Madeleine's Children

Author: Sue Peabody

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: 0190233885

Category: Law

Page: 352

View: 896


In 1759 a baby girl was born to an impoverished family on the Indian subcontinent. Her parents pawned her into bondage as a way to survive famine. A Portuguese slaver sold the girl to a pious French spinster in Bengal, where she was baptized as Madeleine. Eventually she was taken to France byway of Ile de France (Mauritius), and from there to Ile Bourbon (Reunion), where she worked on the plantation of the Routier family and gave birth to three children: Maurice, Constance, and Furcy. Following the master''s death in 1787, Madame Routier registered Madeleine''s manumission, making herfree on paper and thus exempting the Routiers from paying the annual head tax on slaves. However, according to Madeleine''s children, she was never told that she was free. She continued to serve the widow Routier for another nineteen years, through the Revolution, France''s general emancipation of1794 (which the colonists of the Indian Ocean successfully repelled), the Napoleonic restoration of slavery, and British occupation of France''s Indian Ocean colonies. Not until the widow Routier died in 1808 did Madeleine learn of her freedom and that the Routier estate owed her nineteen years ofback wages. Madeleine tried to use the Routiers'' debt to negotiate for her son Furcy''s freedom from Joseph Lory, the Routiers'' son-in-law and heir, but Lory tricked the illiterate Madeleine into signing papers that, in essence, consigned Furcy to Lory as his slave for life.While Lory invested in slave smuggling and helped introduce sugar cultivation to Ile Bourbon, Furcy spent the next quarter century trying to obtain legal recognition of his free status as he moved from French Ile Bourbon to British Mauritius and then to Paris. His legal actions produced hundreds ofpages that permit reconstruction of the lives of Furcy and his family in astonishing detail. The Cour Royale de Paris, France''s highest court of appeal, finally ruled Furcy ne libre (freeborn) in 1843. Eight rare extant letters signed by Furcy over two decades tell in his own words how he understoodhis enslavement and freedom within these multiple legal jurisdictions and societies. France''s general emancipation of 1848 erased the distinction between slavery and freedom for all former slaves but the reaction of 1851 excluded them from citizenship. The struggle for justice, respect, and equalityfor former slaves and their descendants would not be realized within Furcy''s lifetime.The life stories of Madeleine and her three children are especially precious because, unlike scores of slave narratives published in the United States and England in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, no autobiographical narrative of a slave held by French-published or unpublished-exists. Thiswill be one of only a handful of modern biographies of enslaved people within France''s empire, in French or in English, and the only one to explore transformations in slavery and freedom in French colonies of the Indian Ocean. This story is also significant because of the legal arguments advanced inFurcy''s freedom suits between 1817 and 1843. Furcy''s lawyers argued that he was free by race (as the descendent of an Indian rather than an African mother) and also by Free Soil (the legal principle whereby any slave setting foot on French soil thereby became free, since Madeleine resided in Francebefore Furcy was born). Parallel debates surround the American case of Dred Scott, who began his long and unsuccessful bid for freedom in 1846 in the former French colonial city of St. Louis, Missouri, just three years after the French Cour Royale de Paris upheld Furcy''s freedom on the basis of FreeSoil. However, the French ruling that Furcy was free by Free Soil and the rejection of the racial argument offer a historical counterpoint to the infamous Taney opinion of 1857.The gripping story of Madeleine and her children is especially well-suited to exploring the developments of French colonization, plantation slavery, race, sugar cultivation, and abolitionism. A fluid narrative, it should have appeal for readers of the history of slavery, world history, Indian Oceanhistory, and French colonial history.

