina Baker Kline • Ian Frazier • Cheryl Strayed • Sloane Crosley • Victor LaValle • Jill Kargman • Lila Azam Zanganeh • Roxane Gay • Claire Dederer • Jessica Shattuck • Stacy Schiff • Susan Choi • Kate Elizabeth Russell • Tom Bissell • Kira Von Eichel • Bindu Bansinath • Dani Shapiro • Alexander Chee • Lauren Groff • Morgan Jerkins

Writing & Selling Your Memoir

Author: Paula Balzer

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1599634198

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 240

View: 9359


There's more to writing a memoir than just writing your life story. A memoir isn't one long diary entry. Rather, it's a well-crafted story about a crucial, often exceptionally difficult, time in someone's life. Writing & Selling Your Memoir talks readers through the process of telling their most personal stories in a compelling, relatable, and readable manner. Unlike other books dedicated to the art and craft of writing memoir, it teaches readers how to approach the genre with love, respect, and know-how without sentimentalizing it. Drawing on her experience working with New York Times best-selling memoirists, literary agent Paula Balzer carefully explores the genre and provides readers with step-by-step instruction on how to: • Identify strong opening and closing points • Find and develop a strong central hook that readers can relate to • Structure a memoir to maximize readability • Use dialogue and pacing to enhance intimacy • Approach honesty and truthfulness • Build a successful author platform around their memoir • Get an agent's attention • Get published Full of tips, techniques, detailed exercises, and examples from best-selling memoirs as well as sidebars from well-known memoir authors, Writing & Selling Your Memoir teaches you how to approach an often tricky genre and tell your story without sentimentalizing it.

College Admission

Author: Robin Mamlet,Christine VanDeVelde

Publisher: Crown

ISBN: 030759033X

Category: Study Aids

Page: 432

View: 5870


College Admission is the ultimate user's manual and go-to guide for any student or family approaching the college application process. Featuring the wise counsel of more than 50 deans of admission, no other guide has such thorough, expert, compassionate, and professional advice. Let’s be honest: applying to college can be stressful for students and parents. But here’s the good news: you can get in. Robin Mamlet has been dean of admission at three of America's most selective colleges, and journalist and parent Christine VanDeVelde has been through the process first hand. With this book, you will feel like you have both a dean of admission and a parent who has been there at your side. Inside this book, you'll find clear, comprehensive, and expert answers to all your questions along the way to an acceptance letter: • The role of extracurricular activities • What it means to find a college that's the "right fit" • What's more important: high grades or tough courses • What role does testing play • The best candidates for early admission • When help from parents is too much help • Advice for athletes, artists, international students, and those with learning differences • How wait lists work • Applying for financial aid This will be your definitive resource during the sophomore, junior, and senior years of high school.

Save the Assistants

Author: Lilit Marcus

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1401395139

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 272

View: 9107


"If you're tired, you're poor, and you're a huddled mass of an assistant yearning to breathe free, look no further than Save the Assistants." --Yahoo! "Lilit at Save the Assistants . . . feels your pain." --Marie Claire What happens when nine-to-five turns into nine-to-eleven? How do you outmaneuver the office Underminer? Is it appropriate to have a cocktail at a company lunch? How do you get reservations for a restaurant with an unlisted phone number? What do you do when your boss throws a stapler at your head? As Page Six Magazine recently noted, bosses are "going from mean to monstrous -- and making The Devil Wears Prada look like a love story." What's an office drone to do? Call on Save the Assistants, the addictive and insightful guide to workplace sanity by Lilit Marcus, renowned assistant expert. On your first day at work, you learned how to answer the phone and turn on the computer. But four years of college hardly prepared you for the coffee-fetching, back-stabbing, and you-should-have-done-it-yesterdays of office life. Save the Assistants is here to help you not only survive your job, but ultimately get the career you want.