Amy Butler's In Stitches

Author: Amy Butler

Publisher: Chronicle Books

ISBN: 1452132550

Category: Crafts & Hobbies

Page: 176

View: 2558


Celebrated designer Amy Butler brings her fresh, modern style to the timeless craft of sewing. In this lavishly illustrated collection of patterns, she presents more than 25 charming projects ranging from cushy floor cushions to smart aprons to stylish handbags. Lush photographs inspire, while how-to illustrations and straightforward text (minus the confusing sewing lingo) make it a cinch to achieve beautifully finished projects. In addition, Amy offers thoughtful tips on finding and treating new or vintage fabrics, an easy-to-navigate techniques section, and a glossary and resource guide at back. Whether it's chic placemats and napkins for the kitchen, a luxurious kimono-style robe for the bath, or handy organizer baskets for the home office Amy Butler's In Stitches makes it easy to create beautiful accessories for every room and every mood.

In Stitches

Author: Gloria J. Kaufman

Publisher: Indiana University Press

ISBN: 9780253206411

Category: Humor

Page: 200

View: 6926


Here at last is the long-awaited sequel to the classic Pulling Our Own Strings. Picking up where Pulling left off, In Stitches restores flagging feminist energies and demonstrates the progress of the past decade. Contributors include Toni Cade Bambara, Dave Barry, Alison Bechdel, Mary Kay Blakely, Kate Clinton, Barbara Ehrenreich, Jules Feiffer, Ellen Goodman, Guerilla Girls, Nicole Hollander, Zora Neale Hurston, Jane Wagner, and many, many more.

In Stitches

Author: Anthony Youn,Alan Eisenstock

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1451649762

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 290

View: 4359


The celebrity cosmetic surgery blogger describes his misfit youth as a nerdy Korean-American student with a misshapen jaw whose life-changing surgery led him to become a successful plastic surgeon.

Greeting Cards in Stitches

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781610595834

Category: Crafts & Hobbies

Page: 120

View: 504


Clever greeting cards, embellished with hand stitching, are so unique they'll become keepsakes! Our fabulous mother-daughter design duo has created 30 original cards for all occasions, including holidays, birthdays, births, graduations, anniversaries, get well, thank you, congratulations, and general note cards. A detailed basics section includes general embroidery information plus an overview of all the techniques and tools necessary for embroidering on paper. Embroidery stitches are taught with watercolor how-to illustrations, step-by-step instructions, and close-up photos. Full-size patterns for all projects are provided for easy transfer. Also included is a website link to download the patterns so you can print them directly on your special paper. Embroidering on paper and card stock is a relatively new idea, and this book hits the market as the cross-over craft gains momentum. Fresh, original card designs have wide appeal. Only book available dedicated to cards that feature hand-embroidery. Link to site for downloading patterns

A Life in Stitches

Author: Rachael Herron

Publisher: HGA Publishing

ISBN: 1940785626

Category: Crafts & Hobbies

Page: 216

View: 5710


A hilarious, heartfelt romp that will bring you home to yourself. You don’t have to be a knitter to fall in love with this book—any person who’s ever made anything with their hands will dive joyfully into these pages and come back up renewed and ready to create. Tenth Anniversary Edition - This beloved bestseller is newly updated with fresh stories and extra devotion to the happiness found in everyday tools. Internationally bestselling author Rachael Herron shows that when life unravels, there’s usually a way to knit it back together again, and if there’s not, there’s still hope to be found in the simple tools of the craft. Honest, funny, and full of warmth, Herron’s tales, each inspired by something she knitted, will speak to anyone who’s ever loved (or lost). From her very first sweater (a hilarious disaster) to the yellow afghan that caused a breakup (and, ultimately, a breakthrough), every chapter has a moving story behind it. This beautifully candid collection about crafting the art of happiness through joy and grief is perfect for fans of Elizabeth Gilbert and Glennon Doyle. Click BUY now! Rachael Herron is the author of more than two dozen books, including thriller (under R.H. Herron), mainstream fiction, feminist romance, memoir, and nonfiction about writing. She received her MFA in writing from Mills College, Oakland, and she teaches writing extension workshops at both UC Berkeley and Stanford. She is a proud member of the NaNoWriMo Writer’s Board. An AmeriKiwi, she’s currently living in New Zealand.

Ipswich in Stitches

Author: Doug Brendel

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 1678033642

Category: Humor

Page: 168

View: 2839


The Outsidah's Greatest Hits So Far! The funniest bits from nearly a decade of commentary on life in small-town New England from the viewpoint of a newcomer. All profits from this book support NewThing.net, a humanitarian charity in Belarus, former USSR.

From Hockey to Baseball: I kept them in stitches

Author: Ken Carson,Larry Millson

Publisher: FriesenPress

ISBN: 1460280121

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 178

View: 9572


Ken Carson’s career as rink rat, athletic trainer and executive has spanned sixty years from junior hockey to the NHL and from major-league baseball to the minors. Carson has sharpened skates with Bobby Orr as his helper; been frightened out of a wrestling ring by Yukon Eric; lived at the arena in Rochester, N.Y.; stitched up players for the Pittsburgh Penguins; celebrated the Blue Jays’ first AL East championship on the turf of Exhibition Stadium as the team trainer who doubled as director of team travel. He was the first trainer for two expansion teams in two sports, the Penguins and the Blue Jays, participating in the 1976 NHL All-Star Game and the 1980 MLB All-Star Game. In 1987, Carson became the Blue Jays’ director of Florida operations, which included the role of general manager of the Class A team at Dunedin. As a respected minor-league executive, he became president of the Class A Florida State League in 2015. Carson’s story, as told to Toronto sports writer Larry Millson, offers a unique perspective of sports over the generations.