Mr. Nice

Author: Howard Marks

Publisher: Canongate Books Limited

ISBN: N.A

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 466

View: 7361


A reformed British dope smuggler who once had forty-three aliases and eighty-nine phone lines for his business tells his story with humor and charm, from his rise to success in the world of illegal drugs to his capture, conviction, and internment in one of America's toughest penitentiaries. Original.

No More Mr. Nice Guy

Author: Jennifer Greene

Publisher: Carina Press

ISBN: 1426891547

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 5218


Carroll Laker knows she’s found the marrying kind in Alan Smith. The pediatrician is everything a woman could want in a husband; he’s kind, dependable, patient. Maybe too patient: even though they spend Saturday mornings house-hunting, they’ve yet to spend a night in bed together. And suddenly Carroll starts fantasizing about what it would be like to be wildly, wantonly, passionately in love... Alan has wanted to marry Carroll since the moment he met her. When he senses he’s on the verge of losing her, he decides it’s time to loosen up. If Carroll needs excitement and seduction, that’s exactly what he’ll give her. From orchids and exotic foods to midnight canoe rides and dancing till dawn, Alan will do anything to sweep Carroll off her feet and into his bed. At first, Carroll is delighted by the romantic gestures. But she can’t help wondering: Will the new Alan love her forever the way the old Alan would have? Previously published. 44,000 words

No More Mr. Nice Guy!

Author: Robert A. Glover

Publisher: Running PressBook Pub

ISBN: 9780762415335

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 180

View: 3455


Debunks the "nice guy syndrome," the need to please others at one's own expense with the hope of receiving happiness, love, and fulfillment, and offers advice for how to rediscover oneself, revive one's sex life, and build better relationships with others.

The Mystery of Mr. Nice

Author: Bruce Hale

Publisher: Paw Prints

ISBN: 9781442049284

Category:

Page: 96

View: 5876


When the principal of his school begins acting nice to him, Chet Gecko realizes that he is an imposter and so sets out to find the real one.

Mr Nice

Author: Howard Marks

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1407066307

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 576

View: 6244


21ST ANNIVERSARY EDITION WITH AN INTRODUCTION BY IRVINE WELSH He was Britain's most wanted man. He spent seven years in America's toughest penitentiary. You'll like him. During the mid 1980s Howard Marks had forty three aliases, eighty nine phone lines and owned twenty five companies throughout the world. At the height of his career he was smuggling consignments of up to thirty tons of marijuana, and had contact with organisations as diverse as MI6, the CIA, the IRA and the Mafia. Following a worldwide operation by the Drug Enforcement Agency, he was arrested and sentenced to twenty-five years in prison at the Terre Haute Penitentiary, Indiana. He was released in April 1995 after serving seven years of his sentence. Told with humour, charm and candour, Mr Nice is his own extraordinary story. 'The story of a remarkable life, lived by the very brilliant and exceptionally wonderful Mr Nice' Irvine Welsh 'Frequently hilarious, occasionally sad, and often surreal' GQ 'A man who makes Peter Pan look like a geriatric' Loaded 'A folk legend' Daily Mail

Becoming Mr Nice

Author: Amber Marks

Publisher: Oldcastle Books Ltd

ISBN: 0857303945

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 192

View: 8068


Welcome to the personal archives of Britain's biggest dope smuggler. For 40 years Howard Marks traversed the globe: an international businessman who became an inmate in America's toughest penitentiary before standing for election in the United Kingdom. Becoming Mr Nice reveals an extraordinary montage of previously unseen material from his roller-coaster life, interwoven with his daughter's incisively researched and deadpan commentary. It includes surveillance footage, intelligence reports, phone transcripts, the business cards and letterheads used as trading fronts, driving licences and passport applications in multiple identities, and cryptic faxes from the Far East. But more than that, it offers a vista onto his many and varied experiences and escapades, through notebooks, personal items and correspondence with the bizarre, wonderful, comic or downright suspicious characters who surrounded him. It includes extracts from a lavishly detailed and hitherto unpublished account of Howard's years on the run (written in confidence for the benefit of his otherwise baffled defence team) together with transcripts from his trial at the Old Bailey, in which he successfully claimed that his involvement in the biggest ever importation of cannabis into the United Kingdom was on behalf of the secret services. Peppered with comic observations from Howard's private letters, this book provides a uniquely personal insight into one of Britain's most remarkable characters. Becoming Mr Nice is the essential companion volume to Marks' million-copy-selling autobiography Mr Nice and a comprehensive, illustrated introduction to Howard Marks for a new generation. Praise for Becoming Mr Nice 'Funny, brave and deeply personal, this remarkable book records the tenderness of father and daughter and the lives beyond the legend' - Salena Godden 'Becoming Mr Nice is a brilliant read with so much that I didn't know' - Tim Burgess Praise for Howard Marks 'An urban legend, a dedicated human rights campaigner, a smuggling overlord, a counterculture champion, a respected academic, an outstanding author, a DJ, a hilarious comedian, a skilful raconteur, and a loving father. A man who never compromised his values even in the face of overwhelming adversity' - Simon Doherty, Huff Post 'The Marco Polo of the drug traffic' - Thomas V. Cash, special agent in charge of the Miami division of the American Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA) 'True modern-day folk hero' - James Brown 'Britain's best-known and most charming drug smuggler' - Guardian (Please note that due to the complex layout of this title and the number of illustrations included, some aspects of the design are compromised in the digital format. Although the eBook still provides the complete text and images, to experience the full impact of Becoming Mr Nice we recommend purchasing the hardback edition instead.)

