Murder Most Florid

Author: Mark A. Spencer

Publisher: Hardie Grant Publishing

ISBN: 1787134016

Category: True Crime

Page: 256

View: 6599


Dr Mark Spencer is a forensic botanist – in other words, he helps police with cases where plants can unlock clues to solve crimes, from murder and rape to arson and burglary. Murder Most Florid is an enthralling, first-person account that follows Mark's unconventional and unique career, one that takes him to woodlands, wasteland and roadsides, as well as police labs, to examine the botanical evidence of serious crimes. From unearthing a decomposing victim from brambles to dissecting the vegetation of a shallow grave, Mark's botanical knowledge can be crucial to securing a conviction. More widely, this gripping book challenges our attitude to death and response to crime. It picks holes in the sensationalized depictions of policing we see on TV, and asks pertinent questions about public sector funding in the face of rising crime. Most importantly, it shows us how the ancient lessons of botanical science can still be front and centre in our modern, DNA-obsessed world.

Murder Most Foul

Author: Karen HALTTUNEN

Publisher: Harvard University Press

ISBN: 0674038177

Category: History

Page: 370

View: 8772


Karen Halttunen explores the changing view of murder from early New England sermons read at the public execution of murderers, through the nineteenth century, when secular and sensational accounts replaced the sacred treatment of the crime, to today's true crime literature and tabloid reports.

Murder Most Poetic

Author: Mary S. Weinkauf,Mary Wickizer Burgess

Publisher: Wildside Press LLC

ISBN: 0893702978

Category: Fiction

Page: 144

View: 1087


Dr. Weinkauf provides a complete overview of Ngaio Marsh's crime novels, from her beginnings in 1934 to her final book, "Light Thickens," published posthumously in 1982.

Murder Most Sweet

Author: Laura Jensen Walker

Publisher: Crooked Lane Books

ISBN: 1643855034

Category: Fiction

Page: 289

View: 2570


In this series debut for fans of Jenn McKinlay, baker Teddie St. John spends her time away from the oven writing murder mysteries. But is she herself a murderer? Everyone in Lake Potawatomi, Wisconsin, knows Teddie St. John. Tall, curly-haired Teddie is a superb baker, a bohemian bon vivant, and a mystery writer. Teddie is walking her American Eskimo dog, Gracie, when her four-legged friend finds Teddie's missing silk scarf. Only problem: the scarf is tied tightly around the neck of a beautiful blond woman, the fiancée of a touring British author. Before you can say "Wisconsin kringle," Teddie becomes a murder suspect. Everyone in town knows all too well that the distinctive scarf was hers. But there are more layers to this case than there would have been on poor Kristi's wedding cake. Tavish Bentley should be bereaved after his sweetheart's strangling. Instead, the dashing Brit takes a shine to Teddie's witty wisecracks and to-die-for cookies, and soon he's mooning over her instead of mourning his bride. That is, when he's not dodging the attentions of Annabelle, an obsessive fan who's taken to stalking him. And when a second murder shocks the community, the plot thickens to the consistency of fondant as Teddie stands accused of not one, but two, murders. With the help of her friends Sharon and Char, can Teddie clear her name and deliver a killer's just desserts?

Murder Most Royal

Author: Jean Plaidy

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 144641163X

Category: Fiction

Page: 656

View: 5164


If you like Philippa Gregory, you will love this dazzlingly vivid historical novel from multi-million copy and international bestselling author Jean Plaidy. Two Queens at the mercy of a capricious King... 'Jean Plaidy doesn't just write the history, she makes it come alive' - RNA 'Plaidy excels at blending history with romance and drama' - New York Times 'Very well researched, informative yet easy to read - brilliant' -- ***** Reader review 'Gripping, captivating, very hard to put down' -- ***** Reader review 'I was hooked from the first page' -- ***** Reader review 'An excellent book to curl up with' -- ***** Reader review 'Riveting' -- ***** Reader review *********************************************************************** At the decadent French court of King François, the young Anne Boleyn grows into an enigmatic and striking woman, a temptation to many courtiers. But whilst Anne's ambitions are high, she has learned from her sister's unfortunate reputation. Unlike Mary, Anne refuses to become a mistress - even one to a King. So when Anne returns to the English court of Henry VIII, it is the King, captivated by this mysterious young lady, who is forced to do the wooing. Before long Henry is lured away from his stale marriage to Katharine of Aragon. But the new Queen Anne is not loved by the people, and it is only a matter of time before Henry's patience runs out...

