Jasmine in Paris

Author: Clare Flynn

Publisher: Cranbrook Press

ISBN: 1914479076

Category: Fiction

Page: 321

View: 2953


Art, love and betrayal, against the rich backdrop of 1950s Paris Desperate to make her mark as an artist and prove herself as an independent woman, Jasmine Barrington heads for Paris and a place at the prestigious Beaux Arts school. Following in the footsteps of former students like Renoir and Degas, she immerses herself in her studies by day and discovers the cafés and bars of the left bank by night. But life in the City of Light is far from easy. Will the challenges and discipline of the classical training regime crush Jasmine’s creative spirit, and will her charismatic teacher, Lachlan, break her heart? Meanwhile, on the other side of the world, Howard, the man to whom she owes her life, faces the daily dangers of the Malayan Emergency without so much as a postcard to fuel his fading hope that Jasmine might one day return to Penang. From the creative whirlpool of post-war Paris to the war-torn jungles of the Malayan peninsula, Jasmine in Paris is the latest in Flynn’s award-winning Penang series. Key themes art, art history, art school, atelier, atelier system, classical drawing, life in the 1950s, living in Paris, Latin Quarter, Quartier Latin, Left Bank, Louvre, Parisian life, Parisian lifestyle, artists, studying art, Boulevard St Germain, Paris, Penang, Georgetown, Johore, rubber plantations, rubber planter, rubber planter's wife, Malaysia, Malayan Emergency, civil war, post war Paris, Les Halles, Ecole des Beaux-Arts, classical sculpture, classical drawing, 1950s, 1949, French postwar cinema, French film star, love story Paris, romantic fiction in Paris, historical fiction in Paris, literary fiction in Paris, Jean-Paul Sartre, Simone de Beauvoir, Gerard Philipe, Marseille, James Baldwin, Paris jazz 1950, Café Flore, Les Deux Magots, Montparnasse, Bagatelle Gardens Paris, Bois de Boulogne, Ceylon, Colombo, Sri Lanka, terrorism in 1950s, communism, primitive art, naïve art, Amrita Sher-Gil, Les Enfants du Paradis, Marcel Carné, Passy, Paris Métro, novel set in Paris,

Somethin' to Think About

Author: Damon R. Green

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 1440175861

Category: Fiction

Page: 264

View: 4307


Somethin to Think About by Damon R Green is a bold novel that separates itself from the rest by its intoxicating allure. This prolific writer, whose street credibility speaks volumes, has created a novel that has it all: fame, fortune and power. These things make life magnificent, but they come with a price. Too often, the actual costs exceeds the worth and sacrifice needed to get them. You have to confront the faces of betrayal, death and the stark reality that you could spend the rest of your life in prison. Realizing this can be devastating. Its a game where there is plenty to lose and few win. Its a game where todays gangstas become tomorrows rats and yesterdays love of your life becomes tomorrows betrayal. Your right hand man that you unconsciously treated better than your own blood transforms into your archenemy! In this tale, Damon R. Green take the reader on a journey of twist and turns, which will leave readers, men, women and children alike, with Somethin to Think About. Youll fine every element of the streets, both past and current; exist in the depths of these pages. After experiencing this novel, if you find yourself thinking that Momma never said that life would be so rough, you wont be able to say that Damon R. Green didnt tell you.

Knights of Labor

Author: ,VCP

Publisher: Page Publishing Inc

ISBN: 1662466897

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 538

View: 3055


The battle against the Tailores is on the verge of ending. The Knights of Labor have worked four long years to put an end to their greatest adversaries, but one person stands in their way. One of their members has a dark secret which shows her as an ally to the Tailores, and she has to wipe away all the evidence of her ties with the gang. Little does she know someone knows her secret and will bring it to the light. Her obsession with finding this person will lead her to going against some of her closest friends, but she must do what it takes to have her name in the clear. At the same time, the Knights of Labor realize there’s a traitor in their midst, and they desire to know who. They are also working hard to find this traitor. With them in pursuit of the truth, and she working hard to destroy the truth, who will be the last man standing?

