Look Alive Out There

Author: Sloane Crosley

Publisher: MCD

ISBN: 0374711801

Category: Literary Collections

Page: 256

View: 6292


Sloane Crosley returns to the form that made her a household name in really quite a lot of households: Essays! From the New York Times–bestselling author Sloane Crosley comes Look Alive Out There—a brand-new collection of essays filled with her trademark hilarity, wit, and charm. The characteristic heart and punch-packing observations are back, but with a newfound coat of maturity. A thin coat. More of a blazer, really. Fans of I Was Told There’d Be Cake and How Did You Get This Number know Sloane Crosley’s life as a series of relatable but madcap misadventures. In Look Alive Out There, whether it’s playing herself on Gossip Girl,scaling active volcanoes, crashing shivas, befriending swingers, or staring down the barrel of the fertility gun, Crosley continues to rise to the occasion with unmatchable nerve and electric one-liners. And as her subjects become more serious, her essays deliver not just laughs but lasting emotional heft and insight. Crosley has taken up the gauntlets thrown by her predecessors—Dorothy Parker, Nora Ephron, David Sedaris—and crafted something rare, affecting, and true. Look Alive Out There arrives on the tenth anniversary of I Was Told There’d be Cake, and Crosley’s essays have managed to grow simultaneously more sophisticated and even funnier. And yet she’s still very much herself, and it’s great to have her back—and not a moment too soon (or late, for that matter).

Look Alive Out There

Author: Sloane Crosley

Publisher: HarperAvenue

ISBN: 9781443445061

Category: Humor

Page: 256

View: 7227


For readers of Jenny Lawson and Nora Ephron, a return to the hilarious and searingly personal essays she’s known for—from a writer David Sedaris calls "perfectly, relentlessly funny" Look Alive Out There is her third book of humorous personal essays, big and small. It takes the same wry sensibility and off-kilter etiquette of I Was Told There’d Be Cake and How Did You Get This Number and applies it to the meatier issues of adulthood. If How Did You Get This Number took the sensibility of I Was Told There’d Be Cake on the road, Look Alive Out There takes it into the future. It also features Crosley chasing a woman in a wheelchair and getting a massage with an epileptic dog. These stories are all about picking over the past, keeping the best bits, and moving on. Be it hunting down kangaroos, being hypnotized by the Rear Window–style spectacle of youth displayed by her rich teenage neighbors, staring down the barrel of the fertility gun, bonding with her porn-star uncle, playing herself on TV, crashing shivas, dealing with death and disease, befriending woodland weed dealers, or scaling active volcanoes—Crosley is your untrusty, more or less useless guide, who will keep you laughing without remorse and seeing the absurdity of our world with fresh eyes.

How Did You Get This Number

Author: Sloane Crosley

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1101188286

Category: Humor

Page: 288

View: 1708


From the author of the sensational bestseller I Was Told There'd Be Cake comes a new book of personal essays brimming with all the charm and wit that have earned Sloane Crosley widespread acclaim, award nominations, and an ever-growing cadre of loyal fans. In Cake readers were introduced to the foibles of Crosley's life in New York City-always teetering between the glamour of Manhattan parties, the indignity of entry-level work, and the special joy of suburban nostalgia-and to a literary voice that mixed Dorothy Parker with David Sedaris and became something all its own. Crosley still lives and works in New York City, but she's no longer the newcomer for whom a trip beyond the Upper West Side is a big adventure. She can pack up her sensibility and takes us with her to Paris, to Portugal (having picked it by spinning a globe and putting down her finger, and finally falling in with a group of Portuguese clowns), and even to Alaska, where the "bear bells" on her fellow bridesmaids' ponytails seemed silly until a grizzly cub dramatically intrudes. Meanwhile, back in New York, where new apartments beckon and taxi rides go awry, her sense of the city has become more layered, her relationships with friends and family more complicated. As always, Crosley's voice is fueled by the perfect witticism, buoyant optimism, flair for drama, and easy charm in the face of minor suffering or potential drudgery. But in How Did You Get This Number it has also become increasingly sophisticated, quicker and sharper to the point, more complex and lasting in the emotions it explores. And yet, Crosley remains the unfailingly hilarious young Everywoman, healthily equipped with intelligence and poise to fend off any potential mundanity in maturity.

I Was Told There'd Be Cake

Author: Sloane Crosley

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1101147474

Category: Humor

Page: 240

View: 1473


Hailed by David Sedaris as "perfectly, relentlessly funny" and by Colson Whitehead as "sardonic without being cruel, tender without being sentimental," from the author of the new collection Look Alive Out There. Wry, hilarious, and profoundly genuine, this debut collection of literary essays is a celebration of fallibility and haplessness in all their glory. From despoiling an exhibit at the Natural History Museum to provoking the ire of her first boss to siccing the cops on her mysterious neighbor, Crosley can do no right despite the best of intentions -- or perhaps because of them. Together, these essays create a startlingly funny and revealing portrait of a complex and utterly recognizable character who aims for the stars but hits the ceiling, and the inimitable city that has helped shape who she is. I Was Told There'd Be Cake introduces a strikingly original voice, chronicling the struggles and unexpected beauty of modern urban life.

