My Fight / Your Fight

Author: Ronda Rousey

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1941393853

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 320

View: 6669


THE ONLY OFFICIAL RONDA ROUSEY BOOK “The fight is yours to win.” In this inspiring and moving book, Ronda Rousey, the Olympic medalist in judo, reigning UFC women's bantamweight champion, and Hollywood star charts her difficult path to glory. Marked by her signature charm, barbed wit, and undeniable power, Rousey’s account of the toughest fights of her life—in and outside the Octagon—reveals the painful loss of her father when she was eight years old, the intensity of her judo training, her battles with love, her meteoric rise to fame, the secret behind her undefeated UFC record, and what it takes to become the toughest woman on Earth. Rousey shares hard-won lessons on how to be the best at what you do, including how to find fulfillment in the sacrifices, how to turn limitations into opportunities, and how to be the best on your worst day. Packed with raw emotion, drama, and wisdom, this is an unforgettable book by one of the most remarkable women in the world.

Part Reptile

Author: Dan Hardy

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781472243782

Category:

Page: 320

View: 8390


For fans of Ronda Rousey's My Fight Your Fight and John Kavanagh's Win or Learn comes the first book from UFC fighter and now analyst Dan Hardy, who lifts the lid on his own career and writes with insight and eloquence on all things MMA and UFC, the brutal and ever-evolving sport that launched such superstars as Conor McGregor, Michael Bisping, Georges St-Pierre, Nate Diaz and Amanda Nunes. Dan Hardy's first book is much more than a straightforward MMA autobiography. Taking the key fights from his career, Hardy explores the sport with the unparalleled insight that has made him the best analyst working today. From training in China with Shaolin monks, to how MMA helped him channel his rage, to psychedelics and the ceremony in Peru that changed his life, to tapping into his 'reptilian brain' and the psychological warfare of UFC, to his epic title fight with Georges St-Pierre. Hardy also speaks eloquently of the heart condition that forced him to stop fighting, the road to recovery, and the evolution of a sport that flies in the face of mainstream disapproval to entertain and thrill millions of obsessives around the globe.

Athletes Breaking Bad

Author: John C. Lamothe,Donna J. Barbie

Publisher: McFarland

ISBN: 1476639531

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 240

View: 487


At their basic level, sporting events are about numbers: wins and losses, percentages and points, shots and saves, clocks and countdowns. However, sports narratives quickly leave the realm of statistics. The stories we tell and retell, sometimes for decades, make sports dramatic and compelling. Just like any great drama, sports imply conflict, not just battles on the field of play, but clashes of personalities, goals, and strategies. In telling these stories, we create heroes, but we also create villains. This book is about the latter, those players who transgress norms and expectations and who we label the "bad boys" of sports. Using a variety of approaches, these 13 new essays examine the cultural, social, and rhetorical implications of sports villainy. Each chapter focuses on a different athlete and sport, questioning issues such as how notorious sports figures are defined to be "bad" within particular sports and within the larger culture, the role media play in creating antiheroes, fan reactions when players cross boundaries, and how those boundaries shift depending on the athlete's gender, sexuality, and race.

GET YOUR FIGHT BACK YOU CHAMPION

Author: Dr. Sylvia Black, PhD

Publisher: Dr. Sylvia Black, PhD

ISBN: N.A

Category: Religion

Page: 235

View: 876


 Fighting is the key to winning any battle or war against giants. If you don’t fight you have no chance of defeating your giant. If you do fight you have a chance at defeating your giants. This world is a warzone. Your neighbors are not really your neighbors. It’s the devil disguised as your neighbor. Or the devil may disguise himself as a city official, or a relative or even a pastor. You’ve got to fight. And as you fight you have to keep on fighting. No matter how bad it looks. You can’t stop fighting. No matter what kind of report you received from the doctor, you can’t stop fighting. If you stop fighting then your physical and your spiritual self will rot away as nothing and leave this world in the same sinful state they entered into this world with. The same way you used to beat your colleagues down back in the day in the street is the same way you must beat your giants down today. With the same determination that you are going to beat them down and defeat them. Your goal was to be powerful and victorious. Be victorious today. Dare to take that first step into the ring and start fighting again.

Evolution: The Story of a Martial Artist

Author: Craig Ing

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 1304806286

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 190

View: 327


At its foundation, the true study of the martial arts is a quest for knowledge. This knowledge transcends merely learning to kick or punch; it is about gaining an understanding. Evolution follows one such quest. Spanning more than thirty years, it shares the stories of a martial artist's journey, the lessons he learned and the understanding he gained about the martial arts and himself.

Fighting Visibility

Author: Jennifer McClearen

Publisher: University of Illinois Press

ISBN: 0252052633

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 256

View: 3814


Ultimate Fighting Championship and the present and future of women's sports Mixed martial arts stars like Amanda Nunes, Zhang Weili, and Ronda Rousey have made female athletes top draws in the Ultimate Fighting Championship (UFC). Jennifer McClearen charts how the promotion incorporates women into its far-flung media ventures and investigates the complexities surrounding female inclusion. On the one hand, the undeniable popularity of cards headlined by women add much-needed diversity to the sporting landscape. On the other, the UFC leverages an illusion of promoting difference—whether gender, racial, ethnic, or sexual—to grow its empire with an inexpensive and expendable pool of female fighters. McClearen illuminates how the UFC's half-hearted efforts at representation generate profit and cultural cachet while covering up the fact it exploits women of color, lesbians, gender non-conforming women, and others. Thought provoking and timely, Fighting Visibility tells the story of how a sports entertainment phenomenon made difference a part of its brand—and the ways women paid the price for success.

Amor

Author: Elizabeth Deserbelles

Publisher: Balboa Press

ISBN: 150432322X

Category: Poetry

Page: 130

View: 8398


My book AMOR, meaning "LOVE" in my native language of Portuguese, is a raw collection of poems written to reveal my feelings about struggles, resilience, forgiveness, survival, relationships, triumphs and of course LOVE. It is my heart and soul speaking. My poetry has also a cleansing effect within myself, it makes me connect with life and its nuances, and expands my being in all directions.

Ariel

Author: Steven R. Boyett

Publisher: Open Road Media

ISBN: 1497612225

Category: Fiction

Page: 448

View: 8129


“Part post-apocalypse, part road-trip, part sword-and-sorcery . . . One of my favorite adventure novels of all time.” —Cory Doctorow At four-thirty one Saturday afternoon the laws of physics as we know them underwent a change. Electronic devices, cars, industries stopped. The lights went out. Any technology more complicated than a lever or pulley simply wouldn't work. A new set of rules took its place—laws that could only be called magic. Ninety-nine percent of humanity has simply vanished. Cities lie abandoned. Supernatural creatures wander the silenced achievements of a halted civilization. Pete Garey has survived the Change and its ensuing chaos. He wanders the southeastern United States, scavenging, lying low. Learning. One day he makes an unexpected friend: a smartassed unicorn with serious attitude. Pete names her Ariel and teaches her how to talk, how to read, and how to survive in a world in which a unicorn horn has become a highly prized commodity. When they learn that there is a price quite literally on Ariel's head, the two unlikely companions set out from Atlanta to Manhattan to confront the sorcerer who wants her horn. And so begins a haunting, epic, and surprisingly funny journey through the remnants of a halted civilization in a desolated world.