Keane

Author: Eoin O'Callaghan

Publisher: Mercier Press Ltd

ISBN: 1781177325

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 288

View: 1532


Pick your favourite Roy Keane moment. The header against Juventus? The tunnel clash with Patrick Vieira? The bone-crunching challenge on Marc Overmars at Lansdowne Road? All worthy choices that complement his aggressive, combative warrior persona. But that was Version 2.0. Keane: Origins delves into the inexplicable story of what came before. Focusing on the period between 1988 and 1993, charting Keane's journey from an economically-ravaged Cork to a spectacular three-season spell under Brian Clough at Nottingham Forest via a memorable stint on a government-funded training scheme and brief spell in the League of Ireland. With contributions from former team-mates, coaches and those who knew him best, Keane: Origins examines a largely over-looked, under-appreciated and unheralded time in the legendary midfielder's career that set him on the path to immortality.

Keane

Author: Dale Mayer

Publisher: Valley Publishing Ltd.

ISBN: 1773362968

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 8212


Heading out on a last-ditch rescue mission to Puget Sound one day after two women go overboard in a sailing accident isn’t exactly what he’d expected … But Keane is nothing if not adaptable. He can only hope the two women are alive and doing everything they can to stay that way. Hearing from the local coast guard that more may be involved than just a rescue mission, he and his partner load up and head out to search the waters around the smaller islands off the coast. They have the GPS of the missing women’s last-known location, but storms could have sent them anywhere … Lost, alone—except for her best friend, who’s unconscious with a head wound—Sandrine wakes up in a small shelter to find they are locked in. When the door is finally opened, an armed stranger dressed in fatigues dumps a small amount of food and says they are on their own. Finding the women was one thing, keeping them safe something else again. More is going on in this small island that any of them were expecting … or had planned for …

Citizen Keane

Author: Cletus Nelson,Adam Parfrey

Publisher: Feral House

ISBN: 1936239965

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 200

View: 3955


Teary, big-eyed orphans and a multitude of trashy knockoffs epitomized American kitsch art as they clogged thrift stores for decades. When Adam Parfrey tracked down Walter Keane—the credited artist of the weepy waifs, for a San Diego Reader cover story in 1992—he discovered some shocking facts. Decades of lawsuits and countersuits revealed the reality that Keane was more of a con man than an artist, and that he forced his wife Margaret to sign his name to her own paintings. As a result, those weepy waifs may not have been as capricious an invention as they seemed. Parfrey's story was reprinted in Juxtapoz magazine and inspired a Margaret Keane exhibition at the Laguna Art Museum. And now director Tim Burton is filming a movie about the Keanes called Big Eyes, and it's scheduled for release in 2014. Burton's Ed Wood, starring Johnny Depp, was based upon the Feral House book edited and published by Parfrey about the angora sweater-wearing B-film director. Citizen Keane is a book-length expansion of Parfrey's original article, providing fascinating biographical and sociological details, photographs, color reproductions, and appendices with legal documents and pseudonymous essays by Tom Wolfe inflating big eye art to those painted by the great masters.

Keane's Company

Author: Iain Gale

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1780873638

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 3578


Meet James Keane: loveable rogue and unlikely hero. 'Wonderfully imaginative' Bernard Cornwell, author of The Last Kingdom. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow and Bernard Cornwell. James Keane - card sharp and ladies' man - is one of the finest soldiers of Wellington's army. Keane - hot-tempered, a maverick, never quite accepted by his fellow officers - is in trouble for killing his man in a duel: an activity forbidden by Wellington. To avoid court martial, he takes on an unwelcome assignment: to form an ill-assorted bunch of reprobates into an elite unit capable of operating behind the lines. A nineteenth-century Dirty Dozen.

Keane's Challenge

Author: Iain Gale

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1780873654

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 8695


'Wonderfully imaginative' Bernard Cornwell, author of The Last Kingdom. James Keane strikes again with this thrilling second instalment in the series. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow and Bernard Cornwell. French troops led by one of Napoleon's best generals are massing on the border. Wellington's outnumbered force needs to pick off the smaller French units if they are to stand their ground. For that they need information, which is where Captain James Keane and his company of reformed scouting officers come in. But it soon becomes apparent that someone high up in Wellington's headquarters is a spy for the French...and Keane's enemies within the army are quick to point the finger. Keane must defend his crew against their accusers - or root out the traitor himself.

