In The Garden of Beasts

Author: Erik Larson

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1446464504

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 592

View: 8202


'A compelling tale... a narrative that makes such a brave effort to see history as it evolves and not as it becomes.' SPECTATOR Suffused with the tense atmosphere of the times, and with brilliant portraits of Hitler, Goebbels, Goering and Himmler amongst others, Erik Larson's new book sheds unique light on events as they unfold, resulting in an unforgettable, addictively readable work of narrative history. Berlin,1933. William E. Dodd, a mild-mannered academic from Chicago, has to his own and everyone else's surprise, become America's first ambassador to Hitler's Germany, in a year that proves to be a turning point in history. Dodd and his family, notably his vivacious daughter, Martha, observe at first-hand the many changes - some subtle, some disturbing, and some horrifically violent - that signal Hitler's consolidation of power. Dodd has little choice but to associate with key figures in the Nazi party, his increasingly concerned cables make little impact on an indifferent U.S. State Department, while Martha is drawn to the Nazis and their vision of a 'New Germany' and has a succession of affairs with senior party players, including first chief of the Gestapo, Rudolf Diels. But as the year darkens, Dodd and his daughter find their lives transformed and any last illusion they might have about Hitler are shattered by the violence of the 'Night of the Long Knives' in the summer of 1934 that established him as supreme dictator . . .

In the Garden of Beasts

Author: Erik Larson

Publisher: Crown Pub

ISBN: 0307408841

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 448

View: 1802


The best-selling author of Devil in the White City documents the efforts of first American ambassador to Hitler's Germany William E. Dodd to acclimate to a residence in an increasingly violent city where he is forced to associate with the Nazis while his daughter pursues a relationship with Gestapo chief Rudolf Diels.

In the Garden of Beasts: by Erik Larson - Summary and Analysis

Author: Instaread

Publisher: CreateSpace

ISBN: 9781517385002

Category:

Page: 32

View: 3626


PLEASE NOTE: This is a summary and analysis of the book and NOT the original book. In the Garden of Beasts: by Erik Larson | Summary & Analysis Preview: In the Garden of Beasts: Love, Terror and an American Family in Hitler's Berlin by Erik Larson explores several crucial years in Berlin through the eyes of the US ambassador and his family. Their experiences serve as both a cautionary tale about the insidiousness of evil and a harbinger of the hard realization that the rest of America was forced to make in a few short years. In 1933, George Messersmith, US Consul General in Berlin, awaited the naming of a new ambassador amid increasing brutality, fanaticism, and corruption under the Nazi regime. Messersmith was frustrated that no one back home realized how bad it was. Most US officials figured that Adolf Hitler would become more moderate over time. Their chief concern was getting Germany to pay back $1.2 billion owed to US bond holders in the aftermath of World War I. Hitler talked of paying, but Messersmith thought he was just buying time to re-arm Germany... Inside this Instaread Summary & Analysis of In the Garden of Beasts * Summary of book * Introduction to the Important People in the book * Analysis of the Themes and Author's Style

The Wild Beasts of India

Author: George P. Sanderson

Publisher: Mittal Publications

ISBN: N.A

Category: Zoology

Page: 434

View: 5413


Thirteen Years Among the Wild Beasts of India

Author: George P. Sanderson

Publisher: Asian Educational Services

ISBN: 9788120614642

Category: Nature

Page: 470

View: 7402


Their haunts and habits , from personal observations with an account of the mode of capturing and taming elephants. 25 cm., 24 plates-illusr.

The War Between the Two Beasts and the Two Witnesses

Author: Tony Siew

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 0567132013

Category: Religion

Page: 352

View: 1120


Siew seeks to examine the events that will unfold within the three and a half years before the dawn of the kingdom of God on earth. He argues that John composed the textual unit of Rev 11:1--14:5 as a coherent and unified literary unit structured in a macro-chiasm. He pays special attention to the fusion of form and content and seeks to elucidate how the concentric and chiastic pattern informs the meaning of the literary units within 11:1--14:5, and proposes that the text of 11:1--14:5 is best analyzed using Hebraic literary conventions, devices, and compositional techniques such as chiasm, parallelism, parataxis, and structural parallelism. The macro-chiastic pattern provides the literary-structural framework for John to portray that the events of the last three and a half years unfold on earth as a result of what transpires in heaven. Specifically, the war in heaven between Michael and the dragon has earthly ramifications. The outcome of the heavenly war where Satan is defeated and thrown out of heaven to earth results in the war on earth between the two beasts of Rev 13 and the two witnesses of Rev 11. The narrative of the war in heaven (12:7-12) is seen as the pivot of the macro-chiastic structure. Siew pays close attention to the time-period of the three-and-a-half years as a temporal and structural marker which functions to unite the various units in 11:1--14:5 into a coherent and integral whole. The events of the last days will be centred in Jerusalem.