The Chalky Sea

Author: Clare Flynn

Publisher: Cranbrook Press

ISBN: N.A

Category: Fiction

Page: 350

View: 3038


The first novel in this sweeping epic series set during and after World War 2 Two troubled people in a turbulent world In July 1940, Gwen Collingwood says goodbye to her husband at the railway station, knowing she may never see him again as he leaves for a destination unknown. Two days later, her humdrum world is torn apart when the sleepy English seaside town where she lives is hit by the first of many heavy German bombing raids. In Ontario, Canada, Jim Armstrong is debating whether to volunteer for the army. His decision becomes obvious when he uncovers the secret his fiancée and his brother have been hiding. Rocked by this terrible betrayal, a few weeks later he is in uniform on a ship bound for England. Gwen is forced to confront the truth she has concealed about her past and her own feelings. Jim battles with a bewildering and hostile world far removed from the cosy life of his Canadian farm. War brings horror and loss to each of them – can it also bring change and salvation? From the author of The Pearl of Penang and A Greater World, the first volume of this epic and moving series. Topics: World War 2, British war on the home front, Canadians at war, The Candians, Canada, Aldershot, British army, Canadian army, Eastbourne, seaside towns, England in WW2, life on the home front in WW2, Sussex, wartime England, bombings, Canadians in WW2, marriage, love story, romantic fiction, historical fiction, historical romance, historical novel, twentieth century love story, 20th century romance, WVS, womens Voluntary Service, women in second world war, love, strong heroine, family strife, female friendship, saga, romantic family saga, romantic suspense, romance books, historical books, historical novel, wartime fiction, war, air raids, Nazi Germany, Hitler, Beachy Head, life in the Blitz, family life, marital tensions, illegitimate child, unexpected pregnancy, falling in love, coping with bereavement, life in England, book set in Eastbourne, Perfect for fans of Tracy Chevalier, Fiona Valpy, Deborah Swift, Jenny Ashcroft, Petra Durst-Benning, Nicola Cornick, Janet MacLeod Trotter, Jean Grainger, Marion Kummerow, Kate Furnivall, Kristin Hannah. Sharon Maas, Anna Jacobs, Helen Carey, Catherine Hokin, Sarah Lark, Tania Crosse, Rhys Bowen, Angela Petch, Hazel Gaynor, Jean Fullerton, Katie Flynn, Maureen Lee, Helen Forrester, Nadine Dorries, Elizabeth Murphy, Pam Howes, Lyn Andrews, Ann Baker, Ruth Hamilton, Annie Groves, Ann Bennett, Molly Green,

Jasmine in Paris

Author: Clare Flynn

Publisher: Cranbrook Press

ISBN: 9781914479083

Category: Fiction

Page: 324

View: 9191


Art, love and betrayal, against the rich backdrop of 1950s Paris Desperate to make her mark as an artist and prove herself as an independent woman, Jasmine Barrington heads for Paris and a place at the prestigious Beaux Arts school. Following in the footsteps of former students like Renoir and Degas, she immerses herself in her studies by day and discovers the cafés and bars of the left bank by night. But life in the City of Light is far from easy. Will the challenges and discipline of the classical training regime crush Jasmine's creative spirit, and will her charismatic teacher, Lachlan, break her heart? Meanwhile, on the other side of the world, Howard, the man to whom she owes her life, faces the daily dangers of the Malayan Emergency without so much as a postcard to fuel his fading hope that Jasmine might one day return to Penang. From the creative whirlpool of post-war Paris to the war-torn jungles of the Malayan peninsula, Jasmine in Paris is the latest in Flynn's award-winning Penang series.

Oxford Practice Grammar Basic with answers

Author: Norman Coe,Mark Harrison,Ken Paterson

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: 0194836622

Category: Foreign Language Study

Page: 264

View: 2543


Business Result Second Edition offers business professionals more communication and language practice than ever before, helping students develop relevant communication skills they can use immediately in the workplace.

Jasmin

Author: Samuel Smiles

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: 344

View: 6616


Timeline

Author: Alicia Hurst Roberts

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN: 1450032869

Category: Fiction

Page: 94

View: 9442


This “tattletale” story winds round about with tales of poisonings and detective work. Venus was a pawn used against her loving parents for over a decade. Her heart broke a little as Gretta recounted poisoning Faith systematically and Elijah’s health issues after Venus’s business deal went sour. Gretta Graves grinned as she talked about Elijah’s asthma. “People die from asthma too,” she commented to Venus on a moonlit night—then continued to tell the story slowly, methodically, and in detail. Venus felt hatred rising to her throat. She wasn’t sure how she would get out—Gretta’s plan started unraveling.

Jasmin Barber, Poet, Philanthropist

Author: Samuel Smiles

Publisher: ReadHowYouWant.com

ISBN: 1425047696

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 372

View: 9338


An extraordinary biographical work by Samuel Smiles who is famous for his social activities, books and articles. Published in 1891, it gives an in-depth account of the life of French poet and philanthropist Jaques Jasmin. Outstanding for its character-portrayal, it is a must-read!

The Other Side of Dare

Author: Vanessa Davis Griggs

Publisher: Kensington Publishing Corp.

ISBN: 0758286198

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 3285


When a battle of wills threatens to tear a family apart, a child shall lead them--straight to a shocking secret. Will they betray their faith--and each other--to keep it buried? After seven years of marriage, Paris Simmons-Holyfield and her husband, Andrew, are still childless. Now Paris is determined to adopt orphaned nine-year-old Jasmine Noble. Trouble is, Jasmine's in the custody of ex-stripper Gabrielle Mercedes. Worse, Andrew is vehemently against the idea--and he's not alone. Paris's father, Lawrence Simmons, a powerful politician, has vowed to shut his daughter down. The only man to even dare be on Paris's side is shady Darius Connors. Unemployed and not quite out of the dog house with his wife, Darius is more than happy to help the beautiful, vulnerable, yet undeterred Paris. . . Paris has her suspicions about why her husband and her father are so opposed to the adoption. But the reality is far more scandalous than she imagines. To get to the bottom of it, she'll have to deal with blackmail from the last person she ever expected--and battle Gabrielle, who'll fight with everything she's got--including the truth. Soon, all involved will learn just what's on the other side of dare. . . "I absolutely love Vanessa's unique writing style." --Mary Monroe