Warm Bodies

Author: Isaac Marion

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1439192324

Category: Fiction

Page: 256

View: 5678


Alienated from his fellow zombies because of his dislike of having to kill humans and his enjoyment of Sinatra music, "R" meets a living girl who sharply contrasts with his cold and dreary world and who he resolves to protect in spite of her delicious appearance. A first novel. Reprint.

Three Strikes and You're a Monster!

Author: Tracey West

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780448433592

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 144

View: 9714


When a boy buys a baseball bat from Sebastian Cream's Junk Shop, he hopes to become a good enough batter to make the school baseball team, but soon strange things begin happening to him.

Vivian Versus the Apocalypse

Author: Katie Coyle

Publisher: Hot Key Books

ISBN: 1471402185

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 304

View: 9703


Putting the cult back in cult fiction, this is a darkly witty and sharply questioning debut A chilling vision of a contemporary USA where the sinister Church of America is destroying lives. Our cynical protagonist, sixteen-year-old Vivian Apple, is awaiting the fated 'Rapture' - or rather the lack of it. Her evangelical parents have been in the Church's thrall for too long, and she's looking forward to getting them back. Except that when Vivian arrives home the day after the supposed 'Rapture', her parents are gone. All that is left are two holes in the ceiling... Viv is determined to carry on as normal, but when she starts to suspect that her parents might still be alive, she realises she must uncover the truth. Joined by Peter, a boy claiming to know the real whereabouts of the Church, and Edie, a heavily pregnant Believer who has been 'left behind', they embark on a road trip across America. Encountering freak weather, roving 'Believer' gangs and a strange teenage group calling themselves the 'New Orphans', Viv soon begins to realise that the Rapture was just the beginning.

In Search of Jason

Author: Andrew Morris Grover

Publisher: Xlibris Publishing

ISBN: 1401050336

Category: Fiction

Page: 332

View: 7668


IN SEARCH OF JASON is the story of Jason Reilly, a lowly employee at B. Pictures, a cut-rate New York City film production company, whose owner, Mr. B. is a confidante of many curious characters inhabiting both sides of the law. In the course of one of his many errands for Mr. B., Jason goes to hand some papers to a diplomat at the United Nations and in the course of his time there, misplaces a film script he was carrying. From that loss, dire consequences arise, for the film for which the script was written was to have been shot in the Caribbean, with the production serving as cover for a drug-courier operation run by one of Mr. B.´s less-than-legitimate pals, an underworld dynamo named Sicky. In addition to his illegal interests, Sicky has entertained a lifelong legitimate interest in some day becoming a major feature film producer. Thus, the idea of someone like Jason not only endangering his profits, which would be bad enough, but also imperiling his cinematic opportunity of a lifetime is an outrage to which the only answer can be one of summary execution! Now, it´s one thing when you´re seeking to prove your innocence to a law officer who, theoretically, is subject to some constraints, but when you´re trying to explain yourself to a paranoid gunman who acknowledges no laws save those in his own, options become more limited. Such is the case for Jason. So, after narrowly avoiding being murdered in his bed and getting run over by a speeding car aimed at a pay phone booth he´s calling from, Jason makes his escape from the city. He heads for the New Jersey Turnpike, Chesapeake Bay, Virginia, the Carolinas, Georgia, the Florida swamps, Miami and, finally, the Caribbean´s blue carpet. Along he way, he picks up a partner in crime - or perhaps innocence. Dr. Sam Albert is a former 1960s college revolutionary, present-day psychiatrist and off-hours bush pilot, whose set of wings Jason finds useful in Miami, when the ship´s captain he´s hired to take him afloat begins to cause problems. Later, while island-hopping in the Caribbean with Albert, Jason gets, unwittingly, another partner in the form of Aringapu, a Central American Indian whose ancestors, 500 years earlier, were either massacred or driven off the very island where Sicky now proposes to set up his supreme shoot. You wouldn´t expect Jason to come to earth practically right under Sicky´s Ray-Bans. You´d think it would be the last place Aringapu would want to turn up in, too. You´d think, above all, that the good Dr. Albert, skilled in providing wise counsel and comfort, would look out for Jason´s interests and fly him out at once. You´d be wrong on all counts, particularly on the last! You might also expect, on this page, to find out how it all wraps up, but this place is meant to stimulate your appetite, not satiate it. All that can be said for now is that, in a curious and appropriate way, the punishment fits the crime.

Waiting at the Altar

Author: Amy Frazier

Publisher: Harlequin

ISBN: 1459280601

Category: Fiction

Page: 256

View: 6779


SWEET HOPE WEDDINGS Welcome to Sweet Hope, Georgia—where weddings come to those who least expect them! MEET THE JILTED GROOM: Jacob Matthews would have married his dream bride…except she left him waiting at the altar. Now he finally had the chance to win back the wife and child who should have been his! AND HIS ALMOST BRIDE! Single mom Cathryn O'Malley had a very good reason for jilting her groom-to-be. But returning home meant confronting Jacob. Would this seductive, determined man accept anything less than her "I do"? Will these two get a chance at another SWEET HOPE WEDDING?