The Poetry of Punk

Author: Gerfried Ambrosch

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1351384449

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 186

View: 1344


Punk bands have produced an abundance of poetic texts, some crude, some elaborate, in the form of song lyrics. These lyrics are an ideal means by which to trace the developments and explain the conflicts and schisms that have shaped, and continue to shape, punk culture. They can be described as the community’s collective ‘poetic voice,’ and they come in many different forms. Their themes range from romantic love to emotional distress to radical politics. Some songs are intended to entertain, some to express strong feelings, some to provoke, some to spread awareness, and some to foment unrest. Most have an element of confrontation, of kicking against the pricks. Socially and epistemologically, they play a central role in the scene’s internal discourse, shaping communities and individual identities. The Poetry of Punk is an investigation into the Anglophone punk culture, specifically in the UK and the US, where punk originated in the mid-1970s, its focus being on the song lyrics written and performed by punk rock and hardcore artists.

Mozlandia

Author: Melissa Mora Hidalgo

Publisher: SCB Distributors

ISBN: 1909394432

Category: Music

Page: 214

View: 1311


Morrissey is a popular music icon. The former singer of the influential Manchester band The Smiths is arguably one of the most intriguing and popular, if not polarizing, iconic figures of popular culture. But this book is not about Morrissey. This book is about his fans, their creative expressions of fandom, and their contributions to Morrissey’s worldwide popularity. Specifically, this book is about the subculture of Moz fandom as a US-Mexican borderland phenomenon. Mozlandia—Morrissey fans from the Midlands to the Borderlands.

Mozipedia

Author: Simon Goddard

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 0452296676

Category: Music

Page: 544

View: 4268


The perfect gift for fans of Morrissey, The Smiths, and any music lover, Mozipedia is the definitive guide to one of the most beloved cult figures in pop music history. Steven Patrick Morrissey is undoubtedly one of the most original musicians of all time. With The Smiths, he led the most influential British guitar group of the 1980s, and his enigmatic wit and style defined a generation. As a solo artist, he has continued to broach subjects no other singer would dare. The summation of years of interviews and meticulous research by acclaimed music journalist Simon Goddard, Mozipedia is the most in-depth and exhaustive book about the man, the myth, and the music that's ever been published. Bringing together every song, every album, every collaborator, and so much more in over 600 entries, this is a unique and sensational find for music fans and a must-have for Morrissey's legions of devoted admirers.

Mozipedia

Author: Simon Goddard

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 0091927102

Category: Rock musicians

Page: 532

View: 9559


This title brings together every song, album, collaborator, key location, every hero, book, film and record to have influenced Morrissey's art.

A Light That Never Goes Out

Author: Tony Fletcher

Publisher: Crown Archetype

ISBN: 0307715973

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 704

View: 833


The definitive book about The Smiths, one of the most beloved, respected, and storied indie rock bands in music history. They were, their fans believe, the best band in the world. Hailing from Manchester, England, The Smiths--Morrissey, Johnny Marr, Andy Rourke, and Mike Joyce--were critical and popular favorites throughout their mid-1980s heyday and beyond. To this day, due to their unforgettable songs and lyrics, they are considered one of the greatest British rock groups of all time--up there with the Beatles, the Stones, the Who, and the Clash. Tony Fletcher paints a vivid portrait of the fascinating personalities within the group: Morrissey, the witty, literate lead singer whose loner personality and complex lyrics made him an icon for teenagers who felt forlorn and forgotten; his songwriting partner Marr, the gregarious guitarist who became a rock god for a generation of indie kids; and the talented, good-looking rhythm section duo of bassist Rourke and drummer Joyce. Despite the band's tragic breakup at the height of their success, A Light That Never Goes Out is a celebration: the saga of four working-class kids from a northern English city who come together despite contrasting personalities, find a musical bond, inspire a fanatical following, and leave a legacy that changed the music world--and the lives of their fans.

Phil Spector

Author: Sean MacLeod

Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield

ISBN: 1442267062

Category: Music

Page: 286

View: 6575


MacLeod explores Phil Spector’s rise and fall as a musician, songwriter, and producer whose musical ability and visionary foresight radically influenced popular music and culture of the 20th century. Spector’s legendary wall of sound became a hallmark of 1960’s pop music and contributed to the success of bands like the Beach Boys and the Beatles.

Soundscapes of Wellbeing in Popular Music

Author: Paul Kingsbury,Gavin J. Andrews,Robin Kearns

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1317052358

Category: Social Science

Page: 320

View: 9503


Unearthing the messy and sprawling interrelationships of place, wellbeing, and popular music, this book explores musical soundscapes of health, ranging from activism to international charity, to therapeutic treatments and how wellbeing is sought and attained in contexts of music. Drawing on critical social theories of the production, circulation, and consumption of popular music, the book gathers together diverse insights from geographers and musicologists. Popular music has become increasingly embedded in complex and often contradictory discourses of wellbeing. For instance, some new genres and sub-cultures of popular music are associated with violence, drug-use, and the angst of living, yet simultaneously define the hopes and dreams of millions of young people. At a service level, popular music is increasingly used as a therapeutic modality in holistic medicine, as well as in conventional health care and public health practice. The genre of popular music, then, is fundamental to human wellbeing as an active and central part of people’s emotional lives. By conceptually and empirically foregrounding place, this book demonstrates how - music whether from particular places, about particular places, or played in particular places ” is a crucial component of health and wellbeing.

The Smiths FAQ

Author: John D. Luerssen

Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield

ISBN: 1495045978

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 400

View: 8464


THE SMITHS FAQ: ALL THAT'S LEFT TO KNOW ABOUT THE MOST IMPORTANT BRITISH BAND OF THE 19

Morrissey

Author: Eoin Devereux,Aileen Dillane,Martin Power

Publisher: Intellect Books

ISBN: 1841504173

Category: Music

Page: 342

View: 5584


"Known for his outspoken and often controversial views on class, ethnicity and sexuality, Morrissey has remained an anti-establishment figure who continues to provoke argument, debate and devotion amongst critics and his many fans. Focusing exclusively on Morrissey's solo career, the collected essays in this important book make for a rich reading of Morrissey and his highly influential creative output."--P. [4] of cover.

Morrissey & Marr: The Severed Alliance

Author: Johnny Rogan

Publisher: Omnibus Press

ISBN: 0857127829

Category: Music

Page: 624

View: 9561


Morrissey & Marr: The Severed Alliance is among the most successful – and controversial – rock biographies ever published. Having denounced the book and called for the death of its author Johnny Rogan, Morrissey later did a U-turn and cited it as evidence in the royalty-related court case brought by Smiths drummer Mike Joyce.Now, 20 years after it was first published, Rogan has returned to his definitive Smiths biography to produce a completely revised edition based on new information and new interviews to add to the almost 100 initially conducted over a four-year period. Widely acclaimed as one rock’s leading writers, Johnny Rogan now brings yet more insight and analysis to his best-selling book that revealed, for the first time, the true and unsanitised story of The Smiths – the most important group of their generation.