The Nature of the Beasts

Author: Ian Jared Miller

Publisher: University of California Press

ISBN: 0520377524

Category: History

Page: 352

View: 9930


It is widely known that such Western institutions as the museum, the university, and the penitentiary shaped Japan’s emergence as a modern nation-state. Less commonly recognized is the role played by the distinctly hybrid institution—at once museum, laboratory, and prison—of the zoological garden. In this eye-opening study of Japan’s first modern zoo, Tokyo’s Ueno Imperial Zoological Gardens, opened in 1882, Ian Jared Miller offers a refreshingly unconventional narrative of Japan’s rapid modernization and changing relationship with the natural world. As the first zoological garden in the world not built under the sway of a Western imperial regime, the Ueno Zoo served not only as a staple attraction in the nation’s capital—an institutional marker of national accomplishment—but also as a site for the propagation of a new “natural” order that was scientifically verifiable and evolutionarily foreordained. As the Japanese empire grew, Ueno became one of the primary sites of imperialist spectacle, a microcosm of the empire that could be traveled in the course of a single day. The meaning of the zoo would change over the course of Imperial Japan’s unraveling and subsequent Allied occupation. Today it remains one of Japan’s most frequently visited places. But instead of empire in its classic political sense, it now bespeaks the ambivalent dominion of the human species over the natural environment, harkening back to its imperial roots even as it asks us to question our exploitation of the planet’s resources.

Thieves, Beasts & Men

Author: Shan Leah

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1950994082

Category: Fiction

Page: 249

View: 3261


** AMERICAN FICTION AWARD FINALIST FOR BEST NEW FICTION 2021 ** ** FINALIST FOR THE 2021 SHELF UNBOUND AWARD FOR BEST FICTION ** ** LONGLISTED FOR THE 2021 SOMERSET PRIZE/CHANTICLEER INTERNATIONAL BOOK AWARDS FOR BEST LITERARY AND CONTEMPORARY FICTION ** For Fans of Emily Fridlund's History of Wolves and Fiona Mozley's Elmet. This stunning debut uses the irresistible scenario of a hermit living in near-complete self-sufficiency in the wilderness, and asks the universally relevant question: what is the value of existing within a civilization when it is fraught with evil? Adelaide has lived a long, solitary existence in the Blue Ridge Mountains. On the verge of ending it all, she discovers two feral children raiding her garden and rescues them in a misguided attempt at a new life. Now she must find a way to care for children who are more beast than human. They only communicate with chirps and grunts, and they pine for their feral mother. When dangerous men and a wild woman emerge from the darkness in pursuit, Adelaide faces a grueling choice. She can release the children back to the wild, saving her own life but losing everything she has grown to love, or fight to defend her new family, risking the death she no longer seeks. Thieves, Beasts & Men asks who are the thieves in this story? Who are the beasts? And what, ultimately, defines humanity?

The Journal of Zebus

Author: C. Campbell

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN: 1477145133

Category: Fiction

Page: 146

View: 6488


The world oldest mystery is now told from a new perspective, the battle of Good versus Evil. Or is it Evil versus Good. Take the journey with Zebus to discover the beast that casted a shadow over his life and force him to reexamine the course he would travel. In his own words written in his journal, he tells a tale few were willing to hear or even consider. There are always two sides to a story after reading this one; you may ask yourself “whose shadow do you cast?”

Deadly Beasts Book 1: The Curse Of The Rose

Author: TM Watkins

Publisher: TM Watkins

ISBN: 1370329105

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 6145


Mary Arnold's entire life has been filled with pain, abandoned on the steps of a church by her parents, not wanted by society and left within the care of government run orphanage. At nineteen she does nothing more than sleep, eat and work two jobs, just to pay for her way in life. But all of that changed on one cold morning as she walked home from her job as a night fill at the local convenience store. Attacked by a supposedly mythical creature, Mary is thrust into a world of the unknown. Her survival depends on one person, a dark and cold man who is living with the despair of lost love. Can she depend on a man that is so absorbed in his own misery that he cannot see the danger that looms? Walking down an alley at five am in the morning wasn't the brightest thing that Mary has ever done, but in one brief moment she altered her world forever.