It's All in Your Head

Author: Mark C. Pettus

Publisher: Capital Books

ISBN: 9781933102221

Category: Health & Fitness

Page: 354

View: 1510


One of America's top physicians* offers his four-week plan for reprogramming your brain to become "addicted to health."

It's All in Your Head

Author: Hal A. Huggins

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 9780895295507

Category: Health & Fitness

Page: 218

View: 1600


Mercury is one of the world’s most poisonous substances, and yet dentists routinely use it in amalgams to fill our teeth. Forty years ago, Dr. Hal Huggins questioned this practice, and now legions of dentists, researchers, and citizens are adding their voices of concern. It’s All in Your Head looks at past research on mercury toxicity and dental amalgams as well as current scientific findings that can no longer be ignored. It describes the possible effects of mercury toxicity, including multiple sclerosis, Alzheimer’s disease, Hodgkin’s disease, Chronic Fatigue Syndrome, and virtually all autoimmune disorders. Written in easy-to-understand language, It’s All in Your Head explodes the claim that mercury amalgams are safe. If you think your worries are all in your head, you may be right.

It's All in Your Head

Author: Suzanne O'Sullivan

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1473511437

Category: Psychology

Page: 336

View: 8838


A neurologist explores the very real world of psychosomatic illness. Pauline first became ill when she was fifteen. What seemed to be a urinary infection became joint pain, then life-threatening appendicitis. After a routine operation Pauline lost all the strength in her legs. Shortly afterwards, convulsions started. But Pauline’s tests are normal: her symptoms seem to have no physical cause whatsoever. This may be an extreme case, but Pauline is not alone. As many as a third of people visiting their GP have symptoms that are medically unexplained. In most, an emotional root is suspected which is often the last thing a patient wants to hear and a doctor to say. We accept our hearts can flutter with excitement and our brows can sweat with nerves, but on this journey into the very real world of psychosomatic illness, Suzanne O'Sullivan finds the secrets we are all capable of keeping from ourselves. ‘A fascinating glimpse into the human condition... a forceful call for society to be more open about such suffering’ Daily Mail ‘Honest, fascinating and necessary’ The Times

It's All in Your Head

Author: Maria McCutchen

Publisher: Tate Publishing

ISBN: 1613460716

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 280

View: 1911


Maria McCutchen did not have time to be sick. With a husband who had just lost a job, two young sons, and a cross-country move on the horizon, who had time to be sick? Maria didn't have time for a common cold, let alone a major medical condition. But one day while shopping in the grocery store where she had shopped hundreds of times before, she couldn't find the milk. It was then she knew what she was feeling was more than just stress or exhaustion. There was something very wrong. After consulting a few doctors, Maria discovered she had a rare brain cyst known as a posterior fossa arachnoid cyst-a very large brain cyst. Hearing these cysts were normally asymptomatic was of little comfort, especially because she felt her mind and body slipping away more and more every day. Normal mental and physical functions were becoming harder to control. Even if the doctors didn't believe the cyst was a problem, she knew it was. It would take months of living inside a shell of a person that she'd become, months of living in a mental fogginess and sometimes even physical pain, before she would finally get the medical attention she needed. It's All in Your Head chronicles her harrowing medical odyssey and her attempts to regain some sort of semblance of her old life after treatment.

It's All In Your Head

Author: Rae Earl

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1526360802

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 288

View: 412


"A warm hug of a book ... a true gem" Buzzfeed This witty, honest and enlightening guide to the whirrings of your brain is the perfect read for any young person who's ever felt overwhelmed, at a loss or in a downward spiral. From the author of My Mad Fat Diary, Rae Earl, it's full of friendly advice, coping strategies and laugh-out-loud moments to get you through the difficult days. Most of all, this is a book from someone who gets it - someone who won't try and fob you off with confusing jargon or irritating slogans, but instead will help you through it with a smile and a cup of tea on hand. Rae says: As a teenager, I was very adept at hiding my OCD, my anxiety, my depression and my eating disorders. That's why I've written this book - because I hate to think of any teen going through what I did, and feeling like they can't talk about it, or need to hide it. So let's break down some taboos and start a conversation. I want to help you come out the other side feeling happier and healthier, with a deeper understanding of what's going on in your head and how to navigate through life without feeling overwhelmed or isolated. Where my lack of medical background becomes an issue, Dr Radha swoops in to the rescue. As a GP, mental-health expert and co-host of BBC Radio 1's The Surgery, I've worked with her to make sure all the information and advice is spot-on. She's clever, she's kind and she GETS it. I wish my teenage brain had had access to Dr Radha. This is a book for fans of Gemma Cairney and Open, Ruby Wax and Frazzled, Matt Haig and Reasons to Stay Alive, Bryony Gordon and Mad Girl. And most importantly, it's a book to make you feel like you're not alone. You're really, really not.

