Love and Louis XIV

Author: Antonia Fraser

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0297857924

Category: History

Page: 512

View: 6341


Mistresses and wives, mothers and daughters - Antonia Fraser brilliantly explores the relationships which existed between The Sun King and the women in his life. This includes not only Louis XIV's mistresses, principally Louise de La Vallière, Athénaïs de Montespan, and the puritanical Madame de Maintenon, but also the wider story of his relationships with women in general, including his mother Anne of Austria, his two sisters-in-law who were Duchesses d'Orléans in succession, Henriette-Anne and Liselotte, his wayward illegitimate daughters, and lastly Adelaide, the beloved child-wife of his grandson.

Read On...History

Author: Tina Frolund

Publisher: ABC-CLIO

ISBN: 1610694325

Category: Education

Page: 195

View: 836


Make history come alive! This book helps librarians and teachers as well as readers themselves find books they will enjoy—titles that will animate and explain the past, entertain, and expand their minds.

Hope & New Orleans

Author: Sally Asher

Publisher: Arcadia Publishing

ISBN: 162584509X

Category: Travel

Page: 224

View: 3564


New Orleans is a city of beautiful contradictions, evidenced by its street names. New Orleans crosses with Hope, Pleasure and Duels. Religious couples with Nuns, Market and Race. Music, Arts and Painters are parallel. New Orleans enfolds its denizens in the protection of saints, the artistry of Muses and the bravery of military leaders. The city's street names are inseparable from its diverse history. They serve as guideposts as well as a narrative that braid its pride, wit and seedier history into a complex web that to this day simultaneously joins and shows the cracks within the city. Learn about Bourbon's royal lineage, the magnitude of Napoleon's influence, how Tchoupitoulas's history is just as long and vexing as its spelling and why mispronouncing such streets as Burgundy, Calliope and Socrates doesn't mean you are incorrect--it just means you are local Told with precision and photos as vibrant, irreverent and memorable as La Nouvelle Orleans itself, author Sally Asher delivers an updated and reinvented look at the city that care forgot.

The Sexual Life of Our Time in Its Relations to Modern Civilization

Author: Ivan Bloch

Publisher: Aegitas

ISBN: 0369405439

Category: Social Science

Page: 865

View: 7943


The author’s aim in writing this book was to write a complete Encyclopædia on the sexual sciences, and it will probably be acknowledged by all who study its pages that the author has accomplished his intention in a very scholarly manner, and in such form as to be of great value to the professions for whom this translation is intended. The subject is no doubt one which appeals to and affects the interests of all adult persons, but the publishers have, after very serious and careful consideration, come to the conclusion that the sale of the English translation of the book shall be limited to members of the legal and medical professions. To both these professions it is essential that a knowledge of the science of Sex and the various causes for the existence of “abnormals” should be ascertained, so that they may be guided in the future in their investigations into, and the practice of attempts to mitigate, the evil which undoubtedly exists, and to bring about a more healthy class of beings. It is the first time that the subject has been so carefully and fully gone into in the English language, and it is believed that the very exhaustive examination which the author has made into the matter, and the various cases to which he has called attention, will be of considerable use to the medical practitioner, and also to the lawyer in criminal and quasi-criminal matters, and probably in matrimonial disputes and cases of insanity.

Genreflecting

Author: Cynthia Orr

Publisher: ABC-CLIO

ISBN: 1610694619

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 622

View: 6057


The gold standard for readers' advisory, this book represents an essential resource for LIS students and practicing librarians who want to better understand readers, reading interests, and fiction and nonfiction genres.

Roger Planchon

Author: Yvette Daoust

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN: 052123414X

Category: Drama

Page: 252

View: 7393


During the early 1980s, Roger Planchon was foremost among a new breed in France of director-playwrights. Yvette Daoust ably demonstrates why this was so in her 1981 study of his dual role in the theatre. Setting Planchon's work in its historical and theatrical context, Dr Daoust summarises his career up until publication of this volume. In the first part of her book, Dr Daoust concentrates on Planchon as director of the dramatists Vinaver, Adamov and Brecht; of classic English plays - Shakespeare and Marlowe - and of the French classics. Turning in the second part to Planchon the playwright, Daoust examines the development of the social, political and aesthetic beliefs which determined the contents and emphasis of his plays. She estimates the influence of Brecht and the May 1968 vnements on Planchon and describes his experiments with different forms of dramatic entertainment in his efforts to capture a regular working-class audience and keep the government subsidies flowing.

Scarlet Women

Author: Ian Graham

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN: 1466868171

Category: History

Page: 320

View: 1744


In 1965, an impoverished elderly woman was found dead in Nice, France. Her death marked the end of an era; she was the last of the great courtesans. Known as La Belle Otero, she was a volcanic Spanish beauty whose patrons included Kaiser Wilhelm II, the Prince of Wales (later King Edward VII) and Grand Duke Nicholas of Russia. She accumulated an enormous fortune, but gambled it all away. Scarlet Women tells her story and many more, including: Marie Duplessis, who inspired characters by both Dumas and Verdi; Clara Ward, a rare American courtesan who hunted for a European aristocrat, but having married a Belgian prince, ran away with a gypsy violinist; Ninon de L'Enclos, who was offered 50,000 crowns by Cardinal Richelieu for one night. Money left in her will paid for Voltaire's education. Courtesans were an elite group of talented, professional mistresses. The most successful became wealthy and famous in their own right. While they led charmed lives, they occupied a curious position: they enjoyed freedom and political power unknown to most women, but they were ostracised by polite society. From the hetaerae of ancient Greece to the cortigiani onesti of 16th century Venice, the oiran of Edo-period Japan to the demimondaines of 19th century France, this captivating book--perfect for readers of A Treasury of Royal Scandals--uncovers the rich, colorful lives of these women who dared to pursue fortunes outside their societies' norms.