In the Garden of Beasts

Author: Erik Larson

Publisher: Random House Large Print Publishing

ISBN: 9780739378144

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 676

View: 7634


Documents the efforts of the first American ambassador to Hitler's Germany, William E. Dodd, to acclimate to a residence in an increasingly violent city where he is forced to associate with the Nazis while his daughter pursues a relationship with Gestapochief Rudolf Diels.

In The Garden of Beasts

Author: Erik Larson

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1446464504

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 592

View: 7440


'A compelling tale... a narrative that makes such a brave effort to see history as it evolves and not as it becomes.' SPECTATOR Suffused with the tense atmosphere of the times, and with brilliant portraits of Hitler, Goebbels, Goering and Himmler amongst others, Erik Larson's new book sheds unique light on events as they unfold, resulting in an unforgettable, addictively readable work of narrative history. Berlin,1933. William E. Dodd, a mild-mannered academic from Chicago, has to his own and everyone else's surprise, become America's first ambassador to Hitler's Germany, in a year that proves to be a turning point in history. Dodd and his family, notably his vivacious daughter, Martha, observe at first-hand the many changes - some subtle, some disturbing, and some horrifically violent - that signal Hitler's consolidation of power. Dodd has little choice but to associate with key figures in the Nazi party, his increasingly concerned cables make little impact on an indifferent U.S. State Department, while Martha is drawn to the Nazis and their vision of a 'New Germany' and has a succession of affairs with senior party players, including first chief of the Gestapo, Rudolf Diels. But as the year darkens, Dodd and his daughter find their lives transformed and any last illusion they might have about Hitler are shattered by the violence of the 'Night of the Long Knives' in the summer of 1934 that established him as supreme dictator . . .

The Beast in the Garden: A Modern Parable of Man and Nature

Author: David Baron

Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company

ISBN: 0393340309

Category: Nature

Page: 288

View: 760


The true tale of an edenic Rocky Mountain town and what transpired when a predatory species returned to its ancestral home. When, in the late 1980s, residents of Boulder, Colorado, suddenly began to see mountain lions in their yards, it became clear that the cats had repopulated the land after decades of persecution. Here, in a riveting environmental fable that recalls Peter Benchley's thriller Jaws, journalist David Baron traces the history of the mountain lion and chronicles Boulder's effort to coexist with its new neighbors. A parable for our times, The Beast in the Garden is a scientific detective story and a real-life drama, a tragic tale of the struggle between two highly evolved predators: man and beast.

The Journal of Zebus

Author: C. Campbell

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN: 1477145133

Category: Fiction

Page: 146

View: 9251


The world oldest mystery is now told from a new perspective, the battle of Good versus Evil. Or is it Evil versus Good. Take the journey with Zebus to discover the beast that casted a shadow over his life and force him to reexamine the course he would travel. In his own words written in his journal, he tells a tale few were willing to hear or even consider. There are always two sides to a story after reading this one; you may ask yourself “whose shadow do you cast?”

FAIRY TALES FROM BRAZIL

Author: Various

Publisher: Abela Publishing Ltd

ISBN: 1909302589

Category: Travel

Page: 136

View: 4782


It is late afternoon in a Brazilian garden. The dazzling blue of sea and sky which characterises a tropical noonday has become subdued and already roseate tints are beginning to prepare the glory of the sunset hour. A lizard crawls lazily up the whitewashed wall. The song of the sabiá, that wonderful Brazilian thrush, sounds from the royal palm tree. The air is heavy with the perfume of the orange blossom. There is no long twilight in the tropics. Night will leap down suddenly upon this garden from out of the glory of the sunset sky. Theresa, the ama, stands before us on the terrace under the mango trees, and we, her yáyázinhas and yóyózinhos, know that the story hour has come. For to sit at the feet of Theresa, the ama, is to pass, from this world, through the gates of story land. It should be noted that there are not many volumes of Brazilian Folklore to be found. But within this unique volume of Brazilian Fairy Tales, you will find 18 stories from that vast and amazing country. Tales like How Night Came, How the Rabbit Lost His Tail, How the Toad Got His Bruises, Why the Lamb Is Meek and many more. Residents of the Amazonian forests know that the animals of the forest and the birds which flit through the trees each have their own language. To them the beasts break silence and talk like humans. For them, the magic wonders of these tales stand forth as testament and living truth that the animals do speak to humans, if only we would take the time to stop and listen to what they have to say. This little volume is an interpretation of a few of the stories they have told. 33% of the net income from the sale of this book will be donated to charities in Brazil.