Looking For Madeleine

Author: Anthony Summers,Robbyn Swan

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1472211626

Category: True Crime

Page: 352

View: 924


LOOKING FOR MADELEINE is the must-read account that the online haters tried to silence. Its award-winning authors, Anthony Summers & Robbyn Swan, are featured in the NETFLIX series 'The Disappearance of Madeleine McCann'. "EXPLOSIVE" Sun "COMPELLING" Daily Telegraph The book: · Identifies the blunders made during the police search for Madeleine · Draws on confidential police sources · Analyses the thousands of pages of the Portuguese police dossier · Pinpoints the misreading of forensic evidence that - for a time - turned Kate and Gerry McCann into formal suspects · Follows the clues indicating that the McCanns' apartment was watched, that the apartment had been visited by a phoney "charity collector" · Reports, in frightening detail, on the many earlier sex assaults on British children in the area Twelve years on, as Scotland Yard and Portuguese investigators continue their work, the Yard is focusing on a specific suspect. A senior officer told the authors: "The case is solvable." What readers have said about LOOKING FOR MADELEINE: "Lucidly written, superbly researched...non-judgemental...An excellent, fascinating update." "A wonderful book. I was engrossed from beginning to end." "Extensive research...plausible and sensible conclusions..."

Madeleine

Author: Elvi Rhodes

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1446464547

Category: Fiction

Page: 432

View: 8765


A beautiful coming of age saga by multi-million copy seller Elvi Rhodes, perfect for fans of Kitty Neale, Dilly Court and Rosie Goodwin. READERS ARE LOVING MADELEINE! "Nostalgia at its best" - 5 STARS. "A gripping book and extremely well told." - 5 STARS. "Excellent page turner" - 5 STARS ******************************************************************* WILL ONE CHANCE ENCOUNTER CHANGE HER LIFE FOREVER? Madeleine Bates, daughter of a tyrannical and bigoted mill worker and housemaid to the rich Parkinson family, spends her life serving the spoilt and spiteful Sophia Parkinson, the daughter of the richest mill owner in Helsdon. But beneath her obedient and dutiful exterior lies a passionate, fiery and rebellious spirit. And when the dashing Leon Bonneau - son of a French wool baron - comes to stay with the Parkinsons at their house Mount Royd, he cannot help but be drawn to her. From that moment on, everything changes for everyone at Mount Royd... Madeleine's story continues in Elvi Rhodes's novel The House of Bonneau.

Madeleine

Author: Kate McCann

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1446437604

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 496

View: 3218


Kate McCann's personal account of the disappearance and continuing search for her daughter, revised and updated. 'The decision to publish this book has been very difficult, and taken with heavy hearts ... My reason for writing it is simple: to give an account of the truth ... Writing this memoir has entailed recording some very personal, intimate and emotional aspects of our lives. Sharing these with strangers does not come easily to me, but if I hadn't done so I would not have felt the book gave as full a picture as it is possible for me to give. As with every action we have taken over the last five years, it ultimately boils down to whether what we are doing could help us to find Madeleine. When the answer to that question is yes, or even possibly, our family can cope with anything ... Nothing is more important to us than finding our little girl.' -- Kate McCann 'A must-read' Sunday Express 'Kate's book blazes with the sheer visceral force of her love for her daughter' Daily Mail 'Deeply moving' Guardian

Madeleine

Author: Giuseppe Ciani

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9788864339160

Category: Fiction

Page: 104

View: 8465


Madeleine

Author: Euan Cameron

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0857058576

Category: Fiction

Page: 272

View: 2000


"Immersive, nuanced, impeccably researched" IAN RANKIN "Beautifully written and moving" ALLAN MASSIE "Poignant, nostalgic and redolent of the smell of France" SIMON BRETT Family history has always been a mystery to Will Latymer. His father flatly refused to talk about it, and with no other relatives to consult, it seems that a mystery it shall always remain. Until of course, Will meets Ghislaine, his beautiful French cousin, in a chance encounter that introduces him to his grandmother, Madeleine, shut away in a quiet Breton manor with her memories and secrets. Before long, Will has been plunged headlong into the life of Madeleine's great love, his longlost grandfather, Henry Latymer. Reading Henry's old letters and diaries for the first time, Will discovers an idealistic young man, full of hopes and optimism - an optimism that will gradually be crushed as the realities of life under the Vichy regime become glaringly clear. But the more Will delves into Madeleine and Henry's past, and into France's troubled history, the darker the secrets he discovers become, and the more he has cause to wonder if sometimes, the past should remain buried.