Into the Raging Sea: Thirty-three mariners, one megastorm and the sinking of El Faro

Author: Rachel Slade

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN: 0008302456

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 416

View: 5654


In the tradition of The Perfect Storm and Into Thin Air, Rachel Slade’s Into the Raging Sea is a nail-biting account of the sinking of the container ship El Faro, the crew of thirty-three who perished onboard, and the destructive forces of globalisation that put the ship in harm’s way.

The Legend of SeaWalker

Author: Wyland

Publisher: Morgan James Publishing

ISBN: 1642799599

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 2890


The Legend of SeaWalker unfolds in Wyland’s imagination, and his many diving adventures throughout the world. This is the first book in the trilogy of SeaWalker’s adventures — and readers won’t want to miss it! A young baby, SeaWalker, is lost at sea in the Bermuda Triangle where he is rescued by a family of dolphins. Miraculously, they take him to the deepest part of the ocean where he metamorphizes into a new species of sea creature who is able to communicate telepathically with all the creatures of the sea, from the largest blue whales to the smallest crustaceans. Born to bridge the two worlds above and below the ocean, SeaWalker not only survives the harsh ocean environment, but soon becomes the leader of his dolphin tribe. His epic journey not only takes him to the deepest depths of the sea but leads to incredible encounters with space aliens’ sinister plans for all life on earth.

Wish

Author: Brent Rieger

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 130448128X

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 764


Sea of Sharks

Author: Elmer Renner,Ken Birks

Publisher: Naval Institute Press

ISBN: 1612515045

Category: History

Page: 272

View: 7315


Caught off Okinawa in the fiercest typhoon in history at the end of World War II. Elmer Renner, then a young officer aboard a US minesweeper, recounts the horror of his ship sinking. Renner and eight other sailors clung to a small raft for days, battling thirst, hunger, shark attacks and, eventually, madness. Renner and co-author Ken Birks describe the men's panic as distant ships seemingly ignore their desperate calls, the sea turning blood red when one of the men loses his life to a shark, and how another slips silently away into the unforgiving Pacific.

Asura : Tale of the Vanquished

Author: Anand Neelakantan

Publisher: One Point Six Technology Pvt Ltd

ISBN: 938157605X

Category: Fiction

Page: 504

View: 7552


The epic tale of victory and defeat... The story of the Ramayana had been told innumerable times. The enthralling story of Rama, the incarnation of God, who slew Ravana, the evil demon of darkness, is known to every Indian. And in the pages of history, as always, it is the version told by the victors, that lives on. The voice of the vanquished remains lost in silence. But what if Ravana and his people had a different story to tell? The story of the Ravanayana had never been told. Asura is the epic tale of the vanquished Asura people, a story that has been cherished by the oppressed outcastes of India for 3000 years. Until now, no Asura has dared to tell the tale. But perhaps the time has come for the dead and the defeated to speak. "For thousands of years, I have been vilified and my death is celebrated year after year in every corner of India. Why? Was it because I challenged the Gods for the sake of my daughter? Was it because I freed a race from the yoke of caste-based Deva rule? You have heard the victor's tale, the Ramayana. Now hear the Ravanayana, for I am Ravana, the Asura, and my story is the tale of the vanquished." "I am a non-entity-invisible, powerless and negligible. No epics will ever be written about me. I have suffered both Ravana and Rama - the hero and the villain or the villain and the hero. When the stories of great men are told, my voice maybe too feeble to be heard. Yet, spare me a moment and hear my story, for I am Bhadra, the Asura, and my life is the tale of the loser." The ancient Asura empire lay shattered into many warring petty kingdoms reeling under the heel of the Devas. In desperation, the Asuras look up to a young saviour-Ravana. Believing that a better world awaits them under Ravana, common men like Bhadra decide to follow the young leader. With a will of iron and a fiery ambition to succeed, Ravana leads his people from victory to victory and carves out a vast empire from the Devas. But even when Ravana succeeds spectacularly, the poor Asuras find that nothing much has changed for them. It is when that Ravana, by one action, changes the history of the world.

The Nature of Shamanism and the Shamanic Story

Author: Michael Berman

Publisher: Cambridge Scholars Publishing

ISBN: 1443808148

Category: Social Science

Page: 175

View: 7737


The book makes out a case for the introduction of a new genre of tale, the shamanic story, which has either been based on or inspired by a shamanic journey, or contains a number of the elements that are typical of such a journey. The stories featured are the Book of Jonah from the Old Testament, two traditional stories from the Republic of Georgia–The Earth will take its Own and Davit, a contemporary German tale Bundles, and the Korean story of Shimchong, the Blindman’s Daughter. By making use of textual material from a number of different cultures and times, the intention is to highlight the pervasive influence shamanism has had and to show how the “new” genre being proposed is a universal one. The research questions addressed include 1) defining what shamanism is, deciding whether it should be classified as a religion, a methodology or a way of life 2) considering whether a case can be made out for the introduction of a new genre of tale and, if so, what its characteristics are. It is hoped the book will be of interest not only to those involved in the study of shamanism but also to those whose interest is in the study of literary texts. Since the old bearers of shamanic traditions quite often were, and even today are, illiterate, the study of their folklore–epic songs, laments, narratives–undoubtedly provides a rich source for research.

The Power of Prayer

Author: Kathy Robinson

Publisher: Xulon Press

ISBN: 1597816280

Category: Religion

Page: 64

View: 4692


Chatterbox

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 2251