The Keane Collection

Author: Iain Gale

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1784296341

Category: Fiction

Page: 967

View: 7844


'Wonderfully imaginative' Bernard Cornwell, author of The Last Kingdom. All of James Keane in one thrilling collection. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow and Bernard Cornwell. Book 1 - Keane's Company James Keane - card sharp and ladies' man - is one of the finest soldiers of Wellington's army. Keane - hot-tempered, a maverick, never quite accepted by his fellow officers - is in trouble for killing his man in a duel: an activity forbidden by Wellington. To avoid court martial, he takes on an unwelcome assignment: to form an ill-assorted bunch of reprobates into an elite unit capable of operating behind the lines. A nineteenth-century Dirty Dozen. Book 2 - Keane's Challenge French troops led by one of Napoleon's best generals are massing on the border. Wellington's outnumbered force needs to pick off the smaller French units if they are to stand their ground. For that they need information, which is where Captain Keane and his company of reformed scouting officers come in. But it soon becomes apparent that someone high up in Wellington's headquarters is a spy for the French...and Keane's enemies within the army are quick to point the finger. Keane must defend his crew against their accusers - or root out the traitor himself. Book 3 - Keane's Charge The intrepid band of warriors, led by Captain James Keane, have been given their toughest job yet. The Portuguese university city of Coimbra is in ruins. Infiltrating the streets are untrustworthy Spanish guerrilla fighters, local Portuguese out for revenge and rival spies determined to find the famous book of ciphers, hidden in the city and guarded by a dissident Jesuit group. James Keane and his men must prevent the book falling into enemy hands but also to discover which of the guerrilla groups can be trusted. But this means sometimes following their own instincts over Wellington's orders . . . can Keane capture the book without sacrificing his honour, position and repuatation?

Molly Keane

Author: Sally Phipps

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0349007551

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 352

View: 7108


Molly Keane (1904 - 96) was an Irish novelist and playwright (born in County Kildare) most famous for Good Behaviour which was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize. Hailed as the Irish Nancy Mitford in her day; as well as writing books she was the leading playwright of the '30s, her work directed by John Gielgud. Between 1928 and 1956, she wrote eleven novels, and some of her earlier plays, under the pseudonym M.J. Farrell. In 1981, aged seventy, she published Good Behaviour under her own name. The manuscript, which had languished in a drawer for many years, was lent to a visitor, the actress Peggy Ashcroft, who encouraged Keane to publish it. Molly Keane's novels reflect the world she inhabited; she was from a 'rather serious hunting and fishing, church-going family'. She was educated, as was the custom in Anglo-Irish households, by a series of governesses and then at boarding school. Distant and awkward relationships between children and their parents would prove to be a recurring theme for Keane. Maggie O'Farrell wrote that 'she writes better than anyone else about the mother-daughter relationship, in all its thorny, fraught, inescapable complexity.' Here, for the first time, is her biography and, written by one of her two daughters, it provides an honest portrait of a fascinating, complicated woman who was a brilliant writer and a portrait of the Anglo-Irish world of the first half of the twentieth century.

Social, Cultural, and Psychological Resonance in John B. Keane’s The Field

Author: Brian Devaney

Publisher: Cambridge Scholars Publishing

ISBN: 1527510468

Category: Drama

Page: 238

View: 8925


This book explores the drama of John B. Keane and focuses on his best-known play, The Field, in an examination of the cultural and psychological resonances present in his work. From the changing social, political, and economic contexts of the play’s genesis, to present-day austerity and malaise, The Field remains a popular and relevant piece of theatre, and in this publication possible motivations behind such popularity and relevance are posited. Unconscious resonant processes of identification at play within The Field are explored through the application of psychological and post-colonial filters, and the analysis of Keane’s representations of gender, both masculine and feminine, with strong reference to socio-historical contexts throughout. By doing so, further ways of re-reading Keane’s works are suggested, thereby encouraging a re-appraisal of an often critically overlooked Irish playwright. The examination of the concept of ‘resonance’, which is at the core of this book, provides a unique insight into Keane’s drama and how it interacts with the public at large. Through the modes of analysis of The Field employed in this work, further methods of reading Keane’s other dramas are suggested, and thus, this book is essential reading for anyone with an interest in Keane, Irish drama, or for that matter, the field of Irish studies itself.

Nomination of John G. Keane

Author: United States. Congress. Senate. Committee on Governmental Affairs

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: 12

View: 9702


The Keane Edge

Author: Brian Keane

Publisher: Gill & Macmillan Ltd

ISBN: 0717191389

Category: Self-Help

Page: 336

View: 7851


Brian Keane’s philosophy is simple: any diet will work so long as you stick to it. His goal is clear: to help you find the mindset and unique personal motivation that will enable you to stick to your fitness and nutrition plan and become leaner, stronger and healthier. Ireland’s leading fitness podcaster has already helped thousands of people lose body fat and change their relationship with food. By getting your mindset right first, achieving your nutrition and fitness goals becomes simple and possible as never before, giving you the edge on real, lasting fat loss for life. ‘Full of tips and tools to help you master your mindset and discover what works best for your health and fitness.’Anna Geary ‘Inspiring, helpful and full of facts.’ Trisha Lewis ‘Brian’s passion for health and fitness shines through.’Karl Henry