Mr Nice

Author: John Nicholl

Publisher: Open Road Media

ISBN: 150407128X

Category: Fiction

Page: 260

View: 830


A detective races to find a missing five-year-old girl in this thriller by the bestselling author of the Dr. David Galbraith series. Your worst nightmare is about to come true . . . When Megan discovers that her young daughter is missing, she thinks that her ex-husband is to blame. But was it someone else entirely? Someone out for revenge? Someone with a grudge? As DI Laura Kesey begins her investigation, she discovers that the case is infinitely more wicked than she could ever have imagined. The clock is ticking. The search is on. But will Kesey find Lottie before it’s too late? Praise for Mr. Nice “John Nicholl continues to provide riveting psychological thrillers that do what they say on the tin . . . thrill.” —Nigel Williams, bestselling author of The Wimbledon Poisoner “Another brilliant, dark, thought-provoking masterpiece of a book by this versatile and very talented author.” —Renita D’Silva, bestselling author of The War Child “I suggest you take a huge breath before you start with Mr. Nice, and only start it late at night if it means you haven’t got to get up the next day. Another hit from Mr. Nicholl.” —Melanie Lewi, The Book Club “This nail-biting thriller with a carefully created plot will have you on the edge of your seat!” —Sibel Hodge, #1 international bestselling author of Untouchable John Nicholl is also the bestselling author of the DI Gravel and the Dr. David Galbraith series. Mr. Nice will appeal to fans of authors like M.W. Craven, Mark Edwards, and Charlie Gallagher.

Mr. Nice Guy

Author: Jennifer Miller,Jason Feifer

Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin

ISBN: 1250189896

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 7715


Named one of Cosmopolitan's Best Books of 2018 From the husband and wife writing duo Jennifer Miller and Jason Feifer comes Mr. Nice Guy, a funny and all too real comedy about the pursuit of success in life--and love--in today's working world. Lucas Callahan, a man who gave up his law degree, fiancée and small-town future for a shot at making it in the Big Apple. He snags an entry-level job at Empire magazine, believing it’s only a matter of time before he becomes a famous writer. And then late one night in a downtown bar he meets a gorgeous brunette who takes him home... Carmen Kelly wanted to be a hard-hitting journalist, only to find herself cast in the role of Empire's sex columnist thanks to the boys' club mentality of Manhattan magazines. Her latest piece is about an unfortunate—and unsatisfying—encounter with an awkward and nerdy guy, who was nice enough to look at but horribly inexperienced in bed. Lucas only discovers that he’s slept with the infamous Carmen Kelly—that is, his own magazine’s sex columnist!—when he reads her printed take-down. Humiliated and furious, he pens a rebuttal and signs it, "Nice Guy." Empire publishes it, and the pair of columns go viral. Readers demand more. So the magazine makes an arrangement: Each week, Carmen and Lucas will sleep together... and write dueling accounts of their sexual exploits. It’s the most provocative sexual relationship any couple has had, but the columnist-lovers are soon engaging in more than a war of words: They become seduced by the city’s rich and powerful, tempted by fame, and more attracted to each other than they’re willing to admit. In the end, they will have to choose between ambition, love, and the consequences of total honesty. “The Devil Wears Prada meets Sex and the City—a page-turner that's part sex diary, part coming-of-age story." —Carolyn Kylstra, editor in chief, SELF “I COULD NOT PUT THIS BOOK DOWN!!! It totally messed up my week, it messed up my deadlines, but I absolutely loved it.” —Kevin Kwan, author of Crazy Rich Asians

Mr Nice Guy

Author: Ken Squires

Publisher: Ken Squires Publishing

ISBN: N.A

Category: Poetry

Page: N.A

View: 4113


Ever wanted to open my book and wonder who I am in real life... Mr Nice Guy...