Thieves, Beasts & Men

Author: Shan Leah

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1950994082

Category: Fiction

Page: 264

View: 2417


** AMERICAN FICTION AWARD FINALIST FOR BEST NEW FICTION 2021 ** For Fans of Emily Fridlund's History of Wolves and Fiona Mozley's Elmet. This stunning debut uses the irresistible scenario of a hermit living in near-complete self-sufficiency in the wilderness, and asks the universally relevant question: what is the value of existing within a civilization when it is fraught with evil? Adelaide has lived a long, solitary existence in the Blue Ridge Mountains. On the verge of ending it all, she discovers two feral children raiding her garden and rescues them in a misguided attempt at a new life. Now she must find a way to care for children who are more beast than human. They only communicate with chirps and grunts, and they pine for their feral mother. When dangerous men and a wild woman emerge from the darkness in pursuit, Adelaide faces a grueling choice. She can release the children back to the wild, saving her own life but losing everything she has grown to love, or fight to defend her new family, risking the death she no longer seeks. Thieves, Beasts & Men asks who are the thieves in this story? Who are the beasts? And what, ultimately, defines humanity?

The Readers’ Advisory Guide to Historical Fiction

Author: Jennifer S. Baker

Publisher: American Library Association

ISBN: 083891165X

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 352

View: 3023


Whether set in ancient Egypt, Feudal Japan, the Victorian Age, or Civil War-era America, historical fiction places readers squarely at the center of fascinating times and places, making it one of the most popular genres in contemporary publishing. The definitive resource for librarians and other book professionals, this guideProvides an overview of historical fiction’s roots, highlighting foundational classics, and explores the genre in terms of its scope and styleCovers the latest and most popular authors and titlesDiscusses appeal characteristics and shows how librarians can use a reader's favorite qualities to make suggestionsIncludes lists of recommendations, with a compendium of print and web-based resourcesOffers marketing tips for getting the word out to readersEmphasizing an appreciation of historical fiction in its many forms and focusing on what fans enjoy, this guide provides a fresh take on a durable genre.

The War Between the Two Beasts and the Two Witnesses

Author: Antoninus King Wai Siew

Publisher: A&C Black

ISBN: 0567030210

Category: Religion

Page: 331

View: 6658


Siew seeks to examine the events that will unfold within the three and a half years before the dawn of the kingdom of God on earth. He argues that John composed the textual unit of Rev 11:1--14:5 as a coherent and unified literary unit structured in a macro-chiasm. He pays special attention to the fusion of form and content and seeks to elucidate how the concentric and chiastic pattern informs the meaning of the literary units within 11:1--14:5, and proposes that the text of 11:1--14:5 is best analyzed using Hebraic literary conventions, devices, and compositional techniques such as chiasm, parallelism, parataxis, and structural parallelism. The macro-chiastic pattern provides the literary-structural framework for John to portray that the events of the last three and a half years unfold on earth as a result of what transpires in heaven. Specifically, the war in heaven between Michael and the dragon has earthly ramifications. The outcome of the heavenly war where Satan is defeated and thrown out of heaven to earth results in the war on earth between the two beasts of Rev 13 and the two witnesses of Rev 11. The narrative of the war in heaven (12:7-12) is seen as the pivot of the macro-chiastic structure. Siew pays close attention to the time-period of the three-and-a-half years as a temporal and structural marker which functions to unite the various units in 11:1--14:5 into a coherent and integral whole. The events of the last days will be centred in Jerusalem.

The Travels of Sir John Mandeville

Author: John Mandeville

Publisher: Courier Corporation

ISBN: 0486147398

Category: Travel

Page: 288

View: 2002


This fascinating work, ostensibly written to encourage and instruct pilgrims traveling to biblical lands, recounts the author's alleged experiences in the Holy Land, India, China, and beyond.