It’S All in Your Head

Author: SIMPLY SHARON

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 146707828X

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 164

View: 9413


From the harrowing journal notes of a suffering woman in the throes of mold/mycotoxins injustice, comes the real life mold saga of the Pawlak family. A courageous, God fearing family of four finds themselves crossing over from home owners to homeless, the week our nation was bombed due to what TIME magazine called the Biblical plague of the century, MOLD! Come peer into the life of a family that lost it all, their home, personal belongings, finances, jobs, friends and almost their lives. Mold victims, survivors and ultimately emerging as a more than conquerors family, ITS ALL IN YOUR HEAD brings to life the painful realism of toxic injury due to mold /mycotoxin exposure as well as addressing the social stigma of the horrendous myth that mold is nontoxic. ITS ALL IN YOUR HEAD resonates with passion, inspiration and a spirit of determination to hang onto your healing and each other and watch something incredibly AWESOME come out of something horribly wrong. This book will challenge your thinking and perhaps you will no longer think, Its all in your head! Great resource section for: Multiple Chemical Sensitivity/Environmental Illness, mold toxicity, chemical toxicity, healthy homes, physician referrals, much more!

Its Not All In Your Head: Unearthing Th

Author: Tony Giordano

Publisher: John Hunt Publishing

ISBN: 1846945992

Category: Psychology

Page: 256

View: 4781


Only by discovering the origin of his depression in childhood trauma was Tony Giordano able to defeat this misunderstood illness.

Meningioma, It's all in your head!!

Author: Sharon Brubaker

Publisher: Sharon Brubaker

ISBN: N.A

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 105

View: 9448


You or someone you know has just been diagnosed with a type of brain tumor called a meningioma. “Don't let it scare you”! In the United States alone, meningioma tumors account for more than 37% of primary brain tumors. An estimated 34,210 people will be diagnosed with meningioma this year. Depending on the size and location, you will have several options. It will be monitored because it's small and currently stable or it needs to be removed. Yes, it is a wake-up call, to hear those words you have a brain tumor. Believe me: it is okay. You will be surprised how much better you will feel once you learn more about this particular tumor.

It's Not All in Your Head

Author: Gordon J. G. Asmundson,Steven Taylor

Publisher: Guilford Press

ISBN: 9781606238134

Category: Psychology

Page: 212

View: 6023


Where do you go for help when no one believes you're really sick? The doctors can’t explain your symptoms, but you know there’s something wrong because you can sense it in your body. Living with the specter of an unresolved health issue isn't just painful, it's isolating. The preoccupation and stress it causes can disrupt your career or interfere with personal relationships. If you continually experience symptoms of illness, or worry a lot about disease, you may be suffering from health anxiety--a condition that can produce physical effects of its own, including muscle tension, nausea, and a quickened heart rate. In this compassionate and empowering book, noted psychologists Gordon J. G. Asmundson and Steven Taylor provide simple and accurate self-tests designed to help you understand health anxiety and the role it might be playing in how you feel. Concrete examples and helpful exercises show you how to change thought and behavior patterns that contribute to the aches, pains, and anxiety you're experiencing. The authors also explain how to involve friends and family--and when to seek professional help--as you learn to stay well without worry. Association for Behavioral and Cognitive Therapies (ABCT) Self-Help Book of Merit

It's All in the Head

Author: Majella O'Donnell

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1471139336

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 293

View: 4699


In September 2013, on the Late Late Showin front of an audience of more than half a million, Majella O'Donnell had her hair shaved off and raised a phenomenal 600,000 euros for the Irish Cancer Society. It was a public declaration from a private woman, a statement of enormous courage in her fight against breast cancer. In this searingly moving and empowering memoir, Majella takes the reader on a journey through her life to that point. It begins with her childhood in the 1960s, growing up in a small town in Ireland, her early love of music and dreams of a future full of hope and excitement, only to be dashed by a broken marriage and an uphill battle with depression. Her confidence and self-esteem at a low ebb, Majella decided to take charge of her own life and make a fresh start. Then destiny lent a hand when she met Daniel O'Donnell, and their marriage in 2002 brought her immense happiness and fulfilment. It was a decade or so later that tragedy struck, with the diagnosis of breast cancer. This is the compelling story of a woman made extraordinary by the courage with which she faced her greatest challenge. A woman who has learned about life the hard way, but who, with the love and support of her family and her husband Daniel, and the public by her side, has come through with a force of character and a deep-seated determination that will inspire us all.