Murder Most Festive

Author: Ada Moncrieff

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1473580897

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 7926


It's Christmas at Westbury Manor and amateur detective Hugh Gaveston must unravel a fiendish mystery... Christmas Eve, 1938. The Westbury family and assorted friends have gathered for another legendary celebration at their beautiful country house. The champagne flows, the silverware sparkles and upstairs the rooms are ready for their occupants. But one bed will lie empty that night. On Christmas morning, David Campbell-Scott is found dead in the snow. There's a pistol beside him and only one set of footprints. Yet something doesn't seem right to amateur sleuth Hugh Gaveston. Campbell-Scott had just returned from overseas with untold wealth - why would he kill himself? Hugh sets out to investigate... 'If you're a fan of historical mysteries, then Murder Most Festive should be at the top of your to-read list' Cultured Vultures Wonderfully atmospheric, with charming wit and brilliant plotting, Murder Most Festive is perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, M.C. Beaton and James Runcie's Grantchester series.

Murder Most Foul

Author: Arelo Sederberg

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 0595211569

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 320

View: 5937


Murder Most Foul is a literary study aimed at a general audience that links and compares several great works of world literature to themes of violence and suffering. Included are Shakespeare’s Hamlet, Homer’s Iliad and Odyssey, Herman Melville’s Moby Dick, and several works of the great Greek tragedians—Aeschylus, Sophocles, and Euripides. The gods of Greek mythology, led by the great god Zeus, were instrumental in causing the pain and strife. The author makes the point that death and destruction, war and violence assert themselves everywhere in great works, and thus draws a conclusion that it is part and parcel of existence in all eras of mankind. The title is taken from Hamlet, words spoken to Hamlet by the ghost of his murdered father.

Murder Most Irish

Author: Edward Gorman,Larry Segriff,Martin Harry Greenberg

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780760702932

Category: Detective and mystery stories, English

Page: 596

View: 5364


In this anthology, you'll see all the moods of Ireland on display.

Murder Most Malicious

Author: Alyssa Maxwell

Publisher: Kensington Books

ISBN: 161773831X

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 4990


“Downton Abbey fans will enjoy Maxwell’s evocative descriptions” of British post-WWI society in the first Lady and Lady’s Maid Mystery (Library Journal). December 1918: As a difficult year draws to a close, there is much to celebrate for nineteen-year-old Phoebe Renshaw and her three siblings at their beloved family estate of Foxwood Hall. The dreadful war is finally over; eldest daughter Julia’s engagement to their houseguest, the Marquis of Allerton, appears imminent; and all have gathered to enjoy peace on earth, good will toward men. But the peace of Foxwood Hall is shattered on the morning of Boxing Day, when the Marquis goes missing. Not entirely missing, however, as macabre evidence of foul play turns up in gift boxes given to lady’s maid Eva Huntford and a handful of others. Having overheard her sister and the Marquis in a heated exchange the night before, Lady Phoebe takes a personal interest in solving the mystery. As the local constable suspects a footman at Foxwood Hall, Phoebe and Eva follow the clues to a different conclusion. But both young women will need to think outside the box to wrap up this case—before a cornered killer lashes out with ill will toward them . . . “A super-fun read featuring Lady Phoebe Renshaw and her lady’s maid, Eva, as they put aside their society roles to risk their necks in order to catch a killer.”—Suspense Magazine “Details of the lives of the nobility and their servants, and the aftermath of the war, are woven throughout the story, and the forward-thinking Phoebe is a charming main character.”—Booklist